DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant' s arguments, see Remarks, filed 01/21/2026, with respect to newly amended claims 1 and 11 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
D2 explicitly teach using one linear drive which displaces redirection body/source along one line. (col 3 line 60 -col 4 line 12)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 10-13, 16-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 US 11402475 B1 in view of D2 US 12386042 B2.
Regarding claims 1 and 11 D1 teaches
1, 11. Radar determination circuitry configured to:
measure a first position (col 4 lines 45-59 with fig. 5A) of a radar (lidar is laser radar) source and a second position (second position of the mirror corresponding to second position on frame fig. 5A) of the radar source(mirror) with respect to a reference coordinate system of a vehicle(implicit),
wherein the first position and the second position differ from each other (fig. 5a) to (intended use no patentable weight) synchronizing the movement of the radar source with a measurement interval in which including multiple chirp sequences are used to distinguish multiple targes;(measurement frame is corresponding to fig. 5A which includes transmission of multiple chirps see fig. 3 which are synchronized with transmission Col 10 lines 4-34) and
determine, for each of the multiple targets, a target parameter based on synchronized movement of the radar source with the measurement interval. (col 5 line 60 -col 6 line 9)
but D1 does not teach
wherein a position of the radar source follows a straight line trajectory during the measurement interval and the radar source speed is constant during the measurement interval
D2 teaches alternative scanning mechanism which uses instead of rotational mirror the translational linear motion (col 3 line 60 col 4 line 12)
Although D2 does not teach constant speed D1 teaches scan pattern 5A which requires same distance between points in horizontal direction and therefore it would be obvious to provide linear scan with constant velocity in order to achieve scanning pattern of fig. 5A of D1 without changing the transmission frequency.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 with invention by D2 in order to use alternative scanning technologies which use line scan mechanism with appropriate advantages describes in (col 3 line 60 col 4 line 12).
D1 also teaches
2, 12. The radar determination circuitry of claim 1, wherein the radar source includes a radar antenna or a mirror. (col 4 lines 45-59)
3, 13. The radar determination circuitry of claim 1, further configured to:
trigger a radar measurement based on a movement trajectory of the radar source.(col 10 line 35- col 11 line 3)
6, 16. The radar determination circuitry of claim 1, wherein the second position being different from the first position is caused due to a displacement of the radar source in the coordinate system of the vehicle.(implicit mirror either rotates or oscillates and even if center position is stationary(as one can argue) the sides of the mirrors due to rotation or oscillation have different position)
7, 17. The radar determination circuitry of claim 6, wherein the displacement is inclined with respect to a radar detection direction.(inherent due to rotation the second position is inclined relative to the detection region)
10, 20. The radar determination circuitry of claim 1, wherein the target parameter includes at least one of a position, a distance, a velocity, and an angle. (col 5 line 60 -col 6 line 9)
Claim(s) 4-5, 8-9, 14-15 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D2 and further in view of D3 US 20190154836 A1.
Regarding claims 4 and 14 Although D1 does not teach D3 teaches
4, 14. The radar determination circuitry of claim 1, further configured to:
impart a vibration to the radar source.[0006]
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 with invention by D3 in order to make optical scanner which would scanner in different directions.
Regarding claims 5 and 15 Although D1 does not teach D3 teaches
5, 15. The radar determination circuitry of claim 4, further configured to:
determine an acceleration caused by the imparted vibration.[0012]
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 with invention by D3 in order to dynamically vary distances between scan lines.
Regarding claims 8-9 and 18-19 Although D1 does not teach D3 teaches
8,18. The radar determination circuitry of claim 7, wherein the inclination is forty-five(inclination of 14 is 45 degree) degrees.(fig. 26A)
9, 19. The radar determination circuitry of claim 7, wherein the displacement and the radar detection direction lie in a plane parallel to a movement direction of the vehicle.(fig. 31, 32 obvious to illuminate in front of vehicle)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 with invention by D3 in order to set up scanner which would scan the desired region(matter of design choice to direct beam in desired region).
Conclusion
/HELENA H SERAYDARYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/RESHA DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648