DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, it is not clear if the seed layer contains iron, titanium and lead in addition to bismuth (claim 1) or as an alternative. Clarification is required.
Claim 5 recites the limitation of “a titanium intensity measured by SIMS is 300cps or less”. According to claim 1, the piezoelectric layer contains potassium, sodium and niobium. It is not clear where the titanium is coming from or why there should be titanium in the piezoelectric layer. Second, it is not clear what would happen in the case where the thickness of the piezoelectric layer is less than 240nm? In addition, SIMS should be defined before its first use in the claims. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yonemura et al. (JP2019133981, hereinafter Yonemura).
Regarding claim 1, Yonemura discloses a piezoelectric element (110) comprising: an adhesion layer (page 3, 9th paragraph) formed at a substrate and containing titanium (page 3, 9th paragraph); a lower electrode (10) formed at the adhesion layer; a diffusion reduction layer formed at the lower electrode and containing iridium (page 2, 2nd paragraph discloses iridium as part of the elements in the 9th group); a seed layer formed at the diffusion reduction layer and containing bismuth (page 2, 7th paragraph); a piezoelectric layer formed at the seed layer and containing potassium, sodium, and niobium (page 2, 4th paragraph); and an upper electrode (30) formed at the piezoelectric layer (20).
Regarding claim 2, the seed layer contains iron and titanium (page 2, 6th-7th paragraphs).
Regarding claim 5, Yonemura discloses the piezoelectric element as explained above, but fails to explicitly disclose the intensity of titanium is 300cps or less when measured by SIMS at a distance of 240nm from the seed layer. Note that the intensity of the titanium is considered as a goal of the invention; the Applicants provide no dimensional or structural information on how this is achieved beyond that which Yonemura discloses. It has been held that where the structure recited in a reference is the same as the claimed structure, claimed properties and functions are presumed to be inherent. In re Best 195 USPQ 430, 433.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonemura.
Regarding claim 3, Yonemura discloses the piezoelectric element as explained above, wherein the piezoelectric layer comprises a seed layer. However, Yonemura fails to explicitly disclose the thickness of the seed layer being 20nm or less. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the instant application to determine the thickness of the seed layer, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2nd 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In the instant case, Yonemura discloses a piezoelectric layer having a thickness of at least 100nm, a 20nm seed layer would provide an orientation layer without increasing the overall size of the element.
Regarding claim 4, Yonemura discloses the piezoelectric element as explained above, but fails to explicitly disclose the diffusion reduction layer containing iridium oxide. Selection from among known, suitable materials has long been held to be within the skill expected of the routineer and therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide an iridium oxide to prevent piezoelectric components from diffusing into the electrode during the manufacturing process. Iridium oxide is a known material used as a diffusion barrier (see Morozumi, US20100020135 for example).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/J. San Martin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837