DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application to Wong 2020/0116950US in view of the US Patent to Burris 7,335,058US.
In terms of claims 1 and 23, Wong teaches a transmission connector device (Figure 1-12) comprising an actuation unit (Figure 2: 50 wherein 34 provides actuation functionality via spring force) for actuating a latching unit (Figure 3: 62/32a-b) by pulling along an axial direction (Figure 3: RW) thereby transferring the latching unit (62/32a-b) from a latch position into a release position ([0035]), wherein the latching unit (Figure 3: 62/32a-b) comprises an at least partially ring-shaped spring element (Figure 12: 36; [0038]); wherein the actuating unit (50) comprises at least one guiding element (Figure 3: top surface of 15) which is configured to stretch the latching unit (top surface of 15 contains latches and protrusion which moves the connector or stretches along the axial direction of RW as shown in Figures 9 and 10) by pulling the actuation unit (50); wherein the latching unit (62/32) comprises at least partially ring-shaped spring element, wherein the spring element is radially expanded (See 36 and 32a) in the release position of the latching unit ([0035] and Figure 3: 32a and 30 which are part spring device 34).
Wong does not teach wherein the guiding element is movable under the latching unit by pulling the actuation unit to provide releasing of the latching unit, wherein the guiding element is configured for growing a diameter of the latching unit; wherein the spring element is radially expanded by a guiding element of the actuation element.
Burris does teach wherein the guiding element (Figure 1: 180 which is used to guide the cable 12 or connector insertion heat 144 for alignment and coupling) is movable under the latching unit (Figure 1: latching unit 160 is latched onto 180 wherein 180 is under 160; Figure 2: the tip corner of edge that protrudes out forming a side edge of recess flange 192 is located under the tip of 162. Figure 10 illustrate a more explicit example wherein body 2180 is located under latching arms of 2162, once the device is pulled the tip of 2162 expands outward to release from the recess 2180c) by pulling the actuation unit to release the latching unit (Figure 1: body of shell 120 is tugged to release 160 from flange recess of 192 wherein the tip 162 is located above an edge of the wall of 192, the edges move under the under tip 162 during release. Another example is shown in Figure 19: wherein 2180 is located under 2162, wherein 2180 moves under 2162 during release and the diameter of 2162 grows or expands outward), wherein the guiding element (180) is configured for growing a diameter of the latching unit (Figure 5: when 120 is pulled away spring hooks 192 is dislodge allowing the c-spring 160 to expand or grow outward or Figure 10 also has similar feature wherein spring arms of 2162 flex outward or grow in diameter has 120 is pulled to release the two structures) wherein the spring element (2162) is radially expanded by a guiding element (See Figure 10: 2162 and 2180c) of the actuation unit (120/130). The C-shaped spring is also considered by the examiner as ring shape because similar to applicant spring it is not fully closed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuating unit and guiding member of Wong to include an additional groove a spring c-ring to provide secondary securing mechanics for the device. Over time the securing mechanism of Wong maybe worn out due to grooves being damage. Further the grooves can be inadvertently dislodged. Adding an additional coupling lock provides ensure the device is properly secured. The spring can be configured base on material and its spring force constant to endure accidently pulling that is much greater than the locking mechanism of the connector taught by Wong.
As for Claim 2, Wong / Burris teaches the device of claim 1, wherein Wong teaches the spring element is embodied as a wire clip (Figure 12: 32 and [0038]).
As for Claim 3, Wong / Burris teaches the device of claim 2, wherein Wong teaches the spring element is embodied as a C-shaped wire clip (Figure 12: 32 has a curve end portion that curves over like a C-shape and [0038]).
As for Claim 4, Wong / Burris teaches the device of claim 1, wherein Wong teaches the comprising a holding unit (Figure 3: inner side wall of 54) for holding the latching unit (Figure 3: 54 holds 62/32a-b within it) with respect to the axial direction in relation to the actuation unit (Figure 3: 50 and 34).
As for Claim 5, Wong / Burris teaches the device of claim 1, wherein Wong teaches the actuation unit (Figure 12: 34 or Figure 2: 34 within 50) comprises at least one channel (within 50), in which the latching unit (62/32a) is partially arranged (Figure 3: 62/32a and 34 are all within 50), and an actuation element (Figure 3: 20 or individual prongs of 34), which at least partially delimits the channel (Figure 3: within 50 or more specifically spacing within 54).
As for Claim 7, Wong / Burris teaches the device of claim 5, wherein Wong teaches the actuation unit (50) comprises at least one channel (within 54), in which the latching unit (62/32a) is partially arranged (Figure 3: 62 is within 54), and an actuation element (20), which at least partially delimits the channel (Figure 3: 20 is within 54), and wherein the guiding element (top surface of 15) at least partially delimits the channel (Figure 3: top surface of 15 is within channel of 50/54).
As for Claim 9, Wong / Burris teaches the device of claim 1, wherein Wong teaches comprising a locking unit (22 [0027], 40 [0026] or coupling nut [0024]) as disclosed for locking the actuation unit (50) in a locked position and for preventing actuation of the actuation unit in the locked position ([0024-0027]).
As for Claim 10, Wong / Burris teaches the device of claim 9, wherein Wong teaches the locking unit (22 [0027], 40 [0026] or coupling nut [0024]) prevents a relative movement of the actuation unit
As for Claim 11, Wong / Burris teaches the device of claim 9, wherein Wong teaches the locking unit (22 [0027], 40 [0026] or coupling nut [0024]) comprises an operating element (12 or 11) which is rotatable for transferring the actuation unit
As for Claim 12, Wong / Burris teaches the device of claim 11, wherein Wong teaches comprising a holding unit (tubular housing of 54 as shown Figure 4) for holding the latching unit (tubular housing 54 holds 62/32a) with respect to the axial direction in relation to the actuation unit (50 wherein 34 /20 performs actuation), wherein in the locked position the operating element (12/11) is connected to the holding unit (54) with respect to the axial direction (Figure 8).
As for Claim 13, Wong / Burris teaches the device of claim 11, wherein Wong teaches comprising a cable boot unit (11)
As for Claim 14, Wong / Burris teaches the device of claim 11, wherein Wong teaches comprising a cable boot unit (11), which at least partially forms the operating element (12/11), wherein the cable boot unit (11) is fixed to the actuation unit (50 wherein 34 which is part of 50 is attached to 11/12 via structures 15 and 54) with respect to the axial direction (Figure 8).
As for Claim 15, Wong / Burris teaches the device of claim 9, wherein Wong teaches comprising an elastic element (20) for transferring back at least the actuation unit (50 via 34) from the unlocked position into the locked position (using grooves ridges of 22; [0028]).
As for Claim 16, Wong / Burris teaches the device of claim 15, wherein Wong teaches the elastic element (20) is also configured for transferring the latching unit into a rest position ([0024-0028] or release position).
As for Claim 17, Wong / Burris teaches the device of claim 9, wherein Wong teaches the actuation unit (50/34) comprises at least one abutment element (Figure 3: 34a comes in contact with a portion of 12), which in the locked position abuts against the operating element (Figure 8) thereby preventing actuation of the actuation unit ([0026]).
As for Claim 18, Wong / Burris teaches the device of claim 17, wherein Wong teaches the abutment element (Figure 3: 34a comes in contact with 12) is embodied as an annex which extends only partially along a circumferential direction of the actuation unit (Figure 3: 34a and 12).
As for Claim 19, Wong / Burris teaches the device of claim 17, wherein Wong teaches the abutment element is embodied as an annex which extends only partially along a circumferential direction of the actuation unit (Figure 3: 34a and 12) and wherein the locking unit (22 [0027], 40 [0026] or coupling nut [0024]) comprises at least one recess (recess within 22, sleeve 40, or a coupling nut middle portion), into which the abutment element (34 is movable within 20 as it extends during push/pull movement to contact 12) is moveable when actuating the operating element (when housing 54 is pushed or pulled element 12 also moves because its physically attached to 54 via a latch as shown in Figure 8; The push/pull movement pushes up on spring 34 and cause the 62 to lock or release base on position relative to latches 22; Figure 8 and [0035]).
In terms of Claim 20, Wong teaches a transmission connector device (Figures 1-12) comprising an actuation unit (all the components within 50 wherein actuation is performs by 34 or 20) for actuating a latching unit (Figure 3: 62/32a) by pulling along an axial direction (Figure 3) and thereby transferring the latching unit (Figure 3: 62/32a) from a latch position into a release position [0024-0028], and comprising a locking unit (22/40/ or coupling nut) for locking the actuation unit (50) in a locked position and for preventing actuation of the actuation unit in the locked position ([0024-0028]).
Wong does not teach wherein the locking unit locks a relative movement of the actuation unit along the axial direction.
Burris does teach wherein the locking unit locks a relative movement of the actuation unit along the axial direction (Figures 1, 5: wherein spring 160 locks the device for being decoupled along the axial direction [Column 4 lines 15-35], and Figure 10: wherein spring 2160). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuating unit and guiding member of Wong to include an additional groove a spring c-ring to provide secondary securing mechanics for the device. Over time the securing mechanism of Wong maybe worn out due to grooves being damage. Further the grooves can be inadvertently dislodged. Adding an additional coupling lock provides ensure the device is properly secured. The spring can be configured base on material and its spring force constant to endure accidently pulling that is much greater than the locking mechanism of the connector taught by Wong.
In terms of Claim 21, Wong / Burris teaches a transmission connector (Figures 1-12) comprising a transmission connector device according to claim 1 (See rejection to Claim 1).
In terms of Claim 22, Wong / Burris teaches a system (Figure 1-12) wherein Wong teaches comprising a transmission connector device (See 50 and Figure 1-12) according to claim1 and wherein Wong teaches a cooperating unit (Figure 3: 60) for connecting with the transmission connector device (50), wherein the cooperating unit (60) has at least one recess for receiving at least part of the latching unit (Figure 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In this instant the applicant argues the prior art does not teach “an actuation unit has at least one guiding element. The at least one guiding element movable under the latching unit by pulling the actuation unit to provide releasing of the latching unit and is configured for growing a diameter of the latching unit” and wherein the spring element is radially expanded as recited in Claim 1 and 23 (Remarks Page 5 and Page 7-8).
The applicant further states the prior art of Burris does not grow the diameter of the latching unit 160 when a pull function is being performed as amended in the new amendment of the prior art.
The examiner respectfully disagrees, as shown in Figure 2 above and Figure 10 below: Burris does teach wherein the guiding element (Figure 1: 180 which is used to guide the cable 12 or connector insertion heat 144 for alignment and coupling) is movable under the latching unit (Figure 1: latching unit 160 is latched onto 180 wherein 180 is under 160; Figure 2: the tip corner of edge that protrudes out forming a side edge of recess flange 192 is located under the tip of 162. Figure 10 illustrate a more explicit example wherein body 2180 is located under latching arms of 2162, once the device is pulled the tip of 2162 expands outward to release from the recess 2180c) by pulling the actuation unit to release the latching unit (Figure 1: body of shell 120 is tugged to release 160 from flange recess of 192 wherein the tip 162 is located above an edge of the wall of 192, the edges move under the under tip 162 during release. Another example is shown in Figure 19: wherein 2180 is located under 2162, wherein 2180 moves under 2162 during release and the diameter of 2162 grows or expands outward), wherein the guiding element (180) is configured for growing a diameter of the latching unit (Figure 5: when 120 is pulled away spring hooks 192 is dislodge allowing the c-spring 160 to expand or grow outward or Figure 10 also has similar feature wherein spring arms of 2162 flex outward or grow in diameter has 120 is pulled to release the two structures). The C-shaped spring is also considered by the examiner as ring shape because similar to applicant spring it is not fully closed.
.
In regards to Claim 20, the applicant argues the prior art does not teach “a locking unit for locking the actuation unit in a locked position” and for “preventing actuation of the actuation unit in the locked position” (Remarks Page 7).
The examiner respectfully disagrees, the latching arms 38a are fitted into grooves 23a provides the locking mechanism. To unlock a person would rotate or actuate the arms 38a to allow the actuation unit to actuate.
Similar structures are shown by element 22a of Wong, which are then fitted into grooves latch of 62. Both the claimed invention and the prior art requires human interaction to unlock since the device can’t actuation itself during locking position. The only difference is that the claimed invention requires a rotation actuation to unlock while the prior art requires a pulling function. However, this feature is not claimed in Claim 20.
Hence the examiner considers the prior art structures of 22 and 62 are capable and meets the limitation of “a locking unit for locking the actuation unit in a locked position” and for “preventing actuation of the actuation unit in the locked position” because structure 22 of 40 meets the locking unit limitation for locking the actuation unit 50 from actuation without human interaction to unlock it”. As explained above, the locking structure of claimed and disclosed invention also actuations with human interaction. The examiner suggests for the applicant to claimed positively the differences discussed above to overcome the prior art of record.
Thus, the newly amended limitations are still rejected over the prior art of Burris as detailed above.
This action is therefore made FINAL for the reasons detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOANG Q TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874