Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oka (US 6441791).
Regarding claim 17, Oka discloses in Figure 1, an antenna, comprising:
a feed pattern (2-4) comprising a first connector region; and
a ground pattern comprising a first ground region (6), a first coupling region (region between 6 and 5) connected to the first ground region (6), a second ground region connected to the first coupling region and comprising a second connector region (5), and a second coupling region (73) connected to the second ground region, wherein the second coupling region (73) expands from the second connector region (5) of the second ground region and the second coupling region (73) is configured to be electrically connected to a ground end of a cable (7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 20190334254) in view of Oka (US 6441791).
Regarding claim 18, Wu discloses in Figure 1, an antenna, comprising: a feed pattern (12) comprising a first connector region; and
a ground pattern comprising: a first ground region, a first coupling region connected to the first ground region, a second ground region connected to the first coupling region and comprising a second connector region, and a second coupling region connected to the second ground region, the second coupling region expanding from the second connector region of the second ground region;
wherein the first coupling region is configured to at least partially enclose the feed pattern (12).
Wu does not disclose the second coupling region configured to be electrically connected to a ground end of a cable.
Oka discloses in Figure 1, the second coupling region (73) is configured to be electrically connected to a ground end of a cable (7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the second coupling region of Wu with the second coupling region as taught by Oka to provide ground connection for the cable of the antenna. Therefore, to employ having the second coupling region as claimed invention would have been obvious to person skill in the art.
Regarding claim 19, as applied to claim 17, Wu discloses in Figure 1, wherein the first coupling region comprises:
a first periphery positioned in a first side of the feed pattern;
a second periphery positioned in a second side of the feed pattern opposite to the first side of the feed pattern; and
a third periphery positioned in a third side of the feed pattern between the first side and the second side of the feed pattern and configured to connect the first periphery to the second periphery.
Regarding claim 20, as applied to claim 17, Wu discloses in Figure 1,
wherein the second coupling region expands from the second ground region.
Regarding claim 22, Wu discloses every feature of claimed invention as expressly recited in claim
17, except for wherein the antenna has a bandwidth of a frequency band of about 1,000 MHz in a low-
band frequency, about 2,300 MHz in a mid-band frequency, about 2,700 MHz in a high-band frequency,
and about 4,300 MHz in an ultra-high- band frequency. However, such difference is not patentable
merit.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to select an antenna having a bandwidth a frequency band of about 1,000 MHz
in a low-band frequency, about 2,300 MHz in a mid-band frequency, about 2,700 MHz in a high-band
frequency, and about 4,300 MHz in an ultra-high- band frequency to support operating in bands covering frequency ranges assigned to electronic device based on particular application or environment of use and it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art,
discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 20190334254) in
view of Oka and further in view of Qiu (CN 208589979).
Regarding claim 21, Wu and Oka disclose every feature of claimed invention as expressly recited in claim 18, except for a first capacitor separating the first ground region and the first coupling region; and a second capacitor separating the first coupling region and the second ground region.
Qiu discloses in Figure 1, a first capacitor (12) separating the first ground region (13) and the
first coupling region (113); and a second capacitor (14) separating the first coupling region (113) and the
second ground region (15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the first coupling region of Wu with the first coupling having the first
and second capacitors as taught by Qiu to control ground pattern current and change radiation pattern
of the antenna. Therefore, to employ having the first capacitor and second capacitor as claimed
invention would have been obvious to person skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16 and 23 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 17-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/DIEU HIEN T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845