DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 and 5-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As per claim 1, lines 6, “the top layer and the second top layer” should read as ------the first surface layer and the second surface layer-----.
As per claim 5, applicant is required to spell out “PBAT/PLA” in line 2.
As per claim 6, line 2, applicant claimed for “wherein the and the accommodating cavity”. It is incomplete.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the passage" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the inner" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,908,300. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they all disclosed the same subject matter. The corresponding claims that contain the same subject matter are mapped below:
Present Invention 18/121,443
Patent No. 11,908,300
1. A sensor pad system, comprising:
an outer cover configured to receive a sensor pad body,
the outer cover comprising a first surface layer and a second surface layer which form an accommodating cavity for the sensor pad body,
the first surface layer further comprising a non-slip layer,
wherein both the top layer and the second top layer are formed from at least one biodegradable material.
6. The sensor pad system of claim 1, wherein the and the accommodating cavity is provided with an outward-extending exhaust port configured for the passage of wiring.
7. The sensor pad system of claim 6, wherein the exhaust port comprises a first exhaust hole and a second exhaust hole, and the inner diameter of the first exhaust hole is adapted to the wire, and the second exhaust hole is provided with a viscous film to form a one-way valve.
1. A sensor pad cover, comprising:
a first surface layer and a second surface layer which form an accommodating cavity configured to receive a sensor pad body,
the first surface layer including a non-slip top layer,
wherein both the first surface layer and the second surface layer are formed from at least one biodegradable material,
wherein the accommodating cavity is provided with an outward-extending exhaust port configured for passage of wiring,
wherein the exhaust port comprises a first exhaust hole and a second exhaust hole, and an inner diameter of the first exhaust hole is adapted to the wire, and the second exhaust hole is provided with a viscous film to form a one-way valve.
2. The sensor pad system of claim 1, wherein an edge of the first surface layer is fixedly connected with an edge of the second surface layer.
2. The sensor pad cover of claim 1, wherein an edge of the first surface layer is fixedly connected with an edge of the second surface layer.
3. The sensor pad system of claim 2, wherein the edge of the first surface layer and the edge of the second surface layer are press-molded to form an arc-shaped transition at an edge position of the outer cover.
3. The sensor pad cover of claim 2, wherein the edge of the first surface layer and the edge of the second surface layer are press-molded to form an arc-shaped transition at an edge position of the outer cover.
4. The sensor pad system of claim 1, wherein first surface layer and the second surface layer are formed from the same material.
4. The sensor pad cover of claim 1, wherein first surface layer and the second surface layer are formed from a same material.
5. The sensor pad system of claim 1, wherein the material of the first surface layer and the second surface layer comprises PBAT/PLA material.
5. The sensor pad cover of claim 1, wherein the first surface layer and the second surface layer are formed from PBAT/PLA material.
8. The sensor pad system of claim 7, wherein the second exhaust hole comprises a first extension sheet and a second extension sheet,
wherein the first extension sheet is integrally formed with the first surface layer, and the second extension sheet is integrally formed with the second surface layer,
wherein a first end and a second end of the first extension sheet is fixedly connected to a first end and a second end of the second extension sheet, respectively.
6. The sensor pad cover of claim 1, wherein the second exhaust hole comprises a first extension sheet and a second extension sheet,
wherein the first extension sheet is integrally formed with the first surface layer, and the second extension sheet is integrally formed with the second surface layer,
wherein a first end and a second end of the first extension sheet is fixedly connected to a first end and a second end of the second extension sheet, respectively.
9. The sensor pad system of claim 1, including a sensor pad body within the outer cover.
7. The sensor pad cover of claim 1, wherein the cover is configured to removably encase the sensor pad body, such that the cover is replaceable.
10. The sensor pad system of claim 9, wherein the sensor pad body comprises a first sensor pad layer, an intermediate layer, and a second sensor pad layer,
wherein least one side of the first and second sensor pad layers is provided with a conductive coating and the intermediate layer is sandwiched between the first and second sensor pad layers and fixedly connected to the first and second sensor pad layers, and
wherein the intermediate layer comprises an insulating material and a plurality configured to enable contact between the first and second sensor pad layers when layers are pressed.
8. The sensor pad cover of claim 7, wherein the sensor pad body comprises a first sensor pad layer, an intermediate layer, and a second sensor pad layer, wherein least one side of the first and second sensor pad layers is provided with a conductive coating and the intermediate layer is sandwiched between the first and second sensor pad layers and fixedly connected to the first and second sensor pad layers, and
wherein the intermediate layer comprises an insulating material and a plurality of through holes, wherein the through holes are configured to enable contact between the first and second sensor pad layers when the sensor pad body is housed within the sensor pad cover and the first and second sensor pad layers are pressed via force applied to the cover.
11. The sensor pad system of claim 1, wherein the outer cover is disposable and biodegradable.
9. The sensor pad cover of claim 1, wherein the cover is disposable and biodegradable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9 and 11 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (US 5,019,950) in view of Rumold et al. (US 2023/0116591).
As per claim 1, Johnson discloses a sensor pad system (figures 1-3) comprising:
an outer cover (floor mat, 11) configured to receive a sensor pad body (contact switch, 44, col. 2, lines 22-38);
the outer cover comprising a first surface layer (upper layer, 30) and a second surface layer (lower surface layer, 31) which form an accommodating cavity (moisture-free interior, 33) configured to receive a sensor pad body (switch contacts, 44, col 2, lines 14-21);
the first surface layer including a non-slip top layer (34, col. 2, lines 14-38).
Johnson discloses the instant claimed invention except for the first surface layer and the second surface layer being formed from at least one biodegradable material. Rumold et al. teach a mat system (10, figures 1-9) being used from products that are biodegradable (paragraph 0055). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize the mat as taught by Rumold et al. in the system as disclosed by Johnson for the purpose of keeping users out of bacterials/germs and providing an environment friendly mat.
As per claim 2-3, Johnson discloses an edge of the first surface layer being fixedly connected (sealed) with an edge of the second surface layer, wherein the edge of the first surface layer and the edge of the second surface layer are press-molded to form an arc-shaped transition at an edge position of the outer cover (figures 2-3, col. 2, lines 14-21).
As per claim 4, Johnson discloses first surface layer and the second surface layer being formed from same material (vinyl, col. 2, line 14).
As per claim 5, Since Johnson discloses the first surface layer and the second surface layer are formed from vinyl material and Rumold et al. teach the used of biodegradable material, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize the PBAT/PLA material for the purpose of providing a safety environment.
As per claim 6, Johnson discloses the accommodating cavity (33) provided with an outward-extending exhaust port configured for a passage of wiring (electrical cord, 55, col. 2, lines 39-49).
As per claim 9, as show in figures 1-3, Johnson discloses a sensor pad body within the outer cover.
As per claim 11, Rumold et al. discloses the cover being disposable and biodegradable (paragraphs 0045-0046 and 0055).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TAI T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 October 24, 2025