DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 19 recites the limitation "the top G side" in lines 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner will treat the limitation of “the top G side” to mean “the top C side” for the purpose examination. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application to Zhang 2023/0091050US.
In terms of Claim 1, Zhang teaches an optical component (Figure 1) for use in an optoelectronic assembly, the optical component comprising: a monolithic three-dimensional structured glass component (Figure 1: 110; [0029]) comprising: a plurality of integrated optical routing paths (Figure 1: various paths such 120b and 120e) extending between a plurality of distinct coupling interfaces (Figure 1: interface between 102, 104, 106, 117 and 115 to glass 110); a first three-dimensional (3D) structure (Figure 1: there are 4 reflectors in 110 wherein 142 is the 1st 3D structure) formed within the glass component (Figure 1: 142 within 110) and positioned at a first coupling interface (location of 142 which couples light from 102/103 to 110), the first 3D structure (142) configured to, at least receive a first input beam of light (Figure 1: 142 receives light from path 120b); perform a first optical function (Figure 1: 142 redirect lights horizontal); and output a first output beam of light within the glass component (Figure 1: light leaves 142 toward waveguide 132; wherein 110 is made of glass [0029]); and a second three-dimensional (3D) structure (Figure 1: 144) formed within the glass component (Figure 1: 144 within 110) and positioned at a second coupling interface different from the first coupling interface (Figure 1: surface of 144 is the second coupling interface located at a different location than 142), the second 3D structure (144) configured to, at least receive the first output beam of light from the first 3D structure (Figure 1: 144 receives light from 142 via waveguide 132), perform a second optical function (Figure 1: 144 redirect light), where the second optical function is a different type of optical function than the first optical function (Figure 1: 144 redirect light differently in terms of direction from 142); and output a second output beam of light within the material wherein the plurality of integrated optical routing paths (light paths within 110) are configured to optically couple one or more opto-electronic chips (at 104/105 at 115/117 which contains chips such as 103/105/107; [0028]) mounted on a substrate (Figure 1: substrate is the die 102/104/115/117) and one or more optical input/output elements external to the substrate (Figure 1: bottom surface of 103/105/107 wherein light leaves die 102/104/115/117), and wherein the glass component is configured to provide both optical routing and mechanical alignment for the optoelectronic assembly (Figure 1: routing is being done by reflectors while mechanical alignment is being done by 114).
As for Claim 2, Zhang teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the material comprises a glass ([0029]).
As for Claim 3, Zhang teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein one of the first and second optical functions comprises a light routing function (Figure 1: redirection of light from 144 and 142), and another of the first and second optical functions comprises a light collimating or focusing function ([0047]).
As for Claim 4, Zhang teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein one of the first and second 3D structures comprises a waveguide (130 and 132) within the unitary piece of the material (within 110), such that the waveguide is radially surrounded by a surrounding portion of the unitary piece of the material (Figure 1: 110 and 130/132).
As for Claim 5 Zhang teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein one of the first and second 3D structures comprises a structural component of a collimating or focusing mirror ([0047]).
As for Claim 6, Zhang teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the monolithic three-dimensional structured glass component (Figure 1: 110) comprises a lateral coupling interface and a vertical coupling interface (Figure 1: 142 and 144 provides lateral coupling and vertical coupling depending on the direction of light from left to right or right to left, further the top of 110 can also function exclusively as the vertical coupling interfaces for various dies as shown in Figure 1: 104/105/102/115/117), the first 3D structure (142) is configured to receive the first input beam of light at the lateral glass side coupling interface (Figure 1: if light is traveling from 132 it hits 142 from a lateral side); and the second 3D structure (144) is configured to route the second output beam of light to the vertical coupling interface configured to couple light to an opto-electronic chip mounted on the substrate (light from 144 is capable of being directed upwards to 107).
As for Claim 7, Zhang teaches the device of Claim 6, wherein the monolithic three-dimensional structure glass component (Figure 1: 110) comprises a third three dimensional (3D) structure that is configured to at least receive a third beam of light from the vertical coupling interface (any of the location on top of 110 that allows for coupling from dies 102/104/105/106/115/117 to 110); and route the received third beam to a different lateral coupling interface associated with a different optical element (Figure 1: wherein there are multiple routing paths with reflectors and waveguide to define the path of light).
As for Claim 8, Zhang teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the unitary piece of the material comprises a unitary piece of glass (Figure 1: 110 [0027-0029]); the unitary piece of glass comprises a lateral glass side and a top glass side (Figure 1: 110); and the unitary piece of glass comprises a third three-dimensional (3D) structure that is dedicated to receiving a beam of light from the top glass side and redirecting the received beam of light (Figure 1: 110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Chang 2019/0011652US in view of the US Patent Application to Zhang 2023/0091050US.
In terms of Claim 9, Chang teaches an optical component (Figure 1: 100/200/300) for use in an optoelectronic assembly, the optical component comprising: a component (Figure 1: 100/200/300) comprising a top C side (Figure 1 below: see top side) facing an upward direction and a first lateral C side (Figure 1 below: lateral side) facing a first lateral direction (Figure 1 below: See lateral direction), where the component (C) is configured to receive first C input light at the first lateral C side (Figure 1: see light 305) and transmit first C output light from the top C side (Figure 1 below: C output light); and an optical element (Figure 1: 101) comprising a bottom OE side mounted to the top C side (Figure 1: bottom of 101 mounted to top side), where the optical element (101) is configured to receive the first C output light from the top C side and perform an OE optical function on the received first C output light ([0036]).
Chang does not wherein the OE comprises a monolithic three-dimensional structured glass routing element configured to optical coupled the C to a plurality of additional optical components and provide passive alignment between the OE and the C.
Zhang wherein the OE (Figure 1: 102) comprises a monolithic three-dimensional structured glass routing element (Figure 1: within 102 reflectors) configured to optical coupled the C (Figure 1: 110) to a plurality of additional optical components (104/105/115/117) and provide passive alignment between the OE and the C (Figure 1: from 102 to 110 to 104/105).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chang to be able to coupled multiple OE together via the optical component 110 as shown by Zhang. This modification allows the device to be scalable to incorporate many more components into one package for large scale applications.
As for Claim 10, Chang/ Zhang teaches the device of Claim 9, wherein Chang teaches the component (C) comprises a glass ([0063]).
As for Claim 11, Chang / Zhang teaches the device of Claim 9, wherein Chang teaches the optical element (101) is configured to transmit OE output light from the bottom OE side (OE 101 contains a light source [0036]).
As for Claim 12, Chang / Zhang teaches the device of Claim 11, wherein Chang teaches the component (100/200/300) is configured to receive the OE output light from the bottom OE side through the top C side ([0036]), and transmit C output light laterally (Figure 1: see 305 which contains a bidirectional arrow to represent light can also be outputted laterally).
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang / Zhang as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication to Newell 2008/0002257US.
In regards to Claims 13-16, Chang / Zhang teaches the device of claim 9, wherein Chang teaches the component (101) is configured to: receive the multiple distinct beams (Chang teaches wherein multiple beams can be transmitted and received in the device [0035]) from the bottom OE side (bottom of 101) through the top C side (top of 100); and transmit the received multiple distinct beams laterally (the beams are then outputted laterally in medium 301 out to side of 305).
Chang / Zhang do not teach wherein the OE optical function comprises polarization beam splitting; wherein the optical element (OE) is configured to beam split the first C output light received from the top C side into multiple distinct beams that are orthogonally polarized with respect to each other, and transmit the multiple distinct beams from the bottom OE side; wherein the optical element (OE) comprises: a first material (C1) comprising a bottom C1 side that comprises the bottom OE side, and a top C1 side; a polarization beam splitting (PBS) coating on the top C1 side; a second material (C2) comprising a bottom C2 side on the PBS coating, and a top C2 side; and a reflective coating on the top C2 side.
Newell does teach a structure that can be applied to an output end of the light source (Figure 3a: 205) wherein the light source is directed to a structure comprises polarization beam splitting function ([0026]); wherein the structure is configured to beam split the first C output light received into multiple distinct beams that are orthogonally polarized with respect to each other (Figure 3a: wherein beams at 212 and 211), and transmit the multiple distinct beams from the bottom side (Figure 3a: from bottom side 240); the structure (210) having: a first material (Figure 3a below: “1st material”) comprising a bottom C1 side (Figure 3a below: “C1 bottom side”) that comprises the bottom OE side (Figure 3a: bottom surface of c1), and a top C1 side (Figure 3a: top c1 side); a polarization beam splitting (Figure 3a: 230) coating on the top C1 side; a second material (Figure 3a: 2nd material) comprising a bottom C2 side (Figure 3a: c2 bottom side) on the PBS coating (Figure 3a: 230; [0026]), and a top C2 side (Figure 3a below: see top c2 side); and a reflective coating on the top C2 side (Figure 3a: 215; [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chang at bottom of the OE structure 101 to include the structure 210 attached to the bottom side of OE and be an attachment as part of the OE in order to increase the brightness of the light source by having a polarization recovery structure. This modification will prevent the loss in the polarization and make the signal brighter for transmission (Newell’s [0006]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang / Zhang as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication to Giziewicz 2014/0072311US.
In regards to claim 17, Chang teaches the device of Claim 9.
Chang / Zhang does not teach a component comprising an epoxy, wherein the bottom OE side attached to the top C side with epoxy.
Giziewicz does teach a component comprising an epoxy ([0060]), wherein the bottom OE side (Figure 4: 170) attached to the top C side (top side of 14) with epoxy (bonding optical element 170 to frame 14 with die bonding material wherein the material is made of epoxy [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chang to use epoxy as the bonding material on the bottom side of the OE to attach the optical element to other components. Epoxy is known for its strong mechanical bonding properties used in opto-electronic packaging.
Claim 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang / Zhang as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication to Tan 20080049584US.
In regards to Claims 18-20, Chang / Zhang teaches device of claim 9, and Chang further discloses the component (Figure 1: 100/200/300) is configured to receive second C input light at the first lateral C side (Figure 1: lateral side by 305 is capable of transmitting multiple beams to lens array which can direct beams in bi-directional manner into 101 or out of lateral side and vice versa [0035]) and transmit second C output light from the top C side (Figure 1: light from 202 is directed upward to 100 and out of the top surface of 100 to element 101); and the optical element (Figure 1” 101).
Chang / Zhang do not teach wherein the OE optical function comprises polarization; beam combining; wherein is configured to beam combine the first C output light received from the top G side and the second C output light received from the top C side into a combined beam, and transmit the combined beam from the bottom OE side;
Tan does teach wherein the polarization structure is capable of combining beams (Figure 3: 531); wherein OE is configured to beam combine the first C output light received from the top C side (light from 511 is combine at 531) and the second C output light received from the top C side into a combined beam (three beams are being outputted from 511 into 531 and are combined; [0057]), and transmit the combined beam from the bottom OE side (light are transmitted to 531 on the bottom side and exit from towards 570); The combination of the Polarization Beam Combiner applied to the bottom surface of element 101 of Sengupta will result in “wherein the component (Sengupta element 101) is configured to: receive the combined beam from the bottom OE side (Tan 531); and transmit the received combined beam laterally (out of the lateral side 305 of Sengupta)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chang to include a PBC (polarization beam combiner) at the bottom surface of element 101 of Chang in order to increase the optical energy of the signal and prevent signal degradation or strength during transmission.
Claims 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Nagarajan 2022/0283360US in view of the US Patent Application to Zhang 2023/0091050US.
In terms of Claim 21, Nagarajan teaches an optical electronic device (Figure 4) comprising: a substrate (Figure 4: 202) comprising a first substrate side (Figure 4: top surface of 202); an opto-electronic chip (Figure 4: 250) comprising a first chip side (Figure 4: see 1st chip side), a second chip side opposite the first chip side (Figure 4: see 1st chip side and 2nd chip side), and a third chip side that extends between the first and second chip sides (Figure 4: see 3rd chip side), where the second chip side is coupled to the first substrate side (Figure 4: 2nd chip side or bottom side of 250 is coupled top surface 202); and an optical component (Figure 4: 280) comprising a first OC side (Figure 4: see 1st OC side), a second OC side opposite the first OC side (Figure 4: see 1st OC side and 2nd OC side), and a third OC side that extends between the first and second OC sides (Figure 4: see 3rd OC side), where: the second OC side (bottom surface of 280) is coupled to the first substrate side (Figure 4: see bottom of 280 is coupled top of 202); and the third OC side is coupled to the third chip side (Figure 4: see circle region wherein the 3rd OC side is touching the 3rd chip side).
Nagarajan does not teach wherein the optical component comprises a monolithic three-dimensional structured glass routing element configured to (i) optically couple the opto-electronic chip to a plurality of additional optical components and (ii) provide passive alignment between the optical component and the opto-electronic chip.
Zhang does teach wherein the optical component comprises (Figure 1: 110) a monolithic three-dimensional structured glass routing element (Figure 1: 142/144) configured to (i) optically couple the opto-electronic chip to a plurality of additional optical components and (ii) provide passive alignment between the optical component and the opto-electronic chip (Figure 1: 142/144 from 102 to 105/106/115/117). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chang to be able to coupled multiple OE together via the optical component 110 as shown by Zhang. This modification allows the device to be scalable to incorporate many more components into one package for large scale applications.
In regards to claim 23, Nagarajan teaches the device of Claim 21, wherein a component (250) comprising a first C side (Figure 4: See 1st Chip Side) facing away from the substrate (Figure 4: 250 and 202), a second C side opposite the first C side (Figure 4: 2nd Chip side), and a third C side (Figure 4: see 3rd chip side), where the component (250) is configured to receive first C input light at the third C side (Figure 4: from 512).
Nagarajan do not teaches transmit first C output light from the first C side; and an optical element comprising a first OE side, and a second OE side opposite the first OE side and mounted to the first C side; wherein the optical element is configured to receive the first C output light from the first C side and perform an OE optical function on the received first C output light.
Zhang does teaches transmit first C output light from the first C side (Figure 1 below: 120b); and an optical element (Figure 1: below: 102) comprising a first OE side (Figure 1 below: 1st OE side), and a second OE side (Figure 1 below: 2nd OE side) opposite the first OE side and mounted to the first C side (Figure 1 below: 102 is mounted to 110a); wherein the optical element (102) is configured to receive the first C output light from the first C side and perform an OE optical function on the received first C output light ([0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the OC element 250 of Nagarajan to include an OE element with the orientation described above in order to perform optical functions for signal processing. Nagarajan suggest chips 250 can be used to house such OE ({0042]) but is silent to the orientation of the various claimed components. One would be motivated to use the stacking orientation as shown in Figure 4 of Zhang in order to reduce width dimension of the optical package form factor.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagarajan / Zhang as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication to Giziewicz 2014/0072311US.
In regards to Claim 22, Nagarajan / Zhang teaches the device of claim 21.
Nagarajan / Zhang do not teach bonding different optical structures together using epoxy as the coupling material.
Giziewicz does teach a component comprising an epoxy ([0060]), wherein the bottom OE side (Figure 4: 170) attached to the top C side (top side of 14) with epoxy (bonding optical element 170 to frame 14 with die bonding material wherein the material is made of epoxy [0060]). The same material (epoxy – [0060]) can also be used to couple the 3rd Chip side to the 3rd OC side.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Nagarajan to use epoxy as the bonding material chip and optical component in order to produce a strong mechanical bond to maintain alignment. Epoxy is known for its strong mechanical bonding properties used in opto-electronic packaging.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagarajan 2022/0283360US / Zhang 2023/0091050US as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication to Newell 2008/0002257US.
In regards to Claim 24, Nagarajan / Zhang teaches the device of claim 23.
Nagarajan / Zhang do not teach wherein the OE optical function comprises polarization beam splitting.
Newell does teach a structure that can be applied to an output end of the light source (Figure 3a: 205) wherein the light source is directed to a structure comprises polarization beam splitting function ([0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nagarajan / Zhang at bottom of the OE structure to include the structure PBS or Polarization beam splitter attached to the bottom side of OE and be an attachment as part of the OE in order to increase the brightness of the light source by having a polarization recovery structure. This modification will prevent the loss in the polarization and make the signal brighter for transmission (Newell’s [0006]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 9, and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any of the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Newly grounds of rejection were made for independent claims 1, 9 and 21 as detailed above in view of the prior art to Zhang.
This action is therefore made FINAL for the reasons detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOANG Q TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874