DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are pending in the instant application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because it is unclear how the numerous items shown in each of figures 3 and 5 are related to one another. Applicant should use a bracket or lead lines to show that this is an exploded view or label them as separate figures. See: MPEP 608.02 V (37 CFR 1.84(h)(1) & (p)).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “housing defines a drainage hole” of claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phase “wherein the number of the at least one fluid outputting hole is 1-8” is confusing and may be preferably written as ““wherein the number of holes of the at least one fluid outputting hole is 1-8.”
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phase “wherein the number of the at least one fluid outputting hole is 1-8” is confusing and may be preferably written as ““wherein the number of holes of the at least one fluid outputting hole is 1-8.”
Claim 13 is objected to for not including a conjunction uniting the three phrases.
Claim 14 is objected to because it describes “the fluid outputting massager is a fluid outputting massaging comb, beauty massage brushes, or body massage brushes.” The claim refers to a singular massager and then claims it as a plurality (i.e. brushes).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “soft tooth” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “soft tooth” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how “soft” the tooth must be to be included or excluded by the claim.
Claim 3 is confusing because it claims “the fluid outputting tooth has a fluid guide hole” and then claims “the fluid outputting hole”. It is unclear if this is the “fluid guide hole” or another hole altogether.
Claim 5 is confusing because it is unclear what is meant by “two adjacent fluid storage cavities of the plurality of fluid storage cavies may be spaced apart from each other a dividing plate”. It appears applicant intended this to be “two adjacent fluid storage cavities of the plurality of fluid storage cavies may be spaced apart from each other by a dividing plate”. However, even if written as such, the term “may” makes this an optional limitation, as it is not positively claimed. Thus, the metes and bounds of claim 5 are unclear.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the housing"; however, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a housing introduced in claim 4, however claim 7 depends from claim 1.
Claim 12 is rejected because it is unclear what “other end of the housing” is being referred to. The examiner has interpreted this to be the “opposite end of the housing”, however, clarification is required since there can be more than one “other end” of the housing.
Claim 13 is confusing because it is unclear what is meant by a “first adsorption member” and a “second adsorption member”. The specification does not provide any clarity to what is meant by a “first adsorption member” and a “second adsorption member”. In fact, the specification only has two paragraphs that describe the “first adsorption member” and a “second adsorption member”, namely paragraphs [0019] and [0047] and they do not describe what type of material is used, how they function or any other useful details for determining the metes and bounds of what is meant by “first adsorption member” and a “second adsorption member”.
Adsorption is “: the adhesion in an extremely thin layer of molecules (as of gases, solutes, or liquids) to the surfaces of solid bodies or liquids with which they are in contact” and it is unclear what material is performing this function in claim 13.
Clam 15 is confusing because it refers to “the plurality of fluid storage cavities” but claim 4 and describe “at least one fluid storage cavity” which does not require a plurality. It appears claim 15 should have depended from claim 5, as that provides antecedent basis for “the plurality of fluid storage cavities”.
Claim 16 is confusing because it is unclear what constitutes a “pee-determined” distance which renders the claim indefinite. The term “pre-determined distance” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Any remaining claims are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dobbyn (2023412).
Regarding claim 1, Dobbyn discloses a fluid outputting massager (figure 1 with head of figure 2), comprising: a fluid storage assembly (1) and a tooth plate (10) connected to the fluid storage assembly (via threads 7), wherein the fluid storage assembly and the tooth plate cooperatively define at least one fluid storage cavity (2); the tooth plate (10) is arranged with a plurality of fluid outputting teeth (11), each of the plurality of fluid outputting teeth is a soft tooth; a tip portion of each of the plurality of fluid outputting teeth has at least one fluid outputting hole (12) communicating with the at least one fluid storage cavity; each of the plurality of fluid outputting teeth, when being pressed, is configured to output a fluid through each of the plurality of fluid outputting teeth (See page 2, column 2, lines 3-20).
Regarding claim 2, Dobbyn discloses the fluid outputting massager according to claim 1, wherein, for each of the plurality of fluid outputting teeth, a thickness of a wall of the fluid outputting tooth from a root portion (upper end of 11) to the tip portion (lowermost portion of 11) of the fluid outputting tooth (11 with apertures 12) is gradually decreased. See figure 2.
Regarding claim 3, Dobbyn discloses a fluid outputting massager according to claim 1, wherein, for each of the plurality of fluid outputting teeth (11), the fluid outputting tooth (11) has a fluid guide hole (12 goes from the top to bottom of tooth), the at least one fluid outputting hole is communicated with the fluid guide hole and the at least one fluid storage cavity (2). See page 2, column 2, lines 3-20).
Regarding claim 7, Dobbyn discloses a fluid outputting massager according to claim 1, wherein the fluid storage assembly (1) further comprises an upper cover (37), wherein the upper cover is disposed at an outside of the housing.
Regarding claim 8, Dobbyn discloses a fluid outputting massager according to claim 1, wherein the number of the at least one fluid outputting hole is 1-8 (claims are comprising claims so any one of the fluid outputting holes shown in figure 2 can be the 1 and any 8 of the fluid outputting holes can be the 9). Thus, Dobbyn discloses the number of the at least one fluid outputting hole is 1-8. See: figure 2.
Regarding claim 9, Dobbyn discloses a fluid outputting massager according to claim 1, wherein the fluid storage assembly (1) is arranged with a reset member configured to reset the tooth plate (the treads allow for the tooth plate to be reset (removed and replaced meeting the “reset” language).
Regarding claim 14, Dobbyn discloses a fluid outputting massager according to claim 1, wherein the fluid outputting massager is a fluid outputting massaging comb, beauty massage brushes, or body massage brushes. The head has “bristle like projections 11” thus meeting the limitation of being a beauty massage brushes (sic) or a body massage brush.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 10-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobbyn (2023412), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kaminsky et al (2261385), as applied above.
Regarding claim 4, Dobbyn discloses a fluid outputting massager according to claim 1, wherein, the fluid storage assembly (1) comprises a housing (figure 1), the tooth plate (figure 2) is capped with the housing to cooperatively define the at least one fluid storage cavity.
However, Dobbyn lacks the housing defines a filling port with a sealing cap arranged at the filling port.
Kaminsky discloses a similar fluid outputting massager apparatus (figure 2) for treating body surfaces with oils or other liquids wherein the housing (10) defines a filling port (17) with a sealing cap (26).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluid outputting massager of Dobbyn with the filling system of Kaminsky in order to have a quick and easy method of refilling the cavity with cosmetics to be applied to a user which would be desired to be able to deliver longer massages while dispersing cosmetics.
Regarding claim 5, the fluid outputting massager of the combined references has the at least one fluid storage cavity being a plurality of fluid storage cavies (13 and 16 of Kaminsky as modified 2 of Dobbyn), two adjacent fluid storage cavities of the plurality of fluid storage cavies may be spaced apart from each other a dividing plate.
Regarding 6, the fluid outputting massager of the combined references has the fluid storage assembly arranged with at least one control key (valve 37 of Kaminsky), the at least one control key (valve 37 of Kaminsky) is connected to the dividing plate (31 of Kaminsky) and is configured to control a corresponding one of the plurality of fluid storage cavities (36 of Kaminsky) to be communicated with the at least one fluid outputting hole (distal end of 34 of Kaminsky).
Regarding claim 10, the fluid outputting massager of the combined references has the fluid storage assembly further comprising a one-way valve arranged on the housing (16 of Kaminsky).
Regarding claim 11, the fluid outputting massager of the combined references has a holding pendant, wherein the holding pendant is disposed at an end of the housing or at an end of the upper cover (37 of Dobbyn as modified by 12 of Kaminsky).
Regarding claim 12, the fluid outputting massager of the combined references has another end of the housing that defines a drainage hole (13 of Kaminsky can be used as a drainage hole or any one of the teeth holes could be considered a drainage hole. Moreover, removal of head 28 would allow for a drainage hole at the end of 15).
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, the fluid outputting massager of the combined references has an upper cover has a first adsorption member, the housing has a second adsorption member, the second adsorption member is adsorbed to and attached to the first adsorption member. The cover and housing of the combined references are attached together to deliver the cosmetics, which would have an adsorption member on the cover attached to the housing, thus, meeting the limitations of claim 13, as best understood.
Regarding claim 15, the fluid outputting massager of the combined references has the plurality of fluid storage cavities (13 and 16 of Kaminsky as modified 2 of Dobbyn) arranged in a horizontal direction or in a vertical direction.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobbyn (2023412) and further in view of Kaminsky et al (2261385), as applied above, and further in view of Jeon (WO 2016153248).
The combined references disclose a fluid outputting massager according to claim 11, but lack a lower cover, wherein the lower cover is snapped with the housing, and the lower cover is spaced at a pre-determined distance from the plurality of fluid outputting teeth.
Jeon teaches a similar fluid applying device with a lower cover. See figure 16 (a) & (b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art a the time the invention was made to have provided a cover, as taught by Jeon, to the fluid outputting massager of the combined references in order to stop any unwanted leakage of cosmetics from the teeth. This would be particularly desired because many cosmetics cause stains and discolor wood and other surfaces so covering the tips would assist in preventing unwanted destruction of surfaces when the user sets the apparatus down after use.
Regarding the lower cover being “snapped with the housing” the examiner has taken this as an intended use, as one could snap the lower cover with the housing. It is possible that applicant intended this to be a snap fit connection, however there is no positive recitation of a snap fit connection or any structural details associated with a snap fit connection claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as the prior art discloses other devices capable of providing fluid and/or massage to a user.
/CLINTON T OSTRUP/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3732