Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 15, applicant claims “the second endpoint of the spring element connects to the frame”. However, in lines 9 and 10, applicant claims “a spring element connected to the frame at a first endpoint” and connected to the swing arm at the second endpoint. It appears that applicant intends to claim the first endpoint in line 15. Similar recitations appear in claims 9 and 17,
In claim 2, applicant claims “a first end” and “a second end” of the spring element. This appears to refer to the first and second endpoints, already recited in claim 1. All of the structure of claim 2 appears to be redundant. Claim 10 contains the same language as claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9-11, 14, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP6186965 in view of Nolin (PGPub 2024/0025508).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17, JP’965 teaches an electric motorcycle 1 (Figures 1-2) comprising: a frame 12; a battery 45; a motor 8 electronically connected to the battery; a chain 56 (Figure 7) connecting the motor to a rear wheel 7; and a dual-sided swing arm 37 (left arm 37 shown in Figure 1 and right arm 37 shown in Figure 2, Figures 3 and 6 also shown arms of swing arm 37 on opposite sides of wheel 7)), configured to maintain the rear wheel 7, the dual-sided swing arm comprising a right side swing arm spar (Figure 2) and a left side swing arm spar (Figure 1), the dual-sided swing arm joined to the frame at a pivot point 28 forward of the rear wheel 7 (see Figure 1); wherein the motor 8 is positioned within the dual-sided swing arm at a motor location (motor support 39) between the pivot point 28/C1 and the rear wheel 7 (see Figures 1 and 3).
JP’965 appears to show the spring 38 attached to the frame slightly forward of the pivot point 28(C1) of the swing arm 15, rather than rearward of the pivot point, as claimed.
Nolin teaches an electric motorcycle (swing arm assembly 190 includes a swing arm 90, pivotable about pivot point 91, seen in Figure 4, that receives a drivetrain and electric motor; Nolan para [0073]). The swing arm 90, seen in Figure 11, is mounted to the cycle frame at a pivot point and shock absorber 142 (which is shown having a coil spring surrounding a shock; Figure 11) is connected to the frame at a point slightly rearward of the pivot point (Figure 11; a generally vertical line connecting the pivot point and the shock connection point is angled rearwardly at its upper end indicating the shock connection point is rearward of the pivot point) and connected to the swing arm at the opposite end of the shock absorber. The embodiment of Figure 11 is configured as cruiser type of motorcycle (this configuration includes slight modifications relative to a street type of motorcycle, as shown in Figure 7, which has the shock absorber connection point slightly forward of the pivot point).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric vehicle of JP ‘965 such that the shock absorber connection point with the frame is rearward of the swing arm pivot point, in view of Nolin, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide access to the motor for maintenance, in order to configure the motorcycle as a cruiser type to suit the ergonomic needs or preferences of the user.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, JP’965 shows the spring 38 attached to the frame slightly forward of the pivot point 28 (C1) of the swing arm 15, rather than rearward of the pivot point, as claimed. However, Nolan teaches, with respect to the cruiser embodiment of Figure 11, the shock absorber connection point slightly forward of the swing arm pivot point, as discussed above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric vehicle of JP'965 such that the shock absorber connection point with the frame is rearward of the swing arm pivot point, in view of Nolin, with a reasonable order to configure the motorcycle as a cruiser type and to suit the specific ergonomic needs of the user.
Regarding claim 3, the rear wheel 7 is attached to a hub (Figure 7) configured to receive the chain 56.
Regarding claim 6, JP’965 teaches handlebars and appears to show a triple clamp of the kind where the handlebar is removably connected using screws at the clamps, however, it is silent regarding the set of handlebars joined to the frame by modular detachable hardware.
Nolin teaches an electric motorcycle having a modular handlebar assembly 272 selected from different handlebar modular options and removably clamped to the front fork by a triple clamp assemble 234 (para [0112]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electric vehicle of JP’965 with a set of handlebars joined to the frame by modular detachable hardware, in view of Nolin, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to adjust the handlebar assembly to the ergonomic needs of the user.
Regarding claim 9, the combination discussed above teaches all of the claimed structure, as discussed above, but is silent regarding a sprocket provided with the motor to a hub of a rear wheel. JP’965 does teach using a chain 56 to transfer power from the motor to the hub of the rear wheel, as seen in Figure 7, but it does not mention sprockets. It is understood that sprockets are typically used in conjunction with chain transmissions to transfer power, particularly in motorcycles.
Nolin teaches a drive train between motor 120 and rear wheel 116 including a front sprocket 194, chain 197, and rear sprocket 195 at the rear wheel hub (see Figure 3, para [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electric vehicle of JP’965 with sprockets cooperating with the chain to transfer power to the rear wheel, as is old and well known and taught by Nolin, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a robust and reliable drivetrain between the motor and rear wheel.
Regarding claim 10, see discussion of claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, JP’965 teaches the rear wheel 7 is attached to a hub (Figure 7) and configured to receive the chain 56.
Regarding claim 14, JP’965 teaches handlebars and appears to show a triple clamp of the kind where the handlebar is removably connected using screws at the clamps, however, it is silent regarding the set of handlebars joined to the frame by modular detachable hardware.
Nolin teaches an electric motorcycle having a modular handlebar assembly 272 selected from different handlebar modular options and removably clamped to the front fork by a triple clamp assemble 234 (para [0112]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electric vehicle of JP’965 with a set of handlebars joined to the frame by modular detachable hardware, in view of Nolin, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to adjust the handlebar assembly to the ergonomic needs of the user.
Regarding claim 19, JP’965 teaches that at least one of the right side swing arm spar and the left side swing arm spar (left and right arms of swing arm 37) is connectable to the frame at 28/C1 using a pivot plate 25 (swing arm 37 is connected to pivot plates/brackets 25, seen in JP’965 translation, page 4, fourth paragraph and Figures 1, 2, and 4).
Claim(s) 4 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP6186965 and Nolin as applied to claims 1-3, 6, 9-11, 14, 17, and 19 above, and further in view of Kawabata (PGPub 2015/0329168).
The combination is silent regarding a “fast charging unit”.
Kawabata teaches an electric motorcycle having a quick charging unit (quick charging connector portion 77 in Figure 6, para [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electric vehicle of the combinaiton with a fast/quick charging unit, in view of Kawabata, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to quickly charge the battery from an external source.
Claim(s) 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP6186965 and Nolin as applied to claims 1-3, 6, 9-11, 14, 17, and 19 above, and further in view of Duncan (PGPub 2015/0075888).
The combination is silent regarding a wheel base of the motorcycle that does not exceed 52 inches, although it is well known to configure smaller vehicles to accommodate smaller riders or to make the wheelbase shorter for better maneuverability.
Duncan teaches an electric motorcycle with a wheel base of 50 inches (see specification table in para [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electric vehicle of the combination with a wheel base of less than 52 inches (50 inches), in view of Duncan, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the vehicle compact and easily maneuverable.
Claim(s) 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP6186965 and Nolin as applied to claims 1-3, 6, 9-11, 14, 17, and 19 above, and further in view of Jacobsz Rosier (CN110248864).
The combination teaches all of the claimed structure except for at least one of a handlebar display mount and a fingerprint reader configured to provide keyless access to the electric motorcycle.
Jacobsz Rosier teaches a handlebar display mount 34 and a fingerprint reader (“fingerprint or iris scanner” recited in line 1 of page 23 of translation) configured to provide keyless access to the electric motorcycle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electric vehicle of the combination with a set of handlebars having a handlebar display mount and/or a fingerprint reader, in view of Jacobsz Rosier, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide the user a convenient way to interact with the cycle controller and to unlock the vehicle without the need for a physical key that could be lost or stolen.
Claim(s) 8, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP6186965 and Nolin as applied to claims 1-3, 6, 9-11, 14, 17, and 19 above, and further in view of Biderman et al. (PGPub 2016/0243927).
The combination teaches all of the claimed structure except for an access door providing access to the motor.
Biderman teaches an electric motorcycle having an access door 944 to provide access to drive motor 908 (see Figure 9A, para [0377]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electric vehicle of the combination with an access door to provide access to the motor, in view of Biderman, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to facilitate servicing and replacement of the motor, as needed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that JP’965 teaches a single swing arm with one side open, rather than a pair of swing arm spars. The examiner disagrees. JP’965 teaches a “swing arm 37” that is made up for two spars, a left spar, seen in Figure 1 and a right spar shown in Figure 2 (Figures 3 and 6 also show swingarm spars on opposite sides of the wheel 7). Each spar connects to the rear wheel at its end and the brackets 28 of frame 12 at its front end. A motor support portion 39 is provided between the spars of the swingarm 37.
The examiner agrees that JP’965 is silent regarding a maintenance access opening. However, it is well known that access to the motor is required for maintenance and repairs. Nolan shows a panel on the lateral outside of a rear fork arm (bolts are shown holding the lateral panel or cover onto the swingarm) that allows access to the motor. The examiner maintains that providing an access opening is well known, suggested by Nolan on the lateral side of a swingarm, and would have been an obvious structural modification in order to provide access to the motor. Therefore, the claims are not believed to be patentably distinct from the prior art of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art to JP’965 and Nolin fail to teach the claimed invention. The examiner disagrees. Applicant indicates that neither reference teaches a spring element of the type taught by applicant. Applicant asserts that the spring elements of JP’965 and Nolin both merely hold the motor support portion or swing arm in place and fail to provide a more enjoyable ride while offering robust response. The examiner disagrees. Both the JP’965 and Nolan references teach rear swing arm shock absorbers designed to cushion shocks transferred to the frame from the rear wheel, as is well known, for the comfort and safety of the rider.
Applicant argues that Nolin fails to teach the claimed position of the spring element. The examiner disagrees. Applicant points to Figure 6 of Nolin, which teaches a shock absorber/spring element connected to the frame at a location that is forward of the swing arm pivot point. The examiner disagrees. The rejection relies on the embodiment of Figure 11 of Nolin, which shows the spring element to be pivotally connected to frame 80 at one end and to the rear swing arm at its opposite end. The spring element is connected to the frame at a pivot point that is vertically above the motor 90, between the front and rear of the motor, and rearward of the swing arm pivot point. Therefore, the combination appears to teach all of the claimed features as discussed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Plazotta teaches an electric motorcycle having a spring element mounted between a rear wheel swing arm and frame, where the spring element is connected to the swing arm forward of the rear wheel and connected to the frame at a pivot point that is forward of the rear wheel and rearward of the swing arm pivot.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNE MARIE M BOEHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/ab/