DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 43-48, 52-59 and 63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (US 20170215827) in view of Cha (US 20190344770).
Regarding claim 1, Johnson teaches an imaging system comprising:
a scanner 10;
a plurality of powered wheels 62 mounted to the base of the scanner (figures 1and 11),
a handling for providing omnidirectional drive to the plurality of powered wheels;
wherein the handling comprises a left side (13 15 on left) and a right side (13 15 on right), and further wherein the drive bar is configured such that: when the right side of the handling and the left side of the drive bar are both pressed forwardly, the plurality of powered wheels move the scanner forwardly; when the right side of the drive bar and the left side of the handling are both pulled rearwardly, the plurality of powered wheels move the scanner rearwardly; when the right side of the handling is pressed forwardly and the left side of the drive bar is pulled rearwardly, the plurality of powered wheels rotate the scanner to the left;(iv) when the right side of the handling is pulled rearwardly and the left side of the drive bar is pushed forwardly, the plurality of powered wheels rotate the scanner to the right (para 60+).
However Johnson fails to teach the handle is a drive bar and when the right side of the handling is lifted upwardly and the left side of the drive bar is pushed downwardly, the plurality of powered wheels move the scanner laterally to the left; and when the right side of the drive bar is pushed downwardly and the left side of the drive bar is pulled upwardly, the plurality of powered wheels move the scanner laterally to the right.
Cha teaches the driver bar 20 and when the right side of the handling is lifted upwardly and the left side of the drive bar is pushed downwardly, the plurality of powered wheels move the scanner laterally to the left; and when the right side of the drive bar is pushed downwardly and the left side of the drive bar is pulled upwardly, the plurality of powered wheels move the scanner laterally to the right (para 41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the handling of Bailey with the drive bar as taught by Cha, since it would better device maneuver.
Regarding claim 43, Johnson teaches each of the plurality of powered wheels comprises a plurality of rollers (para 70-73).
Regarding claim 44, Johnson teaches the plurality of rollers are oriented 45 degrees to the axis of rotation of the plurality of powered wheels (para 70-73).
Regarding claim 45, Johnson teaches each of the plurality of powered wheels is independently rotatable (para 70-73).
Regarding claim 46, Johnson teaches at least one of the plurality of powered wheels rotates at a different speed than another one of the plurality of powered wheels (para 70-73).
Regarding claim 47, Johnson teaches at least one sensor for sensing movement of the drive bar (para 70-73).
Regarding claim 48, Johnson teaches the at least one sensor is configured to detect the following motions of the drive bar: left side forward, left side back, left side up, left side down, right side forward, right side back, right side up and right side down (para 70-73).
Regarding claim 52, Johnson teaches the scanner comprises a CT machine (figure 1).
Regarding claim 53, Johnson teaches a method for scanning an object, the method comprising: providing an imaging system, the imaging system comprising: a scanner; a plurality of powered wheels mounted to the base of the scanner; and a handling for providing omnidirectional drive to the plurality of powered wheels;
wherein the handling comprises a left side (13 15 on left) and a right side (13 15 on right), and further wherein the drive bar is configured such that: when the right side of the handling and the left side of the drive bar are both pressed forwardly, the plurality of powered wheels move the scanner forwardly; when the right side of the drive bar and the left side of the handling are both pulled rearwardly, the plurality of powered wheels move the scanner rearwardly; when the right side of the handling is pressed forwardly and the left side of the drive bar is pulled rearwardly, the plurality of powered wheels rotate the scanner to the left;(iv) when the right side of the handling is pulled rearwardly and the left side of the drive bar is pushed forwardly, the plurality of powered wheels rotate the scanner to the right (para 60+).
However Johnson fails to teach the handle is a drive bar and when the right side of the handling is lifted upwardly and the left side of the drive bar is pushed downwardly, the plurality of powered wheels move the scanner laterally to the left; and when the right side of the drive bar is pushed downwardly and the left side of the drive bar is pulled upwardly, the plurality of powered wheels move the scanner laterally to the right.
Cha teaches the driver bar 20 and when the right side of the handling is lifted upwardly and the left side of the drive bar is pushed downwardly, the plurality of powered wheels move the scanner laterally to the left; and when the right side of the drive bar is pushed downwardly and the left side of the drive bar is pulled upwardly, the plurality of powered wheels move the scanner laterally to the right (para 41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the handling of Bailey with the drive bar as taught by Cha, since it would better device maneuver.
Regarding claim 54, Johnson teaches each of the plurality of powered wheels comprises a plurality of rollers (para 70-73).
Regarding claim 55, Johnson teaches the plurality of rollers are oriented 45 degrees to the axis of rotation of the plurality of powered wheels (para 70-73).
Regarding claim 56, Johnson teaches each of the plurality of powered wheels is independently rotatable (para 70-73).
Regarding claim 57, Johnson teaches at least one of the plurality of powered wheels rotates at a different speed than another one of the plurality of powered wheels (para 70-73).
Regarding claim 58, Johnson teaches at least one sensor for sensing movement of the drive bar (para 70-73).
Regarding claim 59, Johnson teaches the at least one sensor is configured to detect the following motions of the drive bar: left side forward, left side back, left side up, left side down, right side forward, right side back, right side up and right side down (para 70-73).
Regarding claim 63, Johnson teaches the scanner comprises a CT machine (figure 1).
Claim(s) 49-51 and 60-62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Gemmel et al. (US 20160296185).
Regarding claims 49 and 60, Johnson fails to teach a collision sensor system for detecting the presence of an obstacle in the drive path of the scanner or alongside the scanner.
Gemmel teaches a collision sensor system S for detecting the presence of an obstacle in the drive path of the scanner or alongside the scanner (para 61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the scanner of Johnson with the collision sensor system as taught by Gemmel, since it would provide better safety.
Regarding claims 50 and 61, Gemmel teaches the collision sensor system comprises an ultrasound sensor (para 61).
Regarding claims 51 and 62, Gemmel teaches the collision sensor system detects the presence of an obstacle in the drive path of the scanner or alongside the scanner, the collision sensor system responds by causing at least one of the following actions: sounding an alarm and automatically decreasing the speed of the plurality of powered wheels (par 69).
Regarding claim 60, Gemmel teaches a collision sensor system for detecting the presence of an obstacle in the drive path of the scanner or alongside the scanner (figure 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 43-63 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOON K SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884