Response to Arguments made in Amendment
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 2 of Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, filed 02/17/2026, with respect to the objections of claims 2-4, 12, 13, 15, and 19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant canceled claim 2 and has amended claims 3, 4, 12, 13, 15, and 16 in line with the issues brought up in objection. The objections of claims 2-4, 12, 13, 15, and 19 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 2 of Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, filed 02/17/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections of claim 12-13 and 19-21 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant amended claims 12-13 and 19-21 in line with the issues brought up in rejection, as such, the 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections of claim 12-13 and 19-21 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments in “Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment”, filed 02/17/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 1, 11, 19-21 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant amended claim 1 to include the limitation that “said plurality of connectors each defining a carbon electrical connector unitary with said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer by conversion of said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer into carbon by laser irradiation” and argues that Kabir no longer discloses the instant application because of this new limitation. Applicant argues that Kabir discloses a vertically grown, deposition based, conductive nanostructures within vias extending though an assembly substrate, which in turn, Kabir has conventional via structures formed separately from the substrate. Applicant argues that in opposition to Kabir, the instant application uses a laser irradiation process to directly transform portions of the SiC substrate into carbon-rich regions, which does not require a precursor, catalyst, growth stack and no deposition.
In response, Examiner does not disagree with the applicant’s explanation as to why the invention of Kabir would be different from invention of the instant application, from at least the method of making each. However, from the claim language alone in the instant application, the instant application still appears to be disclosed by cited application of Kabir. The language of the claim poses two different problems. First the language appears directed to a process, i.e. by conversion and laser irradiation. Second, the language of the claim makes it seem as though unity is only there because of said process, where the specific language says plurality of connectors each defining a carbon electrical connector unity with said SiC interposer BY conversion … by laser irradiation.” And applicants’ arguments fail to even consider this when by cutting off the claim language right before the “by” step. The claim is saying that X is Y by Z. Regardless, when viewing the claim without the process steps, it is still fair to say that instant application is still disclosed by Kabir. Applicant, is insisting that because Kabir, uses a growth process, that Kabir may not have unity of the plurality of connectors with said SiC interposer. However, Examiner would argue that this is an unnecessary narrow interpretation of what unity means. Merriam-Webster Dictionary defines unitary as “having the character of a unit: undivided, whole” (Merriam-Webster: https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/unitary). To one of ordinary skill in the art, the plain meaning of something being unitary could also include a SiC interposer that has carbon based electrical connectors inside, regardless of how they were made. To say this would not be true, this would also mean that the claim in the instant application no longer claim the instant invention because the instant invention would also fail this narrow definition of “unity”, as the laser process does materially change the SiC substrate in areas that the laser irritated.
Examiner believes that the art previously cited does disclose “plurality of connectors each defining a carbon electrical connector unitary with said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer” based on the “unitary” discussion above, and that the claim language related to conversion of the SIC interposer is related to process steps. Because of this, the 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 1, 11, 19-21 are maintained.
Claim Objections
Claims 21 and 29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 21 on line 11 uses “forth” meaning forward or onward, instead of fourth referring to the number four in a sequence.
Claim 29 on line 9 similarly has the same issue of using forth when clearly intending for fourth.
These issues do not rise to any definitiveness issues as it is obvious what was intended for both claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claims both claim having carbon electrical connectors that include “quantum-pretictic materials.” However, quantum-pretictic materials is not a term of art and there fails to be any explanation in the originally filed disclosure as to what it is. Examiners best guess is that “pretictic” is a spelling error of either “peritectic” or “predictive.” However, this very well could not be a spelling mistake and instead be a unknown term introduced into the art. Examiner believes this uncertainty makes the claim impossible to examine and as such, claims 7 and 22 will not be examined on their merits in this office action. Appropriate action is needed.
Claims 7 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Currently, “quantum-pretictic materials” as claimed in claims 7 and 22, are not described in the specification and are not a known term of art. Examiner questions how one skilled in the art would be able to make and/or use the invention as claimed without undue experimentation, based on the disclosure of the instant application. For this reason, Examiner believes the disclosure fails to enable one of skill in the art to make and/or use the invention where carbon electrical connectors include quantum-pretictic materials as in claims 7 and 22. In an effort for compact prosecution, “quantum-pretictic materials” is instead going to be understood as “quantum materials” for purposes of examination in this action.
Claims 27 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
On page 27-31 of “Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment,” filed 06/12/2026, Applicant points to the specification, claims, and all figures for support. However, upon review of the originally filed disclosure, Examiner fails to find support for “said plurality of connectors formed by controlled oxidation by laser irradiation processing said silicon carbide (SiC), thereby yielding an electrically conductive non-stoichiometric silicon-carbon-oxygen ceramic.” Specifically, Examiner can only find the material claimed of the “conductive non-stoichiometric silicon-carbon-oxygen ceramic,” in the specification [0007], where applicant was disclosing a different invention under U. S. Patent 5,145,741, and not the instant invention. Examiner fails to find an indication that applicant had position of the claimed invention including the above limitation at the time the application was filed.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. New claim 28 appears to introduce new matter. Claim 28 attempts to claim the limitation of “a third outer surface” of said silicon carbide material, where at least a carbon electrical connector extends between first, second, and third outer surface. Applicant points to specification and drawings for support for this limitation. However, upon review, Examiner fails to find where applicant had explicit support for where there is a third outer surface on the same interposer as the first and second outer surface AND there a carbon electrical connector extending between the three outer surfaces. [0095] and Fig. 6B discusses the electrical connector extending between the three outer surfaces but has the third outer surface on a different interposer.
The term “remote” in claims 24 and 26 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “remote” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to the metes and bounds as to what would be considered remote and what would not be. Two people of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably come to different conclusions as to what would be remote.
In claim 25, The term “higher” from the line “for permitting higher volumetric interconnection density” in claim 25 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “higher” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation above poses the question as to the metes and bounds as to what higher volumetric interconnection density would be. It is unclear where exactly the density of interconnects would be “higher” and unclear as to what it is “higher” then. Furthermore, it is unclear if the limitation of “for permitting higher volumetric interconnection density” is actually limiting the device as claimed as the language just says that there is permission to have a higher density, not that there is actually a higher density. It is for these reasons examiner believes it is best to examine the claim without the quoted limitation. However, appropriate action is still needed.
Claims 27 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: It is unclear where or what the “non-stoichiometric silicon-carbon-oxygen ceramic” is/are. Currently, claims 27 and 31 incorporate method steps of “said plurality of connectors formed by controlled oxidation by laser irradiation processing said silicon carbide (SiC), thereby yielding an electrically conductive non-stoichiometric silicon-carbon-oxygen ceramic.” However, the language makes it unclear if this method step results in the plurality of connectors being the thing that includes the non-stoichiometric silicon-carbon-oxygen ceramic or if it is the method step that includes the plurality of connectors that yields the non-stoichiometric silicon-carbon-oxygen ceramic and the non-stoichiometric silicon-carbon-oxygen ceramic is somewhere else entirely. To solve this indefiniteness issue, there needs to be explicit structural relationship and/or details as to what and where the non-stoichiometric silicon-carbon-oxygen ceramic is. Appropriate action is required.
Claims 28-30, both claims pose a definitiveness issue by their use of “between.” Claim 28 claims “carbon electrical connector extending between said first outer surface, said second outer surface and said third outer surface,” and claims 29 and 30 write “carbon electrical connector extending between said first outer surface, said second outer surface, said third outer surface and said fourth outer surface.” These claim limitations are unclear as to what it means to be “between.” When using between, it is possible to make groups such as “a meeting between Jane, Mary and Joe” and have it be clear as all three participants are required. However, when discussing location of objects/elements, using between should indicate a range for the location using endpoints. When using more than 2 endpoints, such as a first, second, and third outer surface. It is unclear if something between the first and second outer surface but not the first and third outer surface would still be between the first, second, and third outer surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kabir et al. (US 20190267345 A1; Kabir).
Regarding Claim 1, Kabir discloses an improved interposer for connecting an integrated circuit die or multiple dies to a substrate (Fig. 5, or Para. 1, “The present invention relates to an assembly platform for arrangement between an electronic device and a substrate to interconnect the first electronic device and the substrate through the assembly platform”), comprising:
a silicon carbide (SiC) interposer (4) having a first (14) and a second (19) outer surface (Para. 65, Lines 3-5); and
a plurality of connectors (25 – connectors/nanostructures, 12 - Vias in Fig. 1/2a) formed in situ within said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer for connecting the integrated circuit die to the substrate (Para. 34, lines 5-9, where the vias/nanostructures are formed on the assembly substrate) (Para. 69, “On the second side 19 of the interposer substrate 11 there is connection bumps 17 also connected with the vias 12).
the limitation “said plurality of connectors each defining a carbon electrical connector unitary with said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer by conversion of said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer into carbon by laser irradiation,” is a process, and the claim is directed to a product. It has been held that a product-by-process claim is directed to the product per se, regardless of how the product is actually made. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC, 1985) and the related case law cited therein make it clear that it is the final product which must determine patentability in a product-by-process claim, and not the process by which it is made. Further, an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in a product-by-process claim or not. As stated in In re Thorpe, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972); In re Pilkington, 411 F.2d 1345, 162 USPQ 145 (CCPA 1969); Buono v. Yankee Maid Dress Corp., 77 F.2d 274, 279, 26, USPQ 57, 61 (2d. Cir 1935) Perdue Pharma v. Epic Pharma, App. No. 2014-1294 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Currently, the prior art discloses the device as claimed.
Regarding Claim 3, Kabir discloses the improved interposer as set forth in claim 1, and further wherein plurality of said connectors are optical wave guide connectors (Para. 22, “The second plurality of nanostructures may be arranged in a regular array to create structures to mimic artificial photonic crystals to function as optical interconnects or wave guides.”).
Regarding Claim 4, Kabir discloses the improved interposer as set forth in claim 1, and further wherein said plurality of connectors are optical wave guide connectors (“The second plurality of nanostructures 25 may also serve as alignment marks or have optical functions”); and
each of said optical wave guide connectors comprising a tunnel formed in said silicon carbide (SiC) by carbon rich tunnel walls (Para. 71, “Furthermore, the second plurality of nanostructures may be grown from a recessed assembly structure [4]’”).
Regarding Claim 5, Kabir discloses the improved interposer as set forth in claim 1, and further wherein at least one of said plurality of connectors formed in situ within said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer is formed at an angle relative to said first outer surface (In Fig. 12 a/b, the vias 12 nanostructure 25 formed in situ on substrate 11 each appear to form a vertical linear path in the figure while the first outer surface of the substrate 14 appears to be horizontal. It would be reasonable to say they form an angle relative to each other, albeit a 90° angle).
Regarding Claim 6, Kabir discloses the improved interposer as set forth in claim 1, and further wherein at least one of said plurality of connectors formed in situ within said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer is an angular monolithic via formed at an angle relative to said first outer surface (Para. 69, “In FIG. 2a there is shown an assembly substrate 11 having a plurality of vias' 12 extending through the assembly substrate 11, from the first side 14 to the second side 19 of the assembly substrate 11. There is also shown a conductor pattern 13 conductively connected to the vias' 12”).
Regarding Claim 7, Kabir the improved interposer as set forth in claim 1
Examiner will note that “quantum-pretictic materials” is not a known term of art and the originally filed disclosure fails to provide a definition as in which someone of skill in the art can understand See above 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejections for a more detailed explination. In an effort for compact prosecution, “quantum-pretictic materials” is instead going to be understood as “quantum materials” for purposes of examination in this action.
Kabir also discloses wherein said carbon electrical connectors including quantum materials;
said quantum materials defining a conductive thermal connector unitary with said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer by laser irradiation; and
said quantum materials defining a conductive electrical connector unitary with said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer by laser irradiation (It is well known that Carbon can be considered a quantum material as it is used for it quantum confinement and used in things such as Carbon nanotubes, Carbon quantum dots, Graphene, etc. In Para. 12, of Kabir discloses the advantageous uses of the carbon structure to include carbon nanotubes, Carbon nanofibers, and carbon nanostructures. Thus, it is reasonable to say that Kabir discloses that the carbon electrical connectors include quantum materials)
Regarding Claim 8, the limitation “formed by laser irradiation of said silicon carbide (SiC) to form said optical wave guide” is a process, and the claim is directed to a product. It has been held that a product-by-process claim is directed to the product per se, regardless of how the product is actually made. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC, 1985) and the related case law cited therein make it clear that it is the final product which must determine patentability in a product-by-process claim, and not the process by which it is made. Further, an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in a product-by-process claim or not. As stated in In re Thorpe, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972); In re Pilkington, 411 F.2d 1345, 162 USPQ 145 (CCPA 1969); Buono v. Yankee Maid Dress Corp., 77 F.2d 274, 279, 26, USPQ 57, 61 (2d. Cir 1935) Perdue Pharma v. Epic Pharma, App. No. 2014-1294 (Fed. Cir. 2016);
Furthermore, Kabir discloses the improved interposer as set forth in claim 1, and further wherein plurality of connectors are optical wave guide connectors formed by laser irradiation of said silicon carbide (SiC) to form said optical wave guide (Para. 71, “The second plurality of nanostructures may be arranged in a regular array to create structures to mimic artificial photonic crystals to function as optical interconnects or wave guides”).
Regarding Claim 9, Kabir discloses the improved interposer as set forth in claim 1, including a recess (12) formed in said first outer surface (Para. 30, “the second plurality of nanostructures may be grown from a recessed assembly structure” and Para. 66, “The conductor pattern 13 is conductively connected to the vias 12 and to nanostructure connection bumps 15 on the first side 14 of the assembly substrate 11”); and
the integrated circuit die (3) disposed in said recess (12) and thermally coupled to said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer for providing a heat sink for the integrated circuit die (Fig. 1, shows the IC die 3 coupled to the vias 12 and nanostructures. Para. 71, “for example the second plurality of nanostructures 25 may be configured to dissipate heat from the IC 3 to the assembly substrate 11”).
Regarding Claim 10, the limitation “by a laser ablating process” is a process, and the claim is directed to a product. It has been held that a product-by-process claim is directed to the product per se, regardless of how the product is actually made. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC, 1985) and the related case law cited therein make it clear that it is the final product which must determine patentability in a product-by-process claim, and not the process by which it is made. Further, an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in a product-by-process claim or not. As stated in In re Thorpe, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972); In re Pilkington, 411 F.2d 1345, 162 USPQ 145 (CCPA 1969); Buono v. Yankee Maid Dress Corp., 77 F.2d 274, 279, 26, USPQ 57, 61 (2d. Cir 1935) Perdue Pharma v. Epic Pharma, App. No. 2014-1294 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Currently, if the prior discloses the same recesses, it doesn’t matter how they were made as long as they can provide the same utility.
Furthermore, Kabir discloses the improved interposer as set forth in claim 1, including a recess (12) formed in said first outer surface (14) by a laser ablating process (as explained above, regardless of if the recess in Kabir was made by a laser ablating process, the recess in Kabir still provides the same claimed utility. No patentable weight was given to the process step of making the recess by way of laser ablating), and
the integrated circuit die (3) disposed in said recess (12) and thermally coupled to said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer for providing a heat sink for the integrated circuit die (Fig. 1, shows the IC die 3 coupled to the vias 12 and nanostructures. Para. 71, “for example the second plurality of nanostructures 25 may be configured to dissipate heat from the IC 3 to the assembly substrate 11”).
Regarding Claim 11, Kabir discloses an improved interposer (4) for connecting a silicon integrated circuit die (3) to a substrate, comprising;
a wide bandgap interposer (4) having a first (14) and a second (19) outer surface (Fig. 1, where the interposer 4 has first and second side. Para. 85, “In some implementation, chlorination process is used to derive carbon nanostructures from metal carbide layer e.g. forming carbon nanostructures from TiC, SiC or any other carbide precursors”);
a plurality of connectors (25 – connectors/nanostructures, 12 - Vias in Fig. 1/2a) formed in situ within wide bandgap interposer for connecting the silicon integrated circuit die to the substrate (Para. 34, lines 5-9, where the vias/nanostructures are formed on the assembly substrate) (Para. 69, “On the second side 19 of the interposer substrate 11 there is connection bumps 17 also connected with the vias 12).
the limitation “said plurality of connectors each defining a carbon electrical connector unitary with said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer by conversion of said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer into carbon by laser irradiation,” is a process, and the claim is directed to a product. It has been held that a product-by-process claim is directed to the product per se, regardless of how the product is actually made. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC, 1985) and the related case law cited therein make it clear that it is the final product which must determine patentability in a product-by-process claim, and not the process by which it is made. Further, an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in a product-by-process claim or not. As stated in In re Thorpe, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972); In re Pilkington, 411 F.2d 1345, 162 USPQ 145 (CCPA 1969); Buono v. Yankee Maid Dress Corp., 77 F.2d 274, 279, 26, USPQ 57, 61 (2d. Cir 1935) Perdue Pharma v. Epic Pharma, App. No. 2014-1294 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Currently, the prior art discloses the device as claimed.
Regarding Claim 12, Kabir discloses the improved interposer as set forth in claim 11, wherein said wide bandgap interposer is selected from the group consisting of silicon carbide (SiC), gallium nitiide (GaN), aluminum nitride (A IN), synthetic diamond, glass and their respective compounds and alloys (Para. 95).
Regarding Claim 13, Kabir discloses the improved interposer as set forth in claim 11, wherein said wide bandgap interposer is a combination compounds selected from the group consisting of silicon carbide (SiC), gallium nitride (GaN) aluminum nitride (A IN). synthetic diamond, glass and their respective compounds and alloys (Para. 95).
Regarding Claim 14, the limitation “formed in said wide bandgap material to form said carbon electrical connectors” is a process, and the claim is directed to a product. It has been held that a product-by-process claim is directed to the product per se, regardless of how the product is actually made. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC, 1985) and the related case law cited therein make it clear that it is the final product which must determine patentability in a product-by-process claim, and not the process by which it is made. Further, an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in a product-by-process claim or not. As stated in In re Thorpe, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972); In re Pilkington, 411 F.2d 1345, 162 USPQ 145 (CCPA 1969); Buono v. Yankee Maid Dress Corp., 77 F.2d 274, 279, 26, USPQ 57, 61 (2d. Cir 1935) Perdue Pharma v. Epic Pharma, App. No. 2014-1294 (Fed. Cir. 2016);
Furthermore, Kabir discloses the improved interposer as set forth in claim 11, wherein said plurality of connectors are carbon electrical connectors formed in said wide bandgap material to form said carbon electrical connectors (Para. 69, lines 16-26, where the nanostructures are carbon nanostructures).
Regarding Claim 15, Kabir discloses the improved interposer as set forth in claim 11, wherein plurality of connectors are optical wave guide connectors formed in said wide bandgap material to form said optical wave guide (“The second plurality of nanostructures 25 may also serve as alignment marks or have optical functions”).
Regarding Claim 16, Kabir discloses the improved interposer as set forth in claim 11, wherein plurality of connectors are optical wave guide connectors (“The second plurality of nanostructures 25 may also serve as alignment marks or have optical functions”); and
each of said optical wave guide connectors comprising a tunnel formed in said wide bandgap material by carbon rich tunnel walls (Para. 71, “Furthermore, the second plurality of nanostructures may be grown from a recessed assembly structure [4]’”).
Regarding Claim 17, Kabir discloses the improved interposer as set forth in claim 11, including a recess (12) formed in said Fist outer surface (Para. 30, “the second plurality of nanostructures may be grown from a recessed assembly structure” and Para. 66, “The conductor pattern 13 is conductively connected to the vias 12 and to nanostructure connection bumps 15 on the first side 14 of the assembly substrate 11”); and
the integrated circuit die (3) disposed in said recess (12) and thermally coupled to said wide bandgap material for providing a heat sink for the integrated circuit die (Fig. 1, shows the IC die 3 coupled to the vias 12 and nanostructures. Para. 71, “for example the second plurality of nanostructures 25 may be configured to dissipate heat from the IC 3 to the assembly substrate 11”).
Regarding Claim 18, the limitation “by a laser ablating process” is a process, and the claim is directed to a product. It has been held that a product-by-process claim is directed to the product per se, regardless of how the product is actually made. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC, 1985) and the related case law cited therein make it clear that it is the final product which must determine patentability in a product-by-process claim, and not the process by which it is made. Further, an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in a product-by-process claim or not. As stated in In re Thorpe, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972); In re Pilkington, 411 F.2d 1345, 162 USPQ 145 (CCPA 1969); Buono v. Yankee Maid Dress Corp., 77 F.2d 274, 279, 26, USPQ 57, 61 (2d. Cir 1935) Perdue Pharma v. Epic Pharma, App. No. 2014-1294 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Currently, if the prior discloses the same recesses, it doesn’t matter how they were made as long as they can provide the same utility.
Furthermore, Kabir discloses the improved interposer as set forth in claim 11, including a recess (12) formed in said first outer surface (14) by a laser ablating process (as explained above, regardless of if the recess in Kabir was made by a laser ablating process, the recess in Kabir still provides the same claimed utility. No patentable weight was given to the process step of making the recess by way of laser ablating); and
the integrated circuit die (3) disposed in said recess (12) and thermally coupled to said wide bandgap material for providing a heat sink for the integrated circuit die (Fig. 1, shows the IC die 3 coupled to the vias 12 and nanostructures. Para. 71, “for example the second plurality of nanostructures 25 may be configured to dissipate heat from the IC 3 to the assembly substrate 11”).
Regarding Claim 19, Kabir discloses an improved packaging device for connecting an integrated circuit die to a circuit board (Fig. 5, or Para. 1, “The present invention relates to an assembly platform for arrangement between an electronic device and a substrate to interconnect the first electronic device and the substrate through the assembly platform”), comprising:
a silicon carbide (SiC) material (4) having a first (14) and a second (19) outer surface (Para. 65, Lines 3-5);
a recess (12) formed in said first outer surface (Para. 30, “the second plurality of nanostructures may be grown from a recessed assembly structure” and Para. 66, “The conductor pattern 13 is conductively connected to the vias 12 and to nanostructure connection bumps 15 on the first side 14 of the assembly substrate 11”);
the integrated circuit die (3) disposed in said recess (12) and thermally coupled to said silicon carbide (SiC) material for providing a heat sink for the integrated circuit die (Fig. 1, shows the IC die 3 coupled to the vias 12 and nanostructures. Para. 71, “for example the second plurality of nanostructures 25 may be configured to dissipate heat from the IC 3 to the assembly substrate 11”);
a plurality of connectors (25 – connectors/nanostructures, 12 - Vias in Fig. 1/2a) formed in situ within said silicon carbide (SiC) material for connecting the integrated circuit die to said second outer surface (Para. 34, lines 5-9, where the vias/nanostructures are formed on the assembly substrate) (Para. 69, “On the second side 19 of the interposer substrate 11 there is connection bumps 17 also connected with the vias 12); and
said second outer surface of said silicon carbide (SiC) material being directly connected to the circuit board (Fig. 1, where connection bumps 17 on second outer surface 19 are shown to be directly connected to pads 6 on circuit board 2. Para. 66, lines 11-16).
the limitation “said plurality of connectors each defining a carbon electrical connector unitary with said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer by conversion of said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer into carbon by laser irradiation,” is a process, and the claim is directed to a product. It has been held that a product-by-process claim is directed to the product per se, regardless of how the product is actually made. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC, 1985) and the related case law cited therein make it clear that it is the final product which must determine patentability in a product-by-process claim, and not the process by which it is made. Further, an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in a product-by-process claim or not. As stated in In re Thorpe, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972); In re Pilkington, 411 F.2d 1345, 162 USPQ 145 (CCPA 1969); Buono v. Yankee Maid Dress Corp., 77 F.2d 274, 279, 26, USPQ 57, 61 (2d. Cir 1935) Perdue Pharma v. Epic Pharma, App. No. 2014-1294 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Currently, the prior art discloses the device as claimed.
Regarding Claim 20, Kabir discloses an improved packaging device for connecting integrated circuit dies (Fig. 5, or Para. 1, “The present invention relates to an assembly platform for arrangement between an electronic device and a substrate to interconnect the first electronic device and the substrate through the assembly platform”), comprising;
a silicon carbide (SiC) material (4) having a first (14) and a second (19) outer surface (Para. 65, Lines 3-5);
a recess (12) formed in said first outer surface (Para. 30, “the second plurality of nanostructures may be grown from a recessed assembly structure” and Para. 66, “The conductor pattern 13 is conductively connected to the vias 12 and to nanostructure connection bumps 15 on the first side 14 of the assembly substrate 11”);
a first integrated circuit die (3) disposed in said recess (12) and thermally coupled to said silicon carbide (SIC) martial for providing a heat sink for the integrated circuit die (Fig. 1, shows the IC die 3 coupled to the vias 12 and nanostructures. Para. 71, “for example the second plurality of nanostructures 25 may be configured to dissipate heat from the IC 3 to the assembly substrate 11”);
a second recess (12) formed in said second outer surface (Fig. 2a, where the vias a formed on the other side);
a second integrated circuit (3) die disposed in said second recess and thermally coupled to said silicon carbide (SiC) material for providing a heat sink for the integrated circuit die (Fig. 5, Where the plurality of dies 3 have some of them disposed on the recesses on the first side 14 and some of the other dies disposed on the other side 19); and
a plurality of connectors (25 – connectors/nanostructures, 12 - Vias in Fig. 1/2a) formed in situ within said silicon carbide (SiC) material for connecting said first and said second integrated circuit die to a third outer surface of said silicon carbide (SiC) material; (Para. 34, lines 5-9, where the vias/nanostructures are formed on the assembly substrate) (Para. 69, “On the second side 19 of the interposer substrate 11 there is connection bumps 17 also connected with the vias 12).
the limitation “said plurality of connectors each defining a carbon electrical connector unitary with said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer by conversion of said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer into carbon by laser irradiation,” is a process, and the claim is directed to a product. It has been held that a product-by-process claim is directed to the product per se, regardless of how the product is actually made. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC, 1985) and the related case law cited therein make it clear that it is the final product which must determine patentability in a product-by-process claim, and not the process by which it is made. Further, an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in a product-by-process claim or not. As stated in In re Thorpe, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972); In re Pilkington, 411 F.2d 1345, 162 USPQ 145 (CCPA 1969); Buono v. Yankee Maid Dress Corp., 77 F.2d 274, 279, 26, USPQ 57, 61 (2d. Cir 1935) Perdue Pharma v. Epic Pharma, App. No. 2014-1294 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Currently, the prior art discloses the device as claimed.
Regarding Claim 21, Kabir discloses an improved interposer system comprising (Fig. 5, or Para. 1, “The present invention relates to an assembly platform for arrangement between an electronic device and a substrate to interconnect the first electronic device and the substrate through the assembly platform”);
a first silicon carbide (SiC) interposer (4) having a first (14) and a second (19) outer surface with a first and a second recess (plurality of vias 3) defined in said first and second outer surfaces (Para 69);
a first and a second integrated circuit die disposed in said first and second recess and thermally coupled to said first silicon carbide (SiC) interposer for providing a heat sink for said first and second integrated circuit die (Fig. 5, Where the plurality of dies 3 have some of them disposed on the recesses on the first side 14 and some of the other dies disposed on the other side 19);
a second silicon carbide (SiC) interposer having third and a fourth outer surface with a third and a fourth recess defined in said third and a fourth outer surfaces;
a third and a fourth integrated circuit die disposed in said third and a fourth recess and thermally coupled to said second silicon carbide (SiC) interposer for providing a heat sink for said third and fourth (Changed “forth” to “fourth,” see above claim objection) integrated circuit die; and
said first silicon carbide (SiC) interposer being stacked upon or adjacent to said second silicon carbide (SiC) interposer for interconnecting said first through fourth integrated circuit dies (Para. 68, where the same interposer may be stacked, i.e. duplicating all layers, making a second SIC interposer, third and fourth outer surfaces, more dies in said third and fourth surfaces that are thermally coupled to said SIC interposer).
a plurality of connectors (25 – connectors/nanostructures, 12 - Vias in Fig. 1/2a) formed in situ within said first and said second silicon carbide (SiC) material for connecting said first, said second, said third and said fourth integrated circuit die (Para. 34, lines 5-9, where the vias/nanostructures are formed on the assembly substrate) (Para. 69, “On the second side 19 of the interposer substrate 11 there is connection bumps 17 also connected with the vias 12); and
the limitation “said plurality of connectors each defining a carbon electrical connector unitary with said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer by conversion of said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer into carbon by laser irradiation,” is a process, and the claim is directed to a product. It has been held that a product-by-process claim is directed to the product per se, regardless of how the product is actually made. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC, 1985) and the related case law cited therein make it clear that it is the final product which must determine patentability in a product-by-process claim, and not the process by which it is made. Further, an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in a product-by-process claim or not. As stated in In re Thorpe, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972); In re Pilkington, 411 F.2d 1345, 162 USPQ 145 (CCPA 1969); Buono v. Yankee Maid Dress Corp., 77 F.2d 274, 279, 26, USPQ 57, 61 (2d. Cir 1935) Perdue Pharma v. Epic Pharma, App. No. 2014-1294 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Currently, the prior art discloses the device as claimed.
Regarding Claim 22, Kabir discloses an improved interposer for connecting an integrated circuit die or multiple dies to a substrate (Fig. 5, or Para. 1, “The present invention relates to an assembly platform for arrangement between an electronic device and a substrate to interconnect the first electronic device and the substrate through the assembly platform”), comprising:
a silicon carbide (SiC) interposer (4) having a first (14) and a second (19) outer surface (Para. 65, Lines 3-5); and
a plurality of connectors (25 – connectors/nanostructures, 12 - Vias in Fig. 1/2a) formed in situ within said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer for connecting the integrated circuit die to the substrate (Para. 34, lines 5-9, where the vias/nanostructures are formed on the assembly substrate) (Para. 69, “On the second side 19 of the interposer substrate 11 there is connection bumps 17 also connected with the vias 12).
the limitation “said plurality of connectors each defining a carbon electrical connector unitary with aid silicon carbide (SiC) interposer by conversion of said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer into carbon by laser irradiation,” is a process, and the claim is directed to a product. It has been held that a product-by-process claim is directed to the product per se, regardless of how the product is actually made. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC, 1985) and the related case law cited therein make it clear that it is the final product which must determine patentability in a product-by-process claim, and not the process by which it is made. Further, an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in a product-by-process claim or not. As stated in In re Thorpe, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972); In re Pilkington, 411 F.2d 1345, 162 USPQ 145 (CCPA 1969); Buono v. Yankee Maid Dress Corp., 77 F.2d 274, 279, 26, USPQ 57, 61 (2d. Cir 1935) Perdue Pharma v. Epic Pharma, App. No. 2014-1294 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Currently, the prior art discloses the device as claimed.
Examiner will note that “quantum-pretictic materials” is not a known term of art and the originally filed disclosure fails to provide a definition as in which someone of skill in the art can understand See above 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejections for a more detailed explination. In an effort for compact prosecution, “quantum-pretictic materials” is instead going to be understood as “quantum materials” for purposes of examination in this action.
Kabir also discloses wherein said carbon electrical connectors including quantum materials;
said quantum materials defining a conductive thermal connector unitary with said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer by laser irradiation; and
said quantum materials defining a conductive electrical connector unitary with said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer by laser irradiation (It is well known that Carbon can be considered a quantum material as it is used for it quantum confinement and used in things such as Carbon nanotubes, Carbon quantum dots, Graphene, etc. In Para. 12, of Kabir discloses the advantageous uses of the carbon structure to include carbon nanotubes, Carbon nanofibers, and carbon nanostructures. Thus, it is reasonable to say that Kabir discloses that the carbon electrical connectors include quantum materials); and
an insulated portion of said silicon carbide (SiC) unitary with said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer by being void of laser irradiation of said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer.
the limitation “an insulated portion of said silicon carbide (SiC) unitary with said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer by being void of laser irradiation of said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer” is a process, and the claim is directed to a product. It has been held that a product-by-process claim is directed to the product per se, regardless of how the product is actually made. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC, 1985) and the related case law cited therein make it clear that it is the final product which must determine patentability in a product-by-process claim, and not the process by which it is made. Further, an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in a product-by-process claim or not. As stated in In re Thorpe, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972); In re Pilkington, 411 F.2d 1345, 162 USPQ 145 (CCPA 1969); Buono v. Yankee Maid Dress Corp., 77 F.2d 274, 279, 26, USPQ 57, 61 (2d. Cir 1935) Perdue Pharma v. Epic Pharma, App. No. 2014-1294 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Laser irradiation is a process, and to say an area is void of laser irradiation, one would have to know where and when the laser irradiation took place. Because product by process claims are treated only by the structure of the final product rather than any process steps that come to the device, the limitation highlighted above is treated as any place in the interposer that doesn’t have a laser irradiation currently effecting it, which is to say, all places. Currently, the prior art discloses the device as claimed by virtue of not having laser irradiation ongoing in the final product.
Regarding Claim 23, Kabir discloses an improved interposer for connecting an integrated circuit die or multiple dies to a substrate, comprising:
a silicon carbide (SiC) interposer (4) having a first (14) and a second (19) outer surface (Para. 65, Lines 3-5); and
a plurality of connectors (25 – connectors/nanostructures, 12 - Vias in Fig. 1/2a) formed in situ within said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer for connecting the integrated circuit die to the substrate (Para. 34, lines 5-9, where the vias/nanostructures are formed on the assembly substrate) (Para. 69, “On the second side 19 of the interposer substrate 11 there is connection bumps 17 also connected with the vias 12).
the limitation “said plurality of connectors each defining a carbon electrical connector unitary with said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer by conversion of said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer into carbon by laser irradiation,” is a process, and the claim is directed to a product. It has been held that a product-by-process claim is directed to the product per se, regardless of how the product is actually made. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC, 1985) and the related case law cited therein make it clear that it is the final product which must determine patentability in a product-by-process claim, and not the process by which it is made. Further, an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in a product-by-process claim or not. As stated in In re Thorpe, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972); In re Pilkington, 411 F.2d 1345, 162 USPQ 145 (CCPA 1969); Buono v. Yankee Maid Dress Corp., 77 F.2d 274, 279, 26, USPQ 57, 61 (2d. Cir 1935) Perdue Pharma v. Epic Pharma, App. No. 2014-1294 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Currently, the prior art discloses the device as claimed.
said carbon electrical connector unitary with said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer defining a continuous carbon electrical connector between said first outer surface to said second outer surface (see Figs. 2a/2b, where the carbon electrical connectors 12, extend from the first outer surface 14 all the way through to the second outer surface 19 of the interposer 4).
Regarding Claim 25, Kabir discloses an improved interposer for connecting an integrated circuit die or multiple dies to a substrate, comprising:
a silicon carbide (SiC) interposer (4) having a first (14) and a second (19) outer surface (Para. 65, Lines 3-5); and
a plurality of connectors (25 – connectors/nanostructures, 12 - Vias in Fig. 1/2a) formed in situ within said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer for connecting the integrated circuit die to the substrate (Para. 34, lines 5-9, where the vias/nanostructures are formed on the assembly substrate) (Para. 69, “On the second side 19 of the interposer substrate 11 there is connection bumps 17 also connected with the vias 12)
the limitation “said plurality of connectors each defining a carbon electrical connector unitary with said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer by conversion of said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer into carbon by laser irradiation,” is a process, and the claim is directed to a product. It has been held that a product-by-process claim is directed to the product per se, regardless of how the product is actually made. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC, 1985) and the related case law cited therein make it clear that it is the final product which must determine patentability in a product-by-process claim, and not the process by which it is made. Further, an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in a product-by-process claim or not. As stated in In re Thorpe, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972); In re Pilkington, 411 F.2d 1345, 162 USPQ 145 (CCPA 1969); Buono v. Yankee Maid Dress Corp., 77 F.2d 274, 279, 26, USPQ 57, 61 (2d. Cir 1935) Perdue Pharma v. Epic Pharma, App. No. 2014-1294 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Currently, the prior art discloses the device as claimed.
said carbon electrical connector unitary with said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer defining a continuous carbon electrical connector between said first outer surface to said second outer surface (see Figs. 2a/2b, where the carbon electrical connectors 12, extend from the first outer surface 14 all the way through to the second outer surface 19 of the interposer 4)
and said carbon electrical connector unitary with said silicon carbide (SiC) interposer defining a monolithic 3D interconnection including an angular orientation relative to said first outer surface for permitting higher volumetric interconnection density (Para. 69, “In FIG. 2a there is shown an assembly substrate 11 having a plurality of vias' 12 extending through the assembly substrate 11, from the first side 14 to the second side 19 of the assembly substrate 11. There is also shown a conductor pattern 13 conductively connected to the vias' 12”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL J HIBBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/ZANDRA V SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899