DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office action is based on the 18/121047 application originally filed March 14, 2023.
Amended claims 1-12, 14-24, 26-74 and 76-100, filed February 02, 2026, are pending and have been fully considered. Claims 13, 25, 63, 75 and 101-116 have been a canceled. Claims 51-62, 64-74 and 76-100 and 102 are withdrawn from consideration due to being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on October 21, 2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent Application Number 18/121046 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, 14-24, 26-50 and 101 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Despen et al. (US 2021/0395630) in view of Metsarinta (WO 2012/164162 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 3, 11, 12, 18, 19, 30-32, 49 and 101
Despen discloses in the abstract, processes and systems for converting biomass into high-carbon biogenic reagents that are suitable for a variety of commercial applications. Some embodiments employ pyrolysis in the presence of an inert gas to generate hot pyrolyzed solids, condensable vapors, and non-condensable gases, followed by separation of vapors and gases, and cooling of the hot pyrolyzed solids in the presence of the inert gas.
Despen discloses in paragraph 0219, for present purposes, “biogenic” is intended to mean a material (whether a feedstock, product, or intermediate) that contains an element, such as carbon, that is renewable on time scales of months, years, or decades. Non-biogenic materials may be non-renewable, or may be renewable on time scales of centuries, thousands of years, millions of years, or even longer geologic time scales. Note that a biogenic material may include a mixture of biogenic and non-biogenic sources.
Despen discloses in paragraph 0220, for present purposes, “reagent” is intended to mean a material in its broadest sense; a reagent may be a fuel, a chemical, a material, a compound, an additive, a blend component, a solvent, and so on. A reagent is not necessarily a chemical reagent that causes or participates in a chemical reaction. A reagent may or may not be a chemical reactant; it may or may not be consumed in a reaction. A reagent may be a chemical catalyst for a particular reaction. A reagent may cause or participate in adjusting a mechanical, physical, or hydrodynamic property of a material to which the reagent may be added. For example, a reagent may be introduced to a metal to impart certain strength properties to the metal. A reagent may be a substance of sufficient purity (which, in the current context, is typically carbon purity) for use in chemical analysis or physical testing.
Despen disclose in paragraph 0223, “Pyrolysis” and “pyrolyze” generally refer to thermal decomposition of a carbonaceous material. In pyrolysis, less oxygen is present than is required for complete combustion of the material, such as less than 10%, 5%, 1%, 0.5%, 0.1%, or 0.01% of the oxygen that is required for complete combustion. In some embodiments, pyrolysis is performed in the absence of oxygen.
Despen discloses in paragraph 0247, the dried biomass 221 enters the first (preheat) zone 212, wherein the temperature is raised from the range of about ambient temperature to about 150° C. to a temperature range of about 100° C. to about 200° C. In one embodiment, the temperature does not exceed 200° C. in the first/preheat zone 212. It should be appreciated that if the preheat zone 212 is too hot or not hot enough, the dried biomass 221 may process incorrectly prior to entering the second zone 214. As discussed in greater detail below, the preheat zone 212 can includes an output mechanism to capture and exhaust off-gases 220 from the dried biomass 221 while it is being preheated. In another embodiment, the off-gases 220 are extracted for optional later use. In various embodiments, the heating source used for the various zones in the BPU 202 is electric or gas. In one embodiment, the heating source used for the various zones of the BPU 202 is waste gas from other zones of the unit 202 or from external sources. In various embodiments, the heat is indirect.
Despen discloses in paragraph 0248, following the preheat zone 212, the material transport unit 304 passes the preheated material 223 into the second (pyrolysis) zone 214. In one embodiment, the material transport unit 304 penetrates the second/pyrolysis zone through a high-temperature vapor seal system (such as an airlock, not shown), which allows the material transport unit 304 to penetrate the high-temperature pyrolysis zone while preventing (or minimizing) gas from escaping. In one embodiment, the interior of the pyrolysis zone 214 is heated to a temperature of about 100° C. to about 600° C. or about 200° C. to about 500° C. In another embodiment, the pyrolysis zone 214 includes an output port similar to the preheat zone 212 to capture and exhaust the gases 222 given off of the preheated biomass 223 while it is being carbonized. In one embodiment, the gases 222 are extracted for optional later use. In one illustrative embodiment, the off-gases 220 from the preheat zone 212 and the off-gases 222 from the pyrolysis zone 214 are combined into one gas stream 224. Once carbonized, the carbonized biomass 225 exits the second/pyrolysis zone 214 and enters the third/temperature-reducing or cooling zone 216.
Despen discloses in paragraph 0251, the carbonized biomass exits the cooling reactor/zone along the material transfer unit 304 and enters the carbon recovery unit 500. In various embodiments, as illustrated in more detail in FIG. 5 and discussed above, the carbon recovery unit 500 also includes an input 524 connected to the gas-phase separator 200. In one embodiment, the enrichment gas 204 is directed into the carbon recovery unit 500 to be combined with the biogenic reagent 226 to create a high carbon biogenic reagent 136. In another embodiment, a carbon-enriched gas from an external source can also be directed to the carbon recovery unit 500 to be combined with the biogenic reagent 226 to add additional carbon to the biogenic reagent. In various embodiments, gases pulled from the carbon recovery unit 500 at reference 234 are optionally used in energy recovery systems and/or systems for further carbon enrichment.
Despen discloses in paragraphs 00259-0261, heat, steam and gases recovered from the reactor are directed to the feed system where they are enclosed in jacket and separated from direct contact with the feed material, but indirectly heat the feed material prior to introduction to the reactor. Heat, steam and gases recovered from the drying zone of the reactor are directed to the feed system where they are enclosed in jacket and separated from direct contact with the feed material, but indirectly heat the feed material prior to introduction to the reactor. It should be appreciated that the gas inlet ports 310 a, 310 b, 310 c and the corresponding gas outlet ports 308 a, 308 b, 308 c, respectively, of one embodiment are slightly offset from one another with respect to a vertical bisecting plane through the material transport unit 304. For example, in one embodiment, inlet port 310 a and corresponding outlet port 308 a are offset on material transport unit 304 by an amount that approximately corresponds with the pitch of the auger 305 in the material transport unit 304. In various embodiments, after the atmosphere surrounding the raw material 109/209 is satisfactorily de-oxygenated, it is fed from the material feed system 108 into the BPU 102. In various embodiments, oxygen levels are monitored throughout the material feed system to allow the calibration of the amount and location of inert gas infusions.
Despen discloses in paragraph 0369, the yield of carbonaceous material may vary, depending on the above-described factors including type of feedstock and process conditions. In some embodiments, the net yield of solids as a percentage of the starting feedstock, on a dry basis, is at least 25%, 30%, 35%, 40%, 45%, 50%, or higher. The remainder will be split between condensable vapors, such as terpenes, tars, alcohols, acids, aldehydes, or ketones; and non-condensable gases, such as carbon monoxide, hydrogen, carbon dioxide, and methane. The relative amounts of condensable vapors compared to non-condensable gases will also depend on process conditions, including the water present.
Despen further discloses in paragraph 0388, a portion of solids produced may be recycled to the front end of the process, i.e. to the drying or deaeration unit or directly to the BPU or reactor. By returning to the front end and passing through the process again, treated solids may become higher in fixed carbon. Solid, liquid, and gas streams produced or existing within the process can be independently recycled, passed to subsequent steps, or removed/purged from the process at any point.
Despen discloses in paragraph 0419, the pyrolysis reactor or reactors may be selected from any suitable reactor configuration that is capable of carrying out the pyrolysis process. Exemplary reactor configurations include, but are not limited to, fixed-bed reactors, fluidized-bed reactors, entrained-flow reactors, augers, rotating cones, rotary drum kilns, calciners, roasters, moving-bed reactors, transport-bed reactors, ablative reactors, rotating cones, or microwave-assisted pyrolysis reactors.
Despen discloses in paragraph 0423, circulating fluidized-bed reactors can be employed, wherein gas, sand, and feedstock move together. Exemplary transport gases include recirculated product gases and combustion gases. High heat-transfer rates from the sand ensure rapid heating of the feedstock, and ablation is expected to be stronger than with regular fluidized beds. A separator can be employed to separate the product gases from the sand and char particles. The sand particles can be reheated in a fluidized burner vessel and recycled to the reactor.
Despen discloses in paragraph 0454, the first output stream comprises the condensable vapors, and the second output stream comprises the non-condensable gases. The condensable vapors may include at least one carbon-containing compound selected from terpenes, alcohols, acids, aldehydes, or ketones. The vapors from pyrolysis may include aromatic compounds such as benzene, toluene, ethylbenzene, and xylenes. Heavier aromatic compounds, such as refractory tars, may be present in the vapor. The non-condensable gases may include at least one carbon-containing molecule selected from the group consisting of carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, and methane.
Despen discloses in paragraph 0030, 0125 and 0353, the process may be continuous, semi-continuous, or batch. In some continuous or semi-continuous embodiments, the inert gas flows substantially countercurrent relative to the direction of solids flow. In other continuous or semi-continuous embodiments, the inert gas flows substantially co-current relative to the direction of solids flow.
Despen specifically teaches in paragraphs 00338-00339, when a single reactor is employed (such as in FIG. 6, 3 or 4), multiple zones can be present. Multiple zones, such as two, three, four, or more zones, can allow for the separate control of temperature, solids residence time, gas residence time, gas composition, flow pattern, and/or pressure in order to adjust the overall process performance. As discussed above, references to “zones” shall be broadly construed to include regions of space within a single physical unit (such as in FIG. 6, 8 or 9), physically separate units (such as in FIGS. 7 and 10 to 13), or any combination thereof. For a BPU, the demarcation of zones within that BPU may relate to structure, such as the presence of flights within the BPU or distinct heating elements to provide heat to separate zones. Alternatively, or additionally, in various embodiments, the demarcation of zones in a BPU relates to function, such as at least: distinct temperatures, fluid flow patterns, solid flow patterns, and extent of reaction. In a single batch reactor, “zones” are operating regimes in time, rather than in space.
Through the teachings of Despen, it is known in the art to pyrolyze dried biomass in a pyrolysis reactor and transfer the pyrolyzed biomass to a third reactor that comprises powder pellets. The third reactor is heated by a gas inlet in order to produce a high-biogenic product (biocoke), as shown in the citation above.
Despen further discloses in paragraph 0159, the biogenic product comprises the high-carbon biogenic reagent comprises at least 55 wt. %, at least 60 wt. %, at least 65 wt. %, at least 70 wt %, at least 80 wt %, at least 90 wt %, or at least 95 wt % total carbon on a dry basis. The total carbon includes fixed carbon and carbon from volatile matter. In some embodiments, the carbon from volatile matter is at least 5%, at least 20%, or at least 40% of the total carbon.
It is to be noted, Despen disclose in paragraph 0542, the majority of carbon contained in the high-carbon biogenic reagent is classified as renewable carbon. In some embodiments, substantially all of the carbon is classified as renewable carbon. There may be certain market mechanisms (e.g., Renewable Identification Numbers, tax credits, etc.) wherein value is attributed to the renewable carbon content within the high-carbon biogenic reagent.
Despen fails to specifically teach the biogenic reagent is at least 50% renewable as determined from a measurement of the total carbon.
However, through the renewable biogenic reagent teachings of Despen, one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing would expect the biogenic reagent to have more than 50% of renewable carbon due to Despen disclosing the biogenic reagent is “classified” as renewable carbon.
Despen discloses in paragraph 0547, prior to suitability or actual use in any product applications, the disclosed high-carbon biogenic reagents may be analyzed, measured, and optionally modified (such as through additives) in various ways. Some properties of potential interest, other than chemical composition and energy content, include density, particle size, surface area, microporosity, absorptivity, absorptivity, binding capacity, reactivity, desulfurization activity, and basicity, to name a few properties. Despen further discloses in paragraph 0548, a wide variety of carbonaceous products comprising high-carbon biogenic reagents. Such carbonaceous products include, but are not limited to, blast furnace addition products, taconite pellet process addition products, taconite pellets, coal replacement products, coking carbon products, carbon breeze products, fluidized-bed products, furnace addition products, injectable carbon products, ladle addition carbon products, met coke products, pulverized carbon products, stoker carbon products, carbon electrodes, and activated carbon products. These and other embodiments are described in further detail below.
It is to be noted, Despen discloses in paragraphs 0343 and 0344, the second zone, or the primary pyrolysis zone, is operated under conditions of pyrolysis or carbonization. The temperature of the pyrolysis zone may be selected from about 250° C. to about 700° C., such as about 300° C., 350° C., 400° C., 450° C., 500° C., 550° C., 600° C., or 650° C.
Despen discloses pyrolysis or carbonization in order to produce biocoke/biochar but fails to specifically teach the specific process of coking under specific conditions as presently claimed.
However, Metsarinta discloses in the abstract, a method for a continuous fabrication of bio-coke briquettes suitable for use in metallurgical industry by a method where the purpose is to obtain bio-coke having sufficient strength, low ash content as well as low phosphorus and sulphur content and a suitable lump size.
Metsarinta discloses on page 11, the dried biomass raw material with a suitable particle size is conveyed to carbonization (8), which typically takes place at a temperature of 650 to 1000°C, more typically at a temperature of 750 to 1000°C. The carbonization step may be carried out in a reactor that operates continuously as described above, such as a fluidized bed furnace, drum kiln or shaft furnace. When carbonization is carried out in a fluidized bed reactor, it is useful to use previously formed bio-coke as the bed material to prevent impurities from contaminating the bio-coke that is being generated. Additional heating equipment to be used for heating and, if necessary, for controlling the temperature is also arranged into the reactor (not shown in detail in the figure). Preheated combustion air is fed in the carbonization step and combustion takes place with an air deficit, i.e. the amount of air supplied is below the stoichiometric amount required for combustion. Therefore only a first part of the gases formed in carbonization is burned in the carbonization reactor. The majority of the energy required for carbonization is obtained when the gases and dusts formed in carbonization burn in the carbonization reactor. Additional energy is obtained by means of the additional heating equipment and by recirculating the circulation gas of the post-combustion boiler (9) to the carbonization reactor in order to maintain a sufficient temperature. The temperature of the circulation gas conveyed to carbonization is 200 to 300°C. The properties of the bio- coke formed in carbonization are affected significantly by the final carbonization temperature and the carbonization rate. When the carbonization temperature is high, the product strength is improved and the volatiles content is decreased. When the temperature is around 800 to 1000°C, a product is obtained in which the amount of volatiles is only about 2%. The use of a high carbonization temperature is made possible when the ash content and amount of impurities is minimized in the pre-treatment of the biomass. The flue gases generated in the carbonization reactor contain, in addition to reducing components, carbon dioxide and water vapour, which may react with carbon at high temperatures, decreasing the yield of bio-coke. However, the proportion of loss reactions remains low because the biomass raw material engenders a lot of gas in carbonization, which prevents the wood material or biomass raw material from coming into contact with the flue gases. The temperature of a carbonization reactor equipped with direct heating can be adjusted by means of additional air or additional heating equipment.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to the specific process of coking/carbonization under the specific conditions of Metsarinta in the carbonization process of Despen. The motivation to do so is to form bio-coke through coking/carbonization with reducing ash content and impurities.
Regarding Claims 4-10
Despen discloses in paragraphs 0506-0510, the high-carbon biogenic reagent may have various “energy content” which for present purposes means the energy density based on the higher heating value associated with total combustion of the bone-dry reagent. For example, the high-carbon biogenic reagent may possess an energy content of about at least 11,000 Btu/lb, at least 12,000 Btu/lb, at least 13,000 Btu/lb, at least 14,000 Btu/lb, or at least 15,000 Btu/lb. In certain embodiments, the energy content is between about 14,000-15,000 Btu/lb. The energy content may be measured using ASTM D5865, for example. The high-carbon biogenic reagent may be formed into a powder, such as a coarse powder or a fine powder. For example, the reagent may be formed into a powder with an average mesh size of about 200 mesh, about 100 mesh, about 50 mesh, about 10 mesh, about 6 mesh, about 4 mesh, or about 2 mesh, in embodiments. In some embodiments, the high-carbon biogenic reagent is formed into structural objects comprising pressed, binded, or agglomerated particles. The starting material to form these objects may be a powder form of the reagent, such as an intermediate obtained by particle-size reduction. The objects may be formed by mechanical pressing or other forces, optionally with a binder or other means of agglomerating particles together. In some embodiments, the high-carbon biogenic reagent is produced in the form of structural objects whose structure substantially derives from the feedstock. For example, feedstock chips may produce product chips of high-carbon biogenic reagent. Or, feedstock cylinders may produce high-carbon biogenic reagent cylinders, which may be somewhat smaller but otherwise maintain the basic structure and geometry of the starting material. A high-carbon biogenic reagent according to the present invention may be produced as, or formed into, an object that has a minimum dimension of at least about 1 cm, 2 cm, 3 cm, 4 cm, 5 cm, 6 cm, 7 cm, 8 cm, 9 cm, 10 cm, or higher. In various embodiments, the minimum dimension or maximum dimension can be a length, width, or diameter.
Regarding Claim 2
Despen discloses in paragraph 0323, biomass includes, for example, plant and plant-derived material, vegetation, agricultural waste, forestry waste, wood waste, paper waste, animal-derived waste, poultry-derived waste, and municipal solid waste. In various embodiments of the invention utilizing biomass, the biomass feedstock may include one or more materials selected from: timber harvesting residues, softwood chips, hardwood chips, tree branches, tree stumps, knots, leaves, bark, sawdust, off-spec paper pulp, cellulose, corn, corn stover, wheat straw, rice straw, sugarcane bagasse, switchgrass, miscanthus, animal manure, municipal garbage, municipal sewage, commercial waste, grape pumice, almond shells, pecan shells, coconut shells, coffee grounds, grass pellets, hay pellets, wood pellets, cardboard, paper, carbohydrates, plastic, and cloth. A person of ordinary skill in the art will readily appreciate that the feedstock options are virtually unlimited.
Regarding Claims 14-17
Despen discloses in paragraph 0346, the residence times of the zones may vary. For a desired amount of pyrolysis, higher temperatures may allow for lower reaction times, and vice versa. The residence time in a continuous BPU (reactor) is the volume divided by the volumetric flow rate. The residence time in a batch reactor is the batch reaction time, following heating to reaction temperature.
Despen disclose in paragraphs 0343 and 0344, the second zone, or the primary pyrolysis zone, is operated under conditions of pyrolysis or carbonization. The temperature of the pyrolysis zone may be selected from about 250° C. to about 700° C., such as about 300° C., 350° C., 400° C., 450° C., 500° C., 550° C., 600° C., or 650° C. Within this zone, preheated biomass undergoes pyrolysis chemistry to release gases and condensable vapors, leaving a significant amount of solid material as a high-carbon reaction intermediate. Biomass components (primarily cellulose, hemicellulose, and lignin) decompose and create vapors, which escape by penetrating through pores or creating new pores. The temperature will at least depend on the residence time of the pyrolysis zone, as well as the nature of the feedstock and product properties. The cooling zone is operated to cool down the high-carbon reaction intermediate to varying degrees. In various embodiments, the temperature of the cooling zone is a lower temperature than that of the pyrolysis zone. In various embodiments, the temperature of the cooling zone is selected from about 100° C. to about 550° C., such as about 150° C. to about 350° C.
Despen discloses in paragraph 0356, the process may conveniently be operated at atmospheric pressure, in some embodiments. There are many advantages associated with operation at atmospheric pressure, ranging from mechanical simplicity to enhanced safety. In certain embodiments, the pyrolysis zone is operated at a pressure of about 90 kPa, 95 kPa, 100 kPa, 101 kPa, 102 kPa, 105 kPa, or 110 kPa (absolute pressures).
Despen discloses in paragraph 0352, the residence time of the vapor phase may be separately selected and controlled. The vapor residence time of the preheating zone may be selected from about 0.1 min to about 10 min, such as about 1 min. The vapor residence time of the pyrolysis zone may be selected from about 0.1 min to about 20 min, such as about 2 min. The vapor residence time of the cooling zone may be selected from about 0.1 min to about 15 min, such as about 1.5 min. Short vapor residence times promote fast sweeping of volatiles out of the system, while longer vapor residence times promote reactions of components in the vapor phase with the solid phase.
Regarding Claim 20
Despen discloses in paragraph 0597, some variations of the invention utilize the high-carbon biogenic reagents as catalyst supports. Carbon is a known catalyst support in a wide range of catalyzed chemical reactions, such as mixed-alcohol synthesis from syngas using sulfided cobalt-molybdenum metal catalysts supported on a carbon phase, or iron-based catalysts supported on carbon for Fischer-Tropsch synthesis of higher hydrocarbons from syngas.
Regarding Claims 21-24 and 26-29
Despen discloses in paragraph 0369, the yield of carbonaceous material may vary, depending on the above-described factors including type of feedstock and process conditions. In some embodiments, the net yield of solids as a percentage of the starting feedstock, on a dry basis, is at least 25%, 30%, 35%, 40%, 45%, 50%, or higher. The remainder will be split between condensable vapors, such as terpenes, tars, alcohols, acids, aldehydes, or ketones; and non-condensable gases, such as carbon monoxide, hydrogen, carbon dioxide, and methane. The relative amounts of condensable vapors compared to non-condensable gases will also depend on process conditions, including the water present.
Regarding Claims 33-40
Despen discloses in paragraph 0419, fixed-bed reactors, fluidized-bed reactors, entrained-flow reactors, augers, rotating cones, rotary drum kilns, calciners, roasters, moving-bed reactors, transport-bed reactors, ablative reactors, rotating cones, or microwave-assisted pyrolysis reactors. Despen discloses in paragraph 0428, other means of agitating solids may be employed, such as augers, screws, or paddle conveyors. In some embodiments, the BPU includes a single, continuous auger disposed throughout each of the zones. In other embodiments, the reactor includes twin screws disposed throughout each of the zones.
Regarding Claims 41-44
Despen further discloses in paragraph 0159, the biogenic product comprises the high-carbon biogenic reagent comprises at least 55 wt. %, at least 60 wt. %, at least 65 wt. %, at least 70 wt %, at least 80 wt %, at least 90 wt %, or at least 95 wt % total carbon on a dry basis. The total carbon includes fixed carbon and carbon from volatile matter. In some embodiments, the carbon from volatile matter is at least 5%, at least 20%, or at least 40% of the total carbon.
Regarding Claims 45-47
It is to be noted, Despen disclose in paragraph 0542, the majority of carbon contained in the high-carbon biogenic reagent is classified as renewable carbon. In some embodiments, substantially all of the carbon is classified as renewable carbon. There may be certain market mechanisms (e.g., Renewable Identification Numbers, tax credits, etc.) wherein value is attributed to the renewable carbon content within the high-carbon biogenic reagent.
Despen fails to specifically teach the biogenic reagent is at least 50% renewable as determined from a measurement of the total carbon.
However, through the renewable biogenic reagent teachings of Despen, one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing would expect the biogenic reagent to have more than 50% of renewable carbon due to Despen disclosing the biogenic reagent is “classified” as renewable carbon.
Regarding Claims 48 and 49
Despen discloses in paragraph 0504, various amounts of non-combustible matter, such as ash, may be present. The high-carbon biogenic reagent may comprise about 10 wt % or less, such as about 5 wt %, about 2 wt %, about 1 wt % or less non-combustible matter on a dry basis. In certain embodiments, the reagent contains little ash, or even essentially no ash or other non-combustible matter. Therefore, some embodiments provide essentially pure carbon, including 100% carbon, on a dry basis.
Regarding Claim 50
Despen discloses in paragraph 0036, the process further comprises introducing at least one additive selected from the group consisting of a metal, a metal oxide, a metal hydroxide, a metal halide, and combinations thereof. The additive may be selected from (but not limited to) the group consisting of magnesium, manganese, aluminum, nickel, chromium, silicon, boron, cerium, molybdenum, phosphorus, tungsten, vanadium, iron halide, iron chloride, iron bromide, magnesium oxide, dolomite, dolomitic lime, fluorite, fluorospar, bentonite, calcium oxide, lime, and combinations thereof.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 02, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argued: “Neither Despen nor Metsarinta teach or reasonably suggest continuously withdrawing solid biocoke produced from the carbon-containing vapor and then continuously returning a recycled portion of that solid biocoke to the kinetic interface reactor, wherein the recycled portion of the solid biocoke functions as the kinetic interface media within that reactor. Claim 1 requires that the carbon conversion of the carbon-containing vapor to the biocoke is at least 25%. Even if there is some incidental conversion of vapor to biocoke in Despen or Metsarinta, there is no inherent conversion of at least 25% of the carbon- containing vapor to biocoke. The "25%" in Despen is unequivocally not the same parameter as the "25%" in claim 1. Despen pertains primarily to the conversion of a solid feedstock to a biogenic reagent. By contrast, the claimed invention converts a carbon-containing vapor to biocoke. Solid conversion and vapor conversion are fundamentally different types of reaction technologies. In claim 1, the kinetic interface media is solid, but the carbon- containing vapor is, by definition, not solid. Metsarinta fails to correct for the deficiencies of Despen.”.
Applicants arguments are not deemed persuasive. As stated in the above rejection, it is MAINTAINED Despen discloses the claimed “during the converting, carbon conversion of the carbon-containing vapor to the biocoke is at least 25%”. Despen discloses in paragraph 0369, the yield of carbonaceous material may vary, depending on the above-described factors including type of feedstock and process conditions. In some embodiments, the net yield of solids as a percentage of the starting feedstock, on a dry basis, is at least 25%, 30%, 35%, 40%, 45%, 50%, or higher. The remainder will be split between condensable vapors, such as terpenes, tars, alcohols, acids, aldehydes, or ketones; and non-condensable gases, such as carbon monoxide, hydrogen, carbon dioxide, and methane. The relative amounts of condensable vapors compared to non-condensable gases will also depend on process conditions, including the water present. Despen further discloses in paragraph 0388, a portion of solids produced may be recycled to the front end of the process, i.e. to the drying or deaeration unit or directly to the BPU or reactor. By returning to the front end and passing through the process again, treated solids may become higher in fixed carbon. Solid, liquid, and gas streams produced or existing within the process can be independently recycled, passed to subsequent steps, or removed/purged from the process at any point. Therefore, Despen teaches the carbon-containing vapor to the solid bio-coke. Second, Metsarinta is not relied upon to teach the specific treatment conditions of for carbonization in a fluidized bed reactor. As stated in the above rejection, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Despen and Metsarinta to use fluidized bed reactors that are capable of reaching the claimed conditions for carbonization, as taught specifically by Metsarinta. Therefore, it is maintained, Despen modified by Metsarinta discloses the presently claimed invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Latosha Hines/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771