DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I comprising claims 1 – 14 in the reply filed on 1/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15 – 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/20/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the each of the recited features of the claimed system must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 6 should read “a single protease nanopore” for a single nanopore, instead of nanopores. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 13 should read “a single protease nanopore” for a single nanopore, instead of nanopores. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 5 and 8 – 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rosenstein et al. (WO 2012/116161 A1; hereinafter “Rosenstein”).
Regarding claim 1, Rosenstein teaches a system apparatus structure (pages 14 and 15; figures 18 and 19) comprising:
a cavity (the top volume connecting the two V-shaped well structures each comprising a nanopore at their respective bottom);
a plurality of nanopores (two nanopores at the bottom of each of the two V-shaped well structures) separated by the cavity; and
a plurality of electrolyte reservoirs (the two V-shaped well structures each comprising a nanopore at their respective bottom, and capable of holding an electrolyte), each of the reservoirs being provided (i) on a side of a respective one of the nanopores, and (ii) within the cavity.
Regarding claim 2, Rosenstein teaches the system of claim 1, wherein at least one of the nanopores is fabricated with two-dimensional materials (e.g., a silicon nitride membrane; pages 14 – 16).
Regarding claim 3, Rosenstein teaches the system of claim 1, wherein at least one of the nanopores is fabricated in a silicon nitride membrane (e.g., a silicon nitride membrane; pages 14 – 16).
Regarding claim 4, Rosenstein teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the particular ones of the reservoirs provided on the sides nanopores are denoted as a cis chamber and a trans chamber, respectively (figure 19; see also figure 5A).
Regarding claim 5, Rosenstein teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising a nanowell positioned at one of entrances of at least one of the nanopores (the two V-shaped well structures each comprising a nanopore at their respective bottom; figure 19).
Regarding claim 8, Rosenstein teaches a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) integrated circuit, comprising:
a plurality of systems for detecting a molecular size and a molecular charge, at least one of the systems comprising:
a cavity (the top volume connecting the two V-shaped well structures each comprising a nanopore at their respective bottom),
a plurality of nanopores separated by the cavity (two nanopores at the bottom of each of the two V-shaped well structures), and
a plurality of electrolyte reservoirs, each of the reservoirs being provided (i) on a side of a respective one of the nanopores, and (ii) within the cavity (the two V-shaped well structures each comprising a nanopore at their respective bottom, and capable of holding an electrolyte), wherein the systems are integrated onto a surface of the circuit (page 8); and
a plurality of transimpedance amplifiers (page 2) configured to measure a conductance through the nanopores.
Regarding claim 9, Rosenstein teaches the CMOS integrated circuit of claim 8, wherein at least one of the nanopores is fabricated with two-dimensional materials (e.g., a silicon nitride membrane; pages 14 – 16).
Regarding claim 10, Rosenstein teaches the CMOS integrated circuit of claim 8, wherein at least one of the nanopores is fabricated in a silicon nitride membrane (e.g., a silicon nitride membrane; pages 14 – 16).
Regarding claim 11, Rosenstein teaches the CMOS integrated circuit of claim 8, wherein the particular ones of the reservoirs provided on the sides nanopores are denoted as a cis chamber and a trans chamber, respectively (figure 19; see also figure 5A).
Regarding claim 12, Rosenstein teaches the CMOS integrated circuit of claim 8, wherein the at least one of the systems comprises a nanowell positioned at one of entrances of at least one of the nanopores (the two V-shaped well structures each comprising a nanopore at their respective bottom; figure 19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenstein et al. (WO 2012/116161 A1; hereinafter “Rosenstein”) in view of Guan et al. (US 2015/0259724 A1; hereinafter “Guan”).
Regarding claim 6, Rosenstein does not specifically teach the system of claim 1, further comprising a single protease nanopore.
However, Guan teaches a sensing apparatus comprising a single protease nanopore for sensing (e.g., paragraphs 9 – 11). The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a single protease nanopore for the disclosed apparatus.
Regarding claim 7, Rosenstein does not specifically teach the system of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of proteases positioned in a well.
However, Guan teaches a sensing apparatus comprising a plurality of proteases positioned in a well for sensing (e.g., paragraphs 9 – 11). The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of proteases positioned in a well for the disclosed apparatus.
Regarding claim 13, Rosenstein teaches the CMOS integrated circuit of claim 8, wherein the at least one of the systems comprises a single protease nanopore.
However, Guan teaches a sensing apparatus comprising a single protease nanopore for sensing (e.g., paragraphs 9 – 11). The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a single protease nanopore for the disclosed apparatus.
Regarding claim 14, Rosenstein teaches the CMOS integrated circuit of claim 8, wherein the at least one of the systems comprises a plurality of proteases positioned in a well.
However, Guan teaches a sensing apparatus comprising a plurality of proteases positioned in a well for sensing (e.g., paragraphs 9 – 11). The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.07). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of proteases positioned in a well for the disclosed apparatus.
Conclusion
BRIAN J. SINES
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1796
/BRIAN J. SINES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796