DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-11, 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Reed (US Pub. D314,116).
Regarding claim 1, Reed discloses a strap portion spaced apart by two anchor portions, the strap portion configured to wrap around the animal's leg and the two anchor portions being wider than the strap portion (Fig. 3, pillow has a central portion and two end portions spaced apart from the narrower central portion);
wherein at least one of the two anchor portions has a foam cushion (The object is a pillow which is known in the art to be made of foam) to provide an increased thickness compared with the strap portion (Fig. 4, central portion is thinner than the end portions);
wherein when the strap portion and the two anchor portions are all lying flat in the same plane, the two anchor portions are spaced 180 degrees apart (See Figs. 2-5);
wherein each anchor portion of the two anchor portions has a tapered section adjacent to the strap portion and each tapered section narrows towards the strap portion (Fig. 3, the pillow tapers towards in width towards the central portion and away from the end portions), and wherein, in use, the sling holds the animal's leg in a raised position to treat and/or shoe a foot of the animal's raised leg by: (i) the strap portion wrapping around the animal's leg, and (ii) the two anchor portions being positioned and held comfortably between a person's legs, thereby supporting the animal's leg in the raised position (The pillow is flexible and could be used in this manner).
Regarding claim 3, Reed discloses wherein each anchor portion is shaped so that the anchor portions are adapted to abut each other (See id).
Regarding claim 4, Reed discloses wherein each anchor portion has a tapered section adjacent the strap portion (Fig. 3, the pillow tapers towards the central portion and away from the end portions), and when the anchor portions are positioned between the person's legs and abut each other the tapered section of each anchor portion defines a substantially V-shaped recess (The pillow is flexible and could be used in this manner).
Regarding claim 5, Reed discloses wherein each anchor portion has at least one flat side (Fig. 2, end portions are substantially flat), wherein the at least one flat side of each anchor portion is adapted to abut the at least one flat side of the other anchor portion (The pillow is flexible and could be used in this manner).
Regarding claim 6, Reed discloses wherein at least one of the anchor portions and the strap portion are elongate (Figs. 2-5, the pillow is substantially elongate).
Regarding claim 7, Reed discloses wherein both of the anchor portions have the foam cushion (The object is a pillow which is known in the art to be made of foam).
Regarding claim 8, Reed discloses wherein the strap portion is adapted to wrap around a pastern of the animal's leg (The pillow is flexible and could be used in this manner) and a width of the strap portion is less than a length of the pastern so that a hoof and fetlock restricts movement of the sling along the animal's leg (Fig. 1, using the user’s neck for scale, it is assumed the width of the central portion is approximately 3 inches which is less than the length of a pastern).
Regarding claim 10, Reed discloses wherein each anchor portion is elongate (Figs. 2-5, the pillow is substantially elongate).
Regarding claim 15, Reed discloses wherein the foam cushion extends into the tapered section (The entire object is a pillow which is known in the art to be made of foam).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed (US Pub. D314,116).
Regarding claim 9, Reed discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the strap portion has a length between 20cm to 30cm, and the strap portion has a width between 1cm to 5cm and the sling has at least one hook or loop located at an end of the sling. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to designate the dimensions of the pillow to be as described as it would also be suited for supporting the neck and head of the user, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 11, Reed discloses the claimed invention except for wherein each anchor portion has a length between 20cm to 30cm, each anchor portion has a width between 2cm to 12cm, each anchor portion has a thickness between 2cm to 10cm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to designate the dimensions of the pillow to be as described as it would also be suited for supporting the neck and head of the user, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HENRY HOOPER MUDD/Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642