DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 11/26/2025 in which Claims 1-16, 18-24 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, on page 9, with respect to Claim 1, that Lin fails to teach or suggest a processor circuitry of a window operator assembly identifying connection loss between communication circuitry of a window operator assembly and the first wireless communication system and in response causing the communication circuitry to switch to the second wireless communication system and causing the window operator assembly to perform an action. Examiner disagrees and points to Lin’s teaching that the smart window is provided with a microprocessor 11, a data receiving and transmitting module 12, a sensing module 13…and a driving mechanism 16 for driving the window to be opened and closed (see ¶ 0023); the fire helmet 20 is provided with a microprocessor 21, a data receiving and transmitting module 22, a sensing module 23 (see ¶ 0024); when the firefighter arrives near the smart window 10, the data receiving and transmitting module 2 22 of the fire helmet 20 sends a connection data signal (dedicated protocol channel) request to the data receiving and transmitting module 1 12. After being processed by the microprocessor 11 in the smart window 10, the sensing module 13 is successfully connected to the sensing module 2 23. The microprocessor 1 sends a driving signal to activate the driving mechanism 16, so that the window sash 102 of the smart window 10 is automatically opened. When the firefighter leaves a certain distance, the sensing module 13 is disconnected from the sensing module 2 23, and the driving mechanism 16 is activated to close the window sash 102 of the smart window 10 (see ¶ 0025). Examiner construes that the connection loss between the helmet and the window trigger the automatic closure of the window.
Applicant further argues on page 10, with respect to Claim 1, that Lin does not teach or suggest identification of connection loss between the communication circuitry of the window operator assembly and the first wireless communication system, and in response, automatically cause the window operator assembly to perform an action. Rather, the connection loss in the '137 reference is between the two devices of the smart fire helmet and the smart window due the smart fire helmet moving a sufficient distance from the smart window, sometimes referred to as lost pairing between devices. The smart window itself does not have a connection loss with the first wireless communication system, such as Bluetooth or a near field communication system, but rather with the smart fire helmet directly. Accordingly, there is no action automatically performed in response to identification of a connection loss between the communication circuitry of the window operator assembly and the first wireless communication system. Examiner disagrees and points to Lin’s teaching that the smart window is provided with a microprocessor 11, a data receiving and transmitting module 12, a sensing module 13…and a driving mechanism 16 for driving the window to be opened and closed (see ¶ 0023); the fire helmet 20 is provided with a microprocessor 21, a data receiving and transmitting module 22, a sensing module 23 (see ¶ 0024); when the firefighter arrives near the smart window 10, the data receiving and transmitting module 2 22 of the fire helmet 20 sends a connection data signal (dedicated protocol channel) request to the data receiving and transmitting module 1 12. After being processed by the microprocessor 11 in the smart window 10, the sensing module 13 is successfully connected to the sensing module 2 23. The microprocessor 1 sends a driving signal to activate the driving mechanism 16, so that the window sash 102 of the smart window 10 is automatically opened. When the firefighter leaves a certain distance, the sensing module 13 is disconnected from the sensing module 2 23, and the driving mechanism 16 is activated to close the window sash 102 of the smart window 10 (see ¶ 0025). Examiner construes that the connection loss between the helmet and the window trigger the automatic closure of the window and the identification of the connection loss corresponds to when the helmet moves too far from the smart window, i.e. disconnecting the communication, and that the communication system can be reasonably construed to be Bluetooth, as such, the connection loss triggers closure of the window.
Applicant further argues on page 10, with respect to Claim 1, in reference to Lin, that neither the window nor the helmet lose connection to Bluetooth or other near field communication, and are still capable of communicating via Bluetooth or other near field communication with any device that is within range. Said differently, the connection loss is the pairing between the devices and not a loss of communication with the first wireless communication system. Examiner disagrees and points to Lin’s teaching that the smart window is provided with a microprocessor 11, a data receiving and transmitting module 12, a sensing module 13…and a driving mechanism 16 for driving the window to be opened and closed (see ¶ 0023); the fire helmet 20 is provided with a microprocessor 21, a data receiving and transmitting module 22, a sensing module 23 (see ¶ 0024); when the firefighter arrives near the smart window 10, the data receiving and transmitting module 2 22 of the fire helmet 20 sends a connection data signal (dedicated protocol channel) request to the data receiving and transmitting module 1 12. After being processed by the microprocessor 11 in the smart window 10, the sensing module 13 is successfully connected to the sensing module 2 23. The microprocessor 1 sends a driving signal to activate the driving mechanism 16, so that the window sash 102 of the smart window 10 is automatically opened. When the firefighter leaves a certain distance, the sensing module 13 is disconnected from the sensing module 2 23, and the driving mechanism 16 is activated to close the window sash 102 of the smart window 10 (see ¶ 0025). Examiner construes that the connection loss between the helmet and the window trigger the automatic closure of the window and the identification of the connection loss corresponds to when the helmet moves too far from the smart window, i.e. disconnecting the communication, and that the communication system can be reasonably construed to be Bluetooth, as such, the connection loss triggers closure of the window. Further, loss of pairing in a Bluetooth system is equivalent to a loss of communication.
Applicant further argues, on pages 10-11, with respect to Claim 1, in reference to Lin, that the receiving and transmitting module of the window sash does not lose connection and/or ability to further communicate via the first wireless communication system. For example, if the firefighter wearing the helmet moved such that they were again within range of the window sash, the communication between the helmet and window sash can be re-established using the described protocol. With connection loss between the communication circuitry and the first wireless communication system as claimed, communication using the first communication system by the communication circuitry is not possible. See para. 66 of the present application describing that communication with the window operator assembly is maintained by switching to the second wireless communication system in response to the lost connection with the first wireless communication system; see also amended claim 8 which clarifies the connection loss. Accordingly, there is no action automatically performed in response to identification of a connection loss between the communication circuitry of the window operator assembly and the first wireless communication system. Examiner disagrees and points to Lin’s teaching that the smart window is provided with a microprocessor 11, a data receiving and transmitting module 12, a sensing module 13…and a driving mechanism 16 for driving the window to be opened and closed (see ¶ 0023); the fire helmet 20 is provided with a microprocessor 21, a data receiving and transmitting module 22, a sensing module 23 (see ¶ 0024); when the firefighter arrives near the smart window 10, the data receiving and transmitting module 2 22 of the fire helmet 20 sends a connection data signal (dedicated protocol channel) request to the data receiving and transmitting module 1 12. After being processed by the microprocessor 11 in the smart window 10, the sensing module 13 is successfully connected to the sensing module 2 23. The microprocessor 1 sends a driving signal to activate the driving mechanism 16, so that the window sash 102 of the smart window 10 is automatically opened. When the firefighter leaves a certain distance, the sensing module 13 is disconnected from the sensing module 2 23, and the driving mechanism 16 is activated to close the window sash 102 of the smart window 10 (see ¶ 0025). Examiner construes that the connection loss between the helmet and the window trigger the automatic closure of the window and the identification of the connection loss corresponds to when the helmet moves too far from the smart window, i.e. disconnecting the communication, and that the communication system can be reasonably construed to be Bluetooth, as such, the connection loss triggers closure of the window. Further, loss of pairing in a Bluetooth system is equivalent to a loss of communication and the second communication system would include the system used to communicate with the second microprocessor of the fire helmet for transmitting and receiving using GPS or another communication means.
Applicant further argues, on page 14, with respect to Claim 12, Derham does not teach or suggest processor circuitry that is configured to identify a position of the sash from a plurality of positions based on sensor signals from the magnetic sensor as the magnetic sensor interacts with the magnet. Examiner disagrees and points to Derham’s teaching that the first window sensor component comprises a second magnet 138 mounted to the keep 108. The second window sensor component comprises a second reed switch 140 disposed in the body interior 112. As can be seen most clearly in FIGS. 7 and 8, the second reed switch 140 is mounted adjacent a side of the body 102 which meets the keep 108 in use. The second reed switch 140 is arranged to align with the second magnet 138 when the window sashes 12, 14 are in a closed position (see ¶ 0096).
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 16-22, filed 11/26/2025, with respect to Claims 14-16, 18-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of Claims 14-16, 18-20 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0003236 to Hall et al (“Hall”) in view of Chinese Patent Publication 205277137 to Lin et al (“Lin”) (relied upon English Translation).
As to Claim 1, Hall teaches a window operator assembly comprising: a motor (motorized sliding segment 114 mounted slidably in a frame 105, see ¶ 0143; The frame 105 may be a window frame, see ¶ 0144; Motor assemblies 116 are affixed to the top and/or bottom of the left side of the sliding segment 114, see ¶ 0145); communication circuitry configured to provide a first type of wireless communications and a second type of wireless communication with a first wireless communication system and a second wireless communication system (Mobile device 130, as shown in FIG. 1C, transmits and receives LAN wireless signal 132 from the first hub 126, allowing wireless control by a user of the system. The first hub 126 converts the LAN protocol to PAN protocol and communicates the signal to the PAN interface 128, see ¶ 0169; The preferred embodiment for the PAN [second wireless communication system] is Bluetooth communication [second type of wireless communication] which is present in most mobile devices such as cell phones, laptops or mobile computer tablets. The mobile device 130 may use either the PAN interface or the LAN interface to communicate to the motorized window 102. The preferred embodiment for the LAN [first wireless communication system] is WIFI [first type of wireless communication] or similar high bandwidth, long range protocol, see ¶ 0170), the communication circuitry of the window operator assembly including telemetry components according to wireless protocols associated with the first wireless communication system and the second wireless communication system (The preferred embodiment for the PAN [second wireless communication system] is Bluetooth communication [second type of wireless communication] which is present in most mobile devices such as cell phones, laptops or mobile computer tablets. The mobile device 130 may use either the PAN interface or the LAN interface to communicate to the motorized window 102. The preferred embodiment for the LAN [first wireless communication system] is WIFI [first type of wireless communication] or similar high bandwidth, long range protocol, see ¶ 0170); and
Hall does not expressly disclose processor circuitry configured to: identify connection loss between the communication circuitry and the first wireless communication system; and in response to the connection loss between the communication circuitry and the first wireless communication system, automatically cause the communication circuitry to switch to the second wireless communication system and the window operator assembly to perform an action without receiving an instruction from external circuitry, the action including activating the motor to move a sash of a window assembly to a closed position and to cause the window assembly to lock in the closed position, wherein the window operator assembly is configured to connect to the sash of the window assembly.
Lin teaches processor circuitry configured to: identify connection loss between the communication circuitry and the first wireless communication system; and in response to the connection loss between the communication circuitry and the first wireless communication system, automatically cause the communication circuitry to switch to the second wireless communication system and the window operator assembly to perform an action without receiving an instruction from external circuitry, the action including activating the motor to move a sash of a window assembly to a closed position and to cause the window assembly to lock in the closed position, wherein the window operator assembly is configured to connect to the sash of the window assembly (when the firefighter arrives near the smart window 10, the data receiving and transmitting module 2 22 of the fire helmet 20 sends a connection data signal (dedicated protocol channel) request to the data receiving and transmitting module 1 12. After being processed by the microprocessor 11 in the smart window 10, the sensing module 13 and the sensing module 2 23 are successfully connected. The microprocessor 1 sends a driving signal to activate the driving mechanism 16, so that the window sash 102 of the smart window 10 is automatically opened; and when the firefighter leaves a certain distance, the sensing module 13 and the sensing module 2 23 are disconnected, and the driving mechanism 16 is activated to close the window sash 102 of the smart window 10 [in response to connection loss, automatically cause the window operator assembly to perform an action, wherein the window operator assembly is configured to connect to a sash of the window assembly], see ¶ 0025; fire helmet is also provided with a second microprocessor, a second data receiving and transmitting module…the second data receiving and transmitting module, the second sensing module…are respectively connected to the second microprocessor, see ¶ 0011; the firefighting system also includes a drone, which is equipped with a GPS positioning module, see ¶ 0012. Examiner construes the second receiving and transmitting module as being associated with a second communication system).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hall with Lin to teach processor circuitry configured to: identify connection loss between the communication circuitry and the first wireless communication system; and in response to the connection loss between the communication circuitry and the first wireless communication system, automatically cause the window operator assembly to perform an action without receiving an instruction from external circuitry, the action including activating the motor to move a sash of a window assembly to a closed position and to cause the window assembly to lock in the closed position, wherein the window operator assembly is configured to connect to the sash of the window assembly. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for redundant control of wireless devices of a home automation system (see ¶ 0002).
As to Claim 9, Hall and Lin depending on Claim 1, Hall teaches further including a pressure sensor in communication with the processor circuitry, wherein the processor circuitry is configured to stop movement of the sash of the window assembly in response to a sensor signal from the pressure sensor indicating the movement is slower than a threshold speed (the performance sensor may monitor a set of real time performance parameters associated with the actuator during a second time period, see ¶ 0043; a performance difference between the baseline performance parameters and the real time data [sensor signal from the pressure sensor] exceeds a threshold, wherein the determined difference includes the performance difference [movement of the window is slower than a threshold speed]. The processor may further identify an anomaly in the expected mechanical or electrical behavior of the actuator based on the determined performance difference; transmit a trouble signal to another device; wherein the trouble signal includes data describing one or more defining characteristics of the anomaly. A modified control command may compensate for the anomaly. The modified control command may cause the controller to send at least one modified signal to the actuator that causes the actuator to at least one of speed up, slow down, or stop in order to compensate for the anomaly [stop movement of the window in response to sensor signal], see ¶ 0044; The performance sensor may include at least one of an electrical sensor…accelerometer; pressure, see ¶ 0045).
Claim(s) 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0003236 to Hall et al (“Hall”) in view of Chinese Patent Publication 205277137 to Lin et al (“Lin”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0234110 to Laporta.
As to Claim 2, Hall and Lin depending on Claim 1, Lin teaches wherein the connection loss causes loss of direct control of operation of the window operator assembly by the external circuitry via communications over the first wireless communication system (when the firefighter arrives near the smart window 10, the data receiving and transmitting module 2 22 of the fire helmet 20 sends a connection data signal (dedicated protocol channel) request to the data receiving and transmitting module 1 12. After being processed by the microprocessor 11 in the smart window 10, the sensing module 13 and the sensing module 2 23 are successfully connected. The microprocessor 1 sends a driving signal to activate the driving mechanism 16, so that the window sash 102 of the smart window 10 is automatically opened; and when the firefighter leaves a certain distance, the sensing module 13 and the sensing module 2 23 are disconnected, and the driving mechanism 16 is activated to close the window sash 102 of the smart window 10 [connection loss causes loss of direct control of operation of the window assembly via first wireless communication system], see ¶ 0025) and
Hall and Lin do not expressly disclose wherein the window operator assembly further includes a lock motor assembly including a motor associated with a lock and the lock including a lock bar configured to couple to a window frame of the window assembly and keepers configured to couple to the sash, and the action performed includes the processor circuitry activating the motor associated with the lock to move the lock into the closed position via the lock bar engaging with the keeper.
Laporta teaches wherein the window operator assembly further includes a lock motor assembly including a motor associated with a lock (the sensor can sense a reference magnetic field of a magnetic field generator, the sensor and magnetic field generator [lock motor assembly] moving relative to one another as the moveable element moves, see ¶ 0007; The moveable element of a window or door may be an element such as a window/door leaf, a window/door handle, or a window/door locking element, see ¶ 0008; the at least one moveable element is a leaf of a door or window, the leaf being moveable relative to a frame between closed and open positions, one of said at least one magnetic field generator [motor] and at least one sensor being mounted to the leaf, see ¶ 0026) and the lock including a lock bar configured to couple to a window frame of the window assembly, and keepers configured to couple to the sash, and the action performed includes the processor circuitry activating the motor associated with the lock to move the lock into the closed position via the lock bar engaging with the keeper (a keep for a door or window, the door or window having a leaf and a frame, the door or window having a latch mechanism to allow opening and closing of the leaf [lock bar coupled to the frame], the latch mechanism comprising a holding means [lock bar] for cooperating with the keep to secure the leaf to the frame [keepers coupled to the sash], the holding means being moveable between an unsecured position and a secured position, the keep comprising a recess for receiving the holding means when the holding means is in the secured position, the keep further comprising a moveable element [lock] which is moveable between a first position and a second position and sensing means for sensing whether the moveable element is in at least one of the first position or the second position, the moveable element being caused to move from the first position to the second position when the holding means moves from the unsecured position to the secured position [activating the motor associated with the lock to move the lock into the closed position via the lock bar engaging with the keepers], see ¶ 0107).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hall and Lin with Laporta to teach wherein the window operator assembly further includes a lock motor assembly including a motor associated with a lock and the lock including a lock bar configured to couple to a window frame of the window assembly and keepers configured to couple to the sash, and the action performed includes the processor circuitry activating the motor associated with the lock to move the lock into the closed position via the lock bar engaging with the keepers. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to determine the position of said moveable element (see Abstract).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0003236 to Hall et al (“Hall”) in view of Chinese Patent Publication 205277137 to Lin et al (“Lin”) (relied upon English Translation) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0305353 to Shrivastava et al (“Shrivastava”).
As to Claim 4, Hall and Lin depending on Claim 1, Hall teaches the window assembly connected to the window operator assembly (motorized sliding segment 114 mounted slidably in a frame 105, see ¶ 0143; The frame 105 may be a window frame, see ¶ 0144; Motor assemblies 116 are affixed to the top and/or bottom of the left side of the sliding segment 114, see ¶ 0145);
Lin teaches the window assembly including the sash (the smart window includes a window frame 101 and a window sash 102. The window sash 102 is movably hinged at the bottom of the window frame 101, see ¶ 0022);
Hall and Lin do not expressly disclose a window identifier (ID) that identifies the window operator assembly.
Shrivastava teaches a window identifier (ID) that identifies the window operator assembly (Commissioning is the process that includes assigning the unique network addresses (sometimes referred to as network IDs or CAN IDs of the CAN bus system) of controllers and other devices in an electrochromic window network, with their physical location (sometimes referred to as physical addresses, location IDs, or LOC IDs) in a building or site installation so that the control logic of an electrochromic window network may operate properly. After installation of a window network, a professional or other installation technician may commission the window assemblies by identifying each controller (e.g., each window controller) [window ID identifying the window operator assembly] and associating it with its physical location in the network, see ¶ 0066).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hall and Lin with Shrivatsava to teach a window identifier (ID) that identifies the window operator assembly. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the identification of the triggered window to pop up on the electronic device, allowing the technician to associate the identification of the triggered window controller with its physical location (see ¶ 0066).
Claim(s) 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0003236 to Hall et al (“Hall”) in view of Chinese Patent Publication 205277137 to Lin et al (“Lin”) (relied upon English Translation) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0075637 to Madonna et al (“Madonna”).
As to Claim 5, Hall and Lin depending on Claim 1, Hall and Lin do not expressly disclose wherein the processor circuitry configured to cause the communication circuitry to switch to the second wireless communication system and to connect to a third wireless communication system associated with the first type of wireless communication. Madonna teaches wherein the processor circuitry is configured to cause the communication circuitry to switch to the second wireless communication system (in the absence of an available WLAN (e.g., due to failure, prior to its configuration, etc.), execution proceeds to step 360, where the control app causes the control device to attempt to send control commands via the WPAN (e.g., BLE) directly to the wireless device [communication circuitry switches to the second wireless communication system], see ¶ 0033) and to connect to a third wireless communication system associated with the first type of wireless communication (Some devices (e.g., a host controller 110, a mobile device 160, other electronic device 170, etc.) may communicate via the Internet 175 with cloud services 180 [third wireless communication system] and its host application program interfaces (APIs) 182 and mobile APIs 184, see ¶ 0030).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hall and Lin with Madonna to teach wherein the processor circuitry configured to cause the communication circuitry to switch to the second wireless communication system and to connect to a third wireless communication system associated with the first type of wireless communication. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for redundant control of wireless devices of a home automation system (see ¶ 0002).
As to Claim 6, Hall and Lin depending on Claim 1, Hall and Lin do not expressly disclose wherein the processor circuitry is configured to activate the motor to move the window to a position and at a set speed based on communication from a computing device. Madonna teaches wherein the processor circuitry is configured to activate the motor to move the window to a position and at a set speed based on communication from a computing device (The wireless adaptor 250 may include a WPAN (e.g., BLE) processor that takes control commands received via the antenna 260 and passes them via parallel or serial communication (e.g., I2C, SPI, UART, etc.) to the motor control processor 240, which converts them with a conversion mechanism to signals to drive a motor 270 attached to a shade assembly (not shown) and rotate the motor in a specific direction, with a specific speed, for a specific duration to raise or lower the shade, see ¶ 0031).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hall and Lin with Madonna to teach wherein the processor circuitry is configured to activate the motor to move the window to a position and at a set speed based on communication from a computing device. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for redundant control of wireless devices of a home automation system (see ¶ 0002).
As to Claim 7, Hall, Lin and Madonna depending on Claim 6, Hall teaches wherein the processor circuitry is configured control the set speed based on a pulse width modulation (PWM) of the motor (the motion control module 1718 may simply adjust the speed of the motor 400. In certain embodiments, this may be accomplished using pulse-wide modulation (PWM) or other techniques to adjust the speed of the motor 400, see ¶ 0270).
Claim(s) 8, 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0003236 to Hall et al (“Hall”) in view of Chinese Patent Publication 205277137 to Lin et al (“Lin”) (relied upon English Translation) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0341259 to Chacon et al (“Chacon”).
As to Claim 8, Hall and Lin depending on Claim 1, Lin teaches wherein the communication circuitry cannot provide the first type of wireless communication with the first wireless communication system in response to the connection loss between the communication circuitry of the window operator assembly and the first wireless communication system (when the firefighter arrives near the smart window 10, the data receiving and transmitting module 2 22 of the fire helmet 20 sends a connection data signal (dedicated protocol channel) request to the data receiving and transmitting module 1 12. After being processed by the microprocessor 11 in the smart window 10, the sensing module 13 and the sensing module 2 23 are successfully connected. The microprocessor 1 sends a driving signal to activate the driving mechanism 16, so that the window sash 102 of the smart window 10 is automatically opened; and when the firefighter leaves a certain distance, the sensing module 13 and the sensing module 2 23 are disconnected, and the driving mechanism 16 is activated to close the window sash 102 of the smart window 10 [in response to connection loss, automatically cause the window operator assembly to perform an action, wherein the window operator assembly is configured to connect to a sash of the window assembly], see ¶ 0025).
Hall and Lin do not expressly disclose wherein the processor circuitry is configured to provide motor movement at a constant speed based on feedback data from a motor encoder coupled to the motor.
Chacon teaches wherein the processor circuitry is configured to provide motor movement at a constant speed based on feedback data from a motor encoder coupled to the motor (During operation, the logic and control circuitry measures the velocity of the motor using an encoder internal to the motor or using a Hall Effect sensor or other device. During movement of the shade, the logic and control circuitry records the time that it takes for a shade to move from a first position to a second position and calculates the difference between the recorded actual time for the movement and the stored target time, and autonomously adjusts the target velocity to compensate for the discrepancy. That monitoring and adjustment occurs on every cycle of the shade so that velocity of the shade is continually adjusted to achieve the target velocity…the logic and control circuitry compensates for degradation of the motor over time, and can further compensate for changes in the weight of the shade material, adjusting the control of the motor to achieve a constant velocity during every operation of the shade, see ¶ 0061).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hall and Lin with Chacon to teach wherein the processor circuitry is configured to provide motor movement at a constant speed based on feedback data from a motor encoder coupled to the motor. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to compensate for degradation of the motor over time and adjusting the control of the motor to achieve a constant velocity during every operation of the shade (see ¶ 0061).
As to Claim 10, Hall and Lin depending on Claim 1, Hall teaches further including at least one of: a liquid sensor in communication with the processor circuitry, wherein the processor circuitry is configured to close the sash of the window assembly in response to a sensor signal from the liquid sensor indicating occurrence of rain (The sensors may consist of at least one of…humidity; moisture [liquid sensor indicating occurrence of rain]…The controller may receive signals from the two or more sensors and operate the first motor to move the slidable frame to an open or closed position as appropriate without input from a user, see ¶ 0019);
Hall and Lin do not expressly disclose a glass break sensor in communication with the processor circuitry, wherein the processor circuitry is configured to communicate an alert in response a sensor signal from the glass break sensor indicating the window is broken.
Chacon teaches a glass break sensor in communication with the processor circuitry, wherein the processor circuitry is configured to communicate an alert in response a sensor signal from the glass break sensor indicating the window is broken (detection of glass breakage by a piezo electric sensor [glass break sensor] attached to a single shade may trigger that individual shade to raise fully. And, that glass breakage detection may be relayed to a local or cloud-based server which in turn issues a command to the entire group of shades in that building to fully raise. Thus, the glass breakage detection by a single shade sensor may trigger the full raising of all shades in the building to provide a visual signal to those inside or outside of the building of the detected condition and potential security breach…the relay of the detection by the logic and control circuitry to the server may also trigger an alert to a user in communication with the server, such as an alert sent to the user's mobile device [communicate an alert in response to a sensor signal from the glass break sensor], see ¶ 0058).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hall and Lin with Chacon to teach a glass break sensor in communication with the processor circuitry, wherein the processor circuitry is configured to communicate an alert in response a sensor signal from the glass break sensor indicating the window is broken. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for each of these sensors to trigger a predetermined action of the shade to which the sensor is attached (see ¶ 0057).
As to Claim 11, Hall and Lin depending on Claim 1, Hall and Lin do not expressly disclose a motion sensor in communication with the processor circuitry, wherein the processor circuitry is configured to communicate an alert in response a sensor signal from the motion sensor indicating the sash of the window assembly is being manually moved. Chacon teaches a motion sensor in communication with the processor circuitry, wherein the processor circuitry is configured to communicate an alert in response a sensor signal from the motion sensor indicating the sash of the window assembly is being manually moved (the motorized roller shade includes one or more accelerometers [motion sensor] in communication with the logic and control circuitry, operable to detect movement of the shade assembly and/or of the shade roller. In one aspect, detected movement may be indicative of tampering with the shade in which case the logic and control circuitry may provide an alert across the POE network [communicate an alert in response to a sensor signal from the motion sensor], see ¶ 0045).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hall and Lin with Chacon to teach a motion sensor in communication with the processor circuitry, wherein the processor circuitry is configured to communicate an alert in response a sensor signal from the motion sensor indicating the sash of the window assembly is being manually moved. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for each of these sensors to trigger a predetermined action of the shade to which the sensor is attached (see ¶ 0057).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0003236 to Hall et al (“Hall”) in view of Chinese Patent Publication 205277137 to Lin et al (“Lin”) (relied upon English Translation) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0192397 to Derham and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0234110 to Laporta.
As to Claim 12, Hall and Lin depending on Claim 1, Hall and Lin do not expressly disclose further including a magnetic sensor in communication with the processor circuitry and a magnet, wherein the processor circuitry is configured to identify a position of the sash from a plurality of positions based on sensor signals from the magnetic sensor as the magnetic sensor interacts with the magnet. Derham teaches further including a magnetic sensor in communication with the processor circuitry and a magnet, wherein the processor circuitry is configured to identify a position of the sash from a plurality of positions based on sensor signals from the magnetic sensor as the magnetic sensor interacts with the magnet (the first window sensor component comprises a second magnet 138 mounted to the keep 108. The second window sensor component comprises a second reed switch 140 disposed in the body interior 112. As can be seen most clearly in FIGS. 7 and 8, the second reed switch 140 is mounted adjacent a side of the body 102 which meets the keep 108 in use. The second reed switch 140 is arranged to align with the second magnet 138 when the window sashes 12, 14 are in a closed position, see ¶ 0096), cause the sash to pivot relative to the window frame to the plurality of positions and thereby move a window of the window assembly to different window positions including an open position, a closed position, and any position between the open position and the closed position, and the sensor signals from the magnetic sensor are different strengths when the window is in the different window positions (the first window sensor component comprises a second magnet 138 mounted to the keep 108. The second window sensor component comprises a second reed switch 140 disposed in the body interior 112. As can be seen most clearly in FIGS. 7 and 8, the second reed switch 140 is mounted adjacent a side of the body 102 which meets the keep 108 in use. The second reed switch 140 is arranged to align with the second magnet 138 when the window sashes 12, 14 are in a closed position, see ¶ 0096; he detent mechanism provides feedback to a user to enable a user to determine whether the locking element 114 is fully in a locked position, fully in an unlocked position, or in in an intermediate position. Since, in this embodiment, the locked position of the locking element 114 corresponds to the first magnet 134 being proximate the first reed switch 136, the detent mechanism provides feedback to the user to indicate that they have moved the locking element 114 (by turning the handle 104) sufficiently far as to fully engage the locking element 114 and also to produce a ‘locked’ status of the first sensor. Accordingly, the detent mechanism helps to provide accurate signals from the sensor system which correspond to an actual status of the window locking device 100 and window 10. For example, without such a detent mechanism, a user may test whether they have turned the handle 104 far enough to lock the window 10 by attempting to open the window 10, see ¶ 0097).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hall and Lin with Derham to teach further including a magnetic sensor in communication with the processor circuitry and a magnet, wherein the processor circuitry is configured to identify a position of the sash based on sensor signals from the magnetic sensor as the magnetic sensor interacts with the magnet, cause the sash to pivot relative to the window frame to the plurality of positions and thereby move a window of the window assembly to different window positions including an open position, a closed position, and any position between the open position and the closed position, and the sensor signals from the magnetic sensor are different strengths when the window is in the different window positions. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to automatically detect states and positions of windows (see Col. 3, lines 21-22).
Hall, Lin and Derham do not expressly disclose wherein the sash is pivotally mounted to a window frame of the window assembly and coupled to an elongate member of the window frame, and the motor is configured to couple to the elongate member.
Laporta teaches wherein the sash is pivotally mounted to a window frame of the window assembly and coupled to an elongate member of the window frame, and the motor is configured to couple to the elongate member (the predetermined positions that a window or door leaf as the moveable element can be registered in relative to the frame may be a closed position and a particular open position, such as a 45° open position (if it is a casement window) [sash pivotally mounted to a frame] or the night-vent position (defined by a night vent keep mounted to the frame for receiving a locking element mounted to the leaf, in order to maintain the leaf at a position which is slightly open to allow ventilation), see ¶ 0021; said sensed element is a magnetic field generator and said sensor is configured to sense a magnetic field generated by the magnetic field generator. The system may include processor means configured to receive signals associated with the measured magnetic field from the secondary sensor to determine whether the locking drive rail is in the locked position or unlocked position. By monitoring the magnetic field measured by the sensor the system can provide an output as to whether the locking drive rail is in the locked position or unlocked position and therefore whether the handle is in an open position or a closed position (since movement of the locking drive rail is driven by movement of the handle). The sensor may be a magnetometer or reed switch or other suitable sensor. Preferably the magnetic field generator [motor] is a magnet mounted to the locking drive rail [elongate member] and the sensor is a magnetometer mounted to the frame. Preferably the sensor is mounted in a housing that is mounted to the frame, see ¶ 0068).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hall, Lin and Derham with Laporta to teach wherein the sash is pivotally mounted to a window frame of the window assembly and coupled to an elongate member of the window frame, and the motor is configured to couple to the elongate member. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to determine the position of said moveable element (see Abstract).
Claim(s) 13, 23, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0003236 to Hall et al (“Hall”) in view of Chinese Patent Publication 205277137 to Lin et al (“Lin”) (relied upon English Translation) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0234110 to Laporta in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0192397 to Derham and in further view of Japanese Patent Publication 3282124 to Sendo et al (“Sendo”) (relied upon English Translation).
As to Claim 13, Hall and Lin depending on Claim 1, Hall and Lin do not expressly disclose wherein the sash is pivotally mounted to a window frame of the window assembly and coupled to an elongate member of the window frame, and the motor is configured to couple to the elongate member. Laporta teaches wherein the sash is pivotally mounted to a window frame of the window assembly and coupled to an elongate member of the window frame, and the motor is configured to couple to the elongate member (the predetermined positions that a window or door leaf as the moveable element can be registered in relative to the frame may be a closed position and a particular open position, such as a 45° open position (if it is a casement window) [sash pivotally mounted to a frame] or the night-vent position (defined by a night vent keep mounted to the frame for receiving a locking element mounted to the leaf, in order to maintain the leaf at a position which is slightly open to allow ventilation), see ¶ 0021; said sensed element is a magnetic field generator and said sensor is configured to sense a magnetic field generated by the magnetic field generator. The system may include processor means configured to receive signals associated with the measured magnetic field from the secondary sensor to determine whether the locking drive rail is in the locked position or unlocked position. By monitoring the magnetic field measured by the sensor the system can provide an output as to whether the locking drive rail is in the locked position or unlocked position and therefore whether the handle is in an open position or a closed position (since movement of the locking drive rail is driven by movement of the handle). The sensor may be a magnetometer or reed switch or other suitable sensor. Preferably the magnetic field generator [motor] is a magnet mounted to the locking drive rail [elongate member] and the sensor is a magnetometer mounted to the frame. Preferably the sensor is mounted in a housing that is mounted to the frame, see ¶ 0068).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hall and Lin with Laporta to teach wherein the sash is pivotally mounted to a window frame of the window assembly and coupled to an elongate member of the window frame, and the motor is configured to couple to the elongate member. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to determine the position of said moveable element (see Abstract).
Hall, Lin and Laporta do not expressly disclose cause the sash to pivot relative to the window frame to a plurality of different positions including an open position, a closed position, and any position between the open position and the closed position, and thereby move a window of the window assembly to different window positions.
Derham teaches cause the sash to pivot relative to the window frame to a plurality of different positions including an open position, a closed position, and any position between the open position and the closed position, and thereby move a window of the window assembly to different window positions (the first window sensor component comprises a second magnet 138 mounted to the keep 108. The second window sensor component comprises a second reed switch 140 disposed in the body interior 112. As can be seen most clearly in FIGS. 7 and 8, the second reed switch 140 is mounted adjacent a side of the body 102 which meets the keep 108 in use. The second reed switch 140 is arranged to align with the second magnet 138 when the window sashes 12, 14 are in a closed position, see ¶ 0096; the detent mechanism provides feedback to a user to enable a user to determine whether the locking element 114 is fully in a locked position, fully in an unlocked position, or in in an intermediate position. Since, in this embodiment, the locked position of the locking element 114 corresponds to the first magnet 134 being proximate the first reed switch 136, the detent mechanism provides feedback to the user to indicate that they have moved the locking element 114 (by turning the handle 104) sufficiently far as to fully engage the locking element 114 and also to produce a ‘locked’ status of the first sensor. Accordingly, the detent mechanism helps to provide accurate signals from the sensor system which correspond to an actual status of the window locking device 100 and window 10. For example, without such a detent mechanism, a user may test whether they have turned the handle 104 far enough to lock the window 10 by attempting to open the window 10, see ¶ 0097).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hall and Lin with Derham to teach cause the sash to pivot relative to the window frame to a plurality of different positions including an open position, a closed position, and any position between the open position and the closed position, and thereby move a window of the window assembly to different window positions. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to automatically detect states and positions of windows (see Col. 3, lines 21-22).
Hall, Lin, Derham and Laporta do not expressly disclose wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to initiate a self-zeroing operation associated with a window connected to the window operator assembly; wherein the self-zeroing operation includes the window operating assembly: causing the sash to move between the open position and the closed position; causing a lock of the window assembly to move between an unlocked position and a locked position; and collecting and storing encoder counts indicative of movements of the motor and a motor associated with the lock at the open position, the closed position, the unlocked position, and the locked position.
Sendo teaches wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to initiate a self-zeroing operation associated with the window assembly including the sash connected to the window operator assembly (in the power window safety device, the rotation direction of the motor is detected using two sets of Hall elements that output pulse signals that are 90º out of phase with each other as the motor rotates, and the pulse signals from the Hall elements are counted up and down in accordance with the rotation direction of the motor to detect the open/closed position of the window glass, see ¶ 0003); wherein the self-zeroing operation includes the window operating assembly: causing the sash to move between an open position and a closed position; causing a lock of the window assembly to move between an unlocked position and a locked position (power window mechanism 1 opens and closes the window glass 51 of the door 5, and is composed of a motor 11 for driving the opening and closing of the window glass 51, an opening/closing switch 13 that is operated to open or close the window glass 51, and a microcomputer 15 that controls the motor 11 to rotate in the opening or closing direction of the window glass 51 in response to the operation of the opening/closing switch 13, see ¶ 0012); and
collecting and storing encoder counts indicative of movements of the motor and a motor associated with the lock at the open position, the closed position, the unlocked position, and the locked position (a window glass opening/closing position detection device for a power window which opens and closes a window glass 51 by a motor 11, and is characterized by comprising a plurality of sets of pulse signal output means 311 to 31n which output pulse signals P1 to Pn synchronized with the rotation of the motor 11, a number of sets of position counter means 15A1 to 15An corresponding to each of the pulse signal output means 311 to 31n which count up and down the number of output pulses of each of the pulse signals P1 to Pn depending on the rotation direction of the motor 11, and an opening/closing position determination means 15B which determines the opening/closing position of the window glass 51 based on the count values C1 to Cn of each of the position counter means 15A1 to 15An, see ¶ 0008; when the motor 11 rotates in a direction to lower the window glass 51 toward the fully opened position, the signal levels of the first and second pulse signals Pa and Pb match at the rising and falling edges of the first pulse signal Pa output by the first sensor 31. Therefore, as the window glass 51 descends toward the fully open position, the count value Ca of the first position counter area, which counts the open/closed position of the glass window is incremented by "1" each time the first pulse signal Pa is output, and similarly, the count value Cb of the second counter area is incremented by "1" each time the second pulse signal Pb is output…When the window glass 51 reaches the fully open position, the count values Ca and Ca of the first and second position counter areas will both be “N”, see ¶ 0055; When the motor 11 rotates in a direction that raises the window glass 51 toward the fully closed position, the signal levels of the first and second pulse signals Pa, Pb do not match at the rising and falling points of the first pulse signal Pa. Therefore, as the window glass 51 rises toward the fully closed position side, the count value Ca of the first position counter area is decremented by "1"each time the first pulse signal Pa is output, and similarly, the count value Cb of the second position counter area is decremented by "1" each time the second pulse signal Pb is output. The count value Ca and Cb of the first and second position counter areas will both become “0” when the window glass 51 reaches the fully closed position, see ¶ 0058).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hall, Lin, Derham and Laporta with Sendo to teach wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to initiate a self-zeroing operation associated with a window connected to the window operator assembly. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order detecting the opening/closing position of a power window based on a pulse signal corresponding to the rotation of a motor (see ¶ 0007).
As to Claim 23, Hall, Lin, Laporta, Derham and Sendo depending on Claim 13, Sendo teaches wherein the processor circuitry is configured to, automatically and without user input, initiate the self-zeroing operation in response to an event, wherein the event includes an error or a sensor signal indicating a break-in attempt (a device which detects the open/closed position of the window glass so as to detect whether or not a foreign object such as an article or part of the body has become caught between the door frame and the window glass [break-in attempt], and only does this within a specified opening/closing position range where there is a possibility of the foreign object becoming caught, see ¶ 0002; in the power window safety device, the rotation direction of the motor is detected using two sets of Hall elements that output pulse signals that are 90º out of phase with each other as the motor rotates, and the pulse signals from the Hall elements are counted up and down in accordance with the rotation direction of the motor to detect the open/closed position of the window glass, see ¶ 0003).
As to Claim 24, Hall, Lin, Laporta, Derham and Sendo depending on Claim 13, Sendo teaches wherein the self-zeroing operation further includes collecting and recording a sensor signal of a magnetic sensor while the sash is in the closed position (a window glass opening/closing position detection device for a power window which opens and closes a window glass 51 by a motor 11, and is characterized by comprising a plurality of sets of pulse signal output means 311 to 31n which output pulse signals P1 to Pn synchronized with the rotation of the motor 11, a number of sets of position counter means 15A1 to 15An corresponding to each of the pulse signal output means 311 to 31n which count up and down the number of output pulses of each of the pulse signals P1 to Pn depending on the rotation direction of the motor 11, and an opening/closing position determination means 15B which determines the opening/closing position of the window glass 51 based on the count values C1 to Cn of each of the position counter means 15A1 to 15An, see ¶ 0008; when the motor 11 rotates in a direction to lower the window glass 51 toward the fully opened position, the signal levels of the first and second pulse signals Pa and Pb match at the rising and falling edges of the first pulse signal Pa output by the first sensor 31. Therefore, as the window glass 51 descends toward the fully open position, the count value Ca of the first position counter area, which counts the open/closed position of the glass window is incremented by "1" each time the first pulse signal Pa is output, and similarly, the count value Cb of the second counter area is incremented by "1" each time the second pulse signal Pb is output…When the window glass 51 reaches the fully open position, the count values Ca and Ca of the first and second position counter areas will both be “N”, see ¶ 0055; When the motor 11 rotates in a direction that raises the window glass 51 toward the fully closed position, the signal levels of the first and second pulse signals Pa, Pb do not match at the rising and falling points of the first pulse signal Pa. Therefore, as the window glass 51 rises toward the fully closed position side, the count value Ca of the first position counter area is decremented by "1"each time the first pulse signal Pa is output, and similarly, the count value Cb of the second position counter area is decremented by "1" each time the second pulse signal Pb is output. The count value Ca and Cb of the first and second position counter areas will both become “0” when the window glass 51 reaches the fully closed position, see ¶ 0058).
Derham teaches wherein one of the magnetic sensor and a magnet are located on a window frame of the window assembly and the other is located on the sash (the first window sensor component comprises a second magnet 138 mounted to the keep 108. The second window sensor component comprises a second reed switch 140 disposed in the body interior 112. As can be seen most clearly in FIGS. 7 and 8, the second reed switch 140 is mounted adjacent a side of the body 102 which meets the keep 108 in use. The second reed switch 140 is arranged to align with the second magnet 138 when the window sashes 12, 14 are in a closed position, see ¶ 0096),
Derham teaches the motor being configured to cause the sash to pivot relative to the window frame to the plurality of different positions and with signals sensed by the magnetic sensor due to interactions with the magnet being different strengths when the sash is in different positions (the first window sensor component comprises a second magnet 138 mounted to the keep 108. The second window sensor component comprises a second reed switch 140 disposed in the body interior 112. As can be seen most clearly in FIGS. 7 and 8, the second reed switch 140 is mounted adjacent a side of the body 102 which meets the keep 108 in use. The second reed switch 140 is arranged to align with the second magnet 138 when the window sashes 12, 14 are in a closed position, see ¶ 0096; he detent mechanism provides feedback to a user to enable a user to determine whether the locking element 114 is fully in a locked position, fully in an unlocked position, or in in an intermediate position. Since, in this embodiment, the locked position of the locking element 114 corresponds to the first magnet 134 being proximate the first reed switch 136, the detent mechanism provides feedback to the user to indicate that they have moved the locking element 114 (by turning the handle 104) sufficiently far as to fully engage the locking element 114 and also to produce a ‘locked’ status of the first sensor. Accordingly, the detent mechanism helps to provide accurate signals from the sensor system which correspond to an actual status of the window locking device 100 and window 10. For example, without such a detent mechanism, a user may test whether they have turned the handle 104 far enough to lock the window 10 by attempting to open the window 10, see ¶ 0097).
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0003236 to Hall et al ("Hall") in view of Chinese Patent Publication 205277137 to Lin et al ("Lin") in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0075637 to Madonna et al ("Madonna").
As to Claim 21, Hall and Lin depending on Claim 1, Lin teaches in response to the connection loss, the processor circuitry is further configured to communicate a message to the external circuitry using the second wireless communication system (fire helmet is also provided with a second microprocessor, a second data receiving and transmitting module…the second data receiving and transmitting module, the second sensing module…are respectively connected to the second microprocessor, see ¶ 0011; the firefighting system also includes a drone, which is equipped with a GPS positioning module, see ¶ 0012. Examiner construes the second receiving and transmitting module as being associated with a second communication system). Hall and Lin do not expressly disclose wherein the connection loss includes an Internet connection loss due to a network failure. Madonna teaches connection loss includes an Internet connection loss due to a network failure (in absence of an available WLAN connection (e.g. due to failure) [connection loss includes Internet connection loss due to a network failure], see Abstract).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hall and Lin with Madonna to teach wherein the connection loss includes an Internet connection loss due to a network failure. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for redundant control of wireless devices of a home automation system (see 1 0002).
Claim(s) 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0003236 to Hall et al ("Hall") in view of Chinese Patent Publication 205277137 to Lin et al ("Lin") in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0234110 to Laporta in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0075637 to Madonna et al ("Madonna").
As to Claim 22, Hall, Lin and Laporta depending on Claim 2, Lin teaches verifying an approved wireless communication device is connected to the second wireless communication system and is within a threshold range of the window operator assembly (when the firefighter arrives near the smart window 10, the data receiving and transmitting module 2 22 of the fire helmet 20 sends a connection data signal (dedicated protocol channel) request to the data receiving and transmitting module 1 12. After being processed by the microprocessor 11 in the smart window 10, the sensing module 13 and the sensing module 2 23 are successfully connected. The microprocessor 1 sends a driving signal to activate the driving mechanism 16, so that the window sash 102 of the smart window 10 is automatically opened; and when the firefighter leaves a certain distance, the sensing module 13 and the sensing module 2 23 are disconnected, and the driving mechanism 16 is activated to close the window sash 102 of the smart window 10 [verifying a wireless communication device is connected to the communication system and within threshold range of the window sash], see I 0025).
Hall, Lin and Laporta do not expressly disclose wherein the action further includes: communicating a message, via the communication circuitry and using the first or second type of wireless communications, to a wireless communication device, the message being indicative of the connection loss.
Madonna teaches wherein the action further includes: communicating a message, via the communication circuitry and using the first or second type of wireless communications, to a wireless communication device, the message being indicative of the connection loss (in absence of an available WLAN connection (e.g. due to failure) [connection loss includes Internet connection loss due to a network failure], the control device may send control commands via the WPAN (e.g. BLE) [second wireless communication system] directly to the wireless device [message using second type of wireless communication indicative of a connection loss], see Abstract; a shade controller 142 may receive commands via an Ethernet link to the wired LAN 105 and interface with individual window shades 140 via other wired connections (e.g., RS-485). Other motor and/or relay operated devices may receive control commands via wireless connections, for example via a WPAN (e.g., BLE). For example, wireless shades 141 may receive control commands via a wireless connection to a WPAN (e.g., BLE), see I 0025; A user may also control the devices 120-142 of the home automation system 100 using a mobile device 160. The mobile device 160 may include a touch sensitive display screen, a WLAN interface (e.g., a Wi-Fi interface), a WPAN adaptor (e.g., a BLE adaptor), a processor, a memory and a storage device that stores and executes a control app 162 configured to interface with the host controller 110 and/or cloud services 180. The control app on the mobile device 160 may present a user interface with screens for triggering control commands for controlling the devices 120-142 of the home automation system 100, among other functionality, see 1 0028).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hall, Lin and Laporta with Madonna to teach wherein the action further includes: communicating a message, via the communication circuitry and using the first or second type of wireless communications, to a wireless communication device, the message being indicative of the connection loss.. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for redundant control of wireless devices of a home automation system (see 1 0002).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-16, 18-20 allowed.
Claim 3 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EBONI N GILES/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622