DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 5 August 2026, with respect to the objection to the drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the drawings has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s remaining arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In arguing for the non-obviousness of the amended independent claim, Applicant argues that neither Luis Alonso nor Chen disclose or render obvious the new limitation. However, the new limitations strongly match those of now-canceled claim 2, which was further rejected in view of Byrne, where said reference was relied upon to each every limitation of that claim. Applicant mentions Byrne in the remarks (p. 11), but does not substantively address, in advance, how that reference may be applied to the amended independent claim. Claim 1 is now rejected further in view of Byrne.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “6” has been used to designate both the first thermocouple and the second thermocouple in fig. 4A.
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 103
Comment: Because claim 1 requires an ignition source electrovalve, the subject matter of which is not supported by the parent application 16/761,832, claim 1 does not benefit from the filing date of the parent application, and therefore has the actual filing date of this application 10 March 2023. Furthermore, the Luis Alonso reference was published more than one year before this effective filing date, rendering it prior art under § 102(a)(1).
Claims 1, and 3–16, and 20–22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luis Alonso et al. (US Pub. 2021/0199303) in view of Chen et al. (CN 112443862 A) and Byrne (GB 2444109 A).
Claim 1: Luis Alonso discloses a food cooking unit (title) comprising:
at least one cooking zone (¶ 77, “cooking zone”) defined on top of at least one gas burner (set of gas burners 1) supplied with gas from at least one regulating electrovalve (3);
an ignition source (2) for each cooking zone, adjacent to the at least one gas burner of said cooking zone for ignition thereof (see 2 and 1 in fig. 1), each ignition source being supplied with gas (evident from ¶ 90);
a safety electrovalve (4) for each cooking zone connected to the correspondent at least one regulating electrovalve for regulation of the gas provided thereto;
at least one food monitoring sensor (infrared sensor 5) for each cooking zone configured to monitor a cooking process carried out on the cooking zone (see at least ¶ 84) and/or a weight sensor (“weight sensors,” see ¶¶ 113–115) for each cooking zone configured to detect weight variations on the cooking zone;
at least one thermocouple (6) for each cooking zone in thermal contact with flames that apply heat to the cooking zone to generate a signal, and in connection with the correspondent safety electrovalve, which is configured to interrupt the gas flow when the signal generated is interrupted (see ¶ 93);
an electronic control device (7) connected to the at least one regulating electrovalve (see ¶ 83 and fig. 1), to the at least one food monitoring sensor (see ¶ 85 and fig. 1), the electronic control device stores different regulation programs of the at least one regulating electrovalve and is configured to regulate the at least one regulating electrovalve in application of one of the regulation programs in response to the signals obtained from the food monitoring sensor (see claim 1) and/or from the weight sensor; and
the electronic control device is also connected to the at least one thermocouple (via 10, see ¶ 96 and fig. 1) and is configured to interrupt the regulation program (see ¶ 96).
Luis Alonso does not disclose its electronic control device configured to close the at least one regulating electrovalve in response to an interruption of the signal generated by the at least one thermocouple. Instead, Luis Alonso only seems to disclose closing the safety electrovalve in response (see ¶ 93).
However, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further close the regulating electrovalves 3 in response to thermocouple signal interruption to further prevent the escape of unburned fuel, i.e. the fuel that would be between valves 3 and 4 at the time of interruption.
Luis Alonso does not disclose each ignition source being supplied with gas from one ignition source electrovalve, its safety electrovalve for each cooking zone connected to the correspondent ignition source electrovalve, or the electronic control device being configured to close the ignition source electrovalve in response to an interruption of the signal generated by the at least one thermocouple.
However, Chen discloses a similar apparatus with an ignition source (20) with an ignition source electrovalve (30), a safety valve connected to the ignition source electrovalve (70, via 41), and an electronic control device (200) configured to close the ignition source electrovalve in response to a similar flame detector probe (110).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the ignition source electrovalve, and associated safety closure feature taught by Chen to the apparatus of Luis Alonso as an added control and safety measure, particularly to prevent the escape of unburned gas.
Luis Alonso does not disclose that the at least one thermocouple comprises at least one first thermocouple in connection with the correspondent safety electrovalve, and at least one second thermocouple connected exclusively to the electronic control device, the electronic control device and the second thermocouple being connected neither to the first thermocouple nor to the safety electrovalve, and the safety electrovalve remaining controlled exclusively by the first thermocouple.
However, Byrne discloses a similar apparatus with a first a first thermocouple (26) connected with a valve at least analogous to a safety electrovalve (16), and a second thermocouple (18) connected to an electronic control device (28), the electronic control device and the second thermocouple being connected neither to the first thermocouple nor to the safety electrovalve (see fig. 2), and the safety electrovalve remaining controlled exclusively by the first thermocouple (ibid.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide both first and second thermocouples, as taught by Byrne, into Luis Alonso to provide reactive safety means to close the electrovalves (analogously represented as 14 in Byrne) and the safety valve.
Claim 3: Luis Alonso discloses that the at least one thermocouple is in contact with the flame produced by the ignition source (see ¶ 92). Further, Byrne discloses that both its first and second thermocouples are in contact with the flame produced by the ignition source (see fig. 2).
Comment: There is no explicit antecedent basis for any “flame,” but one would clearly be present given how claim 1 explains that gas is provided to the ignition source.
Claim 4: Luis Alonso discloses that the food monitoring sensor comprises:
an infrared sensor (5) placed above the cooking zone and oriented thereto for remotely monitoring a temperature of a food placed on the cooking zone (see fig. 2 and ¶ 84); and/or
a camera placed above the cooking zone and oriented thereto for remotely obtaining images of a food placed on the cooking zone, the electronic control device implementing an image recognition algorithm and/or a trained neural network, and/or a trained machine learning model configured to determine a cooking status of the food placed on the cooking zone from the images obtained by the camera;
Claim 5: Luis Alonso discloses that the electronic control device is configured to determine, from the information provided by the infrared sensor and/or by the camera, the presence of a cookware placed on the cooking zone or the presence and type and/or size of a cookware placed on the cooking zone, and to automatically select, execute and/or adapt the regulatory program in response to said determination (¶ 47 explains that the infrared sensor, in conjunction with the electronic control device, detects the size (and, by necessity, the presence) of a cookware, and applies an appropriate regulation program in response).
Claim 6: Luis Alonso discloses that the electronic control device is configured to determine, from the information provided by the food monitoring sensor and/or by the weight sensor, an intervention of a user on the cooking zone and/or the addition of ingredients on the cooking zone, and to automatically select, execute and/or adapt the regulatory program in response to said determination (see at ¶ 51 discussing the food monitoring system).
Claim 7: Luis Alonso discloses that the electronic control device is connected to an interface (8) for selection, by a user, of the applicable regulation program selected from the different regulation programs stored on the electronic control device, the regulation programs corresponding to different kitchen recipes or to different kitchen recipes adapted to different amounts of food and/or to different types and/or sizes of cookware (see ¶ 82).
Claim 8: Luis Alonso discloses that the electronic control device includes a data input (9) to receive modifications of the stored regulation programs (see ¶ 87).
Claim 9: Luis Alonso discloses that the data input is a wireless connection (¶ 87, “remote or wireless means”), and the modifications of the regulation programs are obtained from a remote data storage through the wireless connection (the data transferred wirelessly to the data input described in ¶ 87 necessarily qualifies as a remote data storage given how it is remote and possesses (stores) the data being transferred).
Claim 10: Luis Alonso modified by Byrne discloses that the electronic control device is configured to emit warnings in response to the detection of an interruption of the signal of the at least one second thermocouple (Luis Alonso: ¶ 96).
Claim 11: Luis Alonso discloses that said cooking unit includes, in connection with the electronic control device, a level sensor (see ¶¶ 112 and 116–118) configured to detect any deviation level from horizontal of at least part of the cooking unit (ibid.), the electronic control device being configured to automatically correct the detected deviation level by automatically actuating level adjusting devices (¶ 118, “actuating means”) of the cooking unit, the level adjusting devices being adapted to modify the inclination of at least part of the cooking unit (¶ 118), or to notify a user of a required manually adjustment of level adjusting devices of the cooking unit, the level adjusting devices being adapted to modify the inclination of at least part of the cooking unit (¶ 117).
Luis Alonso does not explicitly disclose that its level sensor is configured to detect any deviation level from horizontal of a cookware support placed below the cooking zone for supporting a cookware thereon. Instead, Luis Alonso discloses that the level sensor detects “the horizontality of the cooking unit or part thereof,” as well as, separately (though in the same passages) “a cookware support, the cookware support being adjustable in inclination and being configured to hold a cookware in the cooking zone” (meaning that it would be below the cooking zone as claimed).
However, in light of what is disclosed in Luis Alonso, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the “part [of the cooking unit]” that its level sensor detects be the “cookware support,” since this is the element that would adjusted in response to the detected horizontality (as per ¶¶ 117 or 118), and therefore its horizontality level status is immediately connected to how it would need to be adjusted.
Claim 12: Luis Alonso discloses that the cooking unit includes at least one vibrator device (¶ 125, “vibrating device”) attached to at least a portion of the cooking unit including a cookware support placed below the cooking zone for supporting a cookware thereon (¶ 125), the vibrator device being controlled by the electronic control device in application of the regulation programs (¶ 126).
Claim 13: Luis Alonso discloses that the regulating electrovalve feeding each gas burner with gas is a single variable-pitch regulating electrovalve (¶ 79, “a single variable pitch regulation valve 3”).
Claim 14: Luis Alonso discloses that the regulating electrovalve feeding each gas burner with gas are several fixed-pitch electrovalves connected in parallel (disclosed generally in ¶ 81; the parallel connection nature invariably follows from the functionality of these described in ¶ 15).
Claim 15: Luis Alonso discloses that the cooking unit also integrates, in connection with the electronic control device, sensors selected from:
a gas supply pressure sensor of a gas feeding the cooking unit (¶ 119), the electronic control device being configured to apply or adjust the regulation programs in response to the readings of said pressure sensor (ibid.);
an atmospheric pressure sensor (¶ 120), the electronic control device being configured to apply or adjust the regulation programs in response to the readings of said atmospheric pressure sensor (ibid.);
an environmental humidity sensor (¶ 121), the electronic control device being configured to apply or adjust the regulation programs in response to the readings of said environmental humidity sensor (ibid.);
a room temperature sensor (¶ 122), the electronic control device being configured to apply or adjust the regulation programs in response to the readings of said room temperature sensor (ibid.); and/or
any combination of the above.
Claim 16: Luis Alonso modified by Chen discloses that the at least one cooking zone is a plurality of spaced apart cooking zones defined by the tops of different spaced apart gas burners (Luis Alonso: see fig. 5 and ¶ 103), the food monitoring sensors and/or weight sensors of the different cooking zones being in connection with a single centralized electronic control device in charge of regulating all the regulating electrovalves and ignition source electrovalves feeding all the cooking zones (Luis Alonso: clearly illustrated in fig. 5, at least with respect to the food monitoring sensors).
Claim 20: Luis Alonso discloses that the cooking unit includes an electric battery supplying electrical energy at least to the electronic control device and to the sensors connected thereto (¶ 124).
Claims 21 and 22: Luis Alonso discloses that the food monitoring sensor comprises a temperature probe (¶ 123) placeable on the cooking zone in thermal contact with, or embedded in, a food placed on the cooking zone for monitoring the food temperature (¶ 123, “a probe needle insertable in a food located on the cooking zone”), the temperature probe being connected to the electronic control device by wire or by wireless connection (one of a wired or wireless connection necessitated by ¶ 112 in conjunction with ¶ 123).
Conclusion
/JOHN J NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761