DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
3. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20110292953) in view of AUGST et al. (US 20210006029).
Regarding claim 1, Liu et al. discloses in figure 3 and the specification:
An optical L-band amplifier device, said amplifier device comprising:
a pluggable housing (see, paragraph [0036], here, Pluggable optical module );
a two-stage fiber amplification optical path (see, 110, 120, fig. 3 see also, paragraph [0038], here, transmitter module 110, receiver module 120 ), comprising ultra-high absorption fiber;
an IWDM (see, paragraph [0036], here, an intermediate WDM (IWDM)); and
a plurality of fiber couplings (see, may arrows, fig. 3), each protected by a coating.
However, Liu et al. is silent as to the limitation of “ultra-high absorption fiber” and “each protected by a coating”.
AUGST et al. discloses that High-absorption fiber (see paragraph[0034]). Even
though AUGST et al. does not disclose that “ultra-high absorption fiber” as claimed, AUGST et al. discloses ultra-high absorption fiber can be realized since the gain fiber length can be reduced or minimized by this limitation (see, paragraph [0034] of AUGST et al.). Examiner note that the limitation of “ fiber coupling protected by a coating” is well known in this art since it is the one of easy methods to protect the fiber coupling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the limitation of “ultra-high absorption fiber” with an optical L-band amplifier device of G Liu et al. because selecting ultra-high absorption fiber allows for reducing or minimizing the optical fiber length, which leads a small factor for manufacturing, and it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the limitation of “ fiber coupling protected by a coating” with an optical L-band amplifier device of G Liu et al. because selecting “fiber coupling protected by a coating” allows for one of easy methods to protect the fiber coupling.
Regarding claim 2, modified device of Liu et al. discloses the limitations of claim1 and Liu et al. also disclose that wherein said pluggable housing is a multi-source agreement (MSA) compliant housing (see, paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 3, modified device of Liu et al. discloses the limitations of claim 2 and Liu et al. also disclose that wherein said MSA compliant housing is an OSFP, QSFP-DD, QSFP-like, QSFP+, or QSFP28 4X housing (see, paragraph [0025], here L-band).
4. Claims 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over , modified device of Liu et al. (US 20110292953) in view of AUGST et al. (US 20210006029) and further in view of Cryan (US 20220069535).
Regarding claim 4, Modified device of claim 1 disclose the limitations above.
However, modified device 1 is silent as to the limitation of “two erbium-doped fiber coils”.
Cyan discloses that erbium-doped fiber coils (see paragraph[0030]). Even
though Cyan. does not disclose that “two erbium-doped fiber coils” as claimed, Cyan discloses two erbium-doped fiber coils can be realized since selecting “two erbium-doped fiber coils” allows for proving high power.
Regarding claim 5, Modified device of claim 1 disclose the limitations above and Cyan also disclose that wherein 135 micrometer diameter erbium-doped fiber (see, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 6, Modified device of claim 1 disclose the limitations above and Cyan also disclose that wherein 80 micrometer cladding diameter erbium-doped fiber (see, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 7, Modified device of claim 1 disclose the limitations above and Cyan also disclose that wherein absorption of greater than 40dB per meter at a wavelength of 1530nm (see, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 8, Modified device of claim 1 disclose the limitations above and Cyan also disclose that wherein aid IWDM provides two isolators and two WDMs in a single component (see, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Modified device of claim 1 disclose the limitations above and Cyan also disclose that wherein said coating is applied using glue and heat (it is well known in this art due to a small form factor for manufacturing).
Regarding claim 10, Modified device of claim 9 disclose the limitations above and Cyan also disclose that wherein said coatings may withstand 150 kpsi proof tests (it is well known in this art due to a small form factor for manufacturing).
Regarding claim 11, Modified device of claim 1 disclose the limitations above and Cyan also disclose that wherein said optical L-band amplifier device comprises a pump (see, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Modified device of claim 11 disclose the limitations above and Cyan also disclose that wherein said pump may be uncooled (see, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Modified device of claim 12 disclose the limitations above and Liu et al. also disclose that wherein aid pump comprises a Bragg grating design (see, paragraph [0005]).
Conclusion
5. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Kinam Park whose telephone number is (571) 270-1738. The examiner can normally be reached on from 9:00 AM-5:00 PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, MINSUN HARVEY, can be reached on (571) 272-1835. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/KINAM PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828