DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 6, 1st line, the status identifier “(Original)” should have been “(Currently Amended)” since claim 6 has been amended.
In claim 11, replace “0.4 b 1.0” with “0.4 ≤ b ≤ 1.0”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishimura et al. (US 2022/0037659).
Regarding claims 4-6, Nishimura et al. disclose a sulfide solid electrolyte of a solid-state battery (see abstract; paragraphs [0003], [0026], and [0032]-[0035]; and Figure 1), in which the sulfide solid electrolyte comprises the following features:
an argyrodite crystal phase (see paragraph [0035]); and
containing Li, Ge, Sb, S, I, and A, wherein A includes a polyatomic anion with a plurality of O and having an ionic radius larger than that of a sulfide ion, with the polyatomic anion including C or S as a cation, and A including a carbonate ion CO32- as Li2CO3 (see paragraph [0026]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura et al. (US 2022/0037659).
Regarding independent claim 1 and claim 7, Nishimura et al. disclose a sulfide solid electrolyte of a solid-state battery (see abstract; paragraphs [0003], [0026], and [0032]-[0035]; and Figure 1), in which the sulfide solid electrolyte comprises the following features:
an argyrodite crystal phase (see paragraph [0035]); and
containing Li, Ge, Sb, S, I, and A, wherein A is an anion of a halogen element that includes a bromide ion Br- (see paragraphs [0033] and [0034]), such that since Nishimura et al. disclose polyatomic anion structures, including PS43- and GeS44- (see paragraph [0034]), the ionic radius would be larger than that of a sulfide ion,
wherein the solid-state battery (10) comprises a cathode layer (1), an anode layer (2), and a solid electrolyte layer (3) formed between the cathode layer (1) and the anode layer (2), in which at least the cathode layer (1) contains the sulfide solid electrolyte according to claim 1 (see paragraphs [0032] and [0033]; and Figure 1).
Nishimura et al. do not explicitly disclose that the sulfide solid electrolyte does not contain P in a portion of the embodiments where element X is at least one of P, As, Sb, Si, Ge, Sn, B, Al, Ga, and In (see paragraph [0033]). In other words, Nishimura et al. fail to disclose that the sulfide solid electrolyte does not contain P, and further fail to teach that if P exists in at least one embodiment, then P would be present at 50 mol% or less. However, since paragraph [0033] of Nishimura et al. disclose one embodiment of using P with respect to a total of Ge, Sb, and P, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a composition having a little or no amount of P that would produce higher quality for manufacture of a solid-state battery based on experimentation of the percentages among element X to be one or more of P, As, Sb, Si, Ge, Sn, B, Al, Ga, and In (see paragraph [0033]). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (1980).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-17 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to teach or suggest a sulfide solid electrolyte that includes all features of independent claim 8, in particular the portion of claim 8 having the following composition:
Claim 8
a composition represented by the following:
(2-a-b)Li2S-aLiI-bLiαA-Li4(Ge,Sb)S4; and
the “a” satisfies 0 < a < 2,
the “b” satisfies 0 < b < 2,
the “a” and the “b” satisfy 0 < a + b < 2, and
the “α” is a value corresponding to a valence of the A.
(of dependent claim 8, from which claims 9-17 further depend)
Response to Arguments
The examiner acknowledges the applicant’s amendment received by the USPTO on August 5, 2026. Although the amendment overcomes prior objections to the abstract and specification, as well as the prior 35 USC 112(b) rejection, new minor claim objections are raised for claims 6 and 11 (see above section 1). The applicant has cancelled claims 2 and 3, while adding new claims 13-17. Claims 1 and 4-17 are currently under consideration in the application.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 4-7 have been considered but are moot because the argument pertaining to the limitations of independent claims 1 and 4 has been addressed in the newly underlined portions applied in the above 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 35 USC 103 rejections (as revised in claim interpretation to be a non-final Office Action).
Conclusion
/KEVIN P KERNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735 September 19, 2026