Status of Claims
Claims 112,122,125 and 205-221 are pending and under examination in this office action. Claims 205-221 are newly added.
The rejection of Claims 112, 114, 122 and 125 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph written description is withdrawn based on the amendment to the claims and argument.
The rejection of Claim(s) 112, 114, 122 and 125 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Varner et al. (US 2006/0257451) is withdrawn based on Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 112,122,125 and 205-221 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varner et al. (US 2006/0257451) in view of Jarrett et al. (US 2016/0331738) and Hussain. Et al. (Stargardt Macular Dystrophy and evolving therapies)
With regard to instant claim 112, Varner teaches treating eyes (see abstract) wherein the ocular disease is neovascularization; inflammation, retinal degenerations, specifically choiroidal vasculature, diabetic retinopathy (see 0003, 0009 and 0162 as required by instant claims 112 and 125) and the length of the implant is taught to be no greater than 5 mm, which reads on the length of less than 17 mm as claimed in instant claim 112) delivered via intravitreal (see 0011), subconjunctival (see 0232, as required by instant claim 122). Additionally Varner teaches the hydrogel comprises a polymer unit comprising polyethylene glycol (see 0106), comprising repeating polyethylene units ranging from 100 to 500 kilodalton (when converted falls within the recited range of claims 206-208, see 0094), wherein the implant is a fiber (see 0037, as required by instant claim 218).
However Verna fails to teach the sustained release biodegradable ocular implant comprising a hydrogel and avacincaptad pegol.
Jarrett et al. teach a sustained release biodegradable ocular implant comprising a hydrogel and an active agent a C5 agent, wherein the particles are dispersed within the hydrogel (see abstract) for treating eye disease (i.e., diabetic macular edema, see 0133, as required by instant claim 125) wherein hydrogels are formed by crosslinking to form network (see 0065) with a molecular weight ranging from 2,000 (as required by instant claim 208) and also can range from 5000-50,000 Dalton (as required by instant claims 209-211, see 0091) having multi-arms of polyethylene glycol units (see 0074) from 2-100 arms (see 0081, as required by instant claim 212-216) and administered via a needle (see 0064; 0137 as required by instant claim 219-220).
Hussain teaches avacincaptad pegol is a C5agent, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would substitute the generic teaching of c5 agent taught by Jarrett with Hussain’s C5 agent avacincaptad pegol with a reasonable expectation of success.
With regards to instant claim 221, the combination using the C5 agent taught by Hussain would have resulted in the claimed matter of 221.
One would have been motivated to combine these references and make the modification because they are drawn to same technical fields (constituted with same ingredients and share common utilities, and pertinent to the problem which applicant concerns about. MPEP 2141.01(a).
Applicant’s argument have been considered and moot based on the rejections made.
Double Patenting
Claims 112,122,125 and 205-221 are provisionally rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 112 159-226 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18033689 in view of the above 35 USC 103 above. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The reasons are as follows:
· The claims of the instant refers to the method comprising administering to the patient a sustained release biodegradable ocular implant comprising a hydrogel and an active agent, wherein active agent particles are dispersed within the hydrogel, and wherein the implant in its dry state has a length of less than about 17 mm, wherein the active agent is not a tyrosine kinsase inhibitor and the copending claims are to a sustained release biodegradable ocular implant comprising a hydrogel and an active agent, wherein active agent particles are dispersed within the hydrogel, and wherein the implant in its dry state has a length of less than about 17 mm, wherein the active agent is not a tyrosine kinsase inhibitor..
· As to the copending application claims, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art would have been used the composition claims of the copending in practicing the instant claims with a reasonable expectation of success, therefore are part of the obvious variation of the copending application claims compared to the current application claims.
In view of the foregoing, the copending application claims and the current application claims are obvious variations.
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIRLEY V GEMBEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615 3/3/26