DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 12/30/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/30/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “the extension set comprising extension tube” should be “the extension set comprising an extension tube”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller US 2010/0204649.
Regarding claim 1, Miller discloses an intraosseous access system, comprising: an intraosseous driver 10; an access assembly, See fig. 3, the receptacle 34 receives the driver, coupled with the driver, comprising: an obturator assembly including an obturator 42, and a needle assembly including an access needle 71, the needle assembly coupled with the obturator assembly such that the obturator is disposed within a needle lumen of the access needle, see para. [0056]; and an extension set 140 coupled with the access assembly, see fig. 5b, the extension set comprising extension tube 100 extending between an extension tube hub at a proximal end 140 and a bag attachment member 116 at a distal end, see fig. 8a, wherein the extension tube hub is coupled with the access assembly such that the bag attachment member is in fluid communication with the needle lumen, see fig. 5b, 8a, the bag is coupled to the needle lumens.
Regarding claim 2, Miller discloses the access assembly is rotatably coupled with the extension tube hub to enable the access assembly to rotate with respect to the extension set. Referring to fig. 5b, Miller shows the access assembly is rotatably coupled with the extension hub 140 since the needle and the tube and hub can rotate with respect to each other in the bone.
Regarding claim 4, Miller discloses during use, the bag attachment member is coupled with a fluid bag 112 having a fluid therein.
Regarding claim 5, Miller discloses, during use, the fluid flows from the fluid bag to the needle lumen. See para. [0080].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller in view of Scribner US 6,241,734.
Regarding claim 6, Miller disclose all elements except for a first sterile package, wherein the access assembly is contained within the first sterile package.
Scribner teaches instrument groups 14, 16, 18 are packaged in a sterile kit to verify to the physician that the contents are sterile. See col. 12, lines 6-14. When packaged as a sterile assembly, the physician is cautioned against reuse and the components are sealed from the outside environment to not compromise the sterility of the contents. See col. 11, line 66- col. 12, line 63.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled worker to provide a first sterile package covering the access assembly of Miller, as taught by Scribner, in order to ensure the sterility of the components and to caution operators against reuse. Supra.
Regarding claim 7, Miller, in view of Scribner, does not disclose that the extension tube extends between a sterile interior of the first package and a non-sterile exterior of the first sterile package. However, Scribner teaches that certain instruments should be packaged in sterile kits, supra, i.e. components in contact with the patient. Thus, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled worker to provide sterile packaging of the access assembly, including the portion of the extension tube in contact therewith, in a sterile packaging, but not those components, i.e. the tubing not in contact with the interior of the patient.
Regarding claims 8-9, Miller, in view of Scribner, discloses elements in contact with the patient should be in sterile packaging. Therefore, an ordinary skilled worker would find it obvious to place a second sterile package to contain the bag attachment member and for the reasons stated in claim 7, equally obvious to not place the tube portion of the extension tube in the sterile packaging since it doesn’t touch the internal area of the patient.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach or fairly suggest “the needle assembly includes a fluid port… the extension hub includes a first O-ring defining a first rotating seal… disposed proximal the fluid port… a second O-ring defining a second rotating seal… disposed distal…” in combination with the remaining elements of claim 1.
The prior art discloses access ports attached to the needle assembly of intraosseous devices. See Pellegrino US 2010/0185161, fig. 8; Agnihotri US 2008/0119821, see element 78; Pollins US 6,458,117.
Intraosseous devices are known. See Miller US 2008/0215056; Muse US 2018/0125465; Miller US 2015/0129456; Blanchard US 2018/0116693; Freeman US 10,716,499; Miller US 8,656,929.
Conclusion
/GERALD L SUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741