DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 05/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 03/14/2023 and 07/12/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 03/14/2023 were reviewed and are acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 03/14/2023 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lohe et al. (US 20230251325 A1, hereinafter Lohe).
Regarding Claim 1, Lohe discloses the limitations regarding a battery assembly (Lohe, battery pack, [0018]) comprising:
an enclosure (Lohe, Battery pack 100 may also include a side wall and end panels, [0050-0051]);
first and second battery modules within the enclosure (Lohe, battery pack 100 may include a plurality of battery modules, [0018]) wherein each of the first battery module and the second battery module comprises
(i) an array of battery cells (Lohe, each battery module 104a-n may include a plurality battery cell 304, [0018]),
(ii) a first sensor configured to measure a first parameter of the corresponding battery module (Lohe, battery management component 136 includes a module monitor unit (MMU) 124, and MMU 124 may include a sensor, which may be configured to detect and/or measure condition parameter, [0020]), and
(iii) a first processor configured to receive first sensor data from the first sensor of the corresponding battery module (Lohe, MMU 124 may include, without limitation, a control circuit configured to perform and/or direct any actions performed by MMU 124 and/or any other component and/or element described in this disclosure; control circuit may include any analog or digital control circuit, including without limitation a combinational and/or synchronous logic circuit, a processor, microprocessor, microcontroller, or the like, [0040]);
a second sensor within the enclosure and configured to measure a second parameter of the battery assembly (Lohe, battery management component 136 may include a sensor suite 200 having a plurality of sensor and sensor 116 may include a sensor suite 200 or one or more individual sensors, [0020, 0043], Figure 2),
the second sensor external to the first and second battery modules (Lohe, sensor suite 200 may be disposed in or on a portion of battery pack 100 near battery modules or battery cells, [0052]); and
a second processor within the enclosure and configured to
(i) receive first processor data from the first processor of the first battery module and from the first processor of the second battery module (Lohe, PMU 128a may receive a plurality of measurement data associated with various states of a battery module 104 from MMU 124a. Similarly, PMU 128b may receive a plurality of measurement data from MMU 124b, [0023]),
(ii) receive second sensor data from the second sensor (Lohe, Sensor 116 may be communicatively connected to controller 140 of PMU 128 so that sensor 116 may transmit/receive signals to/from controller 140, respectively, [0043]), and
(iii) transmit controller input data to a controller external to the battery assembly, the controller input data based on (A) the first processor data from the first processors of the first and second battery modules and (B) the second sensor data (Lohe, PMU 128 may be configured to communicate with an electric aircraft, such as a flight controller of electric aircraft 108, using a controller area network (CAN), such as by using a CAN transceiver 424, wherein a controller area network may include a bus. Bus may include an electrical bus. Bus may refer to power busses, audio busses, video busses, computing address busses, and/or data busses. Bus may be additionally or alternatively responsible for conveying electrical signals generated by any number of components within battery pack 100 to any destination on or offboard an electric aircraft, [0052], Figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lohe et al. (US 20230251325 A1, hereinafter Lohe), as applied to Claim 1 above, and in view of Katrak (US 20170373357 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Lohe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Lohe discloses the limitations regarding a battery assembly (Lohe, battery pack, [0018]), wherein the first processor of the first battery module is configured to: generate a digital signal, based on a sense signal received from the first sensor of the first battery module (Lohe, usable form of output signals from MMUs and/or sensors, through processor may be either digital, analog, a combination thereof, or an otherwise unstated form, [0025]);
and transmit, as the first processor data from the first processor of the first battery module, the digital signal to the second processor (Lohe, measurement datum may be transmitted by MMU 124 to PMU 128 so that PMU 128 may receive measurement datum, [0022]).
Lohe is silent regarding the first processor of the first battery module is configured to: generate a discrete signal, based on a sense signal received from the first sensor of the first battery module; and transmit, as the first processor data from the first processor of the first battery module, the discrete signal to the second processor.
Katrak discloses a battery assembly (Katrak, battery module, Abstract), wherein the first processor of the first battery module (Katrak, the second microcontroller 602 includes a microprocessor 650, an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) 660, and voltage comparators measuring the first, second, and third battery cells, [0022, 0076]) is configured to:
generate a discrete signal (Katrak, the second microcontroller 602 sets a fault line 606 from a first fault line voltage to a second fault line voltage if at least one of the first, second, and third output voltages of the first, second, and third battery cells 100, 102, 104, respectively, of the battery module 40 are greater than the voltage comparator threshold voltage, [0052]) and a digital signal, based on a sense signal received from the first sensor of the first battery module (Katrak, the analog-to-digital converter 660 generates an output voltage value based on the measured output voltage, [0026]); and
transmit, as the first processor data from the first processor of the first battery module, the discrete signal and the digital signal to the second processor (Katrak, the second microcontroller 602 sends the first, second, and third output voltage values and the first battery module output voltage value to the first microcontroller 600 utilizing a communication bus 604, and the fault line 606 which is electrically coupled to the analog-to-digital converter 633, [0021]).
Katrak teaches that an advantage of the diagnostic system is that the system utilizes two independent types of flags (i.e., battery cell analog overvoltage flags and a battery module overvoltage flag) to have diagnostic diversity to determine when a contactor electrically coupled to a battery module is to be transitioned to an open operational state (Katrak, [0011]).
Lohe and Katrak are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a battery monitoring system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a diagnostic system that utilizes two independent types of flags, as taught by Katrak, in the battery pack of Lohe, in order to have diagnostic diversity to determine when a contactor electrically coupled to a battery module is to be transitioned to an open operational state.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Lohe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Lohe discloses the limitations regarding a battery assembly (Lohe, battery pack, [0018]), wherein the discrete signal is indicative of whether the sense signal indicates a fault condition (Katrak, the second microcontroller 602 sets a fault line 606 from a first fault line voltage to a second fault line voltage if at least one of the first, second, and third output voltages of the first, second, and third battery cells 100, 102, 104, respectively, of the battery module 40 are greater than the voltage comparator threshold voltage, [0052]), and wherein
the digital signal is indicative of a value of the first parameter represented by the sense signal (Katrak, the second microcontroller 602 sends the first, second, and third output voltage values and the first battery module output voltage value to the first microcontroller 600 utilizing a communication bus 604, [0078]).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Lohe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Lohe discloses the limitations regarding a battery assembly (Lohe, battery pack, [0018]), wherein one of:
the first parameter is a voltage output by the array of battery cells of the first battery module, and the fault condition is an under-voltage condition or an over-voltage condition (Katrak, the first battery cell analog overvoltage flag associated with the first battery cell 100 is set equal to the first battery cell analog overvoltage flag value “001 ” if an overvoltage condition (corresponding to the first battery cell 100 having an output voltage value greater than a first threshold voltage value) is detected in the first battery cell 100, [0055]); or
the first parameter is a temperature, and the fault condition is an over-temperature condition (Lohe, critical event elements may include overtemperature, [0022]).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Lohe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Lohe discloses the limitations regarding a battery assembly (Lohe, battery pack, [0018]), wherein the data received by the second processor from the second sensor (Lohe, sensor suite 200 may be disposed in or on a portion of battery pack 100 near battery modules or battery cells, [0052]) is in the form of a discrete sense signal received from the second sensor (Katrak, the second microcontroller 602 sets a fault line 606 from a first fault line voltage to a second fault line voltage, [0052]), wherein
a first state of the discrete sense signal is indicative of a fault condition (Katrak, The battery module overvoltage flag is set equal to the first battery module overvoltage flag value “10100110” if an overvoltage condition is detected in the battery module 40, [0061]), and a second state of the discrete sense signal is indicative of no fault condition being sensed (Katrak, the battery module overvoltage flag is initially set equal to the initialization value “11111111” which indicates that no overvoltage condition is initially detected in the battery module 40, [0060]).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Lohe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Lohe discloses the limitations regarding a battery assembly (Lohe, battery pack, [0018]), wherein the fault condition is at least one of:
an outgassing event in which outgas beyond a threshold level is detected within the battery assembly (Lohe, sensor suite 200 may include a sensor configured to detect gas that may be emitted during or after a cell failure, [0035]); or
a pressure release event in which a pressure relief device within the enclosure (Lohe, if a fluid accumulation level is detected that is then determined to exceed a predetermined byproduct threshold, then high voltage disconnect 132 may terminate power supply connection 112, [0047]) has released gas pressure from the enclosure (Lohe, a vent of battery pack 100 may be opened to circulate air through battery pack 100 and reduce detected gas levels. Additionally, vent of battery module 104 may have a vacuum applied to aid in venting of a byproduct, [0047]).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Lohe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Lohe discloses the limitations regarding a system (Lohe, battery management system, [0016]) comprising:
a battery assembly (Lohe, battery pack, [0018]) comprising (i) a plurality of battery cells (Lohe, each battery module 104a-n may include a plurality battery cell 304, [0018]),
(ii) a sensor configured to measure a parameter within the battery assembly and generate sensing data (Lohe, battery management component 136 includes a module monitor unit (MMU) 124, and MMU 124 may include a sensor, which may be configured to detect and/or measure condition parameter, [0020]), and
(iii) a processor (Lohe, MMU 124 may include, without limitation, a control circuit configured to perform and/or direct any actions performed by MMU 124 and/or any other component and/or element described in this disclosure; control circuit may include any analog or digital control circuit, including without limitation a combinational and/or synchronous logic circuit, a processor, microprocessor, microcontroller, or the like, [0040]) configured to transmit a first discrete signal (Katrak, the second microcontroller 602 sets a fault line 606 from a first fault line voltage to a second fault line voltage if at least one of the first, second, and third output voltages of the first, second, and third battery cells 100, 102, 104, respectively, of the battery module 40 are greater than the voltage comparator threshold voltage, [0052]) and
a first digital signal (Katrak, the second microcontroller 602 sends the first, second, and third output voltage values and the first battery module output voltage value to the first microcontroller 600 utilizing a communication bus 604, [0078]) to a controller, wherein the first discrete signal and the first digital signal are based on the sensing data;
the controller external to the battery assembly (Lohe, PMU 128 may be configured to communicate with an electric aircraft, such as a flight controller of electric aircraft 108, using a controller area network (CAN), such as by using a CAN transceiver 424, [0052]);
a load, wherein the battery assembly is configured to supply power to the load (Katrak, The DC-AC inverter 22 is electrically coupled to and between the contactors 52, 54, and provides AC power to the electric motor 24 via the electrical lines 530, 532, 534, only when the contactors 52, 54 each have a closed operational state, [0019]); and
a switch between the battery assembly and the load (Katrak, the contactor 52 is electrically coupled in series between the positive battery module terminal 106 and the DC-AC inverter 22. The contactor 52 includes a contactor coil 500 and a contact 502, [0017]); wherein
the controller is configured to, responsive to the first discrete signal and/or the first digital signal being indicative of a fault condition within the battery assembly (Katrak, the first microcontroller 600 transitions the contactor 52 to an open operational state if the first battery cell analog overvoltage flag is equal to the first battery cell analog overvoltage flag value or the second battery cell analog overvoltage flag equal to the second battery cell analog overvoltage flag value or the third battery cell analog overvoltage flag equal to the third battery cell analog overvoltage flag value, [0082]), transmit a second discrete signal and a second digital signal to the switch, to cause the switch to disconnect the load from the battery assembly (Katrak, when the first microcontroller 600 stops generating the first and second control signals, the voltage drivers 60, 62 de-energize the contactor coil 500, which moves the contact 502 to an open operational state, [0017]).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lohe et al. (US 20230251325 A1, hereinafter Lohe), in view of Katrak (US 20170373357 A1), as applied to Claim 7 above, and further in view of Abe et al. (US 20120235687 A1, hereinafter Abe).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Lohe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Lohe discloses the limitations regarding a system (Lohe, battery management system, [0016]), wherein the switch is a first switch (Katrak, the contactor 52 is electrically coupled in series between the positive battery module terminal 106 and the DC-AC inverter 22, [0017]), and wherein
the system further comprises: a voltage converter to receive a first voltage from the battery assembly, and output a second voltage, wherein the voltage converter is coupled between the battery assembly and the load (Katrak, The battery system 20 provides a DC voltage to the DC-AC inverter 22, which provides AC power to the electric motor 24 via the electrical lines 530, 532, 534, [0018-0019]); and
the first switch is between the battery assembly and the voltage converter (Katrak, the contactor 52 is electrically coupled in series between the positive battery module terminal 106 and the DC-AC inverter 22, [0017]).
Modified Lohe is silent regarding a second switch, wherein the second switch is between the voltage converter and the load.
Abe discloses a system (Abe, electrical storage system, Abstract), comprising a second switch (Abe, the load side breaker 26 is a power interrupting device, [0047], Figure 1), wherein the second switch is between the voltage converter and the load (Abe, the load side breaker 26 is disposed close to the DC load 18 between the electrical storage system 10 and the DC load 18, and direct current power from the electrical storage device 30 or other devices is being supplied via the DC/DC converter 28 to the DC load 18, [0047], Figure 1).
Abe teaches that the load-side breaker can interrupt a flow of power when a current of the predetermined interruption threshold or higher is fed (Abe, [0053]).
Modified Lohe and Abe are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards an electrical storage system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery pack of modified Lohe to include the load-side breaker that is disposed close to the DC load between the electrical storage system and the DC load, as taught by Abe, in order to interrupt a flow of power when a current of the predetermined interruption threshold or higher is fed.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Lohe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Lohe discloses the limitations regarding a system (Lohe, battery management system, [0016]), wherein the controller is further configured to, responsive to the first discrete signal and/or the first digital signal being indicative of the fault condition within the battery assembly (Katrak, the first microcontroller 600 transitions the contactor 52 to an open operational state if the first battery cell analog overvoltage flag is equal to the first battery cell analog overvoltage flag value, [0082]),
transmit a third discrete signal and a third digital signal to the second switch, to cause the second switch to disconnect the load from the voltage converter (Abe, the automatic load side breaker 26 is connected to the control block 80 through a communication line for transferring a status signal, thereby allowing the control block 80 to know whether the load side breaker 26 is in the connected state or in the interrupted state, and disconnection is based on an interruption signal from the control block, [0048]).
Claim(s) 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lohe et al. (US 20230251325 A1, hereinafter Lohe), in view of Katrak (US 20170373357 A1), as applied to Claim 7 above, and further in view of Fuhr et al. (US 20120003522 A1, hereinafter Fuhr).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Lohe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Lohe discloses the limitations regarding a system (Lohe, battery management system, [0016]), wherein
the sensor is a first sensor, the processor is a first processor, the sensing data is first sensing data (Lohe, MMU 124 may include sensor 116 or sensor suite 200 configured to measure physical and/or electrical parameters, such as without limitation temperature, voltage, orientation, or the like, of one or more battery cells 304, [0041]), and wherein
(iii) the first sensor (Lohe, MMU 124 may include sensor 116 or sensor suite 200 configured to measure physical and/or electrical parameters, such as without limitation temperature, voltage, orientation, or the like, of one or more battery cells 304, [0041]), and
(iv) a second processor configured to receive the first sensing data from the first sensor (Lohe, PMU 128 includes controller 140, which is configured to receive measurement datum from MMU 124, [0023]); and
a second battery module (Lohe, battery module 104a-n, [0022]) comprising
(iii) a second sensor (Lohe, MMU 124 may include sensor 116 or sensor suite 200 configured to measure physical and/or electrical parameters, such as without limitation temperature, voltage, orientation, or the like, of one or more battery cells 304, [0041]), and
(iv) a third processor (Lohe, each battery module 104a-n may include one or more MMUs 124, [0022]) configured to receive second sensing data from the second sensor (Lohe, PMU 128b may receive a plurality of measurement data from MMU 124b, [0023]).
Modified Lohe is silent regarding a battery assembly comprising (i) a second cold plate, (ii) a second subset of the plurality of battery cells arranged adjacent to the second cold plate, and a second battery module comprising (i) a second cold plate, (ii) a second subset of the plurality of battery cells arranged adjacent to the second cold plate.
Fuhr discloses a system (Fuhr, battery system, Title) comprising a battery assembly (Fuhr, battery module, Abstract) comprising
(i) a first cold plate (Fuhr, a first thermal plate, [0009]),
(ii) a first subset of the plurality of battery cells arranged adjacent to the first cold plate (Fuhr, a first thermal plate provided adjacent a first side of the battery module, and a battery module includes a plurality of electrochemical cells, [0009]), and
a second battery module (Fuhr, two battery modules, [0035]) comprising
(i) a second cold plate (Fuhr, first thermal plate, [0009]; the Examiner notes that the disclosed first thermal plate of the second battery module corresponds to the claimed second cold plate),
(ii) a second subset of the plurality of battery cells arranged adjacent to the second cold plate (Fuhr, a first thermal plate provided adjacent a first side of the battery module, and a battery module includes a plurality of electrochemical cells, [0009]).
Fuhr teaches that thermal plates improve the cooling of the battery cells (Fuhr, [0068]).
Modified Lohe and Fuhr are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a battery system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery pack of modified Lohe to include the thermal plates of Fuhr, in order to improve cooling of the battery cells.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Lohe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Lohe discloses the limitations regarding a system (Lohe, battery management system, [0016]), wherein the first battery module further comprises a third cold plate (Fuhr, a second thermal plate provided adjacent a second side of the battery module opposite that of the first side of the battery module, [0009]), and wherein
individual battery cells of the first subset of the plurality of battery cells extend laterally from near the first cold plate to near the third cold plate (Fuhr, the thermal plates 61, 62 may be configured as upper and lower trays that receive the cells, [0049]).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Lohe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Lohe discloses the limitations regarding a system (Lohe, battery management system, [0016]), wherein the second processor is configured to generate the first discrete signal (Katrak, the first microcontroller 600 generates first and second control signals that are received by the voltage drivers 60, 62, respectively, [0017]) and the first digital signal (Katrak, the first microcontroller sets the first battery cell analog overvoltage flag equal to the first battery cell analog overvoltage flag value if the first output voltage value is greater than a first threshold voltage value, [0003]), and
transmit the first discrete signal and the first digital signal to the first processor (Katrak, the microprocessor 630 operably communicates with the microprocessor 650 of the second microcontroller 602 via the communication bus 604, and the fault line 606 which is electrically coupled to the analog-to-digital converter 633, [0021]).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Lohe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Lohe discloses the limitations regarding a system (Lohe, battery management system, [0016]), wherein the first battery module, the second battery module, and the processor are within an enclosure (Lohe, battery management component 136 may be integrated into battery pack 100, [0019]).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Lohe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Lohe discloses the limitations regarding a system (Lohe, battery management system, [0016]), wherein the parameter is a first parameter (Lohe, MMU 124 may include a thermistor 312 to detect a temperature of a corresponding battery module 104, [0038]), and wherein
the system further comprises: a third sensor within the battery assembly and external to each of the first battery module and the second battery module (Lohe, sensor suite 200 may be disposed in or on a portion of battery pack 100 near battery modules, [0052]),
the third sensor configured to (i) measure a second parameter (Lohe, sensor suite 200 includes a moisture sensor 204, [0031]),
(ii) generate a third discrete signal indicative of the second parameter (Lohe, if a fluid accumulation level is detected that is then determined to exceed a predetermined byproduct threshold, then high voltage disconnect 132 may terminate power supply connection 112, [0047]) (Katrak, the second microcontroller 602 sets a fault line 606 from a first fault line voltage to a second fault line voltage if at least one of the first, second, and third output voltages of the first, second, and third battery cells 100, 102, 104, respectively, of the battery module 40 are greater than the voltage comparator threshold voltage, [0052]), and
(iii) transmit the third discrete signal to the first processor (Lohe, condition characteristics of battery module 104 may be detected by sensor 116, which may be communicatively connected to MMU 124, [0043]).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Lohe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Lohe discloses the limitations regarding a system (Lohe, battery management system, [0016]), wherein the third sensor is one of (i) an outgas sensor configured to sense an outgas event of one or more battery cells of the plurality of battery cells (Lohe, sensor suite 200 may include a sensor configured to detect gas that may be emitted during or after a cell failure, [0035]), or
(ii) a pressure relief sensor indicative of whether a pressure relief device within the enclosure has released gas pressure from the enclosure (Lohe, a vent of battery pack 100 may be opened to circulate air through battery pack 100 and reduce detected gas levels, [0047]).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Lohe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Lohe discloses the limitations regarding a system (Lohe, battery management system, [0016]), wherein the first sensor is one of
(i) a voltage sensor configured to sense a voltage of one or more battery cells of the first subset of the plurality of battery cells of the first battery module (Lohe, sensor suite 200 may include electrical sensors 208. Electrical sensors 208 may be configured to measure voltage across a component, electrical current through a component, and resistance of a component, [0032]), or
(ii) a temperature sensor to measure a temperature of the first battery module (Lohe, MMU 124 may include a thermistor 312 to detect a temperature of a corresponding battery module 104, [0038]).
Conclusion
/K.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752