DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to applicants’ amendment and response received August 5, 2025. Claims 1-10 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raehse, US 2009/0215664.
Raehse teaches a detergent granule containing an optional coating which may be a precipitated calcium carbonate (¶118 and 125). The physical properties of the PCC are not disclosed. As PCC is manufactured by a chemical process, it has a higher purity as it is manufactured under controlled conditions, ensuring a uniform composition, well-defined particle shape, and a much finer particle size than ground calcium carbonate obtained from natural sources. This is common knowledge. The examiner maintains that PCC is a known material and its manufacture is well-known to persons of skill in the art and so it will inherently possess the properties claimed, or at the very least be obvious to the skilled formulator. It is not inventive to list physical properties of PCC as if they were somehow unknown to persons of skill in the art when PCC has been known as a detergent granule flow aid for over 20 years. Applicants were invited to explain if there was something unusual about their PCC over PCC well known in the art but no such explanation was given in their reply.
Applicants have traversed this rejection on the grounds the reference does not disclose the surface area and particle size of the PCC and so should not be used. A simple Google search for the particle size and surface area of PCC yields answers of from 3 to 5 microns and 15 to 30 g/m2 respectively. US 2022/0273524 uses PCC in cosmetics and skin care compositions and teaches a particle size of from 0.8 to 8 microns (¶76) and a surface area of from 4 to 30 g/m2 (¶80). This reference is relied upon merely to answer applicants’ arguments and demonstrate that the PCC properties claimed by applicants are the same PCC properties known to all. It is known to use PCC with detergents, and the properties of the PCC are well known and so the rejection is maintained.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarkar et al, WO 2021/052901.
Sarkar et al teach a detergent granule containing a flow aid which may be a precipitated calcium carbonate (claims 1 and 9). The physical properties of the PCC are not disclosed. As PCC is manufactured by a chemical process, it has a higher purity as it is manufactured under controlled conditions, ensuring a uniform composition, well-defined particle shape, and a much finer particle size than ground calcium carbonate obtained from natural sources. This is common knowledge. The examiner maintains that PCC is a known material and its manufacture is well-known to persons of skill in the art and so it will inherently possess the properties claimed, or at the very least be obvious to the skilled formulator. It is not inventive to list physical properties of PCC as if they were somehow unknown to persons of skill in the art when PCC has been known as a detergent granule flow aid for over 20 years. Applicants were invited to explain if there was something unusual about their PCC over PCC well known in the art but no such explanation was given in their reply.
Applicants have traversed this rejection on the grounds the reference does not disclose the surface area and particle size of the PCC and so should not be used. A simple Google search for the particle size and surface area of PCC yields answers of from 3 to 5 microns and 15 to 30 g/m2 respectively. US 2022/0273524 uses PCC in cosmetics and skin care compositions and teaches a particle size of from 0.8 to 8 microns (¶76) and a surface area of from 4 to 30 g/m2 (¶80). This reference is relied upon merely to answer applicants’ arguments and demonstrate that the PCC properties claimed by applicants are the same PCC properties known to all. It is known to use PCC with detergents, and the properties of the PCC are well known and so the rejection is maintained.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhanuka et al, US 5,929,021.
Dhanuka et al teach a detergent granule containing up to 85% surfactant (col. 5, lines 66-67), from 0.1 to 15% of a flow aid which may be a precipitated calcium carbonate (col. 6, lines 8-14). The physical properties of the PCC are not disclosed. As PCC is manufactured by a chemical process, it has a higher purity as it is manufactured under controlled conditions, ensuring a uniform composition, well-defined particle shape, and a much finer particle size than ground calcium carbonate obtained from natural sources. This is common knowledge. The examiner maintains that PCC is a known material and its manufacture is well-known to persons of skill in the art and so it will inherently possess the properties claimed, or at the very least be obvious to the skilled formulator. It is not inventive to list physical properties of PCC as if they were somehow unknown to persons of skill in the art when PCC has been known as a detergent granule flow aid for over 20 years. Applicants were invited to explain if there was something unusual about their PCC over PCC well known in the art but no such explanation was given in their reply.
Applicants have traversed this rejection on the grounds the reference does not disclose the surface area and particle size of the PCC and so should not be used. A simple Google search for the particle size and surface area of PCC yields answers of from 3 to 5 microns and 15 to 30 g/m2 respectively. US 2022/0273524 uses PCC in cosmetics and skin care compositions and teaches a particle size of from 0.8 to 8 microns (¶76) and a surface area of from 4 to 30 g/m2 (¶80). This reference is relied upon merely to answer applicants’ arguments and demonstrate that the PCC properties claimed by applicants are the same PCC properties known to all. It is known to use PCC with detergents, and the properties of the PCC are well known and so the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES I BOYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761