DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/25/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perisic et al (US Publication No. 20090033274) in view of Fujimoto et al (US Publication No. 20110272205) and further in view of Shin (US Publication No. 20230006436).
Regarding claim 1, Perisic teaches a DC-DC converter (i.e., 32; see for example fig. 2 as shown below, para. [0029]- [0042]) comprising: a first capacitor (54) connected to a first DC end (A); a second capacitor (56) connected to a second DC end (B); a power conversion circuit (CKT) connected between the first capacitor (54) and the second capacitor (56), the power conversion circuit (CKT) including at least one switching element (TS-BS); and a controller (34) configured to determine (i.e., such as the controller 34 is in operable communication and/or electrically connected to the first and second inverters 38 and 40. The controller 34 is responsive to commands received from the driver of the automobile 10 (i.e. via an accelerator pedal) and provides commands to the first inverter 38 and the second inverter 40; see for example para. [0032]), when the second capacitor (56) is charged as a battery (24) is connected to the second DC end (B), whether the at least one switching element (TS-BS) has failed (i.e., such as if there is a shortage of power on the first inverter 38 side of the double-ended inverter system 32, the controller 34 may be configured to control power flow from the second energy source 24 into the motor 20; see for example para. [0042]) based on a first voltage (V1) that is a voltage (V1) between opposite ends (+/-) of the first capacitor (54) and a second voltage (V2) that is a voltage (V2) between opposite ends (+/-) of the second capacitor (56).
Perisic does not teach a controller configured to determine, during an initial charging period of the second capacitor after a battery is connected to the second DC end.
Fujimoto teaches in a similar field of endeavor in power converters (i.e., see for example fig. 1, para. [0036]- [0066]); wherein a controller (i.e., such as controller 60; see for example fig. 1, para. [0036]- [0066]) configured (i.e., such as configured; for instance, a battery device of the electric power steering device has the vehicle battery device 100, the booster circuit 40 for boosting an output voltage of the vehicle battery device 10, the sub battery device 50 connected to a point between the booster circuit 40 and the motor drive circuit 30 in parallel thereto, and the battery control part 62 provided in the electronic control unit 60 for controlling the boosting voltage of the booster circuit 40; see for example fig. 1, para. [0036]- [0066]) to determine (i.e., such as to determine via output voltage sensor 52; for instance, a voltage sensor 51 (hereinafter, referred to as an input voltage sensor 51) is provided at the input side of the booster circuit 40 for detecting a voltage of an electric power input to the booster circuit 40. Further, a voltage sensor 52 (hereinafter, referred to as an output voltage sensor 52) is provided at the output side of the booster circuit 40 for detecting an output voltage of the booster circuit 40. Hereinafter, the voltage value detected by the input voltage sensor 51 is referred to as a boosting input voltage v1 and the voltage value detected by the output voltage sensor 52 is referred to as a boosting output voltage v2. The input and output voltage sensors 51 and 52 output signals representing the boosting input and output voltages v1 and v2, respectively, to the battery control part 62; see for example fig. 1, para. [0036]- [0066]), during an initial charging period (i.e., such as initial charging period T1; for instance, the timing-switch scheme of the boost circuit 40 controls the timing period required by the capacitor 45 to initial-charge/pre-charge, charge, and discharge; see for example the timing chart of the boost circuit 40 in fig. 10, para. [0116]- [0121]) of the second capacitor (i.e., such as second capacitor 45; see for example fig. 1, para. [0036]- [0066]) after (i.e., such as after; for instance, after the battery control part 62 sets the target boosting voltage v2* as explained above, at following step S234, the battery control part 62 reads a boosting output voltage v2 of the booster circuit 40 from the output voltage sensor 52. Next, at step S235, the battery control part 62 outputs to the boosting switching elements 43 and 44 of the booster circuit 40, PWM control signals having duty ratios adjusted on the basis of the deviation. DELTA.v2 between the target boosting voltage v2* and the boosting output voltage v2 to decrease the deviation. DELTA.v2; see for example fig. 6, para. [0085]) a battery (i.e., such as battery 50; see for example fig. 1, para. [0036]- [0066]) is connected (i.e., such as the negative terminal of the battery 50 is connected to line 111 and the positive terminal of the battery 50 is connected to line 113; see for example fig. 1, para. [0036]- [0066]) to the second DC end (i.e., such as second DC end defined by positive node 113 and negative node 111 monitored by the sub-battery voltage sensor 53; see for example fig. 1, para. [0036]- [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the controller-capacitor scheme in Perisic, as taught by Fujimoto, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards safely managing the initial inrush-current when starting any high-voltage system.
Neither Perisic nor Fujimoto teaches wherein the controller is configured to determine that the at least one switching element has failed based on the first voltage being no less than a value obtained by subtracting a preset margin voltage from the second voltage.
Shin teaches in a similar field of endeavor in power converters (i.e., disconnection determination unit 150; fig. 3); wherein the controller (controller 155; fig. 3) is configured to determine (i.e., of determining a circuit connection state to the transformation unit 110 based on a voltage signal detected at the disconnection detection unit 120; para. [0058]) that the at least one switching element (switching element 10; fig. 1) has failed (i.e., and detect whether a short-circuit current or an in-rush current is generated according to the detected magnitude of the AC component, thereby having an effect capable of distinguishing whether the detection result of the disconnection detection unit is caused by the short-circuit current or the in-rush current; [0038]) based on the first voltage (the first voltage/the preset threshold voltage; para. [0029]) being no less than (greater than; para. [0029]) a value (the extracted DC offset value) obtained by subtracting (subtract; para. [0029]) a preset margin voltage (preset design margin value; para. [0029]) from the second voltage (the second voltage/the extracted DC offset voltage) (e.g., when the extracted DC offset value is greater than a preset threshold voltage, the disconnection determination unit may subtract a preset design margin value from the extracted DC offset value, and compare the DC offset value from which the design margin value is subtracted with the threshold voltage to detect the disconnection of at least one of the transformation unit and a circuit connected to the transformation unit; para. [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the controller-preset margin voltage scheme in Perisic, as taught by Shin, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design.
Regarding claim 8, Perisic in view of Fujimoto and further in view of Shin and the teachings of Perisic as modified by Fujimoto have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Perisic as modified by Shin have been discussed above as well.
Perisic further teaches a vehicle (i.e., a vehicle; see for example para. [0020]) comprising: a DC-DC converter (i.e., 32; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0029]- [0042]) having a first DC end (A) and a second DC end (B); a high-voltage battery (24) connected to the second DC end (B) through a plurality of switches (TS-BS); and a controller (34) configured to manage (i.e., such as the controller 34 is in operable communication and/or electrically connected to the first and second inverters 38 and 40. The controller 34 is responsive to commands received from the driver of the automobile 10 (i.e. via an accelerator pedal) and provides commands to the first inverter 38 and the second inverter 40; see for example para. [0032]) the high-voltage battery (24) and to control states (i.e., TS-BS ON/OFF states via 34; such as the controller 34 is in operable communication and/or electrically connected to the first and second inverters 38 and 40. The controller 34 is responsive to commands received from the driver of the automobile 10 (i.e. via an accelerator pedal) and provides commands to the first inverter 38 and the second inverter 40; see for example para. [0032]) of the plurality of switches (TS-BS); wherein the DC-DC converter (32) includes: a first capacitor (54) connected to the first DC end (A); a second capacitor (56) connected to the second DC end (B); and a power conversion circuit (CKT) connected between the first capacitor (54) and the second capacitor (56), the power conversion circuit (CKT) including at least one switching element (TS-BS); and wherein the controller (34) is configured (i.e., such as the controller 34 is in operable communication and/or electrically connected to the first and second inverters 38 and 40. The controller 34 is responsive to commands received from the driver of the automobile 10 (i.e. via an accelerator pedal) and provides commands to the first inverter 38 and the second inverter 40; see for example para. [0032]), when the second capacitor (56) is charged as the battery (24) is connected to the second DC end (B), to control the states (i.e., TS-BS ON/OFF states via 34; such as the controller 34 is in operable communication and/or electrically connected to the first and second inverters 38 and 40. The controller 34 is responsive to commands received from the driver of the automobile 10 (i.e. via an accelerator pedal) and provides commands to the first inverter 38 and the second inverter 40; see for example para. [0032]) of the plurality of switches (TS-BS) based on a first voltage (V1) that is a voltage (V1) between opposite ends (+/-) of the first capacitor (54) and a second voltage (V2) that is a voltage (V2) between opposite ends (+/-) of the second capacitor (56).
Fujimoto furthermore teaches the electric power steering device (i.e., see for example fig. 1, para. [0036]- [0066]); wherein the controller (i.e., such as controller 60; see for example fig. 1, para. [0036]- [0066]) configured (i.e., such as configured; for instance, a battery device of the electric power steering device has the vehicle battery device 100, the booster circuit 40 for boosting an output voltage of the vehicle battery device 10, the sub battery device 50 connected to a point between the booster circuit 40 and the motor drive circuit 30 in parallel thereto, and the battery control part 62 provided in the electronic control unit 60 for controlling the boosting voltage of the booster circuit 40; see for example fig. 1, para. [0036]- [0066]) to determine (i.e., such as to determine via output voltage sensor 52; for instance, a voltage sensor 51 (hereinafter, referred to as an input voltage sensor 51) is provided at the input side of the booster circuit 40 for detecting a voltage of an electric power input to the booster circuit 40. Further, a voltage sensor 52 (hereinafter, referred to as an output voltage sensor 52) is provided at the output side of the booster circuit 40 for detecting an output voltage of the booster circuit 40. Hereinafter, the voltage value detected by the input voltage sensor 51 is referred to as a boosting input voltage v1 and the voltage value detected by the output voltage sensor 52 is referred to as a boosting output voltage v2. The input and output voltage sensors 51 and 52 output signals representing the boosting input and output voltages v1 and v2, respectively, to the battery control part 62; see for example fig. 1, para. [0036]- [0066]), during an initial charging period (i.e., such as initial charging period T1; for instance, the timing-switch scheme of the boost circuit 40 controls the timing period required by the capacitor 45 to initial-charge/pre-charge, charge, and discharge; see for example the timing chart of the boost circuit 40 in fig. 10, para. [0116]- [0121]) of the second capacitor (i.e., such as second capacitor 45; see for example fig. 1, para. [0036]- [0066]) after (i.e., such as after; for instance, after the battery control part 62 sets the target boosting voltage v2* as explained above, at following step S234, the battery control part 62 reads a boosting output voltage v2 of the booster circuit 40 from the output voltage sensor 52. Next, at step S235, the battery control part 62 outputs to the boosting switching elements 43 and 44 of the booster circuit 40, PWM control signals having duty ratios adjusted on the basis of the deviation. DELTA.v2 between the target boosting voltage v2* and the boosting output voltage v2 to decrease the deviation. DELTA.v2; see for example fig. 6, para. [0085]) a battery (i.e., such as battery 50; see for example fig. 1, para. [0036]- [0066]) is connected (i.e., such as the negative terminal of the battery 50 is connected to line 111 and the positive terminal of the battery 50 is connected to line 113; see for example fig. 1, para. [0036]- [0066]) to the second DC end (i.e., such as second DC end defined by positive node 113 and negative node 111 monitored by the sub-battery voltage sensor 53; see for example fig. 1, para. [0036]- [0066]). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 8 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Regarding claim 15, Perisic in view of Fujimoto and further in view of Shin and the teachings of Perisic as modified by Fujimoto have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Perisic as modified by Shin have been discussed above as well.
Perisic further teaches the vehicle (i.e., a vehicle; see for example para. [0020]) (i.e., 32; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0029]- [0042]); wherein the controller (34) is configured to obtain information (i.e., such as the controller 34 is in operable communication and/or electrically connected to the first and second inverters 38 and 40. The controller 34 is responsive to commands received from the driver of the automobile 10 (i.e. via an accelerator pedal) and provides commands to the first inverter 38 and the second inverter 40; see for example para. [0032]) on the first voltage (V1) from the DC-DC converter (32) or electrical equipment (i.e., such as the motor 20 may be an induction motor, a permanent magnet motor, or any type suitable for the desired application; see for example para. [0024]) connected to the first DC end (A).
Regarding claim 16, Perisic in view of Fujimoto and further in view of Shin and the teachings of Perisic as modified by Fujimoto have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Perisic as modified by Shin have been discussed above as well.
Perisic further teaches the vehicle (i.e., a vehicle; see for example para. [0020]) (i.e., 32; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0029]- [0042]); further comprising: a fuel cell (i.e., such as other forms of energy sources 22 and 24 may be used, such as current sources and loads including diode rectifiers, thyristor converters, fuel cells, inductors, capacitors, and/or any combination thereof; see for example para. [0044]) connected to the first DC end (A).
Claims 2-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perisic et al (US Publication No. 20090033274) in view of Fujimoto et al (US Publication No. 20110272205) and in view of Shin (US Publication No. 20230006436) and further in view of Yamamoto (US Publication No. 20170257027).
Regarding claim 2, Perisic in view of Fujimoto and further in view of Shin and the teachings of Perisic as modified by Fujimoto have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Perisic as modified by Shin have been discussed above as well.
Perisic further teaches the DC-DC converter (i.e., 32; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0029]- [0042]); wherein the power conversion circuit (CKT) comprises: a leg (i.e., for example 50) having one end (B+) connected to a positive(+) terminal of the second DC end (B) and an opposite end (B-) connected to a negative (-) terminal of the second DC end (B); wherein the leg (50) includes two switching elements (TS-BS) connected in series with each other (i.e., TS is in series with BS).
Neither Perisic nor Fujimoto nor Shin teaches an inductor having one end connected to a positive (+) terminal of the first DC end; and wherein an opposite end of the inductor is connected to a connection node of each of the two switching elements.
Yamamoto teaches in a similar field of endeavor in power converters (i.e., 100; see for example fig. 1 as shown below, para. [0020]- [0030]); wherein an inductor (22a-22d) having one end (+) connected to a positive (+) terminal of the first DC end (102); and wherein an opposite end (x) of the inductor (22a-22d) is connected to a connection node (x) of each of the two (i.e., Top and Bottom) switching elements (TS-BS).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the inductor device in Perisic, as taught by Yamamoto, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards more efficient and reliable power conversion.
Regarding claim 3, Perisic in view of Fujimoto and in view of Shin and further in view of Yamamoto and the teachings of Perisic as modified by Fujimoto have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Perisic as modified by Shin and the teachings of Perisic as modified Yamamoto have been discussed above as well.
Perisic further teaches the DC-DC converter (i.e., 32; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0029]- [0042]); wherein, based on the first voltage (V1) and the second voltage (V2), the controller (34) is configured to determine (i.e., such as the controller 34 is in operable communication and/or electrically connected to the first and second inverters 38 and 40. The controller 34 is responsive to commands received from the driver of the automobile 10 (i.e. via an accelerator pedal) and provides commands to the first inverter 38 and the second inverter 40; see for example para. [0032]) whether a top switching element (TS) having one end (B+) connected to the positive (+) terminal of the second DC end (B) has failed in a short circuit (i.e., such as if there is a shortage of power on the first inverter 38 side of the double-ended inverter system 32, the controller 34 may be configured to control power flow from the second energy source 24 into the motor 20; see for example para. [0042]), out of the two switching elements (TS-BS).
Regarding claim 9, Perisic in view of Fujimoto and in view of Shin and further in view of Yamamoto and the teachings of Perisic as modified by Fujimoto have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Perisic as modified by Shin and the teachings of Perisic as modified Yamamoto have been discussed above as well.
Yamamoto further teaches the DC-DC converter (i.e., 100; see for example fig. 1 as shown above, para. [0020]- [0030]); wherein the power conversion circuit (20) comprises: an inductor (22a-22d) having one end (102+) connected to a positive(+) terminal of the first DC end (102); and a leg (i.e., for example 32d) having one end (112+) connected to a positive(+) terminal of the second DC end (112) and an opposite end (112-) connected to a negative(-) terminal of the second DC end (112); wherein the leg (32d) includes two switching elements (TS-BS) connected in series with each other (i.e., TS is in series with BS); and an opposite end (x) of the inductor (22a-22d) is connected to a connection node (x) of each of the two switching elements (TS-BS).
Claims 4, 6, 10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perisic et al (US Publication No. 20090033274) in view of Fujimoto et al (US Publication No. 20110272205) and in view of Shin (US Publication No. 20230006436) and further in view of Yugou et al (US Publication No. 20110210746).
Regarding claim 4, Perisic in view of Fujimoto and further in view of Shin and the teachings of Perisic as modified by Fujimoto have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Perisic as modified by Shin have been discussed above as well.
Neither Perisic nor Fujimoto nor Shin teaches wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the at least one switching element has failed after a preset time has elapsed after the battery was connected to the second DC end.
Yugou teaches in a similar field of endeavor in power converters (i.e., 100; see for example fig. 1 as shown below, para. [0032]- [0046]); wherein the controller (13) is configured to determine (i.e., via comparison conducted by 11 and 12; see for example para. [0015]) whether the at least one switching element (3A, 3B, 6) has failed (i.e., such as if the amount of electric charge stored in the capacitor is small, it is possible to determine that the load is in the non-contact state or that the electric charge is discharged; see for example para. [0011]) after a preset time (i.e., the predetermined reset time for the pre-charge operation; see for example timing charts in figs. 2-6, para. [0047]) has elapsed (i.e., such as when a predetermined period of time has elapsed after the pre-charge relay is turned ON; see for example para. [0015]) after the battery (1) was connected to the second DC end (B).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the controller scheme in Perisic, as taught by Yugou, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards efficient and reliable power charging.
Regarding claim 6, Perisic in view of Fujimoto and in view of Shin and further in view of Yugou and the teachings of Perisic as modified by Fujimoto have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Perisic as modified by Shin and the teachings of Perisic as modified by Yugou have been discussed above as well.
Yugou further teaches (i.e., 100; see for example fig. 1 as shown above, para. [0032]- [0046]); wherein the controller (13) is configured to determine (i.e., via comparison conducted by 11 and 12; see for example para. [0015]) whether the at least one switching element (3A, 3B, 6) has failed (i.e., such as if the amount of electric charge stored in the capacitor is small, it is possible to determine that the load is in the non-contact state or that the electric charge is discharged; see for example para. [0011]) based on the second capacitor (21) being initially charged while the battery (1) is connected to the second DC end (B) through a pre-charge relay (6).
Regarding claim 10, Perisic in view of Fujimoto and in view of Shin and further in view of Yugou and the teachings of Perisic as modified by Fujimoto have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Perisic as modified by Shin and the teachings of Perisic as modified by Yugou have been discussed above as well.
Yugou further teaches (i.e., 100; see for example fig. 1 as shown above, para. [0032]- [0046]); wherein the controller (13) is configured to compare (i.e., via comparison conducted by 11 and 12; see for example para. [0015]) the first voltage (i.e., the capacitor voltage 21; see for example para. [0012]) with the second voltage (i.e., since a predetermined voltage range having upper and lower limit values is employed as the second predetermined voltage, it is possible to more provide reliable determination; see for example para. [0016]) after a preset time (i.e., the predetermined reset time for the pre-charge operation; see for example timing charts in figs. 2-6, para. [0047]) has elapsed (i.e., such as when a predetermined period of time has elapsed after the pre-charge relay is turned ON; see for example para. [0015]) after the high-voltage battery (1) was connected to the second DC end (B).
Regarding claim 12, Perisic in view of Fujimoto and in view of Shin and further in view of Yugou and the teachings of Perisic as modified by Fujimoto have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Perisic as modified by Shin and the teachings of Perisic as modified by Yugou have been discussed above as well.
Yugou further teaches (i.e., 100; see for example fig. 1 as shown above, para. [0032]- [0046]); wherein the plurality of switches (3A, 3B, 6) comprises: a first relay (3A) connected to one end (A) of the battery (1); a second relay (3B) connected to an opposite end (A-) of the battery (1); and a third relay (6) connected in parallel with the first relay (3A) to one end (A) of the battery (1) and connected in series with a pre-charge resistor (5).
Regarding claim 13, Perisic in view of Fujimoto and in view of Shin and further in view of Yugou and the teachings of Perisic as modified by Fujimoto have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Perisic as modified by Shin and the teachings of Perisic as modified by Yugou have been discussed above as well.
Yugou further teaches (i.e., 100; see for example fig. 1 as shown above, para. [0032]- [0046]); wherein the controller (13) is configured to control (i.e., via comparison conducted by 11 and 12; see for example para. [0015]) the third relay (6) to be in an ON state (i.e., pre-charge operation; see for example para. [0047]) and the second relay (3B) to be in an ON state (i.e., control portion; see for example para. [0044]) (i.e., such as in the positive and negative terminal contactors 3A and 3B, the contact is turned ON when the exciting coil is energized, while the contact is turned OFF when the exciting coil is stopped being energized; see for example para. [0040]), thereby comparing (i.e., via comparison; see for example para. [0015]) the first voltage (i.e., the capacitor voltage 21; see for example para. [0012]) and the second voltage (i.e., since a predetermined voltage range having upper and lower limit values is employed as the second predetermined voltage, it is possible to more provide reliable determination; see for example para. [0016]) after the preset time (i.e., the reset time for the pre-charge operation; see for example timing charts in figs. 2-6, para. [0047]) has elapsed (i.e., such as when a predetermined period of time has elapsed after the pre-charge relay is turned ON; see for example para. [0015]) from the time (i.e., such as the time rate of the increase of capacitor voltage is measured to detect the normal state if the rate falls within a predetermined range and detect the abnormal state if the rate falls out of the predetermined range; see for example para. [0048]) at which the initial charging (i.e., charging mode; see for example para. [0061]) of the second capacitor (21) started (i.e., relay 6 is ON; see for example operating mode versus time as depicted in the timing charts of figs. 2-6, para. [0047]).
Regarding claim 14, Perisic in view of Fujimoto and in view of Shin and further in view of Yugou and the teachings of Perisic as modified by Fujimoto have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Perisic as modified by Shin and the teachings of Perisic as modified by Yugou have been discussed above as well.
Yugou further teaches (i.e., 100; see for example fig. 1 as shown above, para. [0032]- [0046]); wherein the controller (13) is configured to control (i.e., via comparison conducted by 11 and 12; see for example para. [0015]) the third relay (6) to be in the ON state (i.e., pre-charge operation; see for example para. [0047]), and the second relay (3B) to be in the ON state (i.e., such as in the positive and negative terminal contactors 3A and 3B, the contact is turned ON when the exciting coil is energized, while the contact is turned OFF when the exciting coil is stopped being energized; see for example para. [0040]) (i.e., control portion; see for example para. [0044]), and then to compare (i.e., via comparison conducted by 11 and 12; see for example para. [0015]) the first voltage (i.e., the capacitor voltage 21; see for example para. [0012]) and the second voltage (i.e., since a predetermined voltage range having upper and lower limit values is employed as the second predetermined voltage, it is possible to more provide reliable determination; see for example para. [0016]) until controlling (i.e., control portion; see for example para. [0044]) the first relay (3A) to be in an ON state (i.e., such as in the positive and negative terminal contactors 3A and 3B, the contact is turned ON when the exciting coil is energized, while the contact is turned OFF when the exciting coil is stopped being energized; see for example para. [0040]) according to satisfaction (i.e., such as all the above three conditions are satisfied; see for example para. [0052]) of a preset condition (i.e., predetermined reset condition; such as contact/non-contact state conditions; see for example fig. 7, para. [0052]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perisic et al (US Publication No. 20090033274) in view of Fujimoto et al (US Publication No. 20110272205) and in view of Shin (US Publication No. 20230006436) and in view of Yugou et al (US Publication No. 20110210746) and further in view of Shu et al (US Publication No. 20060255755).
Regarding claim 5, Perisic in view of Fujimoto and in view of Shin and further in view of Yugou and the teachings of Perisic as modified by Fujimoto have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Perisic as modified by Shin and the teachings of Perisic as modified by Yugou have been discussed above as well.
Neither Perisic nor Fujimoto nor Shin nor Yugou teaches wherein the controller is configured to receive a signal associated with whether the battery is connected to the second DC end from a battery management system that controls the battery.
Shu teaches in a similar field of endeavor in power converters (i.e., see for example fig. 2 as shown below, para. [0015]); wherein the controller (5) is configured to receive a signal (S) associated with whether the battery (BAT) is connected to the second DC end (3) from a battery management system (21) that controls the battery (BAT).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the battery management system unit in Perisic, as taught by Shu, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards efficient power saving and smart energy.
Claims 7 and 11 are cancelled.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838