DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-12, 14-15, and 17-27 are currently pending and are subject to this office action. Claims 1, 6, and 23 are amended. Claims 13 and 16 are canceled. This office action is in response to Applicant’s request for continued examination filed 08/11/2026.
Response to Amendments
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed on 08/11/2026 containing amendments and remarks to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, on pages 6-9, filed 08/11/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Applicant has amended claim 1 to include a limitation that was not previously presented, specifically, “a microcontroller configured to provide electric power from a power source to the heating element, wherein the heating element is powered to heat the heat exchanger and the container”. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Pan (US 20100242974 A1) and Antonopoulos (US 20230043438 A1).
Applicants’ arguments, on pages 6-9, filed 08/11/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Antonopoulos teaches that the active heating element does not contact or transfer heat to the passive heat exchange element, Antonopoulos teaches away from the claimed configuration because its purpose is to reduce energy required to generate aerosol, and Pan does not teach the fundamental structure of the heat exchanger.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection does not rely on Antonopoulos individually to satisfy the claim. Pan already teaches an electrically powered heating element that actively heats the heat equalizer [0012]. Antonopoulos is relied upon for teaching additional features of the claimed arrangement, including heating of the container. The heat element of Antonopoulos is positioned in contact with or in proximity to the cartridge and transfers heat to the aerosol-forming substrate through the cartridge [0051], while electronic circuitry, which may be a microprocessor, is configured to regulate the supply of electrical power to the heating element [0054]. Thus, the combined teachings of Pan and Antonopoulos would have supported configuring the powered heating element of Pan to heat both the heat exchanger and the container as claimed.
Additionally, the fact that Antonopoulos uses the heat exchanger to recover lost heat does not discourage the use of an actively heated heat exchanger in the combined device. Pan's actively heated heat equalizer remains while specific teachings of Antonopoulos are incorporated into Pan's device. Further, the rejection does not rely on Pan alone for the claimed airflow arrangement. Antonopoulos teaches an axial airflow relationship (Fig. 3, [0113-0119]). Thus, the claimed arrangement is a result of the combination of teachings of Pan and Antonopoulos.
The following are modified rejections based on Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 20100242974 A1), and further in view of Fuisz (US 20210212382 A1) and Antonopoulos (US 20230043438 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Pan teaches (i) an atomizer comprising a heat equalizer that extends to a top and bottom end of the device (Fig. 3: #269, [0011]). (ii) The atomizer comprises a liquid container (Fig. 3: #261) with liquid media (Fig. 3: #264) for carrying vaporizable liquid [0012 & 0027]. (iii) The heat equalizer (Fig. 3: #269) converts the liquid from the liquid container (Fig. 3: #261) into a form of vapor mist, which is finally drawn into a mouth of a user [0012], meeting the claim limitation of an airflow path. (iv) A heating wire is wrapped around an outer surface of the heat equalizer [0027]. (v) The heating wire (Fig. 3: #269) heats up the heat equalizer when electric current flows through the wire for vaporization of liquid [0012].
(vi) Pan further teaches wherein the device may comprise a single chip micyoco to supply an electrical current to the electric heat wire [0012]. (vii) The electric current flowing through the heat equalizer then heats up the heat equalizer [0012]. (viii) The heat equalizer receives heat from the heating wire and uses it to heat liquid and generate vapor mist towards a top end of the device for the user to inhale [0012]. (ix) A side space for airflow is defined between the border of the liquid container (Fig. 3: #261) and the liquid media (Fig. 3: #264, [0027]), which receives atomized air from the heat equalizer [0012]. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that since the space receives the air after it has passed through the heat exchanger airflow path, the airflow path would leave the heat exchanger after passing from a first end to a second end of the component. Pan teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however Pan is silent to:
The container positioned adjacent the second end
The air flow path extending axially through the heat exchanger from the first end to second end
Wherein the heating element is powered to heat the container
Wherein the heat exchanger is configured to transfer heat from the heating element to air flowing through the air flow path from the first end to the second end
In regards to i., Fuisz, directed to a heater for a vaporizer device, teaches (i) a tunnel (Fig. 1: #2) for receiving a tobacco stick [0113], relating to the container of the claimed invention, positioned adjacent to a top end of a heat exchanger (Fig. 1: #1) to improve heating efficiency of the device and simplify design [0068].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heat exchanger of modified Pan to wherein the container is positioned adjacent the second end because both Pan and Fuisz are directed to improving a user smoking experience by producing strong heat transfer properties. Fuisz teaches a tunnel adjacent to a top end of a heat exchanger to improve heating efficiency of the device and simplify design [0068] and this merely involves applying a known heating technique to a known heat exchanger ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
In regards to ii., iii., iv., Antonopoulos, directed to an apparatus for heating, teaches (ii) a heat exchange element (Fig. 3: #155) with an airflow path (Fig. 3: “A”) that extends axially through the heat exchange element (Fig. 3: #155) from a bottom end to a top end, as shown in Figure 3. (iii) The device further comprises a heating element (Fig. 3: #160) that may be supplied power from a microprocessor [0054]. Upon being supplied power, the heating element (Fig. 3: #160) may transfer heat to a cartridge (Fig. 3: #200) for heating an aerosol-forming substrate within the cartridge [0051, 0054]. (iv) The heat exchange element (Fig. 3: #155) heats air flowing through the air inlet channel (Fig. 3: #170, [0118], after receiving heat from heated aerosol in the conduit [0116 &0119], where the aerosol was heated by the heating element [0113]. One of ordinary skill in art would understand that the heat transferred to the air originates from the heating element and indirectly heats the heat exchange element and would have been motivated to modify Pan in order to improve heat transfer efficiency [0079] and energy efficiency [0116].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the container of modified Pan to wherein the heat exchanger defines an air flow path that extends axially through the heat exchanger from the first end to second end, wherein the heating element is configured to heat the container, and wherein the heat exchanger is configured to transfer heat from the heating element to air flowing through the air flow path from the first end to the second end because both Pan and Antonopoulos are directed to improving heating efficiency using heat transfer. Antonopoulos teaches airflow that moves axially through a heat exchange element to be heated and a heating element that heats a receptacle to improve heat transfer efficiency [0079 and energy efficiency [0116] and this merely involves applying a known heat transfer technique to a known aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 2, Pan teaches a heating wire twined on the outside of the heat equalizer [0028].
With regard to Claim 3, Pan teaches wherein (i) an outer body of the heat equalizer is supported by a supporting piece made out of plastic material (Fig. 3: #268, [0028]), where one of ordinary skill in the art would know that plastic is a non-conductive material. (ii) The twined electric heating wire (Fig. 3: #256) engages with small holes of the supporting piece (Fig. 3: #268, [0028]). One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a heating wire being twined would change the direction of the wire at every turn, and therefore, the point at which the wire engages with the supporting piece would have a changing direction.
With regard to Claim 4, Pan teaches wherein (i) the electric heating wire comprises two ends [0028]. (ii) Each end of the electric heating wire goes through small holes of the supporting piece and connect to an electric connector to supply heat for atomization [0028]. The wire is twined on the heat equalizer [0028]. Although not shown, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that heating wires in the art are generally wound around the whole length of a component. Therefore, the heating wire is twined from the beginning of the heat equalizer, where the equalizer receives liquid from the liquid container, and at a second end of the wire towards the end of the heat equalizer, where the equalizer forms a vapor mist [0012].
With regard to Claim 5, Pan teaches wherein the supporting piece, comprising small holes that engage with the heating wire, can be made of ceramic material [0028].
With regard to Claim 7, Pan teaches (i) wherein a heat equalizer is twined with electric heating wire [0027]. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that twined means that the electric heating wire is wrapped in a spiral or coil around the heat equalizer. Each loop of the wire meets the claim limitation of rings wrapped around the outside of the heat equalizer (ii) The two ends of the electric heating wire are connected to a second electric connector [0028].
With regard to Claim 8, Pan teaches wherein the electric heating wire with two ends is twined on the heat equalizer [0028]. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that heating wires in the art are generally wound around the whole length of a component. Therefore, the heating wire is twined from a first end of the wire at the beginning of the heat equalizer, where the equalizer receives liquid from the liquid container, and at a second end of the wire towards the end of the heat equalizer, where the equalizer forms a vapor mist [0012].
With regard to Claim 22, Pan teaches a heating wire twined on the outside of a heat equalizer [0028].
With regard to Claim 23, Pan teaches an (i) electric airflow sensor, connected to a single chip micyoco, that detects airflow resulting from the puffing action of a user [0025]. The airflow sensor may be a diaphragm microphone (Claim 4). One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the diaphragm microphone responds to the pressure generated by a user’s puffing action. (ii) The single chip micyoco is configured to receive a signal from the sensor when airflow is detected [0025].
Claims 6, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 20100242974 A1), Fuisz (US 20210212382 A1), Antonopoulos (US 20230043438 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Alston (US 20200146352 A1, as cited in IDS dated 02/15/2024).
With regard to Claim 6, Pan teaches a CPU processor [0026] and all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however Pan is silent to:
Wherein the microcontroller is further configured to monitor a resistance of the resistance wire
The microcontroller configured to determine when air is flowing through the air flow path based on changes in the resistance
Alston, directed to a vaporizer device, teaches (i) a circuit, which may be in the form of a microcontroller, that can be configured to measure a resistance of a heating element [0114], wherein the heating element is a nonlinear positive temperature coefficient of resistance material [0112]. Measuring a resistance of the heating element can be used for determining or controlling a temperature of the heating element [0114].(ii) The circuit determines a temperature of the heating element based on a thermal coefficient of resistivity of the heating element [0114]. One of ordinary skill in the art would know that airflow directly changes the resistance of the heating element with a known temperature coefficient.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to modify the processor of Pan to be configured to monitor a resistance of the resistance wire and determine when air is flowing through the air flow path based on changes in the resistance because both Pan and Alston are directed to controlling temperatures used to heat substances in aerosol generating devices. Alston teaches a circuit configured to measure resistance based on a thermal coefficient of resistivity to determine or control a temperature of the heating element [0014] to improve the efficiency and quality of heating of the vaporizable material [0068] and this merely involves applying a known configuration to a known microcontroller of an aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 11, modified Pan teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Pan is silent to:
Wherein an outer surface of the heat exchanger has an electrical resistivity of at least 400 Ω*cm
Alston teaches wherein a PTCR heating element comprising a heat exchanger [0132] may have an electrical resistivity between 10 Ω*cm and 400 Ω*cm at different temperatures [0160] to provide stable and controlled heating in the device [0157], having a significant amount of overlap in the range of the claimed invention and is therefore considered prima facie obvious. Additionally, Alston teaches resistivities greater than 400 Ω*cm [0160].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the outer surface of the heat exchanger of Pan to have an electrical resistivity of at least 400 Ω*cm because both Pan and Alston are directed to controlling temperatures used to heat substances in aerosol generating devices. Alston teaches an electrical resistivity to provide stable and controlled heating in the device [0157] and this merely involves applying a known resistivity value to a known heat exchanger ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 17, Pan teaches wherein the liquid container may include the heat equalizer [0011].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 20100242974 A1), Fuisz (US 20210212382 A1), and Antonopoulos (US 20230043438 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bogershausen (US 20220333818 A1).
With regard to Claim 9, Pan teaches wherein the electric heating wire is twined around the outer body heat equalizer [0028] and all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Pan is silent to:
Wherein the air flow path through the heat exchanger comprises a plurality of channels extending through the heat exchanger from the first end to the second end
Wherein a portion of the heat exchanger is positioned between the heating element and each of the channels
Bogershausen, directed to a heat exchanger with a thick film resistor, teaches (i) a heat exchanger that may be used to heat air [0045]. The heat exchanger comprises at least two tube bodies as a flow path that extends along a direction (Fig. 2: #6) between a top and bottom end of the heat exchanger (Fig. 2: #1, [0048]). (ii) A thick film resistor (Fig. 2: #11) is applied on the outer surface of the of the tube bodies (Fig. 2: #3, [0049]) to improve heating efficiency and uniformity of the heat produced by the device [0040 – 0041].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heat exchanger of modified Pan to wherein the air flow path through the heat exchanger comprises a plurality of channels extending through the heat exchanger from the first end to the second end and wherein a portion of the heat exchanger is positioned between the heating element and each of the channels because both Pan and Bogershausen are directed to increased heating efficiency using resistive materials. Bogershausen teaches a heat exchanger with multiple flow paths and located between a resistor and the flow paths to improve heating efficiency and uniformity of the heat produced by the device [0040 – 0041] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known flow techniques to yield predictable results.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 20100242974 A1), Fuisz (US 20210212382 A1), and Antonopoulos (US 20230043438 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Koide (WO 2022230866 A1, hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20240074483 A1).
With regard to Claim 10, modified Pan teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Pan is silent to:
Wherein the heat exchanger has a thermal conductivity that is equal to or greater than 30 W/m*K
Koide, directed to a non-combustion heating type flavor inhalation system, teaches wherein the material of a high heat transfer portion has a thermal conductivity equal to or higher than 50 W/m/°C to improve heating efficiency and increase the amount of smoke produced [0388].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heat exchanger of modified Pan to have a thermal conductivity that is equal to or greater than 30 W/m*K because both Pan and Koide are directed to providing efficient heat transfer to improve smoke quality. Koide teaches a thermal conductivity equal to or higher than 50 W/m/°C to improve heating efficiency and increase the amount of smoke produced [0388] and this merely involves applying a known measurement to a known heat transfer component ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 20100242974 A1), Fuisz (US 20210212382 A1), and Antonopoulos (US 20230043438 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Luo (CN 113208191 A, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation).
With regard to Claim 12, modified Pan teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Pan is silent to:
Wherein an outer surface of the heat exchanger comprises at least one of anodized aluminum or ceramic
Luo, directed to an electronic cigarette atomizing core teaches a ceramic heat exchanger for improving uniform atomization and reducing harm to the user [0069].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the outer surface of the heat exchanger of modified Pan to comprise at least one of anodized aluminum or ceramic because both Pan and Luo are directed to transferring electrical energy to heat liquid to promote uniform atomization. Luo teaches a ceramic heat exchanger for improving uniform atomization and reducing harm to the user [0069] and this merely involves applying a known material to a known heat exchanger ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 20100242974 A1), Fuisz (US 20210212382 A1), and Antonopoulos (US 20230043438 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ou (US 20210219607 A1).
With regard to Claim 14, modified Pan teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Pan is silent to:
Wherein the housing defines an outlet through which the filling chamber is accessible
Ou, directed to an atomizer and electronic cigarette, teaches wherein a user can refill a liquid storage cavity (Fig. 2: #10) through a liquid injection hole (Fig. 2: #150) on the side of the cavity housing [0069]) to lower chances of liquid waste and lower costs [0004].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the housing of modified Pan to define an outlet through which the filling chamber is accessible because both Pan and Ou are directed to solving the problem of liquid leakage and lowering costs in aerosol generating devices. Ou teaches a refillable liquid storage cavity through a liquid injection hole to lower chances of liquid waste and lower costs [0004] and this merely involves applying a known hole to a housing of a known aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 20100242974 A1), Fuisz (US 20210212382 A1), and Antonopoulos (US 20230043438 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cameron (US 9770055 B2, as cited in IDS dated 02/15/2024).
With regard to Claim 15, modified Pan teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Pan is silent to:
A temperature sensor positioned adjacent the filing chamber
Cameron, directed to an electronic vapor device, teaches a temperature sensor (Fig. 15: #1518) positioned adjacent to a container (Fig. 15: #1522) comprising vaporizable material (Fig. 15: #1530) to control the vaporization rate of the device [142].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the assembly of Pan to comprise a temperature sensor positioned adjacent the filing chamber because both Pan and Cameron are directed to improving vaporization efficiency of vaporizable material. Cameron teaches a temperature sensor adjacent to a container full of vaporizable material to control the vaporization rate of the device [142] and this merely involves applying a known sensor component to a known heating assembly ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 20100242974 A1), Fuisz (US 20210212382 A1), and Antonopoulos (US 20230043438 A1), as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Harrison (CA 3013398 A1).
With regard to Claim 18, modified Pan teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Pan is silent to:
Wherein the heat exchanger is configured to conductively heat the container
Harrison, directed to vapor delivery systems, teaches a heat exchanger that conductively heats material to be vaporized (Pg. 9, Lines 15-16) to bring it to a cool temperature for user comfort (Pg. 9, lines 10-13), wherein the material is contained within a vaporization chamber. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that conductive heating of the material would also involve conductive heat transfer of the chamber structure since the heat exchanger is positioned outside of the vaporization chamber, as seen in Figure 11.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heat exchanger of modified Pan to be configured to conductively heat the container because both Pan and Harrison are directed to improving a user smoking experience with heat transfer properties. Harrison teaches a chamber configured to be conductively heating by a heat exchanger to bring generated aerosol to a cool temperature for user comfort (Pg. 9, lines 10-13) and this merely involves applying a known heating technique to a known heat exchanger ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 20100242974 A1), Fuisz (US 20210212382 A1), and Antonopoulos (US 20230043438 A1), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Woodcock (US 20210307386 A1).
With regard to Claim 19, modified Pan teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Pan is silent to:
A second heating element that extends around at least a portion of the filling chamber
The second heating element configured to conductively heat the container
Woodcock, directed to a device for generating an inhalable medium, teaches (i) a second heater (Fig. 2: #215) that may be wire, surrounding the chamber (Fig. 2: #231a, #231b, [0078]). (ii) The second heater may be an electrically conductive element configured to heat the chambers (Fig. 2: #213a, #231b) comprising tobacco composition (Fig. 2: #214a, #241b, [0078-0080]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the assembly of modified Pan to comprise a second heating element that extends around at least a portion of the filling chamber, configured to conductively heat the container because both Pan and Woodcock are directed to uniform atomization and delivery of a substrate. Woodcock teaches a second heating element around a chamber for vaporization to provide more consistent nicotine deliver [0027] and this merely involves the user of a known second heater technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
With regard to Claim 20, modified Pan teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Pan is silent to:
Wherein the second heating element comprises at least one of a heater that is wrapped around at least a portion of the outer surface of the container, a ceramic heater, a resistance wire embedded in ceramic, a positive temperature coefficient heater, a negative temperature coefficient heater, a film printer conductor on the outer surface of the container, or a conductive material that is joined to the outer surface of the container
Woodcock, directed to a device for generating an inhalable medium, teaches a second heater (Fig. 2: #215) that may be an electrically resistive heater or ceramic heater [0078], surrounding the chamber (Fig. 2: #231a, #231b, [0078]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the assembly of modified Pan to comprise wherein the second heating element comprises at least one of a heater that is wrapped around at least a portion of the outer surface of the container, a ceramic heater, a resistance wire embedded in ceramic, a positive temperature coefficient heater, a negative temperature coefficient heater, a film printer conductor on the outer surface of the container, or a conductive material that is joined to the outer surface of the container because both Pan and Woodcock are directed to uniform atomization and delivery of a substrate. Woodcock teaches a second heating element that may be an electrically resistive heater or ceramic heater to provide more consistent nicotine deliver [0027] and this merely involves the user of a known second heater technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 20100242974 A1), Fuisz (US 20210212382 A1), and Antonopoulos (US 20230043438 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zouev (US 20220151290 A1).
With regard to Claim 21, modified Pan teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Pan is silent to:
Wherein the heat exchanger is formed from two or more separate components that are joined together
Zouev, directed to a hookah device, teaches a heat exchanger with an upper portion (Fig. 4: #18) and a lower portion (Fig. 4: #20, [0049]) fastened together by one or more bolts (Fig. 4: #22, [0049]) to provide a controlled and efficient way to heat aerosol generating material [0038].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heat exchanger of modified Pan to be formed from two or more separate components that are joined together because both Pan and Zouev are directed to avoid reaching temperatures harmful for the user. Zouev teaches a heat exchanger formed from two separate components to provide a controlled and efficient way to heat aerosol generating material [0038] and this merely involves applying a known heat exchanger separation technique to a known heat exchanger ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/O.O.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755