DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Remarks
The amendment has been entered. Claim 1 has been amended, claims 8-12 and 21 are canceled, and no claims have been added. Therefore, claims 1-7, 13-20 and 22 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 13-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by US 2016/0095310 A1-Anderson et al (hereinafter “Anderson”).
Regarding claim 1, Anderson teaches a hypothermic tissue transport system (para. [0032], lines 1-4) comprising: a tissue container (transport container 10, para. [0043], line 3, Fig. 1); at least one temperature sensor operable to provide temperature information for an interior cavity of the tissue container (temperature sensor 40, para. [0049], lines 2-3, shown disposed in organ container 30 of transport container 10, Fig. 1). However, Anderson does not explicitly teach a positioning transmitter.
A different embodiment of Anderson teaches a positioning transmitter (positioning receiver, para. [0013], line 11), which reads on the instant claim limitation of a positioning transmitter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time, to further include a positioning transmitter as taught by a different embodiment of Anderson, because another embodiment of Anderson teaches a positioning transmitter allows for real-time tracking of the position of the container (para. [0013], lines 11-13).
Regarding claim 1, Anderson teaches the invention discussed above. Further, Anderson teaches a temperature sensor, also discussed above. Further, another embodiment of Anderson teaches a positioning transmitter, also discussed above. However, Anderson does not explicitly teach a computer device and an output device.
For claim 1, another embodiment of Anderson teaches the use of mobile devices (smartphones), tablets (para. [0083], lines 1-4) and a processor (not shown, (para. [0040]), which reads on the instant claim limitation of a computer device. Also, the other embodiment of Anderson teaches a computer terminal or web page where information about the position and condition of the tissue can be accessed during transport (para. [0029]). Moreover, the other embodiment of Anderson teaches the system will have sensors and displays to monitor conditions in addition to temperature, for example oxygen flow, oxygen consumption, or pressure. In some versions, the sensors that monitor, for example, the temperature of the sample, will be coupled to a wireless transmitter that communicates with a second display located on the exterior of the second transport container. Accordingly, a user can monitor the temperature of the bio logical sample within the first transport container while the first transport container is securely stored within the second transport container, that is, the processor/computer device of Anderson is capable of performing the limitations of recited in claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time, to further include a computer device as taught by another embodiment of Anderson, because Anderson teaches the temperature can be wirelessly communicated to a second display on the exterior of the second transport container (para. [0020], lines 5-8). Further, another embodiment of Anderson teaches the temperature sensor may also be connected to a processor which will compare the measured temperature to a threshold or range; the alert may comprise an audible tone, or may signal to a networked device, e.g., a computer, cell phone, or pager that the temperature within the container exceeds the desired threshold or range. (para. [0051], lines 12-19). Additionally, the other embodiment of Anderson teaches a computer terminal or web page where information about the position and condition of the tissue can be accessed during transport (para. [0029]). Moreover, Anderson teaches Anderson teaches the real-time tracking of the position of the container. This information can be accessed by a transport team via a website, mobile device, tablet, or pager (para. [0013]). Also, Anderson teaches various options for receiving and displaying information from the system (para. [0083]).
Regarding claim 2, Anderson teaches the invention discussed above in claim 1. However, Anderson does not explicitly teach at least one of a pressure sensor, an oxygen sensor, an accelerometer, and a clock.
For claim 2, a different embodiment of Anderson teaches a suite of sensors measures temperature, oxygen content, and pressure of the circulating fluids (para. [0012], lines 10-12), which reads on the instant claim limitation of at least one of a pressure sensor, an oxygen sensor, an accelerometer, and a clock.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time, to further include at least one of a pressure sensor, an oxygen sensor, an accelerometer, and a clock as taught by another embodiment of Anderson, because another embodiment of Anderson teaches the system will have sensors and displays to monitor conditions in addition to temperature, for example oxygen flow, oxygen consumption, or pressure (para. [0015], lines 6-9). Also, another embodiment of Anderson teaches displays for additional relevant information, such as time since harvest, pressure inside the first transport container, partial pressure of oxygen, or oxygen consumption rate of the biological sample (para. [0074], lines 16-19). Moreover, another embodiment of Anderson teaches a suite of sensors measures temperature, oxygen content, and pressure of the circulating fluids to assure that the tissue experiences a favorable environment during the entire transport (para. [0012], lines 10-13).
Regarding claim 3, Anderson discloses wherein the tissue is cardiac, epidermal, pulmonary, neurologic, nephrologic, or hepatic tissue (the system includes a first transport container configured to suspend a biological sample (e.g., tissue or an organ, para. [0013], lines 1-3), further, Anderson discloses the invention is intended for the transport of biological samples, generally, which may include tissues, organs, body fluids, and combinations thereof, para. [0035], lines 8-11).
Regarding claim 5, Anderson discloses a wireless data transmitter (temperature display 45 may be coupled to the temperature sensor 40 using any suitable method, for example a wire, cable, connector, or wirelessly using available wireless protocols, para. [0050], lines 11-14).
Regarding claim 6, Anderson discloses wherein the wireless data transmitter uses a protocol selected from the group consisting of 3G, 4G, 4G LTE, 5G, WIFI, BlueTooth, WirelessHD, WiGig, Z-Wave, or Zigbee (temperature display 45 may be coupled to the temperature sensor 40 using any suitable method, for example a wire, cable, connector, or wirelessly using available wireless protocols, para. [0050], lines 11-14).
Regarding claim 13, Anderson discloses wherein the tissue container is hermetically sealed (the canister 32 are coupled such that the organ chamber 30 is hermetically sealed, para. [0052], lines 4-6).
Regarding claim 14, Anderson discloses wherein the tissue container contains a preservation fluid configured to surround a tissue during transport (a desired amount of preservation fluid is introduced into the organ chamber 30, para. [0052], lines 6-7).
Regarding claim 15, Anderson discloses wherein at least one temperature sensor is disposed in contact with the preservation fluid (a desired amount of preservation fluid is introduced into the organ chamber 30, para. [0052], lines 6-7; further, Fig. 1 shows temperature sensor 40 disposed in contact with chamber 30, which comprises preservation fluid, as previously discussed).
Regarding claim 16, Anderson discloses wherein the tissue container comprises at least one recess configured to receive a cooling medium (the system also includes a second transport container having an insulated cavity for receiving the first transport container, and having recesses for receiving cooling media, para. [0013], lines 6-9).
Regarding claim 17, Anderson discloses wherein the cooling medium comprises one or more eutectic cooling blocks (the cooling media will be one or more eutectic cooling blocks, para. [0015], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 18, Anderson discloses wherein the computer device is configured to generate an alert when a measured temperature is outside a predetermined temperature range (the temperature sensor may also be connected to a processor which will compare the measured temperature to a threshold or range and create an alert signal when the temperature exceeds the threshold or range, para. [0040], lines 12-15).
Regarding claim 19, Anderson discloses wherein the output device comprises a mobile device, tablet, desktop computer, or pager (a networked device, e.g., a computer, cellphone, or pager, para. [0040], lines 16-17; a number of options for receiving and displaying the information from the system are available, including direct networks, webpages, dummy terminals, mobile devices (smartphones), tablets, pagers, and smart watches, para. [0083], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 20, Anderson teaches the invention discussed above in claim 1. Further, Anderson teaches a transmitter of the system, also discussed above. Also, hypothermic teaches a tissue transport system. However, Anderson does not explicitly teach flight-tracking.
For claim 20, a different embodiment of Anderson teaches flight-tracking of the system (para. [0082], line 15), which reads on the instant claim limitation of flight-tracking.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time, to further include flight-tracking, as taught by a different embodiment of Anderson, because Anderson teaches the system is configured to sense when it has moved into a shielded environment, e.g., inside an aircraft or airport; the system is configured to sense when it is no longer able to access the network, at which point the system will switch to flight-tracking to allow the receiving medical team to know the position of the system in real time (para. [0082], lines 11-16).
Regarding claim 22, Anderson discloses wherein the computer device is configured to display at least one of a minimum, a maximum, or an average temperature recorded during a session (the temperature sensor may also be connected to a processor which will compare the measured temperature to a threshold or range and create an alert signal when the temperature exceeds the threshold or range; the alert may comprise an audible tone, or may signal to a net worked device, e.g., a computer, cellphone, or pager that the temperature within the container exceeds the desired thresh old or range, para. [0040], lines 12-19).
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0095310 A1-Anderson et al (hereinafter “Anderson”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 8,389,280 B2-Taylor et al (hereinafter “Taylor”).
Regarding claim 4, Anderson teaches the invention discussed above in claim 1. Further, Anderson teaches a hypothermic tissue transport system, also discussed above. However, Anderson does not explicitly teach a global positioning system (GPS) transmitter.
For claim 4, Taylor teaches an invention directed to an apparatus and method for perfusing an organ to monitor, sustain and/or restore the viability of the organ, for transporting and/or storing the organ (col. 2, lines 45-48) and Taylor teaches a global positioning system may be added to transporter (col. 12, lines 38-39), which reads on the instant claim limitation of a global positioning system (GPS) transmitter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time, to further include a global positioning system (GPS) transmitter as taught by Taylor, because Taylor teaches the GPS allows for the facilitation of tracking of the organ (col. 12, lines 38-39) and an interface allows perfusion parameters, vascular resistance, and organ identification and transporter and cassette location to be tracked and displayed in real-time or captured for future analysis (col. 12, lines 43-46).
Regarding claim 7, Anderson teaches the invention discussed above in claim 5. Further, Anderson teaches a hypothermic tissue transport system, also discussed above. Further, Anderson teaches a wireless data transmitter, also discussed above. However, Anderson does not explicitly teach wherein the wireless data transmitter is a direct satellite data transmitter.
For claim 7, Taylor teaches an invention directed to an apparatus and method for perfusing an organ to monitor, sustain and/or restore the viability of the organ, for transporting and/or storing the organ (col. 2, lines 45-48) and Taylor teaches a global positioning system may be added to transporter (col. 12, lines 38-39), where a GPS is known in the art to be a satellite-based navigation system, and which reads on the instant claim limitation of a direct satellite data transmitter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time, to further include a direct satellite data transmitter as taught by Taylor, because Taylor teaches the GPS allows for the facilitation of tracking of the organ (col. 12, lines 38-39) and an interface allows perfusion parameters, vascular resistance, and organ identification and transporter and cassette location to be tracked and displayed in real-time or captured for future analysis (col. 12, lines 43-46).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states the status of the claims on the top of page 4 of their remarks. Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the rejection of claims 1-3, 5-6, and 12-22 begin on the bottom of page 4 of their remarks. On the bottom of page 4, applicant recites the relied upon prior art and recites amended independent claim 1 of the instant application. On the bottom of page 4 and the top of page 5 of applicant’s remarks, applicant asserts the relied upon reference, Anderson, “does not teach or suggest a computer device configured to create a session for an organ transport case, allow access to the session by one or more users with a session key, and display historical case data comprising recorded temperature and position data throughout the organ transport case to the one or more users.” Also, applicant asserts that “displaying historical case records to users with an access key differs from displaying readings from a temperature sensor on a display in real-time.”
In response, the latter arguments are not found persuasive because Anderson teaches firstly, a computer is taught by the reference. In particular, Anderosn teaches a computer terminal or web page where information about the position and condition of the tissue can be accessed during transport (para. [0029]). Also, Anderson teaches a processor of the system as well (para. [0051]). Moreover, Anderson teaches the real-time tracking of the position of the container. This information can be accessed by a transport team via a website, mobile device, tablet, or pager (para. [0013]). Also, Anderson teaches various options for receiving and displaying information from the system (para. [0083]). Additionally, computers and processors are known in the art for computing and comprises a component for operations such as memory (which stores data and history) or some type of data stream. The relied upon reference meet the limitations of the amended limitations for the reasons discussed above. That is, the device of Anderson includes a connected processor (not shown) and a computer terminal or web page where information about the position and condition of the tissue can be accessed during transport. Also, Anderson teaches the information obtained by the receivers and positioning transporter, can be accessed by a transport team via a website, mobile device, tablet, or pager. For the reasons discussed above in this section and the rejection above, claims 1-7, 13-20, and 22 stand rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LENORA A ABEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/MICHAEL L HOBBS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799