DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn.
Response to Amendments
The amendment filed December 30th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-14 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carr et al. USPGPUB 2018/0191160 (hereinafter “Carr”), in view of LEE KR 20190088593 A (hereinafter “LEE”).
Regarding claim 1, Carr teaches a method for operating a power generation system ([Abstract] “A microgrid is disclosed which includes a number of electrical loads and a number of potential grid forming sources”, and Fig. 1), the method comprising:
determining whether a grid-forming power source is present ([Abstract] “A microgrid is disclosed which includes a number of electrical loads and a number of potential grid forming sources. The potential grid forming sources can include an electrical grid, PhotoVoltaic (PV) system, energy storage system, and a generator, among potential others”, Paragraph [0016] “As mentioned above, the controller 102 can be used to designate which of the grid forming sources will be used to provide power to the microgrid 100”, and Paragraph [0017], wherein control actions are determined based on grid forming source, therefore controller determines whether a grid forming power source is present);
receiving, by the lead controller from the grid-forming power source, the information comprising a power target to achieve a power objective (Paragraph [0018] “Each grid-forming source can have a power management target associated with it. For example, the electric utility 104 connection may have a target set in order to avoid peak loading charges, while the target associated with the PV inverter 106 may be set at or just below its maximum power point in order to ensure that the loads don't exceed the available capacity of the PV system 106. Generator 108 and energy storage inverters 110 could similarly have power targets set based on their power capacity. These targets may be fixed to a value set by the user or may vary based on environmental conditions, as in the case of the maximum power point of the PV inverter 106 which depends on available sunlight”, and Paragraph [0021] “When an action is called for, the system as described herein (e.g. the controller 102) examines a priority list such as the one shown below in Table 1, starting at the lowest priority action if power needs to be decreased and at the highest priority action if power needs to be increased”, Paragraph [0012] “The controller 102 is structured to issue commands directly or indirectly (such as through an intermediary component) to the various electrical devices that comprise the potential grid forming sources and/or electrical loads. Such commands include turning the loads on and off (e.g. via a breaker), placing a potential grid forming source in grid forming mode, etc as will be appreciated by the description that follows below”, and Paragraph [0023], Paragraph [0017] “For purposes of forming a grid source, the power at the grid forming source is used to assess the capacity of the grid and whether any control actions are needed to reconfigure the grid in case of higher than acceptable load”, wherein examiner interpreted grid-forming source having a power management target, including setting a target associated with inverters based power capacity, based on the setting by user or based on environmental conditions as receiving, by the lead controller from the grid-forming power source, the information comprising a power target to achieve a power objective);
determining, by the lead controller using the power target, a plurality of power targets for the one or more follower inverters to achieve the power objective (Paragraph [0018] “Each grid-forming source can have a power management target associated with it. For example, the electric utility 104 connection may have a target set in order to avoid peak loading charges, while the target associated with the PV inverter 106 may be set at or just below its maximum power point in order to ensure that the loads don't exceed the available capacity of the PV system 106. Generator 108 and energy storage inverters 110 could similarly have power targets set based on their power capacity. These targets may be fixed to a value set by the user or may vary based on environmental conditions, as in the case of the maximum power point of the PV inverter 106 which depends on available sunlight”, wherein examiner interpreted grid-forming source having a power management target, including setting a target associated with inverters based power capacity, based on the setting by user or based on environmental conditions as determining a plurality of power targets for the one or more follower inverters to achieve the power object).
Carr does not explicitly teach assigning a lead inverter and one or more follower inverters among a plurality of inverters, wherein the lead inverter comprises a lead controller configured to interface with the grid-forming power source, and wherein each of the one or more follower inverters comprises a follower controller configured to interface with the lead controller that receives information from the grid-forming power source; transmitting, by the lead controller over a network, the plurality of power targets to the one or more follower inverters to cause the plurality of power targets to be implemented in the one or more follower inverters.
However, LEE teaches assigning a lead inverter and one or more follower inverters among a plurality of inverters, wherein the lead inverter comprises a lead controller configured to interface with the grid-forming power source, and wherein each of the one or more follower inverters comprises a follower controller configured to interface with the lead controller that receives information from the grid-forming power source ([FIG. 3 Description] “The master inverter 1 may include a controller 11 (hereinafter referred to as a 'master controller' MC) and a switch module (SW) 12 for performing voltage switching. Similarly, the slave inverter 2 may include a controller 21 (hereinafter referred to as a 'slave controller' SC) and a switch module 22 for performing voltage switching”, “The master inverter 1 may include a controller 11 (hereinafter referred to as a 'master controller' MC) and a switch module (SW) 12 for performing voltage switching. Similarly, the slave inverter 2 may include a controller 21 (hereinafter referred to as a 'slave controller' SC) and a switch module 22 for performing voltage switching”, “the master controller 11 can transmit / receive signals to / from the first slave controller 21-1 and the Nth slave controller 21-N, and the first slave controller 21- 1 can transmit and receive signals to and from the master controller 11 and the second slave controller 21-2”, [FIG. 8 Description] “The control data transmitted through the master controller 11 may include a PWM control signal for controlling the switching modules 13 and 23 of the inverters 1 and 2. The output currents of the inverters 1 and 2 are detected by a predetermined current detector (not shown) and transmitted to the respective inverter controllers 11 and 21 and are controlled according to the request (response request data) of the master controller 11 (Response data) to the master controller 11 through the communication line. The master controller 11 calculates a PWM control signal of each of the inverters 1 and 2 by using the calculated PWM control signal and outputs the calculated PWM control signal to the first transmitting terminal Tx1 or the second transmitting terminal Tx2”, wherein examiner interpreted master inverter as assigning a lead inverter, and slave inverters as assigning follower inverters, and wherein examiner interpreted receiving power from power input unit to control PWM as interfacing with grid-forming power source, and wherein examiner interpreted slave inverters receiving control signals from master inverters to control PWM control signals as a follower controller configured to interface with the lead controller that receives information from the grid-forming power source);
transmitting, by the lead controller over a network, the plurality of power targets to the one or more follower inverters to cause the plurality of power targets to be implemented in the one or more follower inverters ([FIG. 3 Description] “The master inverter 1 may include a controller 11 (hereinafter referred to as a 'master controller' MC) and a switch module (SW) 12 for performing voltage switching. Similarly, the slave inverter 2 may include a controller 21 (hereinafter referred to as a 'slave controller' SC) and a switch module 22 for performing voltage switching”, “the master controller 11 can transmit / receive signals to / from the first slave controller 21-1 and the Nth slave controller 21-N, and the first slave controller 21- 1 can transmit and receive signals to and from the master controller 11 and the second slave controller 21-2”, [FIG. 8 Description] “The control data transmitted through the master controller 11 may include a PWM control signal for controlling the switching modules 13 and 23 of the inverters 1 and 2. The output currents of the inverters 1 and 2 are detected by a predetermined current detector (not shown) and transmitted to the respective inverter controllers 11 and 21 and are controlled according to the request (response request data) of the master controller 11 (Response data) to the master controller 11 through the communication line. The master controller 11 calculates a PWM control signal of each of the inverters 1 and 2 by using the calculated PWM control signal and outputs the calculated PWM control signal to the first transmitting terminal Tx1 or the second transmitting terminal Tx2”, wherein examiner interpreted control data being transmitted from master controller to slave inverters as transmitting, by the lead controller over a network, the plurality of power targets to the one or more follower inverters to cause the plurality of power targets to be implemented in the one or more follower inverters).
Carr, and LEE are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to energy management system.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method for operating a power generation system, as taught by Carr, and incorporating the inverter system, as taught by LEE.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the communication between inverters, as suggested by LEE (see [BACKGROUND-ART]).
Regarding claim 2, Carr, and LEE teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Carr further teaches further comprising assigning one of the plurality of inverters to be the grid-forming power source if the lead controller determines that the grid- forming power source is not present (Paragraph [0017] “or purposes of forming a grid source, the power at the grid forming source is used to assess the capacity of the grid and whether any control actions are needed to reconfigure the grid in case of higher than acceptable load. As illustrated in FIG. 1, when the PV system is placed in a grid forming source mode, the power available to electrical loads connected to the microgrid 100 is assessed as the power available from the PV system 106, denoted as P.sub.PV. The other potential grid forming sources have similar notation for power associated with itself. As will be appreciated, a grid-forming source provides a constant voltage reference for the microgrid/nanogrid 100 and is capable of adjusting the power output to follow the changing requirements of the loads. This source may be an electric utilityconnection, a natural gas generator, a PV inverter, or an energy storage inverter, among any potential others as described above. The nanogrid 100 is capable of designating any of these resources to be a grid-forming source”, and Paragraph [0018], wherein examiner interpreted designating any of the resources including inverters to be grid-forming source based on assessment of the grid and targets associated with grid to determine control actions including designating inverters as grid-forming source as assigning one of the plurality of inverters to be the grid-forming power source if the lead controller determines that the grid-forming power source is not present).
Regarding claim 3, Carr, and LEE teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Carr further teaches wherein the lead controller determines the power target to either send power to a grid or receive power from the grid to accomplish the power objective of the grid (Paragraph [0018], [TABLE 1], wherein examiner interpreted target being set in order to avoid peak loading charges, to ensure loads don’t exceed available capacity of PV system, and other conditions and actions as shown in TABLE 1 as lead controller determining the power target to either send power to a grid or receive power from the grid to accomplish the power objective of the grid).
Regarding claim 4, Carr, and LEE teaches all of the features with respect to claim 3 as outlined above.
Carr further teaches further comprising: balancing, by each follower controller, a load share between the plurality of inverters and one or more other power sources targeting the power target (Paragraph [[0017] “As will be appreciated, a grid-forming source provides a constant voltage reference for the microgrid/nanogrid 100 and is capable of adjusting the power output to follow the changing requirements of the loads. This source may be an electric utilityconnection, a natural gas generator, a PV inverter, or an energy storage inverter, among any potential others as described above. The nanogrid 100 is capable of designating any of these resources to be a grid-forming source”, and Paragraph [0018], wherein examiner interpreted inverters adjusting power output to follow requirements of loads as follower controller is further configured to balance a load share among the plurality of inverters and one or more other power sources targeting the power target).
Regarding claim 5, Carr, and LEE teaches all of the features with respect to claim 4 as outlined above.
LEE further teaches wherein implementing the power target in the one or more follower inverters comprises: receiving, at each of the one or more follower inverters, via the network, the plurality of power targets ([FIG. 3 Description] ““The master inverter 1 may include a controller 11 (hereinafter referred to as a 'master controller' MC) and a switch module (SW) 12 for performing voltage switching. Similarly, the slave inverter 2 may include a controller 21 (hereinafter referred to as a 'slave controller' SC) and a switch module 22 for performing voltage switching”, “the master controller 11 can transmit / receive signals to / from the first slave controller 21-1 and the Nth slave controller 21-N, and the first slave controller 21- 1 can transmit and receive signals to and from the master controller 11 and the second slave controller 21-2”, [FIG. 8 Description] “The control data transmitted through the master controller 11 may include a PWM control signal for controlling the switching modules 13 and 23 of the inverters 1 and 2. The output currents of the inverters 1 and 2 are detected by a predetermined current detector (not shown) and transmitted to the respective inverter controllers 11 and 21 and are controlled according to the request (response request data) of the master controller 11 (Response data) to the master controller 11 through the communication line. The master controller 11 calculates a PWM control signal of each of the inverters 1 and 2 by using the calculated PWM control signal and outputs the calculated PWM control signal to the first transmitting terminal Tx1 or the second transmitting terminal Tx2”, wherein examiner interpreted control data from master controller being received by slave inverters as receiving, at each of the one or more follower inverters, via the network, the plurality of power targets); and
adjusting, at the one or more follower inverters, a power output of each of the one or more follower inverters towards the respective plurality of power targets ([FIG. 8 Description] “The control data transmitted through the master controller 11 may include a PWM control signal for controlling the switching modules 13 and 23 of the inverters 1 and 2. The output currents of the inverters 1 and 2 are detected by a predetermined current detector (not shown) and transmitted to the respective inverter controllers 11 and 21 and are controlled according to the request (response request data) of the master controller 11 (Response data) to the master controller 11 through the communication line”, “Each of the inverter controllers 11 and 21 receives the PWM control signal which is the control data received from the master controller 11 and transmits it to the PWM controllers 13 and 23. The PWM controllers 13 and 23 receive the PWM control signal The AC voltage output from the switch modules 12 and 22 can be input to the electric motor 3 by performing the PWM control on the switch modules 12 and 22”, wherein examiner interpreted slave inverters receiving PWM control signal to control the AC voltage output to input to electric motor as adjusting, at the one or more follower inverters, a power output of each of the one or more follower inverters towards the respective plurality of power targets).
Regarding claim 4, Carr, and LEE teaches all of the features with respect to claim 5 as outlined above.
Carr further teaches wherein adjusting the power output of the one or more follower inverters comprises increasing the power output of the one or more follower inverters in response to determining that the power output of the one or more follower inverters is lower than the power target (Paragraph [0018], [TABLE 1], wherein examiner interpreted target being set in order to avoid peak loading charges, to ensure loads don’t exceed available capacity of PV system, and other conditions and actions as shown in TABLE 1 as including adjusting the power output of the one or more follower inverters comprises increasing the power output of the one or more follower inverters in response to determining that the power output of the one or more follower inverters is lower than the power target).
Regarding claim 7, Carr, and LEE teaches all of the features with respect to claim 5 as outlined above.
Carr further teaches wherein adjusting the power output of the one or more follower inverters comprises decreasing the power output of the one or more follower inverters in response to determining that the power output of the one or more follower inverters is higher than the power target (Paragraph [0018], [TABLE 1], wherein examiner interpreted target being set in order to avoid peak loading charges, to ensure loads don’t exceed available capacity of PV system, and other conditions and actions as shown in TABLE 1 as including adjusting the power output of the one or more follower inverters comprises decreasing the power output of the one or more follower inverters in response to determining that the power output of the one or more follower inverters is higher than the power target).
Regarding claim 8, Carr teaches a power generation system ([Abstract] “A microgrid is disclosed which includes a number of electrical loads and a number of potential grid forming sources”, and Fig. 1) comprising:
a first battery coupled to a first inverter among a plurality of inverters, the first inverter comprising a lead controller configured to interface with a grid-forming power source (Paragraph [0018] “Generator 108 and energy storage inverters 110 could similarly have power targets set based on their power capacity”, Paragraph [0016] “A controller 102 is used with the microgrid 100 to select which of the potential grid forming sources are selected to function as the grid forming source, while the other potential sources are disconnected or re-tasked to operate as a load device (either in a capacity to remove or provide power to the microgrid 100 as will be discussed further below)”, and Paragraph [0012] “ The controller 102 is structured to issue commands directly or indirectly (such as through an intermediary component) to the various electrical devices that comprise the potential grid forming sources and/or electrical loads. Such commands include turning the loads on and off (e.g. via a breaker), placing a potential grid forming source in grid forming mode, etc as will be appreciated by the description that follows below”, wherein examiner interpreted energy storage device system connected with inverters, and a controller as including a first battery coupled to a first inverter among a plurality of inverters, the first inverter comprising a lead controller configured to interface with a grid-forming power source, wherein examiner interpreted controller issuing command directly or indirectly to grid forming sources including energy storage inverters as including a lead controller coupled to first inverter, wherein examiner interpreted energy storage system to include plurality of batteries);
a second battery coupled to a second inverter among the plurality of inverters (Paragraph [0018] “Generator 108 and energy storage inverters 110 could similarly have power targets set based on their power capacity”, Paragraph [0016] “A controller 102 is used with the microgrid 100 to select which of the potential grid forming sources are selected to function as the grid forming source, while the other potential sources are disconnected or re-tasked to operate as a load device (either in a capacity to remove or provide power to the microgrid 100 as will be discussed further below)”, and Paragraph [0012] “ The controller 102 is structured to issue commands directly or indirectly (such as through an intermediary component) to the various electrical devices that comprise the potential grid forming sources and/or electrical loads. Such commands include turning the loads on and off (e.g. via a breaker), placing a potential grid forming source in grid forming mode, etc as will be appreciated by the description that follows below”, wherein examiner interpreted energy storage system to include a second battery coupled to inverters as a second battery coupled to a second inverter among the plurality of inverters),
wherein the lead controller is configured to: determine whether the grid-forming power source is present ([Abstract] “A microgrid is disclosed which includes a number of electrical loads and a number of potential grid forming sources. The potential grid forming sources can include an electrical grid, PhotoVoltaic (PV) system, energy storage system, and a generator, among potential others”, Paragraph [0016] “As mentioned above, the controller 102 can be used to designate which of the grid forming sources will be used to provide power to the microgrid 100”, and Paragraph [0017], wherein control actions are determined based on grid forming source, therefore controller determines whether a grid forming power source is present);
receive the information comprising a first power target to achieve a power objective (Paragraph [0018] “Each grid-forming source can have a power management target associated with it. For example, the electric utility 104 connection may have a target set in order to avoid peak loading charges, while the target associated with the PV inverter 106 may be set at or just below its maximum power point in order to ensure that the loads don't exceed the available capacity of the PV system 106. Generator 108 and energy storage inverters 110 could similarly have power targets set based on their power capacity. These targets may be fixed to a value set by the user or may vary based on environmental conditions, as in the case of the maximum power point of the PV inverter 106 which depends on available sunlight”, and Paragraph [0021] “When an action is called for, the system as described herein (e.g. the controller 102) examines a priority list such as the one shown below in Table 1, starting at the lowest priority action if power needs to be decreased and at the highest priority action if power needs to be increased”, Paragraph [0012] “The controller 102 is structured to issue commands directly or indirectly (such as through an intermediary component) to the various electrical devices that comprise the potential grid forming sources and/or electrical loads. Such commands include turning the loads on and off (e.g. via a breaker), placing a potential grid forming source in grid forming mode, etc as will be appreciated by the description that follows below”, and Paragraph [0023], Paragraph [0017] “For purposes of forming a grid source, the power at the grid forming source is used to assess the capacity of the grid and whether any control actions are needed to reconfigure the grid in case of higher than acceptable load”, wherein examiner interpreted grid-forming source having a power management target, including setting a target associated with inverters based power capacity, based on the setting by user or based on environmental conditions as receiving the information comprising a first power target to achieve a power objective);
determine a second power target to achieve a power objective based on information received from the grid-forming power source (Paragraph [0018] “Each grid-forming source can have a power management target associated with it. For example, the electric utility 104 connection may have a target set in order to avoid peak loading charges, while the target associated with the PV inverter 106 may be set at or just below its maximum power point in order to ensure that the loads don't exceed the available capacity of the PV system 106. Generator 108 and energy storage inverters 110 could similarly have power targets set based on their power capacity. These targets may be fixed to a value set by the user or may vary based on environmental conditions, as in the case of the maximum power point of the PV inverter 106 which depends on available sunlight”, wherein examiner interpreted grid-forming source having a power management target, including setting a target associated with inverters based power capacity, based on the setting by user or based on environmental conditions as determining a second power target to achieve a power objective based on information received from the grid-forming power source); and
Carr does not explicitly teach the second inverter comprising a follower controller configured to interface with the lead controller that receives information from the grid-forming power source; transmit, via a network, the second power target to the second inverter, and wherein the follower controller is configured to: receive, from the lead controller, the second power target for implementation.
However, LEE teaches the second inverter comprising a follower controller configured to interface with the lead controller that receives information from the grid-forming power source ([FIG. 3 Description] “The master inverter 1 may include a controller 11 (hereinafter referred to as a 'master controller' MC) and a switch module (SW) 12 for performing voltage switching. Similarly, the slave inverter 2 may include a controller 21 (hereinafter referred to as a 'slave controller' SC) and a switch module 22 for performing voltage switching”, “The master inverter 1 may include a controller 11 (hereinafter referred to as a 'master controller' MC) and a switch module (SW) 12 for performing voltage switching. Similarly, the slave inverter 2 may include a controller 21 (hereinafter referred to as a 'slave controller' SC) and a switch module 22 for performing voltage switching”, “the master controller 11 can transmit / receive signals to / from the first slave controller 21-1 and the Nth slave controller 21-N, and the first slave controller 21- 1 can transmit and receive signals to and from the master controller 11 and the second slave controller 21-2”, [FIG. 8 Description] “The control data transmitted through the master controller 11 may include a PWM control signal for controlling the switching modules 13 and 23 of the inverters 1 and 2. The output currents of the inverters 1 and 2 are detected by a predetermined current detector (not shown) and transmitted to the respective inverter controllers 11 and 21 and are controlled according to the request (response request data) of the master controller 11 (Response data) to the master controller 11 through the communication line. The master controller 11 calculates a PWM control signal of each of the inverters 1 and 2 by using the calculated PWM control signal and outputs the calculated PWM control signal to the first transmitting terminal Tx1 or the second transmitting terminal Tx2”, wherein examiner interpreted slave inverters including controllers that communicate with master controller in a master inverter that receives control data as the second inverter comprising a follower controller configured to interface with the lead controller that receives information from the grid-forming power source);
transmit, via a network, the second power target to the second inverter ([FIG. 3 Description] ““The master inverter 1 may include a controller 11 (hereinafter referred to as a 'master controller' MC) and a switch module (SW) 12 for performing voltage switching. Similarly, the slave inverter 2 may include a controller 21 (hereinafter referred to as a 'slave controller' SC) and a switch module 22 for performing voltage switching”, “the master controller 11 can transmit / receive signals to / from the first slave controller 21-1 and the Nth slave controller 21-N, and the first slave controller 21- 1 can transmit and receive signals to and from the master controller 11 and the second slave controller 21-2”, [FIG. 8 Description] “The control data transmitted through the master controller 11 may include a PWM control signal for controlling the switching modules 13 and 23 of the inverters 1 and 2. The output currents of the inverters 1 and 2 are detected by a predetermined current detector (not shown) and transmitted to the respective inverter controllers 11 and 21 and are controlled according to the request (response request data) of the master controller 11 (Response data) to the master controller 11 through the communication line. The master controller 11 calculates a PWM control signal of each of the inverters 1 and 2 by using the calculated PWM control signal and outputs the calculated PWM control signal to the first transmitting terminal Tx1 or the second transmitting terminal Tx2”, wherein examiner interpreted control data being transmitted from master controller to slave inverters as transmitting, via a network, the second power target to the second inverter), and
wherein the follower controller is configured to: receive, from the lead controller, the second power target for implementation ([FIG. 3 Description] ““The master inverter 1 may include a controller 11 (hereinafter referred to as a 'master controller' MC) and a switch module (SW) 12 for performing voltage switching. Similarly, the slave inverter 2 may include a controller 21 (hereinafter referred to as a 'slave controller' SC) and a switch module 22 for performing voltage switching”, “the master controller 11 can transmit / receive signals to / from the first slave controller 21-1 and the Nth slave controller 21-N, and the first slave controller 21- 1 can transmit and receive signals to and from the master controller 11 and the second slave controller 21-2”, [FIG. 8 Description] “The control data transmitted through the master controller 11 may include a PWM control signal for controlling the switching modules 13 and 23 of the inverters 1 and 2. The output currents of the inverters 1 and 2 are detected by a predetermined current detector (not shown) and transmitted to the respective inverter controllers 11 and 21 and are controlled according to the request (response request data) of the master controller 11 (Response data) to the master controller 11 through the communication line. The master controller 11 calculates a PWM control signal of each of the inverters 1 and 2 by using the calculated PWM control signal and outputs the calculated PWM control signal to the first transmitting terminal Tx1 or the second transmitting terminal Tx2”, wherein examiner interpreted control data from master controller being received by slave inverters as receiving, from the lead controller, the second power target for implementation).
Carr, and LEE are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to energy management system.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above power generation system, as taught by Carr, and incorporating the inverter system, as taught by LEE.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the communication between inverters, as suggested by LEE (see [BACKGROUND-ART]).
Regarding claim 9, Carr, and LEE teaches all of the features with respect to claim 8 as outlined above.
Carr further teaches wherein to implement the second power target, the follower controller is configured to: adjust a power output of the second battery such that a filtered power average of the second battery is adjusted toward the filtered power average of the first battery (Paragraph [0019], Paragraph [0023-0024], wherein examiner interpreted taking action to move power average towards the power target as adjusting the power output of the second battery such that a filtered power average of the second battery is adjusted toward the filtered power average of the first battery).
Regarding claim 10, Carr, and LEE teaches all of the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
Carr further teaches wherein adjusting, by the follower controller, the power output of the second battery comprises increasing the power output of the second battery in response to determining that the filtered power average of the second battery is lower than the filtered power average of the first battery (Paragraph [0019], Paragraph [0023-0024], wherein examiner interpreted moving power average to power target by increasing or decreasing power as including the adjusting the power output of the second battery by increasing the power output of the second battery in response to determining that the filtered power average of the second battery is lower than the filtered power average of the first battery).
Regarding claim 11, Carr, and LEE teaches all of the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
Carr further teaches wherein adjusting, by the follower controller, the power output of the second battery comprises decreasing the power output of the second battery in response to determining that a power average percentage of the second battery is higher than the power average percentage of the first battery (Paragraph [0019], Paragraph [0023-0024], wherein examiner interpreted moving power average to power target by increasing or decreasing power as including adjusting power output of the second battery by decreasing the power output of the second battery in response to determining that a power average percentage of the second battery is higher than the power average percentage of the first battery).
Regarding claim 12, Carr, and LEE teaches all of the features with respect to claim 8 as outlined above.
Carr further teaches wherein the lead controller is further configured to assign one of the plurality of inverters to be the grid-forming power source if the lead controller determines that the grid-forming power source is not present (Paragraph [0017] “or purposes of forming a grid source, the power at the grid forming source is used to assess the capacity of the grid and whether any control actions are needed to reconfigure the grid in case of higher than acceptable load. As illustrated in FIG. 1, when the PV system is placed in a grid forming source mode, the power available to electrical loads connected to the microgrid 100 is assessed as the power available from the PV system 106, denoted as P.sub.PV. The other potential grid forming sources have similar notation for power associated with itself. As will be appreciated, a grid-forming source provides a constant voltage reference for the microgrid/nanogrid 100 and is capable of adjusting the power output to follow the changing requirements of the loads. This source may be an electric utilityconnection, a natural gas generator, a PV inverter, or an energy storage inverter, among any potential others as described above. The nanogrid 100 is capable of designating any of these resources to be a grid-forming source”, and Paragraph [0018], wherein examiner interpreted designating any of the resources including inverters to be grid-forming source based on assessment of the grid and targets associated with grid to determine control actions including designating inverters as grid-forming source as assigning one of the plurality of inverters to be the grid-forming power source if the lead controller determines that the grid-forming power source is not present).
Regarding claim 13, Carr, and LEE teaches all of the features with respect to claim 8 as outlined above.
Carr further teaches wherein the lead controller determines the second power target to either send power to a grid or receive power from the grid to accomplish the power objective of the grid (Paragraph [0018], [TABLE 1], wherein examiner interpreted target being set in order to avoid peak loading charges, to ensure loads don’t exceed available capacity of PV system, and other conditions and actions as shown in TABLE 1 as lead controller determining the second power target to either send power to a grid or receive power from the grid to accomplish the power objective of the grid).
Regarding claim 14, Carr, and LEE teaches all of the features with respect to claim 8 as outlined above.
Carr further teaches wherein the follower controller is further configured to balance a load share among the plurality of inverters and one or more other power sources targeting the first power target (Paragraph [[0017] “As will be appreciated, a grid-forming source provides a constant voltage reference for the microgrid/nanogrid 100 and is capable of adjusting the power output to follow the changing requirements of the loads. This source may be an electric utilityconnection, a natural gas generator, a PV inverter, or an energy storage inverter, among any potential others as described above. The nanogrid 100 is capable of designating any of these resources to be a grid-forming source”, and Paragraph [0018], wherein examiner interpreted inverters adjusting power output to follow requirements of loads as follower controller is further configured to balance a load share among the plurality of inverters and one or more other power sources targeting the first power target), wherein the one or more other power sources includes at least one of a genset, a fuel cell, a photovoltaic cell, or a wind turbine (Paragraph [0013]).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and on the attached PTO Form 892 but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Daniel [USPGPUB 2024/0146064] teaches an electric power transmission system.
Ramesh et al. [USPGPUB 2024/0212069] teaches a renewable energy source (RES) that provides electrical energy and a first energy storage system (ESS) coupled to and configured to receive electrical energy from the RES.
Buttgenbach et al. [USPGPUB 2023/0378754] teaches a method for implementing power delivery of an integrated renewable energy source and energy storage system (RES-ESS) facility includes a renewable energy source (RES) and an energy storage system (ESS).
King et al. [USPGPUB 2022/0121260] teaches systems and methods for managing the distribution of electrical power.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119