DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on March 12, 2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-4, 7-10, and 13-16 are amended.
Claims 1-18 are pending this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai et al (US 2022/0252732 A1) in view of Chen et al (US 2017/0307760 A1) and Ferguson (US 2011/0285586 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Dai teaches a method for differential global navigation satellite system (GNSS) positioning, the method comprising [0042, 0044, 0131]:
establishing a communicative coupling between a central computing node and a multiplicity of different roving receivers disposed within a geographic region of common atmospheric error [0044 for using rovers and calculating ambiguities, with figure 1B for a network 139, and central computing node element 118, also 0015, 0130 for data storage and 0135],
owing to ionospheric or tropospheric delays experienced at the geographical region [0049 for using ionospheric and tropospheric delays, with 0229],
each of the different roving receivers generating observable data from GNSS signals received from different ones of a selection of satellites in a GNSS constellation [0046-0049, 0125-0126];
collecting the observable data from the different roving receivers in memory of the central computing node [0044-0049 and 351-352 for central node observations at a data center (central computing node)],
and computing a position of the specific one of the different roving receivers based upon a reduction of a joint estimation of error determined from differencing performed upon the collected observable data from others of the different roving receivers [0044, 0046-0049, and 0137].
Dai fails to explicitly teach selecting a specific one of the roving receivers; and, transmitting the computed position over the communicative coupling to the specific one of the roving receivers.
Chen has a correction message for regional GNSS data includes data from several stations in a network (abstract) and teaches selecting a specific one of the roving receivers [0044-0046 for using geographic receivers];
and, transmitting the computed position over the communicative coupling to the specific one of the roving receivers [0047-0049].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Dai, further including the rover calculations as taught by Chen for provide ambiguity values which are close to integer (Chen, 0050).
Dai fails to explicitly teach filtering the observable data to a sub-set of only those of the observables corresponding to ones of the different roving receivers within geographic proximity of the specific one of the roving receivers.
Ferguson has a method of Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) reference station integrity monitoring (abstract) and teaches filtering the observable data to a sub-set of only those of the observables corresponding to ones of the different roving receivers within geographic proximity of the specific one of the roving receivers [0053-0058 for getting RTK information within a geographic area and comparing observables].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Dai, further including the regional calculations as taught by Ferguson to determine whether signals from orbiting GNSS satellites are being jammed or spoofed (Ferguson, 0055).
Regarding Claim 7, Dai discloses a data processing system adapted for differential global navigation satellite system (GNSS) positioning, the system comprising [0044, 0131]:
a central computing node comprising a host computing platform of one or more computers, each with memory and one or processing units including one or more processing cores [figure 1B for a network 139, and central computing node element 118, also 0015, 0130 for data storage];
and, a positioning module comprising computer program instructions enabled while executing in the memory of at least one of the processing units of the host computing platform to perform: establishing a communicative coupling between the central computing node and a multiplicity of different roving receivers disposed within a geographic region of common atmospheric error [0044 for using rovers and calculating ambiguities, with figure 1B for a network 139, and central computing node element 118, 0130 for data storage and 0115, 0135],
owing to ionospheric or tropospheric delays experienced at the geographical region [0049 for using ionospheric and tropospheric delays, with 0229],
each of the different roving receivers generating observable data from GNSS signals received from different ones of a selection of satellites in a GNSS constellation [0046-0047, 0125-0126];
collecting the observable data from the different roving receivers in memory of the central computing node [0044-0049 and 351-352 for central node observations at a data center (central computing node)],
collecting the observable data from the different roving receivers in the memory of the central computing node [0044-0049 and 351-352 for central node observations at a data center (central computing node)],
and computing a position of the specific one of the different roving receivers based upon a reduction of a joint estimation of error determined from differencing performed upon the collected observable data from others of the different roving receivers [0044, 0046-0049, and 0137].
Dai fails to explicitly teach selecting a specific one of the roving receivers; and, transmitting the computed position over the communicative coupling to the specific one of the roving receivers.
Chen has a correction message for regional GNSS data includes data from several stations in a network (abstract) and teaches selecting a specific one of the roving receivers [0044-0046 for using geographic receivers];
and, transmitting the computed position over the communicative coupling to the specific one of the roving receivers [0047-0049].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Dai, further including the rover calculations as taught by Chen for provide ambiguity values which are close to integer (Chen, 0050).
Dai fails to explicitly teach filtering the observable data to a sub-set of only those of the observables corresponding to ones of the different roving receivers within geographic proximity of the specific one of the roving receivers.
Ferguson has a method of Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) reference station integrity monitoring (abstract) and teaches filtering the observable data to a sub-set of only those of the observables corresponding to ones of the different roving receivers within geographic proximity of the specific one of the roving receivers [0053-0058 for getting RTK information within a geographic area and comparing observables].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Dai, further including the regional calculations as taught by Ferguson to determine whether signals from orbiting GNSS satellites are being jammed or spoofed (Ferguson, 0055).
Regarding Claim 13, Dai discloses a computing device comprising a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having program instructions stored therein, the instructions being executable by at least one processing core of a processing unit to cause the processing unit to perform differential global navigation satellite system (GNSS) positioning by [0044, 0131 figure 1B element 118]:
establishing a communicative coupling between a central computing node and a multiplicity of different roving receivers disposed within a geographic region of common atmospheric error [0044 for using rovers and calculating ambiguities, with figure 1B for a network 139, and central computing node element 118, 0130 for data storage and 0115, 0135],
owing to ionospheric or tropospheric delays experienced at the geographical region [0049 for using ionospheric and tropospheric delays, with 0229],
each of the different roving receivers generating observable data from GNSS signals received from different ones of a selection of satellites in a GNSS constellation [0046-0047, 0125-0126];
collecting the observable data from the different roving receivers in memory of the central computing node [0044-0049 and 351-352 for central node observations at a data center (central computing node)],
and computing a position of the specific one of the different roving receivers based upon a reduction of a joint estimation of error determined from differencing performed upon the collected observable data from others of the different roving receivers [0044, 0046-0049, and 0137].
Dai fails to explicitly teach selecting a specific one of the roving receivers; and, transmitting the computed position over the communicative coupling to the specific one of the roving receivers.
Chen has a correction message for regional GNSS data includes data from several stations in a network (abstract) and teaches selecting a specific one of the roving receivers [0044-0046 for using geographic receivers];
and, transmitting the computed position over the communicative coupling to the specific one of the roving receivers [0047-0049].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Dai, further including the rover calculations as taught by Chen for provide ambiguity values which are close to integer (Chen, 0050).
Dai fails to explicitly teach filtering the observable data to a sub-set of only those of the observables corresponding to ones of the different roving receivers within geographic proximity of the specific one of the roving receivers.
Ferguson has a method of Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) reference station integrity monitoring (abstract) and teaches filtering the observable data to a sub-set of only those of the observables corresponding to ones of the different roving receivers within geographic proximity of the specific one of the roving receivers [0053-0058 for getting RTK information within a geographic area and comparing observables].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Dai, further including the regional calculations as taught by Ferguson to determine whether signals from orbiting GNSS satellites are being jammed or spoofed (Ferguson, 0055).
Regarding Claim 2, 8, and 14, Dai discloses the joint estimation of error pertains to transmission delays owing to atmospheric delays of the geographic region of common atmospheric error [0229-0231].
Regarding Claim 3, 9, and 15, Dai discloses the joint estimation of error pertains to satellite clock bias [0043, 0049].
Regarding Claim 4, 10, and 16, Dai discloses the computed position accounts for correction of the joint estimation of error using a combination of the observable data based upon either or both of pseudorange and pseudorange + carrier-phase [0049 and 0296].
Regarding Claim 5, 11, and 17, Dai discloses the observable data is additionally collected from at least one base station geographically proximate to the different roving receivers [0010-0012].
Regarding Claim 6, 12, and 18, Dai fails to explicitly teach observable data is collected in a queue filtered according to a maximum lapsed period of time from collection of the observable data.
Ferguson has a method of Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) reference station integrity monitoring (abstract) and observable data is collected in a queue filtered according to a maximum lapsed period of time from collection of the observable data [00065-0069 for using RTK information at reference station and comparing final position].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the GNSS position techniques, as disclosed by Dai, further including the regional calculations as taught by Ferguson to adjust the tolerance of one or more thresholds based upon recurrence of conditions (Ferguson, 0069).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
On page 16, last paragraph of the applicant’s argument, the applicant states that Dai does teach atmospheric delays experience of a geographical location. The examiner respectfully disagrees, Dai teaches tropospheric bias for the receiver at a data processing center (location) [Dai, 0260].
On page 16, last paragraph of the applicant’s argument, the applicant states that Dai fails to teach geographic proximity of the specific one of the roving receivers. The examiner respectfully disagrees, Chen teaches geographic proximity of the specific one of the roving receivers [Chen, 0044-0046 for using geographic receivers].
On page 17, second paragraph of the applicant’s argument, the applicant states that Dai fails to teach the claimed invention in amended claims 1, 7, and 13. The examiner respectfully disagrees, new references Chen and Ferguson address the new features of the amended claims such that Ferguson teaching determining atmospheric delays in the rover and reference receiver’s observables and compares GNSS observation data based on consistency, proximity, and temporal validity [Ferguson, 0033, 0053-0058] and Chen teaches correcting both clock and orbit errors [Chen, 0046].
Conclusion
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648