DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application GERMANY 10 2022 105 737.2 03/11/2022 filed on 03/15/23.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), filed on 08/22/25 and 10/03/23 have been considered. Please refer to Applicant's copy of the 1449 submitted herewith.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of i. One A monomer: methyl methacrylate ii. One B monomer: n-butyl acrylate, and iii. One cycloaliphatic group: cyclohexyl group in the reply filed on 09/29/25 is acknowledged.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Specification is objected for abstract’s length. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, the beginning recitation “Curable adhesive” line 1 should be “A curable adhesive”
In claims 2-9, 11-20, the beginning recitation “Curable adhesive” line 1 should be “The curable adhesive”
In claim 10, the beginning recitation “Adhesive tape” line 1 should be “An adhesive tape”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janoski (US 2024/0084125) as evidenced from KURARITY copolymer Product data sheet, product data sheet of EPON 828, and product data sheet of EPON 1001F (downloaded on 1/18/26).
Regarding claims 1-8, 10-19, Janoski discloses an adhesive tape comprising as adhesive layer a curable adhesive (para [0001], [0004], [0112]), wherein the curable adhesive comprising methacrylate block copolymer of structure A-B-A structure such as KURARITY copolymer (Methyl methacrylate-Acrylate-Methyl methacrylate), wherein the block copolymer is present in an amount of 20 to 60 wt% (para [0006], [0016], [0027], [0030], [0028]), overlapping mass fraction of claim 1 amount of 25% or more, or claim 6 amount of 28% or more, or claim 15 amount of 30% or more, or claim 16 amount of 33% or more, wherein block A is hard block and block B is soft block in KURARITY copolymer (para [0027], [0029]-[0030]) having Tg 100 to 200 0C for hard block, overlapping claim 1 Tg of 50 0C or more and Tg -40 to -50 0C (of PnBA) or Tg -40 to -60 0C (of P(nBA/2EHA) for soft block, overlapping claim 1 Tg of 50 0C or less as evidenced from KURARITY copolymer Product data sheet, wherein the <δp>(A) for A block of A monomer, e.g. methyl methacrylate (para [0029]) is 9.31 MPa0.5 (please SEE applicants specification table 3), fall into claim 1 range of 9.0 to 11.0 MPa0.5, claim 2 range of 9.1 to 10.0 MPa0.5, claim 11 range of 9.2 to 9.5 MPa0.5, or claim 12 range of 9.3 to 9.4 MPa0.5, wherein the <δp>(B) for B block of B monomer, e.g. n-butyl acrylate (para [0029]) is 8.60 MPa0.5 (please SEE applicants specification table 3), fall into claim 1 range of less than 9 MPa0.5, claim 3 range of 6.0 to 8.9 MPa0.5, claim 13 range of 6.5 to 8.8 MPa0.5, or claim 14 range of 7.0 to 8.7 MPa0.5. Janoski further discloses epoxy resin in an amount of 5 to 60 wt% (para [0031]) comprises first epoxy and second epoxy in ratio of 1:1 (para [0032] with the example of EPON 828 and EPON 1001F (para [0033]). As evidenced from product data sheet of EPON 828 is liquid with viscosity 110-115 p (fall into claim 1 range of viscosity 40 Pa or less) and from product data sheet of EPON 1001F is solid, wherein epoxy resin in an amount of 5 to 60 wt% comprises first epoxy and second epoxy in ratio of 1:1 (para [0031]-[0032]), overlapping claim 1 first epoxy in mass fraction 5% or more and second epoxy in mass fraction 5% or more, claim 7 first epoxy in mass fraction 10% or more, claim 8 second epoxy in mass fraction 10% or more, claim 17 first epoxy in mass fraction 15% or more, claim 18 first epoxy in mass fraction 20% or more, or claim 19 second epoxy in mass fraction 20% or more. Table 4 example 19 of Jonoski is more specific to the claimed composition.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists for the curable adhesive, wherein Janoski discloses the block copolymer in an amount of 20 to 60 wt%, Tg 100 to 200 0C for hard block, Tg -40 to -50 0C (of PnBA) or Tg -40 to -60 0C (of P(nBA/2EHA) for soft block, and epoxy resin in an amount of 5 to 60 wt% comprises first epoxy and second epoxy in ratio of 1:1, overlapping the requirement of claims 1, 6-8, 15-19. See In re Wertheim regarding prima facie cases with overlapping ranges (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) See MPEP § 2144.05).
Claims 9, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janoski as evidenced from KURARITY copolymer Product data sheet, product data sheet of EPON 828, and product data sheet of EPON 1001F (downloaded on 1/18/26) applied to claim 1, and further in view of Schwartz (US 2016/0288473).
Janoski includes the features of claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 9, 20, Jonoski does not disclose the one or the two or more first epoxide compounds and/or the one or the two or more second epoxide compounds are selected from epoxide compounds having at least one cycloaliphatic group, where epoxide compounds having at least one cycloaliphatic group are selected from epoxide compounds having at least one a cyclohexyl group and/or dicyclopentadienyl group.
However, Schwartz discloses an adhesive tape comprising as adhesive layer a curable adhesive (para [0009], [0026]), comprising methacrylate block copolymer of structure A-B-A structure such as KURARITY copolymer LA2250 (table 1) and plurality of epoxy resin such as EPON 828 and EPON 1001F, and functionally equivalent cyclohexyl epoxy resin, e.g., bis(3,4-epoxy-6-methylcyclohexylmethyl) adipate (para [0046]-[0048]). Jonoski and Schwartz are pertinent to the adhesive tape comprising as adhesive layer a curable adhesive comprising methacrylate block copolymer of structure A-B-A structure such as KURARITY copolymer and plurality of epoxy resin such as EPON 828 and EPON 1001F.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have used the cyclohexyl epoxy resin of the claims in the composition of Jonoski because Schwartz teaches that the claimed cyclohexyl epoxy resin and the epoxy resin such as EPON 828 or EPON 1001F of Jonoski are functionally equivalent and it is prima facie obvious to substitute art-recognized functional equivalents known for the same purpose, see MPEP § 2144.06; In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958).
Conclusion
/KUMAR R BHUSHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766