Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 5/21/26 (hereinafter “Response”) has been entered. Examiner notes that claims 3, 5-6, 10, and 18 have been amended, claims 4 has been cancelled, and claims 21-25 are new. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10-18, and 21-25 remain pending in the application with claims 13-18 being withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10-11, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over CN 114083943 A to Song et al (hereinafter Song) in view of KR 100198756 B1 to Lee and further in view of Process Systems, “Quick exhaust Valve,” YouTube, published August 9, 2012, available at https://www.youtube. com/watch?v=X5SVF7TV8w4 (hereinafter Process Systems).
Regarding claim 1, Song discloses a tow hook system for a vehicle (Figs. 1-2 & [0004]), comprising:
a sensor (17) configured to detect a collision of the vehicle; and
an electronic control unit coupled to the sensor (17) and configured to:
obtain, from the sensor (17), the collision detection, and
activate a tow hook assembly based on the collision detection (Figs. 1-2 & [0016] disclose a distance sensor is configured to detect the distance between the trailer hook, i.e., the vehicle, and an external object. Examiner notes that if the distance detected is 0 then a collision would be considered to be detected. [0018]-[0019] & [0069] disclose obtaining distance sensor data and activating the tow hook assembly when the determined distance is less than the set safe distance, e.g., 0.7m. This is interpreted as disclosing activating the tow hook assembly based on a detected range between 0<x<0.7m and thus is considered to teach a range overlapping or touching the claimed range. See MPEP 2131.03.);
wherein the tow hook assembly includes: a tow hook (2,5) having a distal end (D) and a proximal end (E) opposite the distal end (D), (Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 2); and an … actuator (15) having a translating portion coupled to the distal end (E) of the tow hook (2, 5) (Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 2, & [0013] and [0040]).
Song does not appear to explicitly disclose that the actuator is a pneumatic actuator and at least one quick exhaust valve configured to control a speed and/or a position of the tow hook, wherein the pneumatic actuator is configured to cause movement of the tow hook via the translating portion.
Lee teaches that it was old and well known in the art of movable tow hooks, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the actuator used to deploy/retract a tow hook to be a pneumatic actuator (10,20,30) (Figs. 2-3 & p. 3 ¶ 2-5), wherein the pneumatic actuator (10,20,30) is configured to cause movement of the tow hook (14) via the translating portion (16) (Figs. 2-3 & p. 3 ¶ 2-5).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the noted features of Song with teaching of Lee since the combination of the two references is merely simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result (KSR rationale B). Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself—that is, in the substitution of the pneumatic device of the Lee for the electronic actuator of Song. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Process Systems teaches that it was old and well known in the art of pneumatic actuators, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a pneumatic actuator (X) to include at least one quick exhaust valve (Y) configured to control a speed and/or position of the pneumatic actuator (X) (Process Systems Annotated Screenshot & 1:40-2:15 depicting cycling of the pneumatic actuator from an extended position to a retracted position where the speed of retraction is greatly reduced in comparison to the extension as a result of the quick exhaust valve to atmosphere. The quick exhaust valve also is interpreted as controlling the position of the actuator because without the opening of the quick exhaust valve the position from the extended to the retracted position would not change.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of pneumatic actuators before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pneumatic actuator disclose by the modified combination of Song/Lee to incorporate for the pneumatic actuator to include at least one quick exhaust valve configured to control a speed and/or position of the pneumatic actuator as taught by Process Systems in order to significantly reduce the speed of retraction of the actuator, e.g., see Process Systems 2:10-2:20, and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Further, assuming, arguendo, that Applicant does not consider the disclosure of Song of obtaining distance information to an obstacle, making the determination that the distance is not a safe distance, i.e., less than x, e.g., where x, is 0.7m or smaller, and then activating the tow hook assembly based on that determination as discussed above as being anticipating under MPEP 2131.03 as discussed above, Examiner asserts that it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the distance x down to 0, i.e., at impact, because the determining the optimal distance is the result of mere optimization of variables, e.g., balancing early/unnecessary retraction of the tow hook or additional cycles on the system vs. being more conservative with giving more time for tow hook to retract, etc that would result from routine engineering experimentation and practices and does not itself warrant patentability.
Finally, it is noted that Applicant does not positively recite any criticality to the determination being at collision vs another distance, therefore such optimization thereof would be obvious to the skilled artisan. Accordingly arriving at the claimed deployment at collision vs another distance would result from routine engineering practices and experimentation and is not itself non-obvious absent any criticality to such. MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Regarding claim 2, depending on claim 1, Song further discloses wherein the sensor (17) includes at least one of an airbag sensor, an external camera configured to capture different views of an exterior of the vehicle, or a proximity sensor (Figs.1-2 & [0016] disclose the sensor is a distance sensor, i.e., a proximity sensor).
Regarding claim 3, depending on claim 1, Song further discloses wherein the tow hook assembly comprises a housing (3) coupled to a frame (1) of the vehicle, the housing (3) having a first end (A), a second end (B) opposite the first end, and an opening (C) (Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 2, & [0038]), wherein the tow hook assembly is at least partially housed by the housing (3) such that the tow hook (2,5) is configured to move through the opening of the housing (3) (Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 2, & [0038]-[0041] disclose the tow hook 2,5 moves horizontally in/out of the slide base 3).
Regarding claim 5, depending on claim 3, Song further wherein the tow hook (2,5) further comprises an end portion (7) disposed on the proximal end (E) of the tow hook (2,5), the end portion (7) configured to prevent the tow hook (2,7) from being removed from the housing (3) such that the end portion (7) is configured to be in confronting relation with an inside surface (F) of the housing (3) adjacent the opening (C) when the tow hook (2,5) is in a deployed position (Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 2, & [0041] disclose the tow hook include fixing member 7 that when the tow hook is furthest extended from the vehicle, the fixing member 7 would engage positioning hole F of the positioning holes 4 of the housing 3. When engaged the tow hook cannot be moved.).
Regarding claim 6, depending on claim 5, the modified combination of Song/Lee/Power Systems further discloses wherein the pneumatic actuator (Song – 15/Lee – 10,20,30) is disposed within the housing (Song – 3), (Song - Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 2, & [0013] and [0040]; Lee - Figs. 2-3 & p. 3 ¶ 2-5).
It would have been obvious to have modified Song in view of the teachings of Lee/Power Systems for at least the same reasons discussed above in claim 1 and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 8, depending on claim 6, the modified combination of Song/Lee/Power Systems further discloses wherein the end portion (Song – 7/Lee - G) of the tow hook (Song – 2,5/Lee - G) is configured to be in confronting relation with an end surface (Lee-H) of the pneumatic actuator (Lee – 10,20,30) in a stowed position (Lee Annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, depending on claim 1, Song further discloses a user interface configured to receive commands from a user ([0016] discloses a control button is in vehicle to receive user commands).
Regarding claim 11, depending on claim 10, Song further discloses wherein the commands from the user include deploying and stowing the tow hook assembly ([0016]).
Regarding claim 21, depending on claim 1, Song further discloses wherein, to activate the tow hook assembly based on the collision detection, the electronic control unit is configured to automatically activate the pneumatic actuator to retract the tow hook into a housing of the tow hook assembly in response to the collision detection (Figs. 1-2 & [0016] and [0018]-[0019] & [0069] as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, [0029] discloses control unit can automatically retract the tow hook based on the distance sensor, i.e., if a collision is detected).
Regarding claim 25, depending on claim 10, Song further discloses wherein the tow hook is manually deployable by a user applying a force in a distal direction to pull the tow hook out of a housing of the tow hook assembly and past a frame of the vehicle (Figs. 1-3 & [0027], [0059]-[0060]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Lee and further in view of Power Systems and further in view of US 2019/0225171 A1 to Temple.
Regarding claim 12, depending on claim 1, the modified combination of Song/Lee/Power Systems does not appear to further disclose wherein the vehicle is an autonomous vehicle.
Temple teaches that it was old and well known in the art of vehicles, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a vehicle including a tow hook to be an autonomous vehicle ([0133] and [0136]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the noted features of the modified combination of Song/Lee/Power Systems with teaching of Temple since the combination of the two references is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (KSR rational A). It can be seen that each element claimed is present in either the modified combination of Song/Lee/Power Systems or Temple. Providing that the vehicle is an autonomous vehicle (as taught by Temple) does not change or affect the normal automatic functionality of the stowing/deploying of the tow hook device of Song. Since the functionalities of the elements in the modified combination of Song/Lee/Power Systems and Temple do not interfere with each other, the results of the combination would be predictable.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Lee and further in view of Power Systems as evidenced by US 2020/0152340 A1 to Anvari.
Regarding claim 22, depending on claim 1, Song further discloses wherein the sensor (17) includes an airbag sensor (17) (Figs. 1-2 & [0016] discloses the sensor is a distance sensor, which is interpreted as being an airbag sensor as evidenced by Anvari [0436] and [0438] which teach that a proximity sensor, i.e., a distance sensor, is used by the controller to activate/deploy airbags and therefore the proximity sensor is considered to be an airbag sensor.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in the Response directed to the 35 USC §103 rejection of claim 1, see pp.8-9, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See Response pp. 7-10.
Applicant argues on pp.7-8 of the Response that Song does not disclose the claimed control architecture because the Specification discloses the claimed “sensor” is an air or external camera, whereas Song discloses a distance, i.e., a proximity sensor. This argument is not persuasive. It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the air bag or external camera sensors) are not recited by the rejected claim 1. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Further, Applicant’s argument on pp. 8-9 that “Song does not invariably actuate the tow hook assembly” is moot because as long as the disclosure of song actuates in one instance when a collision is detected, see above rejection of claim 1, then Song is meets the claimed limitation. Applicant’s argument again amounts to limitations which are not claimed. In order to properly distinguish the claims from the prior art of the record Applicant should amend the claims to reflect the specifics of the arguments.
Applicant’s argument directed toward MPEP § 2131.03 is also not persuasive. While Examiner agrees that no range is claimed, the section is still applicable in light of the disclosure of Song and the discussed interpretation as discussed above in claim 1.
Applicant’s argument directed toward MPEP § 2144.05 is also not persuasive as it also amounts to features which are not claimed in claim 1 (or in claim 8).
Applicant’s argument on p. 10 that mapping of Process Systems is “inferential” is not understood and therefore not persuasive. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER B WEHRLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611