DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 4,954,129 to Giuliani et al. (Giuliani hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Giuliani teaches an extendable catheter (see Fig. 1) having an outer catheter (14) with a proximal end (at 34), a distal end (62), and a sidewall (66), defining a central lumen, and a longitudinal axis, an inner extension segment (16) with a proximal end (at 34), a distal end (36) and being extended (and therefore extendable) through the central lumen. Giuliani further teaches a plurality of projections (64 or 70) positioned in the central lumen in an annular gap between the segment and the outer catheter, the projections configured to center the extension segment in the central lumen (col. 4, ln. 10-23, “centralize the probe 16”) wherein the projections are surrounded by the inner surface of the central lumen.
Regarding claim 2, Giuliani teaches eight projections, which is greater than the required three.
Regarding claim 3, Giuliani teaches the eight projections on the extension segment as well as further projections (see at 14 in Fig. 1) totaling more than ten such.
Regarding claim 4, Giuliani teaches that the projections are carried on the outer surface of the inner extension segment (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Giuliani teaches an axially movable control wire (16).
Regarding claim 6, Giuliani teaches a plurality of projections (70) arranged in a circumferential pattern.
Regarding claim 7, Giuliani teaches that the centering feature includes rounded edges (see Fig. 2) in which various angles of inclination are defined which are not perpendicular to the longitudinal axis.
Regarding claim 8, Giuliani teaches a primary catheter (14) and an extension segment (16, 38) with an exposed section shorter than the catheter (14), and a control wire (16) which produces axial movement of the extension segment (see col. 3, ln. 18-23, “the probe 16 is advanced through the catheter”). Giuliani further teaches a plurality of projections (64 or 70) positioned in the central lumen in an annular gap between the segment and the outer catheter, the projections configured to center the extension segment in the central lumen (col. 4, ln. 10-23, “centralize the probe 16”) wherein the projections are surrounded by the inner surface of the central lumen.
Regarding claim 9, Giuliani teaches radially extending ridges (ribs 64).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 4, filed 8 October 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Giuliani as discussed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pre-Grant Publication 2022/0111175 (Mitchell et al.) teaches another catheter having centering projections (see especially Figs. 19-20, ribs 652).
/PHILIP E STIMPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 9 November 2026