DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speedclock (https://www.dailymotion.com/video/xgsnco) in view of Wang (PGPub 2008/0166023), hereafter referred to as Wang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (PGPub 2008/0166023), hereafter referred to as Wang.
Speedclock discloses 1. A speed detecting method, applied to a mobile phone comprising a distance computing apparatus and a speed computing apparatus, the speed detecting method comprising: (a) computing an object to be detected distance between the mobile phone and an objected to be detected via the distance computing apparatus; (Speedclock, minute 1:10-1:25, shows the phone determining the distance from an object to the phone)and (b) computing a moving speed of the object to be detected. (Speedclock, minute 1:45 – 2:00 shows the phone capturing speed of a vehicle)
Speedclock does not give details of their algorithm, and therefore does not expressly disclose “(b) computing a moving speed of the object to be detected according to the object to be detected distance via the speed computing apparatus. “
Wang discloses “(b) computing a moving speed of the object to be detected according to the object to be detected distance via the speed computing apparatus. “ (Wang, paragraph 9, “[0009] An alternative technology, LiDAR, uses pulsed laser light instead of radio waves to measure vehicle speeds. A LiDAR device can aim a pulsed narrow beam of light at a target vehicle and measure the time it takes to receive the reflected signal. Knowing the speed of light, the range of the target vehicle can be calculated. If the laser pulse is applied continuously and the target vehicle is moving, the range will change with time and the difference in time it takes the transmitted signal to strike the target and return can be used to measure the speed of the target vehicle. The laser beam is much narrower compared to the beam width of radar systems. Therefore, LiDAR can pinpoint to a particular target and is also more difficult to detect.”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to determine speed from speedclock using the method of Wang.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been as an efficient way of calculating speed.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Speedclock with Wang to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Speedclock with Wang discloses 2. The speed detecting method of claim 1, wherein the mobile phone further comprises a light emitting device, wherein the step (a) controls the light emitting device to illuminate the object to be detected before computes the object to be detected distance. (Wang, paragraph 9, “[0009] An alternative technology, LiDAR, uses pulsed laser light instead of radio waves to measure vehicle speeds. A LiDAR device can aim a pulsed narrow beam of light at a target vehicle and measure the time it takes to receive the reflected signal. Knowing the speed of light, the range of the target vehicle can be calculated. If the laser pulse is applied continuously and the target vehicle is moving, the range will change with time and the difference in time it takes the transmitted signal to strike the target and return can be used to measure the speed of the target vehicle. The laser beam is much narrower compared to the beam width of radar systems. Therefore, LiDAR can pinpoint to a particular target and is also more difficult to detect.”)
Speedclock with Wang discloses 3. The speed detecting method of claim 1, wherein the distance computing apparatus uses laser to compute the object to be detected distance. (Wang, paragraph 9, “[0009] An alternative technology, LiDAR, uses pulsed laser light instead of radio waves to measure vehicle speeds. A LiDAR device can aim a pulsed narrow beam of light at a target vehicle and measure the time it takes to receive the reflected signal. Knowing the speed of light, the range of the target vehicle can be calculated. If the laser pulse is applied continuously and the target vehicle is moving, the range will change with time and the difference in time it takes the transmitted signal to strike the target and return can be used to measure the speed of the target vehicle. The laser beam is much narrower compared to the beam width of radar systems. Therefore, LiDAR can pinpoint to a particular target and is also more difficult to detect.”)
Speedclock with Wang discloses 4. The speed detecting method of claim 1, wherein the distance computing apparatus is a depth sensor which acquires image depth information and acquires the object to be detected distance based on the image depth information. (Wang, paragraph 9, “[0009] An alternative technology, LiDAR, uses pulsed laser light instead of radio waves to measure vehicle speeds. A LiDAR device can aim a pulsed narrow beam of light at a target vehicle and measure the time it takes to receive the reflected signal. Knowing the speed of light, the range of the target vehicle can be calculated. If the laser pulse is applied continuously and the target vehicle is moving, the range will change with time and the difference in time it takes the transmitted signal to strike the target and return can be used to measure the speed of the target vehicle. The laser beam is much narrower compared to the beam width of radar systems. Therefore, LiDAR can pinpoint to a particular target and is also more difficult to detect.”)
Claims 5-8 are rejected under similar grounds as claims 1-4.
Conclusion
/GANDHI THIRUGNANAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672