DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-9, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf et al. US 20200343675 in view of Hardie GB 2346745.
With regards to claims 1, 7, and 11 Wolf discloses, a method for determining an inlet terminal temperature of an electric vehicle charging inlet using an electronic controller [Fig 1 and 3], comprising:
obtaining a current temperature value of the temperature sensor via the electronic controller at a time after application of electrical power to the inlet terminal [Wolf Fig 3 S2 determination of temperatures];
calculating the inlet terminal temperature using the electronic controller based on, the current temperature value [Wolf Fig 3 S2], a predetermined temperature sensor normalization factor [Wolf ¶21 “As can be seen in the thermal equivalent circuit diagram 102 shown in FIG. 1, the section between the two measurement regions 108, 110 has a thermal resistance Rknown, which can be ascertained by appropriate calibration measurements. This known thermal resistance Rknown can therefore be used for the thermal modelling of the pin 100”], and a predetermined terminal normalization factor [Wolf ¶37 “The predicted temperature value Tcontact is outputted to an evaluation unit in step S8 and can now be compared with a stored limit value Tgrenz for the temperature at the contact zone”] stored in a memory device that is in electronic communication with the electronic controller for the time after application of electrical power to the inlet terminal; and
regulating the application of electrical power to the inlet terminal using the electronic controller to maintain the inlet terminal temperature below a predetermined threshold based on the calculated inlet terminal temperature [Wolf ¶37 “Provision can also be made for regulation of the charging current density to be carried out, which ensures that the calculated temperature in the contact zone remains around a desired target temperature within a predetermined tolerance band”].
Wolf fails to disclose obtaining an initial temperature value of a temperature sensor configured to measure the temperature of an inlet terminal of the electric vehicle charging inlet via the electronic controller prior to application of electrical power to the inlet terminal and the initial temperature value.
However, Hardie discloses, obtaining an initial temperature value of a temperature sensor configured to measure the temperature of an inlet terminal of the electric vehicle charging inlet via the electronic controller prior to application of electrical power to the inlet terminal [Abstract “The charger does not allow charging to commence unless the battery is initially within certain charge limits 32, determined by comparison of battery voltage with a threshold voltage, comparison of battery temperature with minimum and maximum values” disclosing that an initial temp value is obtained prior to charging] and the initial temperature value [abstract above].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the chargers of Wolf and Hardie to take an initial temp measurement in order to improve safety and prevent damage to the battery.
Claims 7 and 11 are rejected for similar reasons as claim 1 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
With regards to claim 2 the combination discloses, the method according to claim 1, wherein a time series of the temperature sensor normalization factors is previously derived based on experimental simultaneous measurements of the current temperature value from the temperature sensor and the inlet terminal temperature [Wolf ¶21 above].
With regards to claims 5 and 13 the combination discloses, the method according to claim 1, wherein the inlet terminal conducts an alternating current after the application of electrical power to the inlet terminal [Wolf ¶3 “charging by means of alternating current (modes 1 to 3), which can also take place via a common household power supply, but takes a relatively long time, and substantially more rapid direct-current charging (mode 4 and mode 5)” disclosing known AC charging capabilities].
Claim 13 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 5 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
With regards to claims 6 and 14 the combination discloses, the method according to claim 1, wherein the inlet terminal conducts a direct current after the application of electrical power to the inlet terminal [Wolf ¶30 mentions a DC+ and DC- pins].
Claim 14 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 6 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
With regards to claim 8 the combination discloses, the computer readable medium according to claim 7, wherein a time series of the predetermined temperature sensor normalization factors and the terminal normalization factors are contained in the computer readable medium [Wolf ¶37 “be compared with a stored limit value” which reasonably reads on the values being contained within a computer readable medium].
With regards to claim 9 the combination discloses, the computer readable medium according to claim 8, wherein the program instructions, the predetermined temperature sensor normalization factors, the terminal normalization factors, and the predetermined temperature threshold are contained in a nonvolatile portion of the computer readable medium [Wolf ¶37 above, where the stored limit value reasonably reads on the device having some kind of nonvolatile portion of memory].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf et al. US 20200343675 in view of Hardie GB 2346745 further in view of Chen et al. US 20180283913 further in view of Pan et al. US 20160041112.
With regards to claim 4 the combination discloses, the method according to claim 3, wherein the temperature sensor is a negative temperature coefficient (NTC) thermistor [Wolf ¶47 “For a person skilled in the art, however, it is clear that every other type of temperature sensors can also be used as a temperature probe according to the present invention, for example resistance sensors such as Pt100 or Ni100 elements, and also resistance elements with negative or positive temperature coefficients (NTC or PTC elements)”, wherein the method further comprises:
while simultaneously recording a measured value of the inlet terminal temperature over a time period starting at an initial time (to) as electrical power is applied to the inlet terminal [Wolf ¶37 above and where processing and calculation reasonably read on the recording of the measured values];
determining a first temperature delta between the recorded temperature values of the NTC thermistor over the time period and the recorded temperature value of the NTC thermistor at the initial time (to) and determining a second temperature delta between the measured value of the inlet terminal temperature over the time period and the measured value of the inlet terminal temperature at the initial time (to) [Wolf ¶33 “A local temperature gradient can be calculated (step S3) from the amount and the sign of the difference between T1 and T2. Subsequently, the temperatures T1, T2 and Ta are ascertained (step S4) at a second time t2 and a second local temperature gradient is calculated from the second temperature values. The temporal change in the temperature gradient is ascertained (step S5) from the comparison of the two local temperature gradients”];
selecting an appropriate time step increment for determining the first and second temperature delta data and for determining the coefficients for the thermal resistance and time constant for the NTC thermistor and the inlet terminal [Wolf Fig 3 determination steps at S2 and S4 and a difference of time between each measurement];
calculating the temperature sensor normalization factor and the terminal normalization factor by dividing each of the first and second temperature delta datum by a steady state response value of the NTC thermistor [Wolf Fig 3 and ¶21 and 37 above]; and
recording the temperature sensor normalization factor and the terminal normalization factor for each time step increment [Wolf’s processing and calculation steps reasonably read on recording of values as the values would need to be stored in order to be processed by the system].
Wolf in view of Hardie fail to disclose determining and recording the current temperature value of the NTC thermistor using the Steinhart-Hart equation, and developing a RC model equation to fit the first and second temperature delta data by determining coefficients for a thermal resistance and a time constant for the NTC thermistor and the inlet terminal.
However, Chen, discloses, determining and recording the current temperature value of the NTC thermistor using the Steinhart-Hart equation [Chen ¶9 “The calibration formulas may include the Steinhart-Hart equation”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the energy systems of Wolf in view of Hardie with Chen to include the Steinhart-hart equation to provide more accurate thermal behavior of the system in order to improve safety and prevent damage.
Wolf in view of Hardie fail to disclose developing a RC model equation to fit the first and second temperature delta data by determining coefficients for a thermal resistance and a time constant for the NTC thermistor and the inlet terminal.
However, Pan discloses, developing a RC model equation to fit the first and second temperature delta data by determining coefficients for a thermal resistance and a time constant for the NTC thermistor and the inlet terminal [Pan Figs 3 and 4 disclose RC models].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the thermal analyses systems of Wolf in view of Hardie with Pan to model the thermal behavior such as the Foster RC and Cauer RC models to provide a more simplified and accurate thermal model in order to improve reliability and thermal management capabilities.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 10, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art alone or in combination fails to further teach or suggest “wherein the inlet terminal temperature is calculated by the electronic controller using the formula:
[AltContent: textbox (=)]T (t) T (t )+ (Tsensor(t)-Tsensor(to)) NF (t)
terminal sensor O NFsensor(t) * terminal ,
wherein Tterminal(t) is the inlet terminal temperature, Tsensor(to) is the initial temperature value of the temperature sensor, Tsensor(t) is the current temperature value of the temperature sensor, NFsensor(t) is the temperature sensor normalization factor, and NFterminal(t) is the terminal normalization factor”.
Conclusion
/NATHAN J INSTONE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859