DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 06/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 2, 4-18, and 22 are now in condition for allowance based on applicant’s arguments and amendments. Claims 19-21 are still pending.
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ranta in a view of HIRAMATSU JP 2008220136A.
Regarding claim 19, Ranta discloses,
A motor drive system (fig. 1, item 2) for controlling an operation of an electric machine (item 3) on construction equipment [0031, 0032, 0051], wherein the motor drive system is arranged to draw an electric current from electrical mains (item 1) over a first electrical interface (See claim 1 rejection for detail),
Ranta does not disclose but HIRAMATSU discloses the system comprising a control unit (Fig. 1, via a digital relay A) arranged to measure a magnitude of an electric current drawn over the first electrical interface (High voltage power supply), where the control unit is arranged to monitor the magnitude of the electric current, and to detect a power loss at the first electrical interface, where the control unit is arranged to, in response to detecting power loss at the first electrical interface, store a magnitude value of the electrical current drawn over the first electrical interface prior to detecting the power loss in a memory device (storing the load current inherently requires storage or memory).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to measure a magnitude of an electric current and store a magnitude value current in a memory device as disclosed by HIRAMATSU in Ranta’s teachings to easily achieving protection coordination in the event of a power failure/power restoration and of having flexibility in a throwing order and selective interruption for loads (HIRAMATSU’s abstract section).
Regarding claim 20, HIRAMATSU discloses wherein the control unit is arranged to trigger display of the stored magnitude value on a display for communicating information to an operator.
Regarding claim 21, HIRAMATSU discloses, wherein the control unit is arranged to configure a maximum current that can be drawn over the first electrical interface based on the stored magnitude value of the electrical current.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 1, 2, 4-18, and 22 are allowed.
Upon further consideration and in a view of the limitation, the prior art does not explicitly teach or fairly suggest alone or in combination of “and wherein the control unit is arranged to obtain a measurement of current drawn over the first electrical interface and to control the output on the second electrical interface based on the measurement of current and on the configurable maximum current to be drawn over the first electrical interface.” in claim 1,
“receiving, by the control unit, a selection of an adjustable input defining a maximum current from a wirelessly connected remote device, and controlling the frequency converter by the control unit to generate the second AC frequency, based on the maximum current selected to be drawn over the first electrical interface.” in claim 17, and
“wherein the electrically configurable fuse is configured to disconnect the first electrical interface from the second electrical interface in response to a current drawn over the first electrical interface exceeding a selection of an adjustable input defining a maximum current received by the control unit from a wirelessly connected remote device, to be drawn over the first electrical interface, and wherein the electrically configurable fuse is arranged to be controlled from a user control input device” in claim 18.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 19 have been considered but are moot over new prior art.
Conclusion
/BICKEY DHAKAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837