DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the Applicant’s filing on February 6, 2026. Claims 1-3, 5-10, and 12-22 are pending and examined below.
Response to Arguments
The previous rejections of claims 1-3, 5-10, and 12-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in consideration of amended independent claims 1, 6, 10, and 13. However, new rejections of claims 1-3, 5-10, and 12-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 17-18 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0255104 by Gonring et al. (herein after “Gonring”), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2007/0089660 by Bradley et al. (herein after “Bradley”) and “Dockmate VECTOR Remote Control on Volvo IPS boat showing how to easily activate DPS and HIGH Mode” at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5WaQ5r0waAw by DockmateUS (herein after “DockmateUS”).
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 1, Gonring discloses a watercraft maneuvering system (Gonring: Figs. 1 - 4) comprising: an operator fob to be carried by an operator of a watercraft (Gonring ¶ [0023]: a wireless operator fob 20 worn by an operator of the marine vessel; Gonring: operator fob 20 in Fig. 1A and marine vessel 14 in Figs. 2A -2B);
an overboard sensor provided on the watercraft (Gonring ¶ [0023]: the lanyard system 10 is a wireless system including a helm transceiver 18 in radio communication with a wireless operator fob 20 worn by an operator of the marine vessel; Gonring: lanyard system 10 in Fig. 1A), including a communicator to wirelessly communicate with the operator fob (Gonring ¶ [0023]: a helm transceiver 18 in radio communication with a wireless operator fob 20; Gonring: helm transceiver 18 and operator fob 20/22 in Fig 1A), to detect an operator overboard event (Gonring ¶ [0025]: a lanyard control module 49, which is a set of software instructions stored on and executable by controller 45 in order to detect and generate a man overboard event; Gonring: lanyard control module 49 and controller 45 in Fig. 1A) based on a state of communication between the operator fob and the communicator (Gonring ¶ [0022]: a lanyard system 10 configured to detect the presence of one or more fobs that wirelessly communicate with a transceiver; Gonring: lanyard system 10 and operator fob 20 in Fig 1A); and
a controller provided on the watercraft and configured or programmed to control a propulsion system of the watercraft (Gonring ¶ [0045]: the controller 45 can instruct each ECM 51 to effectuate certain control actions, for example, changing the engine speed and/or gear state of each propulsion device 11; Gonring: controller 45, ECM 51, and propulsion device 11 in Fig. 1A);
wherein the controller is configured or programmed to perform a fixed point holding control operation (Gonring ¶ [0021]: the lanyard system may be configured to automatically activate one or more search assistance functions based on the generation of a man overboard event, including automatically turning on one or more searchlights, turning on at least one underwater light, controlling one or more lights on the vessel to generate an SOS pattern, dropping an anchor; Gonring ¶ [0026]: the control system 1 may be configured to reduce operation of the one or more propulsion devices 11 on the marine vessel so as to stop propelling the marine vessel upon receipt of the man overboard event, particularly if the operator fob 20 triggers the man overboard event);
.
It is noted that Gonring discloses dropping an anchor in response to a man overboard event but fails to particularly disclose wherein the controller is configured or programmed to perform a fixed point holding control operation to control the propulsion system so as to maintain the watercraft at a fixed position;
the operator fob includes a start/cancellation command;
when the fixed point holding control operation is being performed, the controller is configured or programmed to stop the fixed point holding control operation upon receiving the start/cancellation command; and
when the fixed point holdinq control operation is not being performed, the controller is configured or programmed to start the fixed point holdinq control operation upon receiving the start/cancellation command.
However, Bradley, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the controller is configured or programmed to perform a fixed point holding control operation to control the propulsion system so as to maintain the watercraft at a fixed position (Bradley ¶ [0075]: the operator can use the device 120 to activate the present invention so that the marine vessel 10 is maintained at a selected global position (e.g. a selected longitude and latitude) and a selected heading (e.g. with arrow 110 being maintained at a fixed position relative to a selected compass point)).
Further, DockmateUS, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the operator fob includes a start/cancellation command;
(DockmateUS – timestamp 0:19: The red arrow in the photo above indicates a start/cancellation command for activating and deactivating a dynamic positioning system of a watercraft)
when the fixed point holding control operation is being performed, the controller is configured or programmed to stop the fixed point holding control operation upon receiving the start/cancellation command; and
(DockmateUS – timestamp 0:37: The photo above shows that the dynamic positioning system is turned off when the start/cancellation button is pushed when the dynamic positioning system has been previously activated)
when the fixed point holdinq control operation is not being performed, the controller is configured or programmed to start the fixed point holdinq control operation upon receiving the start/cancellation command.
(DockmateUS – timestamp 0:25: The photo above shows that the dynamic positioning system is turned on when the start/cancellation button is pushed when the dynamic positioning system is not currently active)
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the watercraft maneuvering system including overboard detection of Gonring to include the station keeping mode of Bradley and the remote control with a command for activating/deactivating a dynamic positioning system of DockmateUS with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to maintain the position of a marine vessel at a selected global position, measured in terms of longitude and latitude, and a selected heading, measured as a compass angle (Bradley ¶ [0003]) and to allow an operator to easily activate and deactivate a dynamic positioning system using a wireless remote controller (DockmateUS: video and description).
Claim 10 recites analogous limitations to claim 1, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Gonring, Bradley, and DockmateUS discloses wherein the controller is configured or programmed to record a position of the watercraft when the operator overboard event is detected by the overboard sensor (Gonring ¶ [0021]: the system may be configured to record information about vessel location and/or condition on or around the time of the man overboard event. For example, the vessel control system may be configured to automatically record GPS location and/or IMU data at the time of the man overboard event), and to set the recorded position as a target position for the fixed point holding control operation (Bradley ¶ [0075]: the operator can use the device 120 to activate the present invention so that the marine vessel 10 is maintained at a selected global position (e.g. a selected longitude and latitude) and a selected heading (e.g. with arrow 110 being maintained at a fixed position relative to a selected compass point)). The examiner interprets Gonring to perform a fixed point holding operation (e.g. begin search functions such as dropping the anchor) and record vessel location when an overboard event is detected. Bradley teaches maintaining a marine vessel at a global position using a propulsion system of the marine vessel. Thus, the combination of Gonring and Bradley teaches a marine vessel that sets a fixed point holding, or station keeping, position based on the recorded location of a marine vessel when an overboard event is detected.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the watercraft maneuvering system including overboard detection of Gonring modified by the station keeping mode of Bradley and the remote control with a command for activating/deactivating a dynamic positioning system of DockmateUS to explicitly include the recording of vessel location of Gonring that allows a vessel to hold position at a recorded vessel location where an overboard event occurred. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to maintain the position of a marine vessel at a selected global position, measured in terms of longitude and latitude (Bradley ¶ [0003]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Gonring, Bradley, and DockmateUS discloses wherein the fixed point holding control operation controls the propulsion system to maintain a position and an azimuth of the watercraft (Bradley ¶ [0075]: the operator can use the device 120 to activate the present invention so that the marine vessel 10 is maintained at a selected global position (e.g. a selected longitude and latitude) and a selected heading (e.g. with arrow 110 being maintained at a fixed position relative to a selected compass point)).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the watercraft maneuvering system including overboard detection of Gonring modified by the station keeping mode of Bradley and the remote control with a command for activating/deactivating a dynamic positioning system of DockmateUS to explicitly include the position and azimuth conditions of Bradley with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to maintain the position of a marine vessel at a selected global position, measured in terms of longitude and latitude, and a selected heading, measured as a compass angle (Bradley ¶ [0003]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Gonring, Bradley, and DockmateUS discloses wherein the controller is configured or programmed to record the position and the azimuth of the watercraft when the operator overboard event is detected by the overboard sensor (Gonring ¶ [0021]: the system may be configured to record information about vessel location and/or condition on or around the time of the man overboard event. For example, the vessel control system may be configured to automatically record GPS location and/or IMU data at the time of the man overboard event), and to set the recorded position and the recorded azimuth as a target position and a target azimuth, respectively, for the fixed point holding control operation (Bradley ¶ [0075]: the operator can use the device 120 to activate the present invention so that the marine vessel 10 is maintained at a selected global position (e.g. a selected longitude and latitude) and a selected heading (e.g. with arrow 110 being maintained at a fixed position relative to a selected compass point)). The examiner interprets Gonring to perform a fixed point holding operation (e.g. begin search functions such as dropping the anchor) and record a marine vessel location and condition when an overboard event is detected. Bradley teaches maintaining a marine vessel at a global position and heading using a propulsion system of the marine vessel. Thus, the combination of Gonring and Bradley teaches a marine vessel that sets a fixed point holding, or station keeping, position and heading based on the recorded location and heading of a marine vessel when an overboard event is detected.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the watercraft maneuvering system including overboard detection of Gonring modified by the station keeping including position and azimuth of Bradley and the remote control with a command for activating/deactivating a dynamic positioning system of DockmateUS to explicitly include the recorded vessel location and condition of Gonring that would allow a vessel to hold position and heading at the recorded vessel location where an overboard event occurred. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to maintain the position of a marine vessel at a selected global position, measured in terms of longitude and latitude, and a selected heading, measured as a compass angle (Bradley ¶ [0003]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Gonring, Bradley, and DockmateUS discloses wherein the operator fob includes a start/cancellation button configured to output the start/cancellation command.
(DockmateUS – timestamp 0:19: The red arrow in the photo above indicates a start/cancellation button that issues a start/cancellation command for activating and deactivating a dynamic positioning system of a watercraft)
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the watercraft maneuvering system including overboard detection of Gonring modified by the station keeping mode of Bradley and the remote control with a command for activating/deactivating a dynamic positioning system of DockmateUS to explicitly include the start/cancellation button of DockmateUS with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to allow an operator to easily activate and deactivate a dynamic positioning system using a wireless remote controller (DockmateUS: video and description).
Claim 22 recites analogous limitations to claim 21, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claims 5-7, 9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0255104 by Gonring et al. (herein after “Gonring”), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2007/0089660 by Bradley et al. (herein after “Bradley”) and “Dockmate VECTOR Remote Control on Volvo IPS boat showing how to easily activate DPS and HIGH Mode” at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5WaQ5r0waAw by DockmateUS (herein after “DockmateUS”), further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0335780 by Stevens et al. (herein after "Stevens").
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 5, it is noted that DockmateUS teaches a remote controller for activating functions of a marine vessel but the combination of Gonring, Bradley and DockmateUS fails to explicitly disclose wherein the operator fob includes a watercraft maneuvering operation input operable by the operator, and a transmitter to transmit a watercraft maneuvering command to the communicator according to an operation of the watercraft maneuvering operation input; and
if the communicator receives the watercraft maneuvering command from the operator fob, the controller is configured or programmed to control the propulsion system so as to change at least one of a position or an azimuth of the watercraft according to the watercraft maneuvering command.
However, Stevens, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the operator fob includes a watercraft maneuvering operation input operable by the operator (Stevens ¶ [0051]: the rider selects an appropriate button 58a or screen 58c of the user device 40; user device 40 and button 58a in Fig. 4), and a transmitter (Stevens ¶ [0046]: the processor 51, memory 52, communication unit 53 and component interface unit 55 can be substantially identical to the above noted processor 31, memory 32, communication unit 33 and component interface unit 35, respectively; communication unit 53 in Fig. 5) to transmit a watercraft maneuvering command (Stevens ¶ [0034]: The memory can also be encoded with instructions for instructing the ECU of the PWC to which it is attached to activate the engine 6 and engage the throttle controls; Stevens ¶ [0050]: If the user is unable or unwilling to swim to the craft, he or she may instruct the autopilot system 20 installed within the craft to pilot the PWC to the user's location; Stevens ¶ [0049]: Such a feature can enable the user to take manual control of the PWC, for example, so as to remotely direct the movement of the same utilizing the autopilot unit 20) to the communicator (Stevens ¶ [0035]: The communication unit 33 can include any number of components capable of sending and/or receiving electronic signals with an externally located device, in either a wired or wireless manner; communication unit 33 in Fig. 3) according to an operation of the watercraft maneuvering operation input; and
if the communicator (Stevens ¶ [0035]: The communication unit 33 can include any number of components capable of sending and/or receiving electronic signals with an externally located device, in either a wired or wireless manner; communication unit 33 in Fig 3) receives the watercraft maneuvering command from the operator fob, the controller is configured or programmed to control the propulsion system so as to change at least one of a position or an azimuth of the watercraft according to the watercraft maneuvering command (Stevens ¶ [0034]: The memory can also be encoded with instructions for instructing the ECU of the PWC to which it is attached to activate the engine 6 and engage the throttle controls; Stevens ¶ [0050]: If the user is unable or unwilling to swim to the craft, he or she may instruct the autopilot system 20 installed within the craft to pilot the PWC to the user's location; Stevens ¶ [0049]: Such a feature can enable the user to take manual control of the PWC, for example, so as to remotely direct the movement of the same utilizing the autopilot unit 20).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the watercraft maneuvering system including overboard detection of Gonring modified by the station keeping mode of Bradley and the remote control with a command for activating/deactivating a dynamic positioning system of DockmateUS to further include the watercraft maneuvering command functionality of Stevens with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to allow a rider who has fallen off of a watercraft to send location information to the craft, and to instruct the craft to automatically travel to the location of the user (Stevens ¶ [0022]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Gonring, Bradley, DockmateUS and Stevens discloses wherein the watercraft maneuvering command is operable to change at least one of a target position or a target azimuth (Stevens ¶ [0034]: The memory can also be encoded with instructions for instructing the ECU of the PWC to which it is attached to activate the engine 6 and engage the throttle controls; Stevens ¶ [0050]: If the user is unable or unwilling to swim to the craft, he or she may instruct the autopilot system 20 installed within the craft to pilot the PWC to the user's location; Stevens ¶ [0049]: Such a feature can enable the user to take manual control of the PWC, for example, so as to remotely direct the movement of the same utilizing the autopilot unit 20) for the fixed point holding control operation (Bradley ¶ [0075]: the device 120 can be an input screen that allows the operator of the marine vessel to manually select various modes of operation associated with the marine vessel 10. One of those selections made by the operator of the marine vessel can provide an enabling signal which informs the microprocessor 1 16 that the operator desires to operate the vessel 10 in a station keeping mode in order to maintain the position of the marine vessel in a selected position. In other words, the operator can use the device 120 to activate the present invention so that the marine vessel 10 is maintained at a selected global position (e.g. a selected longitude and latitude) and a selected heading (e.g. with arrow 110 being maintained at a fixed position relative to a selected compass point)).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the watercraft maneuvering system including overboard detection of Gonring modified by the station keeping mode of Bradley, the remote control with a command for activating/deactivating a dynamic positioning system of DockmateUS and the watercraft maneuvering command functionality of Stevens to explicitly include the station keeping mode with the selection of a target position and heading of the station keeping mode of Bradley and commands for changing a position and/or an azimuth of a watercraft of Stevens with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to allow a rider who has fallen off of a watercraft to send location information to the craft, and to instruct the craft to automatically travel to the location of the user (Stevens ¶ [0022]) and to maintain the position of a marine vessel at a selected global position, measured in terms of longitude and latitude, and a selected heading, measured as a compass angle (Bradley ¶ [0003]).
Regarding claim 7, it is noted that DockmateUS discloses a status indicator on a remote control but the combination of Gonring, Bradley and DockmateUS fails to explicitly disclose wherein the communicator is configured to communicate with the operator fob to transmit watercraft maneuvering information of the watercraft to the operator fob; and
the operator fob includes a receiver to receive the watercraft maneuvering information transmitted from the communicator, and a notifier to provide the information received by the receiver to the operator.
However, Stevens, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the communicator is configured to communicate with the operator fob (Stevens ¶ [0035]: The communication unit 33 can include any number of components capable of sending and/or receiving electronic signals with an externally located device, in either a wired or wireless manner; communication unit 33 in Fig. 3 and communication unit 53 in Fig. 5) to transmit watercraft maneuvering information of the watercraft to the operator fob (Stevens ¶ [0049]: the user interface can further include or control any number of lights 58b so as to clearly indicate whether the device is in the ON or OFF operating state, and/or whether the autopilot unit 20 is in operation (e.g., currently driving to the user location)); and
the operator fob includes a receiver (Stevens ¶ [0046]: the processor 51, memory 52, communication unit 53 and component interface unit 55 can be substantially identical to the above noted processor 31, memory 32, communication unit 33 and component interface unit 35, respectively; communication unit 53 in Fig. 5) to receive the watercraft maneuvering information transmitted from the communicator, and a notifier to provide the information received by the receiver to the operator (Stevens ¶ [0049]: the user interface can further include or control any number of lights 58b so as to clearly indicate whether the device is in the ON or OFF operating state, and/or whether the autopilot unit 20 is in operation (e.g., currently driving to the user location)).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the watercraft maneuvering system including overboard detection of Gonring modified by the station keeping mode of Bradley and the remote control with a command for activating/deactivating a dynamic positioning system of DockmateUS to further include the watercraft maneuvering information transmission and notification of Stevens with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to allow a rider who has fallen off of a watercraft to send location information to the craft, and to instruct the craft to automatically travel to the location of the user (Stevens ¶ [0022]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Gonring, Bradley, DockmateUS and Stevens discloses wherein the notifier informs the operator by providing at least one of a buzzer sound, an audible message, display information, or vibrational information to the operator (Stevens ¶ [0049]: the user interface can further include or control any number of lights 58b so as to clearly indicate whether the device is in the ON or OFF operating state, and/or whether the autopilot unit 20 is in operation (e.g., currently driving to the user location)).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the watercraft maneuvering system including overboard detection of Gonring modified by the station keeping mode of Bradley, the remote control with a command for activating/deactivating a dynamic positioning system of DockmateUS and the watercraft maneuvering information transmission and notification of Stevens to further include the display information of Stevens with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to allow a rider who has fallen off of a watercraft to send location information to the craft, and to instruct the craft to automatically travel to the location of the user (Stevens ¶ [0022]).
Claim 12 recites analogous limitations to claim 5, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim 13 recites analogous limitations to claim 6, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claims 2, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0255104 by Gonring et al. (herein after “Gonring”), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2007/0089660 by Bradley et al. (herein after “Bradley”) and “Dockmate VECTOR Remote Control on Volvo IPS boat showing how to easily activate DPS and HIGH Mode” at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5WaQ5r0waAw by DockmateUS (herein after “DockmateUS”), further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2024/0227993 by Shirao et al. (herein after "Shirao").
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 2, Gonring discloses wherein the propulsive force nullifying control operation includes a deceleration control operation to control the propulsion system so as to decelerate the watercraft (Gonring ¶ [0026]: the control system 1 may be configured to reduce operation of the one or more propulsion devices 11 on the marine vessel upon receipt of the man overboard event, particularly if the operator fob 20 triggers the man overboard event, so as to stop propelling the marine vessel. For example, system 1 may be configured to reduce the engine RPM of the engine 60 to an idle set point and then automatically shift the gear system 64 to its neutral position. Thereby, the propulsion device can be made immediately available for operation by another passenger, such as to pick up the person who may have fallen overboard. For example, the engine RPM may be reduced at a pre-set reduction rate, which may be the fastest safe rate of reducing engine RPM for a given marine vessel).
Regarding claim 16, Gonring discloses wherein, if the overboard sensor detects the operator overboard event, the controller is configured or programmed to perform a propulsive force nullifying control operation to cancel a propulsive force of the propulsion system, (Gonring ¶ [0026]: the control system 1 may be configured to reduce operation of the one or more propulsion devices 11 on the marine vessel upon receipt of the man overboard event, particularly if the operator fob 20 triggers the man overboard event, so as to stop propelling the marine vessel. For example, system 1 may be configured to reduce the engine RPM of the engine 60 to an idle set point and then automatically shift the gear system 64 to its neutral position. Thereby, the propulsion device can be made immediately available for operation by another passenger, such as to pick up the person who may have fallen overboard. For example, the engine RPM may be reduced at a pre-set reduction rate, which may be the fastest safe rate of reducing engine RPM for a given marine vessel).
It is noted the combination of Gonring, Bradley and DockmateUS fails to particularly disclose to perform the fixed point holding control operation after the propulsive force nullifying control operation, and to set a position of the watercraft at an end of the propulsive force nullifying control operation as a target position for the fixed point holding control operation.
However, Shirao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches to perform the fixed point holding control operation after the propulsive force nullifying control operation, and to set a position of the watercraft at an end of the propulsive force nullifying control operation as a target position for the fixed point holding control operation (Shirao ¶ [0056]-[0057]: in the example shown in FIG. 2A-FIG. 2D and FIG. 3, in step S14, the vessel control device 1C monitors the speed of the vessel 1. Specifically, in step S14, the vessel control device 1C determines whether the speed of the vessel 1 determined by the vessel speed determination unit 1F has decreased to a first threshold value or less. Step S14 is repeated when the speed of the vessel 1 has not decreased to the first threshold value or less (that is, when the vessel 1 continues to move due to the inertial force (tendency to keep moving) of the vessel 1). On the other hand, the process proceeds to step S15 when the speed of the vessel 1 has decreased to the first threshold value or less (that is, when it can be estimated that the movement of the vessel 1 due to the inertial force (tendency to keep moving) of the vessel 1 has ended). In step S15, the fixed-point holding target position setting unit 1C2 sets the position of the vessel 1 determined by the vessel position determination unit 1D as a fixed-point holding target position TP2 (see FIG. 2C) which is a target position of the vessel 1 where fixed-point holding control of the vessel 1 is to be performed).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the watercraft maneuvering system including overboard detection of Gonring modified by the station keeping mode of Bradley and the remote control with a command for activating/deactivating a dynamic positioning system of DockmateUS to further include the fixed-point holding control performed after a deceleration operation of Shirao with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to make the behavior of the vessel seamless while providing comfort to occupants of the vessel (Shirao ¶ [0062]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Gonring, Bradley and DockmateUS discloses wherein, if the overboard sensor detects the operator overboard event, the controller is configured or programmed to perform a propulsive force nullifying control operation to cancel a propulsive force of the propulsion system, (Gonring ¶ [0026]: the control system 1 may be configured to reduce operation of the one or more propulsion devices 11 on the marine vessel upon receipt of the man overboard event, particularly if the operator fob 20 triggers the man overboard event, so as to stop propelling the marine vessel. For example, system 1 may be configured to reduce the engine RPM of the engine 60 to an idle set point and then automatically shift the gear system 64 to its neutral position. Thereby, the propulsion device can be made immediately available for operation by another passenger, such as to pick up the person who may have fallen overboard. For example, the engine RPM may be reduced at a pre-set reduction rate, which may be the fastest safe rate of reducing engine RPM for a given marine vessel).
It is noted the combination of Gonring, Bradley, and DockmateUS fails to particularly disclose to perform the fixed point holding control operation after the propulsive force nullifying control operation, and to set the position and the azimuth of the watercraft at an end of the propulsive force nullifying control operation as a target position and a target azimuth, respectively, for the fixed point holding control operation.
However, Shirao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches to perform the fixed point holding control operation after the propulsive force nullifying control operation, and to set the position and the azimuth of the watercraft at an end of the propulsive force nullifying control operation as a target position and a target azimuth, respectively, for the fixed point holding control operation (Shirao ¶ [0056]-[0057]: in the example shown in FIG. 2A-FIG. 2D and FIG. 3, in step S14, the vessel control device 1C monitors the speed of the vessel 1. Specifically, in step S14, the vessel control device 1C determines whether the speed of the vessel 1 determined by the vessel speed determination unit 1F has decreased to a first threshold value or less. Step S14 is repeated when the speed of the vessel 1 has not decreased to the first threshold value or less (that is, when the vessel 1 continues to move due to the inertial force (tendency to keep moving) of the vessel 1). On the other hand, the process proceeds to step S15 when the speed of the vessel 1 has decreased to the first threshold value or less (that is, when it can be estimated that the movement of the vessel 1 due to the inertial force (tendency to keep moving) of the vessel 1 has ended). In step S15, the fixed-point holding target position setting unit 1C2 sets the position of the vessel 1 determined by the vessel position determination unit 1D as a fixed-point holding target position TP2 (see FIG. 2C) which is a target position of the vessel 1 where fixed-point holding control of the vessel 1 is to be performed).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the watercraft maneuvering system including overboard detection of Gonring modified by the station keeping including position and azimuth of Bradley and the remote control with a command for activating/deactivating a dynamic positioning system of DockmateUS to further include the fixed-point holding control performed after a deceleration operation of Shirao with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to make the behavior of the vessel seamless while providing comfort to occupants of the vessel (Shirao ¶ [0062]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0255104 by Gonring et al. (herein after “Gonring”), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2007/0089660 by Bradley et al. (herein after “Bradley”), “Dockmate VECTOR Remote Control on Volvo IPS boat showing how to easily activate DPS and HIGH Mode” at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5WaQ5r0waAw by DockmateUS (herein after “DockmateUS”) and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2024/0227993 by Shirao et al. (herein after "Shirao"), further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2009/0215331 by Suzuki et al. (herein after "Suzuki").
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Gonring, Bradley, DockmateUS and Shirao discloses wherein the propulsion system includes an engine (Gonring: engine 60 in Fig. 1A),
a propeller to be driven by the engine (Bradley: propellers 81/82 and engine 86 in Fig. 10), and
the propulsive force nullifying control operation further includes a shift control operation to be performed after the deceleration control operation to move the gear system (Gonring ¶ [0026]: system 1 may be configured to reduce the engine RPM of the engine 60 to an idle set point and then automatically shift the gear system 64 to its neutral position).
It is noted that the combination of Gonring, Bradley, DockmateUS and Shirao fails to explicitly disclose a clutch provided in a power transmission path between the engine and the propeller.
However, Suzuki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the propulsion system includes an engine (Suzuki: engine 30 in Fig. 2),
a propeller to be driven by the engine (Suzuki ¶ [0052]: The propulsion unit 33 is provided with a propeller shaft 40 and a propeller 41. The propeller shaft 40 transmits the rotational force from the synchronization unit 38 to the propeller 41. The propulsion unit 33 converts the rotational force generated in the engine 30 into a propulsive force; propeller 41 in Fig. 2), and
a clutch (Suzuki: hydraulic clutches 53, 61, and 62 in Fig. 3) provided in a power transmission path between the engine and the propeller (Suzuki ¶ [0046]: The power transmission mechanism 32 is disposed between the engine 30 and the propulsion unit 33; power transmission mechanism 32 in Fig. 2).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the watercraft maneuvering system including overboard detection of Gonring modified by the station keeping mode of Bradley, the remote control with a command for activating/deactivating a dynamic positioning system of DockmateUS and the fixed-point holding control performed after a deceleration operation of Shirao to further include the clutch and power transmission of Suzuki with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to improve the durability of the power source and power transmission mechanism in a boat propulsion system by reducing load generation when a shift change is performed in a direction opposite to the proceeding direction (Suzuki ¶ [0007]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0255104 by Gonring et al. (herein after “Gonring”), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2007/0089660 by Bradley et al. (herein after “Bradley”), “Dockmate VECTOR Remote Control on Volvo IPS boat showing how to easily activate DPS and HIGH Mode” at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5WaQ5r0waAw by DockmateUS (herein after “DockmateUS”) and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0335780 by Stevens et al. (herein after "Stevens"), further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2022/0051488 by Brown (herein after "Brown").
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Gonring, Bradley, DockmateUS and Stevens fails to particularly disclose wherein the watercraft maneuvering information to be transmitted to the operator fob by the communicator of the controller includes information indicating a malfunction state of the propulsion system.
However, Brown, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the watercraft maneuvering information to be transmitted to the operator fob by the communicator of the controller includes information indicating a malfunction state of the propulsion system (Brown ¶ [0117]: Failures of components, or component errors transmitted to the CAN bus can be sent to the Cloud 300 via the CAN bus from the CPU/Transceiver 500 and accordingly to the mobile phone 400 of user 10; machine 100, transceiver 500, and smart device 400 in Fig. 1).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the watercraft maneuvering system including overboard detection of Gonring modified by the station keeping mode of Bradley, the remote control with a command for activating/deactivating a dynamic positioning system of DockmateUS and the watercraft maneuvering information transmission and notification of Stevens to further include the malfunction state notification of Brown with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to provide a communication device between a vehicle having an engine and a drive system, and a remote user that enables the remote user to both monitor the operation of the vehicle, and also to control the operation of the vehicle, or at least certain aspects of the operation of the vehicle (Brown ¶ [0005]).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0255104 by Gonring et al. (herein after “Gonring”), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2007/0089660 by Bradley et al. (herein after “Bradley”) and “Dockmate VECTOR Remote Control on Volvo IPS boat showing how to easily activate DPS and HIGH Mode” at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5WaQ5r0waAw by DockmateUS (herein after “DockmateUS”), further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2009/0215331 by Suzuki et al. (hereafter "Suzuki").
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Gonring, Bradley and DockmateUS discloses a watercraft (Gonring: marine vessel 14 in Fig. 2A and 2B) comprising:
a propulsion system (Gonring: propulsion device 11 in Fig. 1A and 1B);
a watercraft maneuvering system according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above).
It is noted that the combination of Gonring, Bradley and DockmateUS fails to particularly disclose a hull; and a propulsion system provided on the hull.
However, Suzuki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a watercraft (Suzuki: boat 1 in Fig. 1) comprising:
a hull (Suzuki: hull 10 in Fig. 1);
a propulsion system provided on the hull (Suzuki ¶ [0036]: a boat propulsion system that has at least a power source mounted on a hull; hull 10 and outboard motor 20 in Fig. 1).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the watercraft maneuvering system including overboard detection of Gonring modified by the station keeping mode of Bradley and the remote control with a command for activating/deactivating a dynamic positioning system of DockmateUS to further include the hull and propulsion system mounted on the hull of Suzuki with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to improve the durability of the power source and power transmission mechanism in a boat propulsion system by reducing load generation when a shift change is performed in a direction opposite to the proceeding direction (Suzuki ¶ [0007]).
Claim 15 recites analogous limitations to claim 14, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure:
US 20180015994 by Kishimoto et al. teaches the ship controller 24 may set control information for controlling the ship 10 to stay at a position of the fixed point. (¶ [0057]; 10 and 24 Fig. 1)
/N.P.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666