Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed March 14th, 2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Typo 1: In paragraph 0001, “crooks and nannies” should read “nooks and crannies”
Typo 2: In paragraph 0003, “crook and nanny” should read “nook and cranny”
Typo 3: In paragraph 0006, “because it aqueous” should read “because it is aqueous”
Appropriate correction is required.
The use of the term 1233Z, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 and claim 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hulse (US 20140261565 A1).
With regard to claim 1 and claim 2, Hulse discloses cleaning methods and solvent compositions (see Abstract). Hulse further discloses a method of providing a solvent composition comprising at least 50wt% of 1233zd (see claim 1) and the method step of contacting the composition with a metal part of an aircraft through spraying (see claim 2). Hulse further discloses HCFO-1233zd as general 1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoro-propene and further teaches HCFO-1233zd includes within its scope cis HCFO-1233zd, also referred to as 1233zd(Z) (see [0020]). Hulse further teaches the composition may consist essentially of either 1233zd(E) or 1233zd(Z) (see [0022]), which were found to provide unexpected advantageous properties when used (see [0022]). While the examples disclosed describe further solvents, such as methanol (see Examples 150-152) or ethanol (see Examples 154-156), the combination disclosed in the instant claims would have been obvious as Hulse states that the composition may consist essentially of 1233zd(Z). The reference does not explicitly state only two components, however, Hulse states that according to some aspects of the invention, the solvent includes a co-solvent (see [0025]). This is stated as “some aspects” and therefore would lead to a conclusion that not all aspects of the invention must contain this co-solvent. Lastly, Hulse discloses the method may comprise spraying a metal part utilizing the above solvent as a propellant or pressurized gases, such as nitrogen and carbon dioxide (see [0025]).
Conclusion
/B.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761