DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of Claim 1 and dependent Claims 2-4 and 7-12, 14-16 and 18-20 are withdrawn in view of the newly cited reference(s) Tang et al. (WO-2022121244-A1; cited in IDS filed 04/01/2026). New grounds of rejections necessitated based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Applicant is advised that the Notice of Allowance mailed 01/13/2026 is vacated. If the issue fee has already been paid, applicant may request a refund or request that the fee be credited to a deposit account. However, applicant may wait until the application is either found allowable or held abandoned. If allowed, upon receipt of a new Notice of Allowance, applicant may request that the previously submitted issue fee be applied. If abandoned, applicant may request refund or credit to a specified Deposit Account.
Election/Restrictions
In view of the withdrawn allowability of Claim 1, the restriction requirement of 01/08/2024 is reinstated. Claim 7, which was previously rejoined in the Notice of Allowance mailed 01/13/2026 as requiring all of the limitations of an allowable claim, is hereby withdrawn from consideration as being drawn towards nonelected Species 1B, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8-10, 12, 15-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (CN-113270667-A; see English translation provided 04/23/2024 for citations) in view of He et al. (CN-213601921-U; see English translation provided 04/23/2024 for citations) and in view of Tang et al. (WO-2022121244-A1; cited in IDS filed 04/01/2026; see English equivalent US-20230032002-A1 for citations).
Regarding Claim 1, Xu discloses a top cover assembly (cover assembly 110, Fig. 2), wherein the top cover assembly comprises:
a top cover plate (base plate 140, Fig. 2),
a lower plastic member (lower plastic part 143, Fig. 2) connected to the top cover plate (see Xu Fig. 5; [0057]),
wherein the top cover plate is provided with an injection hole (145, Fig. 2) penetrating therethrough.
Xu teaches that after liquid injection is complete, the injection hole can be sealed by welding or other methods [0062]. Xu does not disclose a sealing member.
He teaches a top cover assembly for a secondary battery [0003]. He teaches that the top cover assembly includes a metal cover (reads on top cover plate) comprising a liquid injection hole and a plastic cover plate (reads on lower plastic member) comprising a matching hole (reads on first through hole) [0004]. He teaches that a sealing nail (240, Fig. 4) can be used to effectively seal the liquid injection hole and the first through hole such that electrolyte and air are prevented from leaking [0035].
Both Xu and He are directed towards top cover assemblies wherein an injection hole is effectively sealed. Since He teaches the use of a sealing nail (corresponds to sealing member) as an effective way to seal a liquid injection hole/first through hole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used a sealing nail in the top cover assembly of Xu with a reasonable expectation that a sealing nail (sealing member) would effectively prevent the leakage of electrolyte/air from the top cover assembly (MPEP 2143, C). Therefore, modified Xu teaches that the top cover assembly comprises a sealing member, wherein the sealing member seals the injection hole.
As depicted in the annotation of Xu Fig. 2 below (MPEP 2125, I), Xu further teaches that the lower plastic member (lower plastic part 143, Fig. 2) comprises:
a first surface that faces away from the top cover assembly (corresponds to lower surface of the lower plastic member; see annotation of Xu Fig. 2, below); and
a second surface facing away from the first surface (corresponds to upper surface of the lower plastic member; see annotation of Xu Fig. 2, below),
wherein the second surface is formed with a groove.
Annotation of Xu Fig. 2.
As depicted in the annotation of Xu Fig. 3 below (MPEP 2125, I), Xu further teaches a lower plastic member wherein:
the first surface is provided with a first boss protruding therefrom, the first boss is provided with a first air vent, and the first air vent communicates with the groove;
wherein the first surface is further provided with a second boss protruding therefrom, the second boss is provided with a second air vent communicating with the groove, and a height of the second boss protruding from the first surface is less than a height of the first boss protruding from the first surface.
Annotation of Xu Fig. 3.
Xu discloses that the lower plastic member comprises a blocking piece (see annotation of Xu Fig. 3, above; MPEP 2125, I). Additionally, as further seen in the annotation of Xu Fig. 4, below (MPEP 2125, I), Xu discloses that:
the lower plastic member is provided with a first through hole corresponding to the injection hole;
the first through hole penetrates through the first surface and the second surface.
Annotation of Xu Fig. 4.
As seen in the annotation of Xu Fig. 3, below (MPEP 2125, I):
the blocking piece is arranged at the first through hole;
and the blocking piece is connected to the first surface.
Annotation of Xu Fig. 3.
Xu does not discuss the structure of the blocking piece and therefore does not disclose that the blocking piece is provided with a second through hole communicating with the first through hole. Xu further fails to teach the arrangement of the sealing member in regards to the blocking piece.
Tang teaches a similar lower plastic member (see Figs. 1-2) [0007-0008, 0042-0043, 0048-0049]. Tang teaches that the lower plastic member includes a flow guide shroud (reads on blocking piece) which is designed to, advantageously, provide a buffer function, thereby preventing electrolyte from directly impacting the electrode assembly [0007, 0042-0043]. The flow guide shroud includes a plurality of connection posts which attach to a shielding plate, and a flow guide hole is defined between any two adjacent connection posts [0043-0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used the configuration of the blocking piece (flow guide shroud) taught by Tang in modified Xu with a reasonable expectation that implementing the blocking piece disclosed by Tang would result in a successful lower plastic member capable of preventing electrolyte from directly impacting the electrode assembly.
As depicted in the annotation of Tang Fig. 3 (below), the blocking piece includes a second through hole formed between connection posts. Modified Xu further teaches the arrangement of the sealing member within the blocking piece (see annotation of Tang Fig. 3, below; MPEP 2125, I).
Annotation of Tang Fig. 3.
Therefore, modified Xu further renders obvious a lower plastic member wherein:
the blocking piece is provided with a second through hole communicating with the first through hole;
the sealing member is arranged in the injection hole, the first through hole and the second through hole in a penetrating manner in sequence along a direction from the second surface to the first surface;
one end of the sealing member is located outside the second through hole.
Modified Xu further renders obvious (see annotation of Tang Fig. 3, below):
wherein the blocking piece has a third side surface facing away from the lower plastic member (see annotation of Tang Fig. 3, below);
the third side surface is provided with at least one protrusion protruding therefrom (corresponds to shielding plate); and
a height of the at least one protrusion protruding from the third side surface is greater than or equal to a height of the one end of the sealing member extending beyond the third side surface (the protrusion extends further and therefore has a greater height as seen in Tang Fig. 3, below).
Annotation of Tang Fig. 3.
Modified Xu further renders obvious (see annotation of Tang Fig. 3, below):
wherein the blocking piece has a contacting surface opposite the third side surface and the contacting surface is in direct contact with the first surface of the lower plastic member and is arranged to overlap and block at least a portion of the first through hole.
Annotation of Tang Fig. 3.
As seen in the annotation of Tang Fig. 3 (above), the first through hole has a larger area than the “an overlap area” between the blocking piece and the first through hole. Therefore, modified Xu renders obvious that “a cross-sectional area of the first through hole cut by a plane perpendicular to an axis of the first through hole is larger than an overlap area between the blocking piece and the first through hole”.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Xu teaches the product of Claim 1. Modified Xu further teaches the top cover assembly wherein:
the lower plastic member comprises (see annotation of Xu Fig. 2, below; MPEP 2125, I) a first edge and a second edge;
the first edge and the second edge are respectively located at both ends of the lower plastic member along a lengthwise direction of the lower plastic member;
the first surface is further provided with a third boss and a fourth boss protruding therefrom;
the third boss is arranged on the first surface and extends along the first edge;
the fourth boss is arranged on the first surface and extends along the second edge; and
the first boss is located between the third boss and the fourth boss.
Annotation of Xu Fig. 2.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Xu teaches the product of Claim 3. Modified Xu further teaches the top cover assembly (see annotation of Xu Fig. 3, below, MPEP 2125, I) wherein:
the third boss has a third boss first surface arranged remote from the lower plastic member first surface and a third boss second surface connected with an edge of the third boss first surface;
the third boss second surface is arranged toward the first boss;
the third boss first surface is provided with a first slot penetrating through the third boss second surface (see annotation of Xu Fig. 3, below).
Chamfer is defined by Oxford Learner’s Dictionary as “a cut made along an edge or on a corner so that it slopes rather than being at 90°”. Therefore, the prior art is interpreted as disclosing a first chamfer arranged at a junction of a wall surface of the first slot and the third boss second surface since it teaches a rounded edge between at a junction of the first slot and the third boss second surface.
Annotation of Xu Fig. 3.
Modified Xu further teaches that (see annotation of Xu Fig. 3, below, MPEP 2125, I):
the fourth boss has a fourth boss third surface arranged remote from the lower plastic member first surface and a fourth boss fourth surface connected with an edge of the fourth boss third surface;
the fourth boss fourth surface is arranged toward the first boss;
the fourth boss third surface is provided with a second slot penetrating through the fourth boss fourth surface (see annotation of Xu Fig. 3, below); and
a second chamfer (see definition, above) is arranged at a junction of a wall surface of the second slot and the fourth boss fourth surface.
Annotation of Xu Fig. 3.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Xu teaches the product of Claim 1. Modified Xu renders obvious that the at least one protrusion (shielding plate) blocks at least part of the second through hole (i.e. in the vertical direction, see annotation of Tang Fig. 3, below).
Annotation of Tang Fig. 3.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Xu teaches the product of Claim 8. Modified Xu further teaches that the first through hole is circular (Xu, Fig. 4; MPEP 2125, I).
Modified Xu teaches a 3-dimensional blocking piece. As such, there are multiple peripheral surfaces that can be considered. When viewing the blocking piece from the bottom, modified Xu renders obvious a circular peripheral surface (see annotation of Tang, Fig. 1, below).
Tang is relied upon to teach the configuration of the blocking piece. Tang teaches that the shielding plate of the blocking piece is designed such that when electrolyte is injected, the electrolyte first flows to the shielding plate and then changes its flow direction [0042-0043]. The shielding plate is designed such that the middle part of the shielding plate is inclined towards the first through hole [0045]. Tang teaches that such a configuration prevent the electrolyte from directly impacting the electrode assembly, and that the inclined surface buffers the electrolyte and reduces a flow rate of the electrolyte, thereby preventing impact on the electrode assembly [0043-0044].
Although modified Xu does not teach a peripheral surface formed by sequentially connecting a first flat surface, a first curved surface, a second flat surface and a second curved surface end to end, absent showings of criticality, such a configuration would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it would not have affected the ability of the blocking member to buffer electrolyte as it is injected into the battery case (MPEP 2144.04, IV, B). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that changing the shape of the shielding plate such that a peripheral surface is formed by sequentially connecting a first flat surface, a first curved surface, a second flat surface and a second curved surface end to end would result in a successful blocking piece for use in a battery (see annotation of Tang, Fig. 1, below).
Annotation of Tang Fig. 1.
This corresponds to a lower plastic member wherein:
the blocking piece comprises a peripheral surface formed by sequentially connecting a first flat surface, a first curved surface, a second flat surface and a second curved surface end to end;
the first flat surface is parallel to the second flat surface;
a distance between the first flat surface and the second flat surface is less than a diameter of the first through hole; and
the first curved surface and the second curved surface are respectively located on both sides of the first through hole, so that the blocking piece blocks part of the first through hole.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Xu renders obvious the product of Claim 3. Modified Xu further teaches the top cover assembly wherein (see annotation of Xu Fig. 3, below; MPEP 2125, I):
the first surface is further provided with a first reinforcing rib and a second reinforcing rib protruding therefrom;
the first reinforcing rib is connected between the first boss and the third boss, and
a height of the first reinforcing rib protruding from the first surface is less than the height of the first boss protruding from the first surface;
the second reinforcing rib is connected between the first boss and the fourth boss; and
a height of the second reinforcing rib protruding from the first surface is less than the height of the first boss protruding from the first surface.
Annotation of Xu Fig. 3.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Xu teaches the product of Claim 1. Modified Xu further teaches the top cover assembly wherein (see annotation of Xu Fig. 3, below; MPEP 2125, I):
an extending direction of the second boss (corresponds to extending direction in the widthwise direction, see annotation of Xu Fig. 3, below) and an extending direction of the first boss (corresponds to extending direction in the lengthwise direction, see annotation of Xu Fig. 3, below) form an angle;
the extending direction of the first boss is configured as a direction perpendicular to a first direction; and
the first direction is configured as a protruding direction of the first boss protruding from the first surface.
Annotation of Xu Fig. 3.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Xu renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth, above. Xu further discloses an energy storage device (corresponds to lithium battery; [0059]) comprising:
a housing [0059];
an electrode assembly (corresponds to battery cell, [0059]); and
the top cover assembly according to claim 1 ([0059]; see rejection of Claim 1, above), wherein:
the housing is provided with an opening (corresponds to open end of the shell; [0059]);
the electrode assembly is arranged in the housing (corresponds to arranging battery cell in the shell; [0059]).
Xu discloses that the top cover assembly can be connected to the housing to enclose the battery cell in the housing [0059]. Xu further teaches that the top cover assembly can be connected to the housing by welding so that the connection between the top cover assembly and the shell can be made more stable and firmer [0061].
Therefore, although modified Xu does not specifically state that the top cover plate of the top cover assembly is hermetically connected to the opening, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found such a configuration obvious since the lower plastic member is disclosed as being formed of plastic [0037] while the housing is disclosed as being formed of a hard metal material in order to add structural strength and resistance to external force damage [0060]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have formed the top cover plate (base plate 140) of a metal material in order to add structural strength and resistance to external force damage and to have welded the top cover plate to the housing to hermetically connect the top cover plate to the opening. The lower plastic member would necessarily be arranged toward the battery cell electrode assembly in such a configuration.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Xu teaches the product of Claim 15. Xu further teaches that batteries are power sources for tools such as electric vehicles, electric trains, electric bicycles, and golf carts [0004]. Therefore, although not explicitly disclosed by Xu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used the energy storage device of modified Xu in a tool such as an electric vehicle, electric train, electric bicycle, or golf cart with a reasonable expectation that the energy storage device would be able to successfully power such a tool. The tool reads on the recited limitation of “electrical equipment”.
Regarding Claim 20, modified Xu teaches all of the limitations as set forth in Claim 1, above, including that the third side surface faces away from the lower plastic member (MPEP 2521, I) and the at least one protrusion protrudes in a direction away from the third surface and the lower plastic member (see annotation of Tang Fig. 3, below).
Annotation of Tang Fig. 3.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (CN-113270667-A; see English translation provided 04/23/2024 for citations) in view of He et al. (CN-213601921-U; see English translation provided 04/23/2024 for citations) and in view of Tang et al. (WO-2022121244-A1; cited in IDS filed 04/01/2026; see English equivalent US-20230032002-A1 for citations) as applied to Claim 1, above, and in further view of Xu ‘370 (CN-217009370-U; see English translation provided 04/23/2024 for citations).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Xu renders obvious the product of Claim 1. Xu discloses that the first air vent penetrates through a surface of the first boss facing away from the lower plastic member (Xu Fig. 2-3). Xu does not teach that a proportion of an air permeability area of the first air vent to an area of the surface of the first boss is greater than or equal to 15% and less than or equal to 25%.
Xu ‘370 teaches a battery top cover assembly for an energy storage device [0001]. Xu ‘370 teaches that the top cover assembly includes a top cover plate and a lower plastic part, and the lower plastic part is provided with a groove [0004]. The bottom surface of the groove is provided with an exhaust structure comprising a first exhaust portion (22, Fig. 5) with a first exhaust hole (221, Fig. 5) and a second exhaust portion (23, Fig. 5) with a second exhaust hole (231, Fig. 5).
Xu ‘370 teaches that the exhaust holes allow for the discharge of gas, thereby ensuring safety performance [0029, 0032]. Xu ‘370 further teaches that the shape of the holes can be selected so as to ensure structural strength and prevent the exhaust structure from being deformed due to installation or collision [0034]. Xu ‘370 teaches that the number and size of the holes can be set according to the requirement of gas outflow speed [0050].
Both modified Xu and Xu ‘370 are drawn to lower plastic members comprising grooves with venting holes. Therefore, in seeking to ensure adequate gas outflow to increase safety while taking into account the structural strength of the exhaust system, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have optimized the number and size of the holes of the first air vent, including an air permeability area of the first air vent to an area of the surface of the first boss which is greater than or equal to 15% and less than or equal to 25% (MPEP 2144.05, II). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that providing the first air vent to have an air permeability area greater than or equal to 15% and less than or equal to 25% the area of the surface of the first boss would result in a successful lower plastic member for use in a battery.
Claim(s) 2, 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (CN-113270667-A; see English translation provided 04/23/2024 for citations) in view of He et al. (CN-213601921-U; see English translation provided 04/23/2024 for citations) and in view of Tang et al. (WO-2022121244-A1; cited in IDS filed 04/01/2026; see English equivalent US-20230032002-A1 for citations) as applied to Claim 1, above, and in further view of Tan et al. (CN-213340535-U; see English translation provided 04/23/2024 for citations).
This is an alternative rejection of Claim 2. Regarding Claim 2, modified Xu renders obvious the product of Claim 1. Xu teaches that the first air vent penetrates through a surface of the first boss facing away from the lower plastic member (Xu Fig. 2-3). Xu does not teach that a proportion of an air permeability area of the first air vent to an area of the surface of the first boss is greater than or equal to 15% and less than or equal to 25%.
Tan teaches a top cover assembly for a battery comprising a top cover body and an insulating plastic part arranged between the top cover body and a core package [0029]. Tan teaches that the insulating plastic part (reads on lower plastic member) is provided with a venting groove (25, Fig. 4; [0034]) which includes a venting hole (251, Fig. 4). The venting hole corresponds to the first air vent of modified Xu. Advantageously, Tan teaches that the gas inside the core package can be discharged through the venting hole to avoid internal failure of the core package, thereby improving the safety of the core package [0034]. Tan further teaches the plastic part is designed to be thickest in the middle section in order to ensure the structural strength of the plastic part [0037]. The middle part is where the venting groove and the venting hole is located (Fig. 4).
Both modified Xu and Tan are drawn to lower plastic members comprising grooves with venting holes. Therefore, in seeking to adequately discharge gas through the venting hole while taking into account the structural strength of the plastic part, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have optimized the air permeability of the first air vent, including an air permeability area of the first air vent to an area of the surface of the first boss which is greater than or equal to 15% and less than or equal to 25% (MPEP 2144.05, II). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that providing the first air vent to have an air permeability area greater than or equal to 15% and less than or equal to 25% the area of the surface of the first boss would result in a successful lower plastic member for use in a battery.
Regarding Claims 11 and 14, modified Xu teaches the product of Claim 1. Modified Xu does not disclose that the bottom surface of the groove is an inclined plane (as required by Claim 11) or that a ratio of a thickness of the lower plastic member to a thickness of the top cover plate is D, 0.25≤D≤0.75 (as required by Claim 14).
Tan teaches a top cover assembly for a battery with high safety [0003-0004]. The top cover assembly comprises a top cover body and an insulating plastic part arranged between the top cover body and a core package [0029]. Tan teaches that the insulating plastic part (reads on lower plastic member) is provided with a venting groove (25, Fig. 4; [0034]). Tan teaches that the plastic part decreases in thickness from the middle of the plastic part to the ends along the length direction of the plastic part [0037]. Advantageously, Tan teaches that this ensures the structural strength of the plastic part [0037] which helps ensure that the middle of the plastic part does not bend towards the core package, thereby avoiding damage to the core package and increasing safety [0031].
Both modified Xu and Tan are drawn to lower plastic members with venting grooves for use in a battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the groove of modified Xu to be an inclined plane such that the middle of the groove is the thickest part of the lower plastic member. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that configuring the groove in such a way would result in a successful lower plastic member which does not bend towards the core package and therefore has increased safety when used in a battery.
Therefore, as required by Claim 11 modified Xu further teaches the top cover assembly wherein:
a bottom surface of the groove is an inclined plane;
the inclined plane has a first boundary line and a second boundary line in an extending direction of the first boss (the first boss extends in the widthwise direction; see annotation of Xu Fig. 3, below);
the second boundary line is closer to the first air vent than the first boundary line (the second boundary line intersects the first boss and is therefore closer to the first air vent than the second boundary line; see annotation of Xu Fig. 3, below);
the inclined plane extends obliquely from the first boundary line to the second boundary line along a first direction; and
the first direction is configured as a protruding direction of the first boss protruding from the first surface, and the extending direction of the first boss is configured as a direction perpendicular to the first direction.
Annotation of Xu Fig. 3.
Furthermore, as required by Claim 14, modified Xu teaches that the thickness of the lower plastic member decreases from the center of the groove to the ends of the lower plastic member in the lengthwise direction (see above; [Tan: 0037]).
Tan teaches that by decreasing the thickness of the lower plastic member from the center of the groove to the ends of the lower plastic member in the lengthwise direction, structural strength of the lower plastic member can be ensured [0037]. Tan further teaches that the lower plastic member is an insulating piece [0006, 0029].
Therefore, although modified Xu does not explicitly teach that a ratio of the thickness of the lower plastic member to a thickness of the top cover plate at the edges of the lower plastic member in the lengthwise direction is 0.25 ≤ D ≤ 0.75, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to have optimized the thickness of the lower plastic member at the edges such that the lower plastic member has sufficient structural strength while still ensuring insulating capabilities, including decreasing the thickness at the edges such that a ratio of a thickness of the lower plastic member to a thickness of the top cover plate at the edges is 0.25 ≤ D ≤ 0.75 (MPEP 2144.05, II).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 18, modified Xu renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth, above. As depicted in the annotation of Tang Fig. 3 (see below), modified Xu renders obvious a blocking piece wherein the second through hole is interpreted as being between the upper portion of two connection posts (132, Fig. 3).
Annotation of Tang Fig. 3.
Therefore, modified Xu does not render obvious the limitation “wherein the second through hole penetrates the blocking piece from the contacting surface through the third side surface” as required by Claim 18.
The Examiner notes that a different interpretation of the second through hole could be applied to modified Xu (see annotation of Tang Fig. 3, below). In this interpretation, the second through hole is provided from the contact surface to the third side surface.
Annotation of Tang Fig. 3 depicting alternative interpretation of second through hole.
However, if such an interpretation of the second through hole is applied, modified Xu thereby does not render obvious the limitation “the sealing member is arranged in the injection hole, the first through hole and the second through hole in a penetrating manner in sequence along a direction from the second surface to the first surface; one end of the sealing member is located outside the second through hole” as required by Claim 1.
Therefore, the prior art, taken alone or together, does not disclose, teach, or suggest the limitation “wherein the second through hole penetrates the blocking piece from the contacting surface through the third side surface”, as required by Claim 18, when taken in light of the rest of the claim limitations. Claim 19 would be allowable as being dependent from Claim 18.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/01/2025 have been fully considered. Although the Examiner agrees that Applicant’s amendment overcame the previously identified 112(a) and 112(b) rejections, the Examiner notes that the claims are now rejected in view of Tang et al. (WO-2022121244-A1) which was cited in IDS filed 04/01/2026. Specifically, the Examiner notes that the closest prior art previously relied upon He et al. (CN-213601921-U; see English translation provided 04/23/2024 for citations) to teach the blocking member (see Notice of Allowance mailed 01/13/2026). He did not teach a blocking piece with a contacting surface that is “in direct contact with the first surface of the lower plastic member and is arranged to overlap and block at least a portion of the first through hole” as required by Claim 1, since the connecting columns of He are arranged such that they do not overlap the first through hole (see annotation of He Fig. 3, below).
Annotation of He Fig. 3.
However, newly cited Tang teaches a different configuration of the blocking piece. As depicted in the annotation of Tang Fig. 3 (see below), the connection columns are arranged such that the blocking piece comprises a contacting surface that is “in direct contact with the first surface of the lower plastic member and is arranged to overlap and block at least a portion of the first through hole”. Therefore, Claim 1 is rendered obvious over newly cited Tang.
Annotation of Tang Fig. 3.
Conclusion
/D.C.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751