DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “the inner catheter” in line 9 instead of – inner extension segment –. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pre-Grant Publication 2020/0069917 to Laby et al. (Laby hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Laby teaches an extendable catheter (10) having a proximal end (14), a distal end (12) and a sidewall (20, 34) defining a central lumen and a longitudinal axis. Laby further teaches an inner extension segment (38) having a proximal end (62) and a distal end (64) and positioned extending (and therefore extendable) through the central lumen such that the distal end is configured to extend beyond the distal end of the outer catheter, and annular gap (see e.g. Fig. 4A), and a plurality of projections (36) partially positioned between the inner extension segment and the outer catheter, which are configured to center the extension segment.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Laby teaches that there may be 16 projections (paragraph 61).
Regarding claim 4, Laby teaches that the projections are on an outside surface of the extension (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Laby teaches an axially movable control wire (guidewire, paragraph 52).
Regarding claim 6, Laby teaches a pattern of projections (MxN array, paragraph 61).
Regarding claim 7, as shown in Fig. 4B, Laby teaches that portions of the projections may be non-normal to the axis.
Regarding claim 8, Laby teaches an extension segment (38), a primary catheter (10) with a distal end (12) and a central lumen (see Fig. 3), a control wire (guidewire, see paragraph 52), and centering projections (36) on an outside surface of the extension segment.
Regarding claim 9, Laby teaches that the projections extend at least minimally axially and are ridges.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 31 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the argument that Laby does not teach an inner catheter or extension segment which is extendable through the central lumen, the examiner is not persuaded. The remainder of the clause, “such that the distal end of the extension segment is configured to extend beyond the distal end of the outer catheter” indicates that the limitation refers to, or at least includes (under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim), positioning rather than any extensional function. Since the inner extension segment (38) of Laby is positioned as claimed, the examiner holds that the limitation is anticipated.
With respect to the projections, the examiner has clarified above that the extensions are partially positioned as claimed. Such partial positioning is not excluded by the claim and the examiner therefore holds that Laby anticipates claim 1.
With respect to claim 8, the examiner notes that no separate argument is made to address this independent claim and therefore continues to hold that it is anticipated by Laby.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP E STIMPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 4 June 2026