DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment field 11/4/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1-12 and 16-23 are pending.
Applicant's election with traverse of Claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 5/9/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal was not found persuasive as outlined in the Non-Final Rejection mailed on 8/6/2025 as previously explained, there is an undue search burden as the method claims can be readily carried out by a distinctly different device which would readily require different search strategy and further burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 16-18 are thereby withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Vangeli (US Patent 5,871,431).
Regarding Claim 1, Vangeli discloses a device (50; Figure 1) for handling cardboard blanks (10; Figure 1), comprising:
an erecting device (shaping station 51; Figure 8) with a plurality of engagement elements (91a-91d, 105, 106; Figures 8-9; note additionally, the forming heads 70-72 can also be viewed as “engagement elements”);
wherein the erecting device (51) is configured to transition from a receiving configuration (Figure 9) to a forming configuration (Figure 9a);
wherein the erecting device (51) is configured to move at least several of the engagement elements (70-72, 91a-91d, 105, 106; Figures 8-9) to transition from the receiving configuration (Figure 9) to the forming configuration (Figure 9a; Col 5, lines 38-59; Col 6, lines 34-64);
wherein the erecting device in the receiving configuration is configured to receive a group of cardboard blanks (10; note that different sections of the blank can be readily viewed as different blanks but alternatively, the device is clearly capable of receiving multiple blanks) each having a bottom region (i.e. 11-13; Figure 1) and side regions connected (i.e. 9, 17-22) to the bottom region (11-13 as shown in Figure 1);
wherein the engagement elements (70-72, 91a-91d, 105, 106; Figures 8-9) are configured to erect the side regions (i.e. 9, 17-22) of the cardboard blanks (10) when the erecting device (51) transitions from the receiving configuration (Figure 9) to the forming configuration (Figure 9a as shown);
wherein the erecting device (51) is configured to move the bottom regions (11-13) of the cardboard blanks (10) relative to each other upon transitioning from the receiving configuration (Figure 9) to the forming configuration (Figure 9a as shown; Col 6, lines 53-64); and
wherein erecting device (51) is configured to carry out the erecting of the side regions (9, 17-22) of the cardboard blanks (10) and the moving of the bottom regions (11-13) of the cardboard blanks (10) relative to each other at least partially overlapping in time (as shown in the movement from Figure 9 to Figure 9a; Col 5, lines 38-59; Col 6, lines 34-64).
Regarding Claim 2, Vangeli discloses the erecting device (51) is configured to receive the group of cardboard blanks (10; see compartments A-C and note the device is clearly capable of performing such erecting on multiple blanks) in the receiving configuration (Figure 9) such that the cardboard blanks lie in a common plane (as shown by compartments A-C in the common plane).
Regarding Claim 3, Vangeli discloses engagement elements of the plurality of engagement elements (91a-91d, 105, 106; Figures 8-9) lying on opposite sides (see 91d is clearly on opposite sides of 105 and 106) of a cardboard blank (10) of the group of cardboard blanks (10) are configured to perform a relative movement directed towards each other when the erecting device (51) transitions from the receiving configuration (Figure 9) to the forming configuration (Figure 9a as shown).
Regarding Claim 4, Vangeli discloses the erecting device (51) is configured to receive the group of cardboard blanks (10) such that four engagement elements (edges of sector 91a, 91d and 105 engage with compartment “A”) of the plurality of engagement elements are arranged around each cardboard blank (A, B, C; note that the device is clearly capable of engaging separate blanks in the manner in which it engages the different compartments), wherein two of the four engagement elements are opposite to each other in pairs (edges of sector 91a are opposite to one another in one direction to engage wall 9, while 91d and 105 are opposite to one another in another direction to engage 17, 18).
Regarding Claim 5, Vangeli discloses at least one of the plurality of engagement elements (105, 106) is simultaneously engageable with two cardboard blanks (at 18/19 and 20/21) when the erecting device (51) transitions from the receiving configuration to the forming configuration (shown in Figure 9a, strips 105, 106 engage adjacent walls of different compartments and therefore are capable of engagement with different blanks in the manner as claimed).
Regarding Claim 6, Vangeli discloses the erecting device (51) is configured to move the at least several of the engagement elements (91d, 105, 106; Figures 9,9a) at different speeds when transitioning from the receiving configuration to the forming configuration (as shown in Figures 9-9a, the outer elements 91d, converge a much greater distance than in which the strips 105, 106 pivot).
Regarding Claim 7, Vangeli discloses the plurality of engagement elements are arranged in a grid (note the elements 91a-91d, 105, 106 can be readily connected by lines that form a rectangular grid), and wherein the erecting device (51) is configured to move engagement elements (91d) of the plurality of engagement elements located at positions further outward in the grid at a greater speed than engagement elements (105, 106) of the plurality of engagement elements located at positions further inward in the grid when transitioning from the receiving configuration to the forming configuration (as shown in Figures 9-9a, the outer elements 91d, converge a much greater distance than in which the strips 105, 106 pivot).
Regarding Claim 8, Vangeli discloses the movement of the at least several of the engagement elements (91a-91d, 105, 106) when the erecting device (51) transitions from the receiving configuration to the forming configuration comprises a movement in a common plane (a horizontal plane planar with plates 96, 97 of Figures 9-9a).
Regarding Claim 9, Vangeli discloses the movement of the at least several of the engagement elements when the erecting device transitions from the receiving configuration (Figure 9) to the forming configuration (Figure 9a) comprises lifting the at least several of the engagement elements (91a-91d, 105, 106; note each element is lifted relative to the forming heads 70-72 and blank which are lowered).
Regarding Claim 10, Vangeli discloses the engagement elements (91a-91d, 105, 106) each have at least one engagement surface (top surfaces thereof) for engagement with a cardboard blank (10), wherein the engagement surfaces are configured as guide surfaces for erecting the side regions (9, 17-22) of the cardboard blanks (10).
Regarding Claim 11, Vangeli discloses the erecting device (51) comprises holding elements (sectors 91a-91c) configured to hold the bottom regions (11-13) of the cardboard blanks (10; Col 5, lines 40-59).
Regarding Claim 12, Vangeli discloses the erecting device (51) is configured to move at least several of the holding elements (91a-91c) to transition from the receiving configuration to the forming configuration (Figure 9a as shown).
Regarding Claim 19, Vangeli discloses the erecting device (51) is configured to simultaneously carry out the erecting of the side regions (17-22) of the cardboard blanks and the moving of the bottom regions (11-13) of the cardboard blanks relative to each other (clearly shown in movement from Figures 9 to 9a).
Regarding Claim 20, Vangeli discloses a device (50; Figure 1) for handling cardboard blanks (10; Figure 1), comprising:
an erecting device (shaping station 51; Figure 8) with a plurality of engagement elements (91a-91d, 105, 106; Figures 8-9; note additionally, the forming heads 70-72 can also be viewed as “engagement elements”);
wherein the erecting device (51) is configured to transition from a receiving configuration (Figure 9) to a forming configuration (Figure 9a);
wherein the erecting device (51) is configured to move at least several of the engagement elements (70-72, 91a-91d, 105, 106; Figures 8-9) to transition from the receiving configuration (Figure 9) to the forming configuration (Figure 9a; Col 5, lines 38-59; Col 6, lines 34-64);
wherein the erecting device in the receiving configuration is configured to receive a group of cardboard blanks (10; note that different sections of the blank can be readily viewed as different blanks but alternatively, the device is clearly capable of receiving multiple blanks) each having a bottom region (i.e. 11-13; Figure 1) and side regions connected (i.e. 9, 17-22) to the bottom region (11-13 as shown in Figure 1);
wherein the engagement elements (70-72, 91a-91d, 105, 106; Figures 8-9) are configured to erect the side regions (i.e. 9, 17-22) of the cardboard blanks (10) when the erecting device (51) transitions from the receiving configuration (Figure 9) to the forming configuration (Figure 9a as shown);
wherein the erecting device (51) is configured to move the bottom regions (11-13) of the cardboard blanks (10) relative to each other upon transitioning from the receiving configuration (Figure 9) to the forming configuration (Figure 9a as shown; Col 6, lines 53-64); and
wherein at least one of the plurality of engagement elements (105, 106) is simultaneously engageable with two cardboard blanks (10) when the erecting device (51) transitions from the receiving configuration (Figure 9) to the forming configuration (Figure 9a; shown in Figure 9a, strips 105, 106 engage adjacent walls of different compartments and therefore are capable of engagement with different blanks in the manner as claimed; Col 6, lines 42-49).
Regarding Claim 21, Vangeli discloses the erecting device (51) is configured to move the at least several of the engagement elements (91d, 105, 106; Figures 9,9a) at different speeds when transitioning from the receiving configuration to the forming configuration (as shown in Figures 9-9a, the outer elements 91d, converge a much greater distance than in which the strips 105, 106 pivot).
Regarding Claim 22, Vangeli discloses the plurality of engagement elements are arranged in a grid (note the elements 91a-91d, 105, 106 can be readily connected by lines that form a rectangular grid), and wherein the erecting device (51) is configured to move engagement elements (91d) of the plurality of engagement elements located at positions further outward in the grid at a greater speed than engagement elements (105, 106) of the plurality of engagement elements located at positions further inward in the grid when transitioning from the receiving configuration to the forming configuration (as shown in Figures 9-9a, the outer elements 91d, converge a much greater distance than in which the strips 105, 106 pivot).
Regarding Claim 23, Vangeli discloses the movement of the at least several of the engagement elements (91a-91d, 105, 106) when the erecting device (51) transitions from the receiving configuration to the forming configuration comprises a movement in a common plane (a horizontal plane planar with plates 96, 97 of Figures 9-9a).
Examiner’s Note
Examiner notes that if Applicant was to amend Claim 1 (and Claim 20 in similar manner) as follows such an amendment would appear to overcome the cited prior art.
1. (Proposed) A device for handling cardboard blanks, comprising:
an erecting device comprising:
a plurality of engagement elements;
a plurality of holding elements, wherein the plurality of engagement elements are configured to be lifted relative to the plurality of holding elements;
an engagement element drive arrangement configured to drive the plurality of engagement elements; and
a control device for controlling the engagement element drive arrangement;
wherein the erecting device is configured to transition from a receiving configuration to a forming configuration;
wherein the erecting device is configured to move at least several of the engagement elements to transition from the receiving configuration to the forming configuration;
wherein the erecting device in the receiving configuration is configured to receive a group of cardboard blanks each having a bottom region and side regions connected to the bottom region;
wherein the engagement elements are configured to erect the side regions of the cardboard blanks when the erecting device transitions from the receiving configuration to the forming configuration;
wherein the erecting device is configured to move the bottom regions of the cardboard blanks relative to each other upon transitioning from the receiving configuration to the forming configuration;
wherein the erecting device is configured to carry out the erecting of the side regions of the cardboard blanks and the moving of the bottom regions of the cardboard blanks relative to each other at least partially overlapping in time[[.]]; and
wherein the control device is configured to control the engagement element drive arrangement such that different engagement elements of the plurality of engagement elements move at different speeds when transitioning from the receiving configuration to the forming configuration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See “Notice of References Cited”.
/JOSHUA G KOTIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3731 7/6/2026