DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/23/26.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “connecting device”, “wire feeding device”, “wire feeding device connecting plate”, in claim 1, and “connecting block” in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a second gas cylinder”, but does not claim a first gas cylinder. It is unclear whether a first cylinder is intended to be part of the device structure.
The remaining claims are rejected based on their dependence on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Withers et al. (US2006/0185473).
Regarding claim 1, Withers teaches a device for controlling a size of a molten pool in a wire and arc additive manufacturing process, comprising: additive manufacturing equipment (Fig. 1), a connecting device (64) and bilateral gas flow devices (see two “argon gas” flanking the welding torch 18); wherein the additive manufacturing equipment comprises a welding gun (18), a welding power source (20), a second gas cylinder (it is understood that the argon gas has a cylinder source), a wire feeding device (14) and a wire feeding device connecting plate (shown schematically in Fig. 1), wherein welding wires are conveyed to a designed position of a deposited layer by the wire feeding device, molten drops are bonded to a designated substrate under an action of arcs, and a member is formed on the designated substrate by deposition (see paragraph [0014]); a heat source in the wire and arc additive manufacturing process is supplied by the welding power source connected to the welding gun (see paragraph [0014]); the wire feeding device is connected to the connecting device on the welding gun by the wire feeding device connecting plate, so that the welding gun and the wire feeding device move synchronously (see Figs. 1 and 5); and the bilateral gas flow devices are connected to the connecting device, and precise adjustment of relative positions of the bilateral gas flow devices and the welding gun is achieved by adjusting the connecting device (see paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 6, Withers teaches gases, used for an interior of the welding gun and two sides of the deposited layer, in a first gas cylinder and the second gas cylinder are inert gases (Withers teaches argon gas).
Regarding claim 7, Withers teaches wire and arc additive manufacturing manners comprise gas metal arc welding (GMAW), gas tungsten arc welding (GTAW) and plasma arcs (Withers teaches plasma arc, see paragraph [0014]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Withers in view of Stempfer et al. (US2022/0176484).
Regarding claim 2, Withers teaches the device of claim 1, and further teaches the connecting device comprises a connecting block (64), z-axis position adjusting devices, y-axis position adjusting devices, x-axis position adjusting devices and deflection angle position adjusting devices (paragraph [0016]).
Withers fails to explicitly teach wherein the connecting block is fixed to the welding gun, and the connecting block serves as a reference structural member for adjusting the relative positions of the bilateral gas flow devices and the welding gun; and the welding gun, the connecting block, the z-axis position adjusting devices, the y-axis position adjusting devices, the x-axis position adjusting devices, the deflection angle position adjusting devices and the bilateral gas flow devices are sequentially connected and combined by bolts.
In an analogous art, Stempfer teaches a welding fabrication system. Stempfer teaches a connecting block (See Fig. 9, showing welding device 410 bolted to the connecting block), where the block is fixed to the welding gun, and the connecting block serves as a reference structural member for adjusting the relative positions of the bilateral gas flow devices and the welding gun; and the welding gun, the connecting block, the z-axis position adjusting devices, the y-axis position adjusting devices, the x-axis position adjusting devices (see Fig. 9 and paragraph [0007]), the devices connected by bolts (see Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Withers and change it so that the connecting block is fixed to the welding gun, and the connecting block serves as a reference structural member for adjusting the relative positions of the bilateral gas flow devices and the welding gun; and the welding gun, the connecting block, the z-axis position adjusting devices, the y-axis position adjusting devices, the x-axis position adjusting devices, the deflection angle position adjusting devices and the bilateral gas flow devices are sequentially connected and combined by bolts as taught by Stempfer to achieve precise positioning of the device during manufacturing.
Regarding claim 2, Withers as modified teaches the device for controlling the size of the molten pool in the wire and arc additive manufacturing process according to claim 2, but fails to explicitly teach connecting parts of the z-axis position adjusting devices, the y-axis position adjusting devices, the x-axis position adjusting devices and the deflection angle position adjusting devices are provided with size scales to achieve the precise adjustment of the relative positions of the bilateral gas flow devices and the welding gun.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Withers as modified and change it so that the deflection angle position adjusting devices are provided with size scales that are well known in the art to achieve desired positioning of the system components.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Withers in view of Henn (US7073561).
Regarding claim 5, Withers teaches the device for controlling the size of the molten pool in the wire and arc additive manufacturing process according to claim 1, but fails to teach the welding wires are stainless steel welding wires or aluminum alloy welding wires.
In an analogous art, Henn teaches a welding fabrication system where aluminum and steel are noted alternatives to the titanium used in Withers (see Col. 4 lines 39-55).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Withers and change it so that the welding wires are stainless steel welding wires or aluminum alloy welding wires as taught by Henn to use suitable alternative welding materials.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the PTO-892 for a list of relevant wire and arc additive manufacturing references.
/CAMERON A CORDAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745