DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 (2-13 by dependency) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a protected member" in line 2 and again “a protected member” in line 3. It is unclear if the applicant intends the same or an additional protected member as recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Hill et al. (US 2021/0054659).
Regarding claim 1. Hill et al. discloses a protection apparatus, comprising:
a protection shell (22), covering at least part of an area outside a protected member (28);
a first locking part (65, 64), comprising a first locking member (64) operable to move relative to a protected member (65);
a second locking part (68), comprising a second locking member (102) operable to move relative to the protection shell, wherein the second locking member has a locking position (Fig. 12, 13)) and an unlocking position (Fig.14,15) arranged at intervals in a movement direction, and the locking position and the unlocking position (31b) are respectively used to lock and unlock the protection shell the protection shell is locked to the second locking part when the second locking part is in the locking position, and the protection shell is unlocked from the second locking part when the second locking part is in the unlocking position;
a sensor (70F), arranged in the movement direction of the second locking member and configured to generate an in-position signal when the second locking member is in the unlocking position; and
a controller (70), configured to control, in response to the in-position signal, the first locking part to unlock the protected member, wherein the sensor is electrically connected to the controller ([0050) electronic control module).
Regarding claim 10, Hill et al. discloses the protection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller (70) is configured to: control the first locking part to lock the protected member when the time after the first locking part is unlocked exceeds a predetermined time ([0050]; and/or
maintain an unlocking state of the first locking part when the time after the first locking part is unlocked is less than or equal to the predetermined time (time setting [0050], l.22).
Regarding claim 11, Hill et al. discloses the protection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to maintain an unlocking state of the first locking part when the time after the first locking part is unlocked is less than or equal to the predetermined time (time setting [0050], l.22)..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Hill et al. (US 2021/0054659) in view of Bruce (US 8,226,131).
Claims 7, 8, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hill et al. (US 2021/0054659) in view of Bruce et al. (8,226,131).
Regarding claim 7, Hill et al. discloses the protection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the sensor (70F);
the second locking part (102) further comprises the main part and a support arm (104) the second locking member is fixedly connected to the support arm by means of the main part (110), and the support arm extends in the movement direction of the second locking member; and
when the second locking member moves to the unlocking position, an end part of the support arm moves to a contact point position of the sensor.
Hill et al. does not discuss: the sensor comprises a microswitch.
Bruce et al. teaches the sensor comprises a microswitch for the purpose of utilizing commercially available components as sensor and microswitch are general considered functionally equivalent.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Hill et al. with the sensor comprises a microswitch as taught by Bruce et al. for the expected benefit of utilizing commercially available components as sensor and microswitch are general considered functionally equivalent.
Regarding claim 8, Hill et al. as modified by Bruce et al. discloses the protection apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the second locking part further comprises a second positioning member and a second elastic element (108) sleeved on the second positioning member (110c), one end of the second positioning member is fixedly connected to (in assembly) the main part, and the other end extends in the movement direction of the second locking member; and
the second elastic element generates an elastic force to reset the second locking member from the unlocking position (Fig.14, 15) to the locking position (Fig.12,13).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 are allowed.
Claims 2-6, 9, 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Park (2021/0131143) as modified by Bruce et al. (8,226,131) discloses the protection apparatus except: a ribbed plate (13), wherein the ribbed plate (13) and the main plate (12) are respectively used to serve as a bottom and a side wall of the receiving recess (11), and the receiving recess (11) is used to at least partially receive the protected member; the second locking part (3) is configured to be located outside the receiving recess (11) and to slide relative to the ribbed plate (13), and the movement direction of the second locking member is perpendicular to a thickness direction of the main plate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's 3disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675