DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15 – 18 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/20/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 5/28/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the rejection of claims 1 – 5 and 8 – 12 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rosenstein et al. (WO 2012/116161 A1; hereinafter “Rosenstein”), Applicant alleges that Rosenstein does not anticipate the claimed apparatus. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Regarding claims 1 and 8, the Rosenstein teaches all of the positively recited structure of the apparatus as claimed. The term “electrolyte” associated with a reservoir in the claims merely indicates the function of the reservoir. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus. The recitation of a new intended use, for an old product, does not make a claim to that old product patentable. The Courts have held that if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). See MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g). Furthermore, the claims still do not exclude the apparatus structure taught by the prior art.
Guan et al. (US 2015/0259724 A1; hereinafter “Guan”) merely incorporates the use of a single protease nanopore for sensing that is very well known in the art (e.g., paragraphs 9 – 11). The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a single protease nanopore for the disclosed apparatus.
The objections to claims 6 and 13 have been withdrawn.
Applicant states in the Introduction section of the remarks that claims 5 and 22 have been canceled. However, in the amended set of claims filed, claim 5 is still indicated as “Original” and apparently not canceled. Also, there is no claim 22 present. There was no claim 22 present in the original set of claims filed 3/14/2023.
Applicant states in the Introduction section of the remarks that claim 16 was amended. However, in the amended set of claims filed, claim 16 is still indicated as “Withdrawn” and apparently not amended.
No drawings were received in the last response by Applicant. Therefore, this objection to the drawings is maintained.
Applicant added new dependent claims 19 and 20.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the each of the recited features of the claimed system must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Note Regarding Prior Art
Examiner cites particular sections, columns, line numbers, paragraphs and figures, in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 5 and 8 – 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rosenstein et al. (WO 2012/116161 A1; hereinafter “Rosenstein”).
Regarding claim 1, Rosenstein teaches a system apparatus structure (pages 14 and 15; figures 18 and 19) comprising:
a cavity (the top volume connecting the two V-shaped well structures each comprising a nanopore at their respective bottom);
a plurality of nanopores (two nanopores at the bottom of each of the two V-shaped well structures) separated by the cavity; and
a plurality of reservoir structures, which are structurally equivalent to the recited electrolyte reservoirs (the two V-shaped well structures each comprising a nanopore at their respective bottom, and capable of holding an electrolyte) capable of holding an electrolyte or fluid, each of the reservoirs being provided (i) on a side of a respective one of the nanopores, and (ii) within the cavity.
The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus. The recitation of a new intended use, for an old product, does not make a claim to that old product patentable. The Courts have held that if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). See MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g).
Regarding claim 2, Rosenstein teaches the system of claim 1, wherein at least one of the nanopores is fabricated with two-dimensional materials (e.g., a silicon nitride membrane; pages 14 – 16).
Regarding claim 3, Rosenstein teaches the system of claim 1, wherein at least one of the nanopores is fabricated in a silicon nitride membrane (e.g., a silicon nitride membrane; pages 14 – 16).
Regarding claim 4, Rosenstein teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the particular ones of the reservoirs provided on the sides nanopores are denoted as a cis chamber and a trans chamber, respectively (figure 19; see also figure 5A).
Regarding claim 5, Rosenstein teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising a nanowell positioned at one of entrances of at least one of the nanopores (the two V-shaped well structures each comprising a nanopore at their respective bottom; figure 19).
Regarding claim 8, Rosenstein teaches a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) integrated circuit, comprising:
a plurality of systems for detecting a molecular size and a molecular charge, at least one of the systems comprising:
a cavity (the top volume connecting the two V-shaped well structures each comprising a nanopore at their respective bottom),
a plurality of nanopores separated by the cavity (two nanopores at the bottom of each of the two V-shaped well structures), and
a plurality of reservoir structures, which are structurally equivalent to the recited electrolyte reservoirs (the two V-shaped well structures each comprising a nanopore at their respective bottom, and capable of holding an electrolyte) capable of holding an electrolyte or fluid, each of the reservoirs being provided (i) on a side of a respective one of the nanopores, and (ii) within the cavity (the two V-shaped well structures each comprising a nanopore at their respective bottom, and capable of holding an electrolyte), wherein the systems are integrated onto a surface of the circuit (page 8); and
a plurality of transimpedance amplifiers (page 2) configured to measure a conductance through the nanopores.
The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus. The recitation of a new intended use, for an old product, does not make a claim to that old product patentable. The Courts have held that if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). See MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g).
Regarding claim 9, Rosenstein teaches the CMOS integrated circuit of claim 8, wherein at least one of the nanopores is fabricated with two-dimensional materials (e.g., a silicon nitride membrane; pages 14 – 16).
Regarding claim 10, Rosenstein teaches the CMOS integrated circuit of claim 8, wherein at least one of the nanopores is fabricated in a silicon nitride membrane (e.g., a silicon nitride membrane; pages 14 – 16).
Regarding claim 11, Rosenstein teaches the CMOS integrated circuit of claim 8, wherein the particular ones of the reservoirs provided on the sides nanopores are denoted as a cis chamber and a trans chamber, respectively (figure 19; see also figure 5A).
Regarding claim 12, Rosenstein teaches the CMOS integrated circuit of claim 8, wherein the at least one of the systems comprises a nanowell positioned at one of entrances of at least one of the nanopores (the two V-shaped well structures each comprising a nanopore at their respective bottom; figure 19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenstein et al. (WO 2012/116161 A1; hereinafter “Rosenstein”) in view of Guan et al. (US 2015/0259724 A1; hereinafter “Guan”).
Regarding claim 6, Rosenstein does not specifically teach the system of claim 1, further comprising a single protease nanopore.
However, Guan teaches a sensing apparatus comprising a single protease nanopore for sensing (e.g., paragraphs 9 – 11). The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a single protease nanopore for the disclosed apparatus.
Regarding claim 7, Rosenstein does not specifically teach the system of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of proteases positioned in a well.
However, Guan teaches a sensing apparatus comprising a plurality of proteases positioned in a well for sensing (e.g., paragraphs 9 – 11). The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of proteases positioned in a well for the disclosed apparatus.
Regarding claim 13, Rosenstein teaches the CMOS integrated circuit of claim 8, wherein the at least one of the systems comprises a single protease nanopore.
However, Guan teaches a sensing apparatus comprising a single protease nanopore for sensing (e.g., paragraphs 9 – 11). The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a single protease nanopore for the disclosed apparatus.
Regarding claim 14, Rosenstein teaches the CMOS integrated circuit of claim 8, wherein the at least one of the systems comprises a plurality of proteases positioned in a well.
However, Guan teaches a sensing apparatus comprising a plurality of proteases positioned in a well for sensing (e.g., paragraphs 9 – 11). The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of proteases positioned in a well for the disclosed apparatus.
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenstein et al. (WO 2012/116161 A1; hereinafter “Rosenstein”) in view of Caneva et al. (WO 2023/140732 A1; hereinafter “Caneva”).
Regarding claim 19, Rosenstein does not specifically teach the system of claim 1, further comprising a 2D material membrane enclosing the cavity.
Regarding claim 20, Rosenstein does not specifically teach the CMOS integrated circuit of claim 8, wherein the at least one of the systems further comprises a 2D material membrane enclosing the cavity.
However, Caneva teaches a measuring method and nanopore device utilizing a 2D material membrane, such as a rim defining a membrane nanopore (e.g., page 4, lines 14 – 30). Solid-state nanopore membranes offer the benefits of robustness, parallelization, mass reproducibility, and integration with on-chip optics and electronics (page 3, lines 6 – 10). Consequently, as evidenced by Caneva, the incorporation of a 2D material membrane for enclosing a reservoir or cavity structure win a nanopore sensing apparatus would have been considered to be suitable and predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further provide a 2D material membrane enclosing the cavity, as recited in claim 19, and wherein the at least one of the systems further comprises a 2D material membrane enclosing the cavity, as recited in claim 20.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BRIAN J. SINES
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1796
/BRIAN J. SINES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796