DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after May 19, 2022, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 11/21/25 (hereinafter Response) including claim amendments have been entered. Examiner notes that claims 1 and 3 have been amended and claims 2 and 5 have been canceled. In view of amendment, a new ground(s) of rejections is made under 35 USC § 102 as being anticipated by Hashida and 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Hashida in view of Cristante (details below). Accordingly, claims 1, 3-4 and 6 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding all claim rejections under 35 USC § 102 and 103 have been fully considered but are moot because a new ground of rejection (under 35 USC § 102 as being anticipated by Hashida and 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Hashida in view of Cristante; details below) are made and it does not rely on the references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hashida et al. (US PUB. 20200086926 A1; hereinafter, “Hashida”).
Regarding claim 1, Hashida discloses: a vehicle (“vehicle”, figs. 1-3 and ‘Abstract’) comprising:
a vehicle body frame (“vehicle front portion structure”; ‘Abstract’); an air conditioner unit including an evaporator (“AC”, [0032], note that: evaporator is the part of air conditioning unit where refrigerant absorbs heat from the space being cooled.)
a prime mover (“a motor 42m that is a front-wheel-drive drive source”; [0032] is considered as prime mover)
a radiator (radiator 50, fig. 1) configured to exchange heat between outside air and a first refrigerant (“water”) that cools the prime mover [ para. 0035 teaches: “the water-cooled condenser 54 and the radiator 50 are interconnected by pipes 52 (not shown in fig. 1) for circulating the coolant”; thus, a radiator configured to exchange heat between outside air and a first refrigerant that cools the prime mover]; and
a condenser (“condenser 54”) configured to exchange heat between the outside air and a second refrigerant (“refrigerant on compressor 46” [0035]) that flows through the evaporator (via compressed refrigerant in the air conditioner compressor 46 [0035])
wherein the vehicle body frame (“vehicle front portion structure”) includes a tubular frame (“18 with 20, fig. 1 and [0024]) extending in a vehicle width direction in a tubular shape [para. 0026 teaches: “the cross member 20 interconnects the front-end portions 16A of the right and left pair of front side members 16 in the vehicle width direction” and fig. 1 shows tubular in shape], and the air conditioner unit (“AC”) is mounted to the tubular frame (18) via a stay (rear member 16),
the stay (16, [0022]) includes a tubular portion (16A portion) extending in the vehicle width direction (left and right 16; thus, extending in the vehicle width direction), and a plate portion (plate surface portion of 16, fig. 1) having a board shape (para 0022 teaches that cross-sectional shape of plate surface portion 16 is orthogonal to the vehicle front and rear direction and is substantially rectangular; thus, board shape) and extending in an upper-lower direction (figs. 1-3) and the vehicle width direction (left to right, fig. 1), and
the plate portion (portion of 16) is configured to cover (fig. 1) at least a portion of a front (fig. 1 shows a portion of a front via 36) of the air conditioner unit (AC that includes compressor 46) when viewed from a front side of the vehicle (arrow pointing FR in fig. 1), and at least a portion of the plate portion is disposed behind the radiator (50) and the condenser (54) and is disposed at a position overlappinq the radiator and the condenser [fig. 1 shows a portion of the plate portion is disposed behind 50 and 52 and overlapping the radiator and condenser] when viewed from the front side of the vehicle (arrow pointing FR in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Hashida further discloses that the vehicle wherein a length of an upper end portion of the plate portion (plate surface portion of 16) in the vehicle width direction (fig. 1) is larger than a length of a lower end portion of the plate portion in the vehicle width direction [ para. 0022 teaches that side members 16 (plate surface portion of 16) each have a closed cross-sectional structure whose cross-sectional shape orthogonal to the vehicle front and rear direction is substantially rectangular; note that any cross-sectional shape taken orthogonal to the vehicle front-rear direction and if it is rectangular, an upper end portion of the cross section extends wider in the vehicle width direction than a lower end portion; thus, upper end portion of the plate portion in the vehicle width direction is larger than a length of a lower end portion of the plate portion in the vehicle width direction.]
Regarding claim 6, Hashida further discloses that the tubular frame (18) is provided with at least one extension portion (20A, fig. 1 and [0026]) extending from (fig. 1) the tubular frame (18), the stay (16) is fixed to the extension portion (via gusset 26G).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashida in view of Cristante et al. (US 20020063003 A1; hereinafter, “Cristante”).
Regarding claim 4, Hashida further discloses that the stay (16) is fixed to the tubular frame (18 via gusset 26G, fig. 1). Hashida doesn’t appear to explicitly teach that an elastic member interposed between the stay and the tubular frame; however,
Cristante in another pre-assembled front unit for motor vehicles, similar to Hashida teaches that an elastic member (44, [0017]) interposed between the stay (40) and the tubular frame (tubular distributor 24, fig. 1) [ para. 0017 teaches that each supporting plate 40 is equipped with a pair of holes 42 (fig. 6) in which an elastomer material block 44 with a hole 46 is inserted. The holes 46 of which plate 40 receive the lower pins 20, 26 of the condensers and the radiator with a slight interference]. It should be noted that it is well known to incorporate elastomeric vibration isolation brackets and structural frame, particularly in HVAC front modules.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an elastic member between the stay and the tubular frame as taught by Cristante into the gusset of Hashida with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously reduce vibration transmission and improve noise, vibration and harshness (NVH) characteristics. Such modification represents a predictable use of known elements according to their established functions, yielding no unexpected result.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20020068521 A1 to Hisashi discloses: the blower case and the air conditioning case are disposed to be supported by and to be fixed to the supporting member.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NABIN KUMAR SHARMA/
Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611