DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-31, 33, 35, 36, 38, 39, 41, 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al. (CN101708828A; Translation provided by Google 09/25/2025) in view of Ying et al. (Surface wetting processing on BNNT films by selective plasma modes; Chin Sci Bull September; Vol.58 No.27; 2013).
Regarding claim 22, Bai et al. teaches a method for purifying boron nitride nanotubes which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of a process for purifying boron nitride nanotube (BNNT) material to remove impurities (page 1). Bai et al. teaches the boron nitride nanotubes treated in step 1 for 0.5 hours to 6 hours under the conditions of air or oxygen flow rate of 1 L/min and temperature of 550° C. to 950° C which meets the limitation the process comprising: heating the BNNT material at a first temperature for a first duration to remove boron impurities (page 2/6). Bai et al. teaches
the oxidation is performed at a temperature of 600° C. to 900° C. for 1 hour to 5 which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of heating the BNNT material at a second temperature greater than the first temperature for a second duration to remove boron nitride impurities (page 3/6). Bai et al. teaches washed in deionized water for 0.5 hours to 10 hours, and the temperature of the deionized water is 50°C to 100°C which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of heating the BNNT material at a third temperature less than the second temperature for a third duration to remove boron oxide impurities (page 2/6). Bai et al. does not teach wherein the BNNT material is in the presence of an insert gas and a hydrogen feedstock during the first duration.
Ying et al. teaches superhydrophobic BNNT films change to hydrophilic by N2 and N2/H2 plasma, respectively (page 3405). It would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success to use inert gas and a hydrogen feed such as N2/H2 for the method of purifying taught by Bai et al. because N2/H2 does not degrade BNNT.
Regarding claim 36, Bai et al. teaches the boron nitride nanotubes treated in step 1 for 0.5 hours to 6 hours under the conditions of air or oxygen flow rate of 1 L/min and temperature of 550° C. to 950° C (page 2/6). It is the position of the Office air contains water vapor and hydrogen gas and thus meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of wherein the hydrogen feedstock is at least one of water vapor and hydrogen gas.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 32, 34, 37 and 40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GUINEVER S GREGORIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 09/25/2025