DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 9/10/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-8,10-13 and 15-18 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, “defines an at least one dimension” should be corrected to “defines at least one dimension” for correctness.
Regarding claim 11, “an outside surface of the constraint member or an outer housing” should be corrected to “the outside surface of the constraint member or the outer housing” for claim language consistency.
Regarding claim 15, “an outside surface of the constraint member or an outer housing” should be corrected to “the outside surface of the constraint member or the outer housing” and “a different dose or type” should be corrected to “the different dose or the type” for claim language consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 8, 10-13, 15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite “wherein the geometric profile defines an at least one dimension of the molded, rigid constraint profile of the constraint member”. This limitation is not supported by the original disclosure and is considered as new matter. The geometric profile is disclosed as defining “one or more of tubing set outer diameter, tubing set material, tubing set material lot code, constraint material lot code, internal batch control numbers, number of fluid lumens disposed within the tubing set, tubing set medication lumen diameters, tubing set medication lumen arrangement within the tubing set cross section, number of electrical conductors disposed within the tubing set, number of optical conductors disposed within the tubing set, the medication name, the medication dose, the medication concentration, the medication lot number, the medication expiration date, the numeric medication flow rate (e.g., in mL/h) corresponding to the constraint, the ordinal identifier of the flow rate corresponding to the constraint (e.g., “slow set,” “fast set,” or “Set A”) the medication administration temperature corresponding to the flow rate, the presence or absence of a clamping device in the apparatus, tubing set apparatus lot code, tubing set apparatus serial number or unique device identifier, tubing set apparatus Global Trade Item Number (GTIN), or tubing set apparatus expiration date.” ([0307]) as the geometric profile is in regard to the human-readable indicia 1727. The disclosure supports the profile defining “the numeric medication flow rate (e.g., in mL/h) corresponding to the constraint” but does not support the geometric profile directly defining a dimension of the constraint profile.
The Examiner notes that in Applicant’s response filed 9/1/2026, the paragraph numbers replied upon for support for the amendments ([0299]-[0300]) are drawn to a different, non-elected invention of Figs. 14A-14B. Paragraph [0218] discloses that “the constraint 2701 shape, contours and size may be paired to a specific medication and flow behaviors” but does not disclose the geometric profile provided on an outside surface of the constraint member or an outer housing containing the constraint member specifically defining at least one dimension.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 11-12, 15, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bae (KR 20170041393 A).
Regarding claims 1-3, Bae discloses a modular constraint assembly connectable to a tubing set for use in medication delivery (drug delivery device comprising flow-controlled drug dose controller 10 and drug delivery tube 3, [025] and [0028] & Fig. 1) comprising:
a constraint member (flow controlled drug dose controller 10, [0028] & Fig. 3-5) comprising a molded, rigid constraint profile (orifice 16 comprising passage hole 16a, [0041] and [0050] & Fig. 4-5), a distal aperture (second groove portion 16d, [0050] & Fig. 4-5), and a proximal aperture defining a lumen having a first diameter (first groove portion 16b having a diameter, [0050] & Fig. 4-5), where the constraint profile defines a restricted lumen having a second diameter (passage hole 16a defining a lumen having a diameter smaller than the diameter of first groove portion 16b, [0050] & Fig. 4-5);
a distal connector in fluid communication with the distal aperture (second portion 13 having a second passage 13a in communication with orifice 16, [0040]-[0041] & Fig. 4-5); and a proximal connector in fluid communication with the proximal aperture (first portion 12 having a first passage 12a in communication with orifice 16, [0040]-[0041] and [0036] & Fig. 4-5), wherein the distal and proximal connectors are integral to the constraint member (orifice 16, second portion 13, and first portion 12 all being integrally formed of body part 11, [0034]-[0035] and [0040]-[0041] & Fig. 4-5),
wherein the first diameter is greater than the second diameter (diameter of portion 16b is greater than the diameter of passage hole 16a, [0047] and [0050] & Fig. 4-5), and wherein the constraint profile is configured with a predetermined shape to achieve a calibrated flow rate for a fluid medication at a specific concentration and a medication administration temperature (“since the drug introduced into the first passage 12a passes through the through hole 16a of the orifice 16 and passes only a certain amount of the drug, the drug can be controlled to be administered in a predetermined amount by the present invention”, [0041] & Fig. 4-5; “the dose can correspond to the diameter of the through hole 16a of the orifice 16”, [0047]; passage hole 16a configured with a predetermined diameter to achieve a calibrated flow rate, which would necessarily yield a flow rate for a given substance at a given temperature),
wherein an outside surface of the constraint member further comprises a geometric profile, where the geometric profile comprises a shape of a plurality of shapes (display portion 19 comprising a numerical portion 19a and a hue portion 19b, both defining two separate shapes as seen in Fig. 3, also see [0047]; portion 19a, shown in Fig. 6, has a geometric profile in the shape of a rectangle, with square and rectangular sections inside, see Fig. 3-6),
where each shape of the plurality of shapes corresponds to a different dose, and wherein the geometric profile defines an at least one dimension of the molded, rigid constraint profile of the constraint member (“The display portion 19 may include a numerical portion 19a indicating a dose and a hue portion 19b corresponding to the numerical portion 19a. Where the numerical portion 19a corresponding to the dose can correspond to the diameter of the through hole 16a of the orifice 16”, [0047]-[0048] & Fig. 3-6; “the display unit 19 can be produced for each control dosage set for the drug dose controller 10. In this case, numbers and colors can be displayed together. 6 shows various capacity settings under the condition that the droplet size is 20 drops / ml and the container size is 500 ml.”, [0049] & Fig. 6; each square of the plurality of squares corresponds to a different dose, which corresponds to, or defines, a diameter of the through hole 16a).
Regarding claim 4, Bae discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Bae further discloses the modular constraint assembly wherein the distal and proximal connectors are each connected to flexible tubing connected to the constraint member (first portion 12 operatively connected to flexible drug delivery tube 3, [0005] and [0028] & Fig. 1-2; second portion 13 operatively connected to downstream tubing, see Fig. 14 and [0061]).
Regarding claim 8, Bae discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Bae further discloses the modular constraint assembly wherein the constraint profile is substantially symmetric (passage hole 16a is symmetric, see Fig. 4-5).
Regarding claims 11-12, Bae discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Bae further discloses the modular constraint assembly wherein an outside surface of the constraint member is provided with one or more indicia related to use of the modular constraint assembly, wherein the one or more indicia comprises a numeric medication flow rate corresponding to the constraint member (“The display portion 19 may include a numerical portion 19a indicating a dose and a hue portion 19b corresponding to the numerical portion 19a. Where the numerical portion 19a corresponding to the dose can correspond to the diameter of the through hole 16a of the orifice 16”, [0047] & Fig. 3-6; the numbers on display portion 19 are being interpreted as the indicia as the numbers indicate the flow rate), wherein the one or more indicia further comprises a human readable encoding (the numbers of display portion 19 are capable of being read by a human, [0047]-[0049] & Fig. 3-6).
Regarding claim 15, Bae discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Bae further discloses the modular constrain assembly wherein an outside surface of the constraint member further comprises a plurality of colors, where the plurality of colors corresponds to a different dose (display unit 19, on an outside of controller 10, in the form of a sticker, as seen in Fig. 3 and 6, containing multiple colors corresponding to a drug dose, [0049]).
Regarding claim 17, Bae discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Bae further discloses the modular constraint assembly wherein the constraint member comprising the molded, rigid constraint profile comprises no compliance against pressure from the fluid medication (“the drug dose controller 10 is luer lock”, [0029]-[0031] & Fig. 4-5; body portion 11 is inherently made of a rigid material which would provide no compliance against pressure from a fluid medication).
Regarding claim 18, Bae discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Bae further discloses the modular constraint assembly wherein the constraint member comprising the molded, rigid constraint profile comprises smoothed internal features (controller 10 comprises internal features, such as inner wall 16c and 16e, which are flat, or smoothed, surfaces, see [0050] & fig. 4-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (KR 20170041393 A) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Wilson (US 5916201 A).
Regarding claim 10, Bae discloses all the limitations of claim 4. However, Bae fails to explicitly disclose the modular constraint assembly further comprising a clamping feature slidable between two positions, where the clamping feature is configured to either fully stop fluid flow in a first position or allow fluid flow in a second position.
However, Wilson teaches a modular constraint assembly (slide clamp 24 and roll-type clamp 25 can be interpreted as a modular constraint assembly of solution set 10, Col 3 second paragraph & Fig. 1) further comprising a clamping feature slidable between two positions, where the clamping feature is configured to fully stop fluid flow in a first position (slide clamp 24 capable of sliding into a pinch position in which flow is fully stopped, Col 3 second paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Bae with Wilson to include a clamping feature slidable between two positions, where the clamping feature is configured to fully stop fluid flow in a first position, since such a modification would allow a user to completely shut off flow (Col 3 lines 36-41) in case of assembly failure or other device operational error.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (KR 20170041393 A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Abal (US 20120179142 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Bae discloses all the limitations of claim 11. However, Bae fails to explicitly disclose the modular constraint assembly wherein the one or more indicia further comprises a near-field communication or radiofrequency identification chip.
However, Abal teaches a modular constraint assembly (infusion tubing fitment 150, [0019] & Fig. 2) wherein an outside surface of the constraint member is provided with one or more indicia (identification mechanism 710A, tag 710B, bar code 710C, are all example of indicia provided on an outer surface of fitment 150, “It is appreciated that one or more or these or other identification mechanisms 710 may be employed independently or in combination.”, [0037] & Fig. 6-7B; “In one embodiment, such a unique identifier of an identification mechanism 710 can be used for auditing stock, or otherwise keeping track of IV infusion tubing fitment(s) 150 or IV infusion set(s) 100 in which IV infusion tubing fitment 150 is included.”, [0037] and see [0038]) wherein the one or more indicia further comprises a radiofrequency identification chip (RFID tag 710b, [0037] & Fig. 7B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Bae with Abal to include the one or more indicia comprising a radiofrequency identification chip since such a modification would allow a user to keep track of the modular constraint assembly and/or the infusion set to be used with it and distinguish between modular constraint assemblies used for specific treatment, as well as provide means for identification between multiple modular constraint assemblies (see [0037]-[0038] of Abal).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to Applicant’s arguments that Bae fails to teach a geometric profile, where the geometric profile defines an at least one dimension of the constraint profile, the Examiner finds that “The display portion 19 may include a numerical portion 19a indicating a dose and a hue portion 19b corresponding to the numerical portion 19a. Where the numerical portion 19a corresponding to the dose can correspond to the diameter of the through hole 16a of the orifice 16", [0047]-[0049] of Bae), as cited above. Display 19 defines a diameter, which is a dimension, of orifice 16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Caron (US-5409477-A), Lammers (US-20070157986-A1), Milijasevic (US-8870834-B2), and Jung (KR-20160139553-A).
/MARTIN A RADOMSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /EMILY L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783