Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 10 & 19 and has argued in the Remarks filed on 7/17/2026, that OTT alone, or in combination with others, does not teach the limitation “from operating systems of a plurality of processors, and providing the normalized security sensor data to a synthetic sensor, wherein the synthetic sensor is distinct from the plurality of sensor devices”. Examiner respectfully has reviewed these arguments but found them to be moot as Examiner has changed the ground.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 10, 14 & 19 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Khurana (US 20210103260) in view of Balser and Malm (US 20200050763 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Khurana teaches:
a method at a computing device comprising: receiving security sensor data from plurality of sensor devices; [0013] In another example, a system for controlling a building may include e a local building controller and a cloud server. The local building controller may be configured to receive sensor data from one or more sensors of the building]
normalizing, (he security sensor data to create normalized security sensor data; [0013] In another…the building. The cloud server may be configured to receive the sensor data from the local building controller, normalize the sensor data,]
determine that an anomaly exists within the normalized security sensor data; [[0013]: In another…sensor data. Compare the normalized sensor data with normalized sensor data from one more other building to identify one or more anomalies associated the building.]
generate an alert based on the determining that the anomaly exists, [0050] The remote device 214 may be any internet connected device including a smart phone, tablet, e-reader, laptop computer, personal computer, etc. The notification may be received by an alert module 216 within the remote device 214. The alert module 216 may receive a recommended action from the controller 204 and display the action on a display or guided user interface (GUI) 218 of the user device 214.]
providing the data to a synthetic sensor wherein the synthetic sensor is distinct from the plurality of sensor devices; [0057] The external server 220 may further include a data analysis module 228 (Synthetic sensor). The data analysis module 228 may be configured to analyze the normalized sensor data. For example, the analysis module 228 may be configured to determine the mean, median and/or any outliers for a particular type of data. Some illustrative data types may include, but are not limited to, energy usage of individual systems and/or components within the systems (HVAC system, lights, refrigeration, etc.), water usage, etc. In some embodiments, the data analysis module 228 may be configured to predict resource consumption (e.g., energy, water, etc.) for a particular building based on at least one type of non-sensor data including, but limited to geographic location and/or average outdoor temperature, etc.[0058] The data analysis module 228 (synthetic sensor) may be configured to compare the normalized data from a first building to the normalized data from one or more other buildings to identify one or more anomalies associated the first building. The buildings used for comparison may be of a same use type and/or within the same category of building. The one or more anomalies may correspond to resource use that is not associated with outside environmental differences in building locations. For example, an HVAC system that is using more energy than expected compared to the predicted resource consumption and/or the normalized data from other building management systems may be considered an anomaly. Further analysis of the energy usage of the anomalous HVAC system either at the external server 220 and/or at the building or system controller 204 may help identify a root-cause and subsequently a recommended action, as will be described in more detail herein. Additionally or alternatively, the operating parameters of the building management system 202 of the first building may be compared to the operating parameters from one or more other buildings to identify one or more anomalies associated the building. For example, the comparison of operating parameters may reveal that the first building is leaving more lights illuminated when the building is unoccupied compared to the one or more other buildings. A recommendation may be to change the lighting schedule of the offending building.[0059] In some cases, the data analysis module 228 may be further configured to determine if the one or more anomalies are associated with the activity of one or more occupants of the building. It is contemplated that the data analysis module 228 may be configured to identify an occupant activity event when one or more anomalies are associated with an activity of one or more occupants of the building. The occupant activity event may be associated with one or more predetermined conditions in the building. In one example, an occupant activity event may be an exterior door remaining open for a period of time. The associated one or more predetermined conditions may be a temporary increase in energy consumption of the HVAC system which can be correlated to the length of time that the door remained open. For example, an increased cooling cost for a particular day (and a particular building) may be associated with an exterior door remaining open for a long period of time. In some cases, the activity of the occupants can be inferred by or detected by one or more of sensors. For example, a limit switch on a door may remain open for a period of time indicating that the door has remained open. In another example, a surveillance camera may monitor whether the door is open or closed, along with other use activities. The impact of the occupant's activity on the resource usage may be further verified by an increase in the resource usage. For example, having a door temporarily propped open may incur a temporary increase in energy consumption whereas a mechanical problem with a component of the HVAC system may incur an ongoing increase in energy consumption.]
provide the alert as an insight to an insight consumer. [0050] The remote device …. computer, etc. The notification may be received by an alert module 216 within the remote device 214. The alert module 216 may receive a recommended action from the controller 204 (provide insight to the user/consumer) and display the action on a display or guided user interface (GUI) 218 of the user device 214. (provide insight to the user/consumer)]
Although, Khurana teaches normalizing security sensors data, he does not teach explicitly, however, Blaser teaches normalizing, at a hardware Abstraction Layer (HAL) the sensor data to create normalized sensor data having a common format; [0023] the sensor fusion processor 222 can provide an aggregation of the data received from the sensors 101-104 supported by the physical interface module 202. Particularly, the aggregation includes the normalization of the data and information and a determination of responses to issues in the agent 100 or the sensor middleware system 106. As noted above, the sensor fusion processor 222 can receive information from the fault tolerance processor 220 that can dictate how the sensor fusion processor 222 processes and aggregates the data. In general, normalization provides sensor data in a common form that abstracts hardware differences, such as scaling differences, unit differences and endian differences, so as to ensure a common data format exists for computation and fusion activities. In the agent 100, this data typically relates to relative position, velocity, and attitude. The sensor fusion processor aggregates the data such that the resulting information is superior to sensor data considered individually. The data may be more accurate, more complete, more dependable, or provide an enhanced view, such as stereoscopic vision.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Khurana with the disclosure of Blaser. The motivation or suggestion would have been to implement a system that will provide efficient techniques that utilizes adaptive and fault tolerant and upgradable sensor systems (abstract, para 0001-0003, Blaser)
Although, Khurana and Blaser teach normalizing security sensors data, they do not teach explicitly, however, Malm teaches:
wherein operating systems of a plurality of processors; [0168] In another aspect, a system includes at least one processor and a memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to receive, at a game engine sensor, first data from an operating system that represents occurrence of a monitored event. The instructions are also executable to send, from the game engine sensor, second data corresponding to the monitored event to a game engine logic controller. The instructions are further executable to determine, at a first logic block of the game engine logic controller based on the second data and third data representing a system state associated with the computing device, that a first predicate condition is satisfied. The instructions are executable to determine, at a second logic block of the game engine logic controller based on the second data and the third data, that a second predicate condition is satisfied. The instructions are also executable to detect a computer security threat based on the first and second predicate conditions being satisfied. The instructions are further executable to, based on the detection of the computer security threat, instruct at least one game engine actuator to perform at least one action responsive to the computer security threat.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Khurana and Blaser with the disclosure of Malm. The motivation or suggestion would have been to implement a system that will provide efficient and improved techniques that detects any abnormal system level activities. systems (abstract, para 0002, Malm)
Regarding claims 5 & 14, Khurana teaches wherein the security sensor data is received from a different computing device or virtual machine within a system. [please see paragraph 0052]
Regarding claims 10 & 19, these claims are interpreted to be as same as claim 1 and rejected for these same reasons as set forth for claim 1.
Claims 2-4 & 11-13 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Khurana in view of Balser and Malm and Rieger (US20210089661)
Regarding claims 2 & 11, although, Khurana and Balser and Malm teach determination of anomaly, he does not teach explicitly, however, Rieger teaches wherein the determining that the anomaly exists is performed by at least one of a rules service and a machine learning inference service. [please see paragraph 0091]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Khurana and Blaser and Malm with the disclosure of Rieger. The motivation or suggestion would have been to implement a system that will provide efficient techniques for anomaly detection based on integrated cyber and physical state data and in particular, means for integrating scalable, simplified sets of physical relationships and features into machine learning anomaly detection algorithms. (abstract, para 0004-0006, Rieger)
Regarding claims 3 & 12, although, Khurana and Balser and Malm teach determination of anomaly, he does not teach explicitly, however, Rieger teaches wherein the rules service compares the normalized security sensor data with a plurality of rules stored at the computing device, the method generating the alert when one of the plurality of rules is triggered. [please see paragraph 0091]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Khurana and Balser and Malm with the disclosure of Rieger. The motivation or suggestion would have been to implement a system that will provide efficient techniques for anomaly detection based on integrated cyber and physical state data and in particular, means for integrating scalable, simplified sets of physical relationships and features into machine learning anomaly detection algorithms. (abstract, para 0004-0006, Rieger)
Regarding claims 4 & 13, Khurana and Balser and Malm do not teach explicitly, however, Rieger teaches wherein the machine learning inference service uses a machine learning model trained on normal and anomalous behavior to create the machine learning inference service. [[0053]:The process…anomaly detection. ML anomaly detection models are typically trained to baseline behavior. Physical state data, however, may vary over time and/or under different “nominal” baseline conditions (e.g., operation in different modes, different conditions, and/or the like). Therefore, even if ML anomaly detection models were trained to fit physical state data associated with a particular baseline, the ML anomaly detection models would still produce false positives during “nominal” operation (e.g., produce false positives as physical state data shifts during operation in different baseline conditions). Furthermore, physical quantities may span large ranges during “nominal” operation (e.g., due to operation under different modes, conditions, baselines, and/or the like); ML anomaly detection models trained to fit such physical quantities may be incapable of providing meaningful anomaly detection information (e.g., may be incapable of distinguishing physical state quantities associated with “nominal” physical behavior from “anomalous” physical behavior due to, inter alia, the large ranges spanned thereby). Moreover, even if an ML anomaly detection model were capable of characterizing certain physical quantities over limited ranges, the models would only indicate whether observed physical quantities conform with previous training data and provide no indication whether the physical quantities represent a valid, “nominal” physical state 115 of the CPC system 101.]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Khurana and Balser and Malm with the disclosure of Rieger. The motivation or suggestion would have been to implement a system that will provide efficient techniques for anomaly detection based on integrated cyber and physical state data and in particular, means for integrating scalable, simplified sets of physical relationships and features into machine learning anomaly detection algorithms. (Abstract, para 0004-0006, Rieger)
Claims 6, 8-9 & 15, 17-18 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Khurana (US 20210103260) in view of Balser and Malm and Appel (US 20190036948 A1)
Regarding claims 6 & 15, Khurana and Balser and Malm do not teach explicitly, however, Appel teaches wherein the system comprises a vehicle. [0030] In an embodiment, the vehicle security manager 130 is configured to collect vehicle data from the data sources 170, the fleet manager 160, and the security agent 140. To this end, the data sources 170 store vehicle data such as, but not limited to, events, vehicle states, data traffic, telemetry data (e.g., Controller Area Network messages, sensor readings collected by sensors of a car, etc.), over-the-air (OTA) updates, log analytics, Lidar data, radar data, images, videos, and the like. The data stored in the data sources 170 may be from fleet managers, vehicle control systems, traffic control systems, and other systems configured to monitor and collect data related to vehicle or fleet behavior. Specifically, data from multiple different sources of information may be collected and utilized to detect anomalies, determine root causes, and the like. The vehicle security manager 130 may be configured to normalize the collected vehicle data.]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Khurana and Balser and Malm with the disclosure of Appel. The motivation or suggestion would have been to implement a system that will provide improved and efficient solutions that would overcome the challenges of hackers interfering with vehicle functions by securing vehicles and connected car service layers against cyber. (abstract, para 0002-0005, Apple)
Regarding claims 8 & 17, although Khurana and Balser and Malm teach security sensor data they do not teach explicitly, however, Apple teaches a second computing device having an insight consumer registered to listen for any insight from the synthetic sensor. [[0017] The various disclosed embodiments include a method and system for securing connected vehicles and connected vehicle services against cyber-attacks. Thus, the disclosed embodiments provide connected vehicle cybersecurity techniques. Vehicle data from multiple data sources is collected and correlated to monitor vehicle or vehicle service behavior over time and to detect changes in vehicle or vehicle service behavior representing anomalies. The vehicle data includes data related to operation of the vehicle such as, but not limited to, internal data (e.g., engine speed, engine state, etc.), functional data (e.g., vehicle location, speed, etc.), driver data, user data (e.g., when the connected vehicle is controlled remotely), applicative service data (e.g., commands sent to the connected vehicle by a server or user device as part of a connected vehicle service), and the like. The vehicle data indicates information related to behavior of the vehicle such that abnormal vehicle data may represent anomalous behavior that requires mitigation. Please also see paras 0018-0020]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Khurana and Balser and Malm with the disclosure of Appel. The motivation or suggestion would have been to implement a system that will provide improved and efficient solutions that would overcome the challenges of hackers interfering with vehicle functions by securing vehicles and connected car service layers against cyber. (abstract, para 0002-0005, Apple)
Regarding claims 9 & 18, Khurana and Balser and Malm teach security sensor data, they do not teach explicitly, however, Appel teaches wherein the insight consumer is a security operations center for at least one of a vehicle manufacturer, a fleet operator, or a vehicle operator. [0023] The security agent 140 is a network element configured to enable communications with the vehicle security manager 130 via the network 110. The security agent 140 is further configured to receive data from multiple sources including, but not limited to, requests from the user device 120 (e.g., via the app 125), vehicle sensor data, and telematics data, and to detect anomalies based on the received data. The requests may indicate commands that are to be sent to and implemented by the fleet manager 160, by one or more of the vehicle control systems 170, or both. As a non-limiting example, such a command may be “Start_Engine” that was sent to the vehicle control system 170. [0024] Anomalies may be detected based on, but not limited to, receiving a request for a command to be implemented by the fleet manager 160 or one of the vehicle control systems 170 (e.g., a command to lock or unlock a connected vehicle, to turn the connected vehicle on or off, to control driving of the connected vehicle, etc.), an attempt to access data from the fleet manager 160 or the vehicle control system 170, and the like. The security agent 140 is configured to send the detected anomalies to the vehicle security manager 130 for analysis. [0025] The security agent 140 may be further configured to identify a driver of a connected vehicle including or otherwise controlled by the vehicle control system 170 from which a request is received. Based on the requests, the identified driver, the anomalies, commands sent by the vehicle security manager 130, or a combination thereof, the security agent 140 may be configured to update a state of the connected vehicle. The state may indicate a context utilized to determine expected anomalies and commands as described further herein below, and may be, but is not limited to, an allocation of a vehicle to a specific driver, a most recent over-the-air number received by the vehicle, and the like.]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Khurana and Balser and Malm with the disclosure of Appel. The motivation or suggestion would have been to implement a system that will provide improved and efficient solutions that would overcome the challenges of hackers interfering with vehicle functions by securing vehicles and connected car service layers against cyber. (abstract, para 0002-0005, Apple)
Conclusion
/SHER A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497