DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller US 2010/0204649.
Regarding claim 1, Miller discloses an intraosseous access system, comprising: an intraosseous driver 10; an access assembly, See fig. 3, the receptacle 34 receives the driver, coupled with the driver, comprising: an obturator assembly including an obturator 42, and a needle assembly including an access needle 71, the needle assembly coupled with the obturator assembly such that the obturator is disposed within a needle lumen of the access needle, see para. [0056]; and an extension set 140 coupled with the access assembly, see fig. 5b, the extension set comprising extension tube 100 extending between an extension tube hub at a proximal end 140 and a bag attachment member 116 at a distal end, see fig. 8a, wherein the extension tube hub is coupled with the access assembly such that the bag attachment member is in fluid communication with the needle lumen, see fig. 5b, 8a, the bag is coupled to the needle lumens.
Regarding claim 2, Miller discloses the access assembly is rotatably coupled with the extension tube hub to enable the access assembly to rotate with respect to the extension set. Referring to fig. 5b, Miller shows the access assembly is rotatably coupled with the extension hub 140 since the needle and the tube and hub can rotate with respect to each other in the bone.
Regarding claim 4, Miller discloses during use, the bag attachment member is coupled with a fluid bag 112 having a fluid therein.
Regarding claim 5, Miller discloses, during use, the fluid flows from the fluid bag to the needle lumen. See para. [0080].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller in view of Scribner US 6,241,734.
Regarding claim 6, Miller disclose all elements except for a first sterile package, wherein the access assembly is contained within the first sterile package.
Scribner teaches instrument groups 14, 16, 18 are packaged in a sterile kit to verify to the physician that the contents are sterile. See col. 12, lines 6-14. When packaged as a sterile assembly, the physician is cautioned against reuse and the components are sealed from the outside environment to not compromise the sterility of the contents. See col. 11, line 66- col. 12, line 63.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled worker to provide a first sterile package covering the access assembly of Miller, as taught by Scribner, in order to ensure the sterility of the components and to caution operators against reuse. Supra.
Regarding claim 7, Miller, in view of Scribner, does not disclose that the extension tube extends between a sterile interior of the first package and a non-sterile exterior of the first sterile package. However, Scribner teaches that certain instruments should be packaged in sterile kits, supra, i.e. components in contact with the patient. Thus, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled worker to provide sterile packaging of the access assembly, including the portion of the extension tube in contact therewith, in a sterile packaging, but not those components, i.e. the tubing not in contact with the interior of the patient.
Regarding claims 8-9, Miller, in view of Scribner, discloses elements in contact with the patient should be in sterile packaging. Therefore, an ordinary skilled worker would find it obvious to place a second sterile package to contain the bag attachment member and for the reasons stated in claim 7, equally obvious to not place the tube portion of the extension tube in the sterile packaging since it doesn’t touch the internal area of the patient.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims for the reasons previously stated.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Miller does not anticipate the claims because the intraosseous driver, the extension set, and the access assembly are not coupled together at the same time. The Applicant argues that the driver must be removed before the extension set can be engaged and that the driver is not functionally capable of being connected to the connector assembly 90. Distilled in sum, the Applicant is arguing that the access assembly, the extension set and the intraosseous driver are not configured to be connected together at the same time.
While the Examiner concurs that the driver of Miller is designed to be removed to connect the extension set, the Examiner disagrees with the assertion that the claims require the simultaneous connection. The claims recite “an access assembly coupled with the (intraosseous) driver… an extension set coupled with the access assembly…”. The claims thus require that the driver be coupled to the access assembly and the extension set be coupled to the access assembly, but does not recite that the driver be coupled to the extension set or that the driver and the extension set are coupled to the access assembly at the same time. Thus, the Applicant appears to be arguing a recitation not required by the claims and thus, the rejection is maintained to finality.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GERALD L SUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741