DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 & 9, 10, 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20230420644).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a method for manufacturing electrodes for a battery cell ([002]), comprising:
Providing a first free-standing electrode (free-standing dry electrode film on one layer of current collector, [0015]);
Providing a current collector including holes (current collector can be a foam, foil or porous body, [0040]);
Providing a second free-standing electrode (free-standing dry electrode film can be coated on both sides of current collector, [0015]); and
Laminating the current collector between the first free-standing electrode using at least one of heat and pressure and without using a solvent (apply heat and pressure to free-standing electrodes on current collector substrate, [0015]).
Kim further discloses wherein the first free-standing electrode is a dry electrode formed without a solvent (free-standing dry electrode film comprising a dirty electrode, [0050-0051], dry electrode film is pre of solvent, created without using a solvent, [0053-0054]).
Kim does not directly disclose wherein there is a second free-standing electrode. However, Kim discloses wherein the free-standing dry electrode film can be coated on both sides of current collector ([0015]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Kim to have wherein there is a second free-standing electrode.
Regarding Claim 2, Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein the first free-standing electrode and the second free-standing electrode comprises an active material that exchanges lithium ions and binder selected from a group consisting of polytetrafluorethylene binder and thermoplastic polymer binder (active material can be material that exchanges lithium ions, [0057], binder can include PTFE and other thermoplastic polymer binders, [0017]).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Kim further discloses wherein the holes enable physical contact between the first free-standing electrode and the second free-standing electrode during the laminating such that the laminating results in electrode to current connector adhesions between the first free-standing electrode and the current collector and between the second free-standing electrode and the current collector in addition to electrode to electrode cohesion between the first free-standing electrode and the second free-standing electrode (current collector can be a foam or porous bodies, [0040], current collector is laminated to form the dry electrode, [0042], improved adhesion strength of the electrodes, [008]).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein the current collector is made of a material consisting of aluminum, copper, carbon and or stainless steel ([0040]).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein the current collector comprises a metal foam ([0040]).
Regarding Claim 9 & 10, Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein the binder polymer comprises polytetrafluoroethylene and a thermoplastic polymer, wherein the thermoplastic polymer is polyvinylidene fluoride ([0017]).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim discloses a method for manufacturing electrodes for a battery cell ([002]), comprising:
Providing a first free-standing electrode formed with a power mixture including an active material that exchanges lithium ions and binder selected from a group consisting of polytetrafluorethylene binder and thermoplastic polymer binder (power mixture as defined in the instant specifications is a mixture of active material and binder material, free-standing dry electrode film on one layer of current collector, [0015], active material can be material that exchanges lithium ions, [0057], binder can include PTFE and other thermoplastic polymer binders, [0017]), wherein the power mixture is pressed and calendared to form the first free-standing electrode without a solvent ([0054]),
Wherein the first free standing electrode is a dry electrode ([0050]);
Providing a current collector including holes, wherein the current collector is a metal foam (current collector can be a foam, foil or porous body, [0040]);
Laminating the current collector between the first free-standing electrode and second free-standing electrode using at least one of heat and pressure and without using a solvent (apply heat and pressure to free-standing electrodes on current collector substrate, [0015]).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein the wires of the wire mesh are coated with a binder coating (see 112b rejection above for claim interpretation, binder polymer is in attachment enhancing layer which is coated onto the current collector, [0034]).
Regarding Claim 14 & 15 Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein the binder polymer comprises polytetrafluoroethylene and a thermoplastic polymer, wherein the thermoplastic polymer is polyvinylidene fluoride ([0017]).
Regarding Claim 16, Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein the wires of the wire mesh are coated with a conductive coating (see 112b rejection above for claim interpretation, conductive material is in attachment layer which is coated onto the current collector, [0034]).
Regarding Claim 17, Kim discloses a method for manufacturing electrodes for a battery cell ([002]), comprising:
Providing a first free-standing electrode (free-standing dry electrode film on one layer of current collector, [0015]);
Providing a second free-standing electrode (free-standing dry electrode film can be coated on both sides of current collector, [0015]); and
Providing a current collector including holes, wherein the current collector is a metal foam (current collector can be a foam, foil or porous body, [0040]);
Laminating the current collector between the first free-standing electrode and second free-standing electrode using at least one of heat and pressure and without using a solvent (apply heat and pressure to free-standing electrodes on current collector substrate, [0015]).
Providing a first free-standing electrode formed with a power mixture including an active material that exchanges lithium ions and binder selected from a group consisting of polytetrafluorethylene binder and thermoplastic polymer binder (power mixture as defined in the instant specifications is a mixture of active material and binder material, free-standing dry electrode film on one layer of current collector, [0015], active material can be material that exchanges lithium ions, [0057], binder can include PTFE and other thermoplastic polymer binders, [0017]), wherein the power mixture is pressed and calendared to form the first free-standing electrode without a solvent ([0054]),
Wherein the first free standing electrode is a dry electrode ([0050]);
wherein the first free-standing electrode is selected from a group consisting of a dry electrode ([008]).
Kim further discloses wherein the holes enable physical contact between the first free-standing electrode and the second free-standing electrode during the laminating such that the laminating results in electrode to current connector adhesions between the first free-standing electrode and the current collector and between the second free-standing electrode and the current collector in addition to electrode to electrode cohesion between the first free-standing electrode and the second free-standing electrode (current collector can be a foam or porous bodies, [0040], current collector is laminated to form the dry electrode, [0042], improved adhesion strength of the electrodes, [008]).
Regarding Claim 18, Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein the wires of the wire mesh are coated with a binder coating (see 112b rejection above for claim interpretation, binder polymer is in attachment enhancing layer which is coated onto the current collector, [0034]).
Regarding Claim 19 & 20, Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein the binder polymer comprises polytetrafluoroethylene and a thermoplastic polymer, wherein the thermoplastic polymer is polyvinylidene fluoride ([0017]).
Claim(s) 6 & 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20230420644) in view of Banno (US20060120021).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim does not directly disclose wherein the current collector comprises an expanded metal sheet.
Banno discloses a current collector that can be formed of expanded metal sheets or foam ([0136]). Banno further discloses wherein the electrode attached to the current collector can contained PTFE and PVDF polymers ([0113]). Banno further discloses the electrode contains thermoplastic resins ([0114]). Banno further discloses wherein the current collector can be formed on the electrode through various methods ([0122]), including melting and extruding the film ([0124]). Banno further discloses wherein the current collector can be formed of stainless steel, or aluminum ([0136]). Banno teaches that this structure provides improved safety and stability of the battery cell ([0011]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with the teachings of Banno to have wherein the current collector comprises an expanded metal sheet. This modification would yield the expected result of improved safety and stability of the battery cell.
Regarding Claim 7, Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim does not directly disclose wherein the current collector comprises a perforated metal sheet.
Banno discloses a current collector that can be formed of expanded metal sheets or foam ([0136]). Banno further discloses wherein the current collectors can be formed of perforated stampable sheets ([0123]). Banno further discloses wherein the electrode attached to the current collector can contained PTFE and PVDF polymers ([0113]). Banno further discloses the electrode contains thermoplastic resins ([0114]). Banno further discloses wherein the current collector can be formed on the electrode through various methods ([0122]), including melting and extruding the film ([0124]). Banno further discloses wherein the current collector can be formed of stainless steel, or aluminum ([0136]). Banno teaches that this structure provides improved safety and stability of the battery cell ([0011]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with the teachings of Banno to have wherein the current collector comprises a perforated metal sheet. This modification would yield the expected result of improved safety and stability of the battery cell.
Claim(s) 8 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20230420644) in view of Tiruvannamalai (US20220320504).
Regarding Claim 8 & 11, Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Kim does not directly disclose wherein at least some wires of the wire mesh are coated with a binder coating.
Tiruvannamalai discloses a lithium secondary battery that includes a mesh current collector ([0023]). Tiruvannamalai further discloses wherein the current collector has conductive-coating patches provided on the current collector web ([0026]). Tiruvannamalai further discloses wherein the conductive-coating patches are formed of binder material ([0028]). Tiruvannamalai teaches that this structure provides improved adhesion ([0028]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with the teachings of Tiruvannamalai to have wherein the current collector comprises a wire mesh and at least some wires of the wire mesh are coated with a binder coating. This modification would yield the expected result of improved adhesion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, see Claims, filed November 24th, 2025, with respect to Claim 8 & 11 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(b) rejections of Claims 8 & 11 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed November 24th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Kim does not disclose wherein the free standing electrode are each a dry electrode formed without a solvent.
Kim discloses that a dry electrode film is an electrode film free of a detectable processing solvent, a processing solvent residue or a processing solvent impurity. That is, as opposed to wet electrode films, the “dry” electrode film described herein refers to an electrode film formed by a dry manufacturing process without using a solvent ([0053]). Kim further discloses wherein the binder used in the dry electrode film is a dry binder not formed of solvent ([0015]).
Furthermore, Kim discloses wherein the first free-standing electrode is a dry electrode formed without a solvent (free-standing dry electrode film comprising a dirty electrode, [0050-0051], dry electrode film is free of solvent, created without using a solvent, [0053-0054]).
Therefore, Applicant arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claim language.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728