Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The recitation in claim 13, line 1 of “A quantum memory” renders the claim indefinite. It appears that this should recite “A quantum memory apparatus”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Dial (US 10529909).
Dial teaches an apparatus for spin microwave coupling (quantum bits on the microwave cavity; abstract, col. 3, lines 35-45, col. 10, lines 27-35) comprising a microwave resonator cavity with frequency posts made of a superconductor material (col. 3, lines 30-65). The posts appear to meet the limitation of a galvanic element (aluminum superconductor is able to conduct DC current; col. 3, lines 30-65). Additionally , Dial teaches qubits in proximity to the resonator posts (qubits meet the limitation of a spin element; col. 3, lines 35-45, col. 10, lines 27-35).
Regarding claim 3, it appears that the posts of Dial meet the limitation of including a geometrical current concentration feature as current would be concentrated about the post absent a showing to the contrary. Dial additionally teaches that the spin element is in proximity with the posts. See Dial at col. 3, lines 35-45, col. 10, lines 27-35.
Regarding claims 4-5, Dial teaches that the cavity and the posts (galvanic elements) are superconducting (col. 3, lines 30-65).
Regarding claim 9, it appears that the post of Dial is disposed at an electric field node as an electric field node is a result of the use of the apparatus (i.e. the node is variable).
Regarding claim 10, Dial teaches that the posts and the qubits are integrated on the same substrate (cavity) See fig. 5, #10, 40 of Dial.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dial.
Regarding claim 2, it would have been obvious to modify Dial with proportion parameters of claim 2 as changing proportions/size is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04 (IV) (A).
Regarding claims 6-7, Dial teaches a system of qubits (col. 3, lines 30-65). However, it would have been obvious to provide single qubit system or ensemble of systems as duplication of parts is prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 8, it would have been obvious to provide the posts and the cavity as a single element as integration of parts is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04 (V) (B).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dial in view of Bishop (US 2017/0227795).
Dial teaches a product as described above in claim 10, but fails to teach an optical resonator disposed on the common substrate and coupled to the spin element wherein quantum microwave optical transduction is provided.
Bishop, however, teaches a transducer (abstract) wherein an optical resonator is disposed on the microwave cavity for the purpose of making use of the Pockels effect (para. 0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide an optical resonator on the microwave cavity (common substrate) in order to make use of the Pockels effect as taught by Bishop.
Additionally, it appears that the prior art of record would necessarily provide quantum microwave optical transduction.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dial in view of Dial in view of Faron (US 2021/0302767).
Dial teaches a product as described above in claim 1, but fails to teach a quantum memory including the apparatus of claim 1.
Faron, however, teaches an quantum memory apparatus (para. 0027) comprising a microwave cavity (abstract; para. 0015).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Dial as part of a quantum memory apparatus in order to provide a configuration known in the art as taught by Faron.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest indium bump bonds between the common substrate and the microwave cavity resonator in combination with the limitations of claims 1 and 10-11.
Conclusion
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735