DETAILED ACTION
Priority
No Claim for Priority has been made at this time.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on March 28, 2023, April 29, 2024, July 19, 2024, May 1, 2025 and October 21, 2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on December 19, 2025 is acknowledged. As stated in Applicant’s election Claims 7-10 and 17-18 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “approximately equal” in claims 6 and 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “approximately equal” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For purposes of compact prosecution Examiner has interpreted the limitation to mean equal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11-14, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Chong US 20150255953.
Regarding Claim 1, Chong teaches A multiple wavelength external cavity laser device (Fig. 8), comprising:
a gain medium (Fig. 8, 820 Paragraph 0031 “The gain section 820”);
a reflector optically coupled to the gain medium (Fig. 8, 840 Paragraph 0031 “a partial mirror 840, which allows some light to pass through outside of the laser and reflects some of the light back into the cavity.”);
a first wavelength selective element (Fig. 8, 810) optically coupled to the gain medium and the reflector (Fig. 8 shows the first wavelength selective element is optically coupled to the gain medium and the reflector), the first wavelength selective element configured to filter light having a first wavelength (Paragraph 0031 “By adjusting the tunable ring filter 810, the path length that the photons must follow changes. In other words, the path the light follows can be shortened or lengthened by the tunable ring filter 810. The gain section 820 and chirped grating reflector 830 (or chirped mirror) operate similar to those in FIG. 1 and FIG. 3. Here, the changing cavity lengths are also demonstrated which allow for tuning the laser and achieving synchronization.”); and
a first chirped grating reflector (Fig. 8, 830 Paragraph 0031 “chirped grating reflector 830 (or chirped mirror) operate similar to those in FIG. 1 and FIG. 3”) optically coupled to the first wavelength selective element, (Fig. 8 shows the first chirped grating reflector is optically coupled to the first wavelength selective element) wherein the first chirped grating reflector is configured to reflect a plurality of wavelengths including the first wavelength (Paragraph 0021 “The chirped mirror 110 is a mirror having chirped spaces that vary in depth in a manner designed to reflect varying wavelengths of light.”).
Regarding Claim 11, Chong teaches the first wavelength selective element comprises a wavelength tunable filter. (Paragraph 0031 “In this embodiment, the tunable filter is a tunable ring filter 810.”)
Regarding Claim 12, Chong teaches the first wavelength selective element comprises a micro-ring resonator filter. (Paragraph 0031 “In this embodiment, the tunable filter is a tunable ring filter 810.”)
Regarding Claim 13, Chong teaches a beam-controlling component (See annotated Fig. 8 below) optically coupled to the first wavelength selective element (Fig. 8 shows the beam controlling component is optically coupled to the first wavelength selective element), the beam-controlling component configured to control a characteristic of the light. (The beam controlling component is configured to control the direction the light is travelling in which is a characteristic of the light.)
Regarding Claim 14, Chong teaches A method of utilizing a multi-wavelength external cavity laser device, the method comprising:
generating light in an external cavity laser device, wherein the light has a plurality of wavelengths; (Paragraph 0031 “The gain section 820 and chirped grating reflector 830 (or chirped mirror) operate similar to those in FIG. 1 and FIG. 3.” Paragraph 0021 “A gain chip 120 serves as the active medium and is the source of the stimulated photons introduced into the laser 100”)
directing or reflecting by a reflector, the light into a first wavelength selective element (Paragraph 0031 “FIG. 8 also includes a partial mirror 840, which allows some light to pass through outside of the laser and reflects some of the light back into the cavity.”);
filtering, by the first wavelength selective element, a portion of the light at a first wavelength; (Paragraph 0031 “Accordingly, a tunable laser as demonstrated in FIG. 8 may be tuned by adjusting the wavelength of the light in the cavity and/or tuned by adjusting the ring filter 810 to change the length of the path through which the light travels.”)
reflecting, by a first portion of a chirped grating reflector, the portion of the light at the first wavelength; (Paragraph 0031 “The gain section 820 and chirped grating reflector 830 (or chirped mirror) operate similar to those in FIG. 1 and FIG. 3.” Paragraph 0021 “The chirped mirror 110 is a mirror having chirped spaces that vary in depth in a manner designed to reflect varying wavelengths of light. In an embodiment, the chirped mirror 110 may include a plurality of dielectric layers, wherein the chirped spaces are located between the dielectric layers.”)
emitting the light at the first wavelength. (Paragraph 0031 “FIG. 8 also includes a partial mirror 840, which allows some light to pass through outside of the laser and reflects some of the light back into the cavity.”)
Regarding Claim 19, Chong teaches the first wavelength selective element comprises a micro-ring resonator filter. (Paragraph 0031 “In this embodiment, the tunable filter is a tunable ring filter 810.”)
Regarding Claim 20, Chong teaches controlling, by a beam-controlling component, (See annotated Fig. 8 below), a characteristic of the light. (The beam controlling component is configured to control the direction the light is travelling in which is a characteristic of the light.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5-6, 15-16 are rejected as being unpatentable over 35 U.S.C. 103 over Chong in view of Vidrighin et al. US 20210157213.
Regarding Claim 2, Chong does not teach a second wavelength selective element configured to filter light having a second wavelength, the second wavelength selective element optically coupled to the gain medium and the reflector; wherein the first chirped grating reflector is optically coupled to the second wavelength selective element, and wherein: a first portion of the first chirped grating reflector is configured to reflect the light having the first wavelength; and a second portion of the first chirped grating reflector is configured to reflect the light having the second wavelength.
However,
Vidrighin teaches a second wavelength selective element configured to filter light having a second wavelength, (Fig. 1A, 110_2 Paragraph 0034 “a series of optical resonators 110_1, 110_2, . . . , 110_n, each having a different resonant frequency.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser device as taught by Chong by adding the second wavelength selective element as disclosed by Vidrighin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to produce multiple wavelengths from one device. (Vidrighin Paragraph 0035 “FIG. 1B shows a plot of resonant enhancement of the spectral density of states and a function of wavelength for a plurality of resonators in accordance with some embodiments”)
Chong in combination with Vidrghin teaches the second wavelength selective element optically coupled to the gain medium and the reflector; (Adding the second wavelength selective element optically couples the second wavelength selective element to the gain medium and the reflector. See above for rationale)
wherein the first chirped grating reflector is optically coupled to the second wavelength selective element, (Adding the second wavelength selective element optically couples the second wavelength selective element to the first chirped grating reflector. See above for rationale) and wherein:
a first portion of the first chirped grating reflector is configured to reflect the light having the first wavelength (Chong Paragraph 0021 “The chirped mirror 110 is a mirror having chirped spaces that vary in depth in a manner designed to reflect varying wavelengths of light.”).; and
a second portion of the first chirped grating reflector is configured to reflect the light having the second wavelength. (Chong Paragraph 0021 “The chirped mirror 110 is a mirror having chirped spaces that vary in depth in a manner designed to reflect varying wavelengths of light.”).
Regarding Claim 3, Chong in combination with Vidrghin teaches the light having the first wavelength and the light having the second wavelength are reflected from a different portion of the chirped grating reflector. (Chong Paragraph 0022 “The chirped mirror 110 can be designed in many ways, but here it is shown in a linear configuration. With a linearly chirped mirror, the wavelengths between λs and λL are reflected back at different locations within the chirped mirror 110.”)
Regarding Claim 5, Chong in combination with Vidrghin teaches the reflector and the first portion of the chirped grating reflector define a first optical cavity, such that the first wavelength selective element is located along a path of light resonating in the first optical cavity (Chong Paragraph 0031 “Here, the changing cavity lengths are also demonstrated which allow for tuning the laser and achieving synchronization. The cavity length L is defined by three things: 1) the length (Lg) that the light that passes through the chirped grating reflector 830, which is dependent on the particular wavelength of the light; 2) the inherent length (La) of the gain section 820; and 3) the length (Lf) of the path through the tunable ring filter 810, which is also variable.”); and
the reflector and the second portion of the first chirped grating reflector define a second optical cavity, such that the second wavelength selective element is located along a path of light resonating in the second optical cavity. (Chong Paragraph 0031 “Here, the changing cavity lengths are also demonstrated which allow for tuning the laser and achieving synchronization. The cavity length L is defined by three things: 1) the length (Lg) that the light that passes through the chirped grating reflector 830, which is dependent on the particular wavelength of the light; 2) the inherent length (La) of the gain section 820; and 3) the length (Lf) of the path through the tunable ring filter 810, which is also variable.”)
Regarding Claim 6, Chong in combination with Vidrghin teaches the ratio of a length change of the first optical cavity to the length of the first optical cavity is approximately equal to the ratio of a wavelength change of light resonating in the first optical cavity to a center wavelength of a total wavelength tuning range of the first optical cavity; (Paragraph 0024 “FIG. 2 depicts a graph 200 that demonstrates the relationship between the cavity length and wavelength for achieving synchronization in accordance with an illustrative embodiment. As the wavelength increases, so too must the cavity length in order to achieve synchronization. Thus, using a tunable filter and linearly chirped mirror to effect a variable cavity length, a laser can be tuned to a specific wavelength λ0 as depicted. For example, in an illustrative embodiment, the external cavity laser 100 shown in FIG. 1 has the chirped mirror 110 that can reflect wavelengths between λs and λL . Similarly, the external cavity laser 100 may also be tuned across that range of wavelengths. When the length of a cavity equals the wavelength of light in the cavity, synchronization is accomplished. (In an alternative embodiment, the length of the cavity may also equal an integral multiple of the wavelength to accomplish synchronization.) Since a chirped mirror, such as the linearly chirped mirror 110, reflects different wavelengths at different points in physical space, a laser accomplish synchronization across a range of wavelengths without adjusting any physical component of the laser. That is, the wavelength may change within the range that is reflected by the chirped mirror and the laser will still achieve synchronization. Accordingly, the effective length of the cavity changes along with the wavelength due to the properties of the chirped mirror.
FIG. 2 generally shows the linear relationship between cavity length and wavelength for accomplishing synchronization. As the wavelength increases, the so should the cavity length in order to accomplish synchronization. The points at which synchronization might be accomplished is represented by a line 205. Accordingly, at a point 210 where the wavelength is λO and the cavity length is L0 synchronization can be accomplished. The embodiments disclosed herein provide a tunable external cavity that can achieve synchronization across a wide range of wavelengths without physically adjusting the cavity.”) and
the ratio of a length change of the second optical cavity to the length of the second optical cavity is approximately equal to the ratio of a wavelength change of light resonating in the second optical cavity to a center wavelength of a total wavelength tuning range of the second optical cavity. (Paragraph 0024 “FIG. 2 depicts a graph 200 that demonstrates the relationship between the cavity length and wavelength for achieving synchronization in accordance with an illustrative embodiment. As the wavelength increases, so too must the cavity length in order to achieve synchronization. Thus, using a tunable filter and linearly chirped mirror to effect a variable cavity length, a laser can be tuned to a specific wavelength λ0 as depicted. For example, in an illustrative embodiment, the external cavity laser 100 shown in FIG. 1 has the chirped mirror 110 that can reflect wavelengths between λs and λL . Similarly, the external cavity laser 100 may also be tuned across that range of wavelengths. When the length of a cavity equals the wavelength of light in the cavity, synchronization is accomplished. (In an alternative embodiment, the length of the cavity may also equal an integral multiple of the wavelength to accomplish synchronization.) Since a chirped mirror, such as the linearly chirped mirror 110, reflects different wavelengths at different points in physical space, a laser accomplish synchronization across a range of wavelengths without adjusting any physical component of the laser. That is, the wavelength may change within the range that is reflected by the chirped mirror and the laser will still achieve synchronization. Accordingly, the effective length of the cavity changes along with the wavelength due to the properties of the chirped mirror.
FIG. 2 generally shows the linear relationship between cavity length and wavelength for accomplishing synchronization. As the wavelength increases, the so should the cavity length in order to accomplish synchronization. The points at which synchronization might be accomplished is represented by a line 205. Accordingly, at a point 210 where the wavelength is λO and the cavity length is L0 synchronization can be accomplished. The embodiments disclosed herein provide a tunable external cavity that can achieve synchronization across a wide range of wavelengths without physically adjusting the cavity.”)
Regarding Claim 15, Chong does not teach filtering, by a second wavelength selective element, a portion of the light at a second wavelength; and reflecting, by a second portion of the chirped grating reflector, the portion of the light at the second wavelength.
However,
Vidrighin teaches a second wavelength selective element configured to filter light having a second wavelength, (Fig. 1A, 110_2 Paragraph 0034 “a series of optical resonators 110_1, 110_2, . . . , 110_n, each having a different resonant frequency.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser device as taught by Chong by adding the second wavelength selective element as disclosed by Vidrighin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to produce multiple wavelengths from one device. (Vidrighin Paragraph 0035 “FIG. 1B shows a plot of resonant enhancement of the spectral density of states and a function of wavelength for a plurality of resonators in accordance with some embodiments”)
Chong in combination with Vidrghin teaches reflecting, by a second portion of the chirped grating reflector, the portion of the light at the second wavelength. (Paragraph 0031 “The gain section 820 and chirped grating reflector 830 (or chirped mirror) operate similar to those in FIG. 1 and FIG. 3.” Paragraph 0021 “The chirped mirror 110 is a mirror having chirped spaces that vary in depth in a manner designed to reflect varying wavelengths of light. In an embodiment, the chirped mirror 110 may include a plurality of dielectric layers, wherein the chirped spaces are located between the dielectric layers.”)
Regarding Claim 16, Chong in combination with Vidrghin teaches the reflector and the first portion of the chirped grating reflector define a first optical cavity, such that the first wavelength selective element is located along a path of light resonating in the first optical cavity; (Chong Paragraph 0031 “Here, the changing cavity lengths are also demonstrated which allow for tuning the laser and achieving synchronization. The cavity length L is defined by three things: 1) the length (Lg) that the light that passes through the chirped grating reflector 830, which is dependent on the particular wavelength of the light; 2) the inherent length (La) of the gain section 820; and 3) the length (Lf) of the path through the tunable ring filter 810, which is also variable.”)
the ratio of a length change of the first optical cavity to the length of the first optical cavity is approximately equal to the ratio of a wavelength change of light resonating in the first optical cavity to a center wavelength of a total wavelength tuning range of the first optical cavity; (Paragraph 0024 “FIG. 2 depicts a graph 200 that demonstrates the relationship between the cavity length and wavelength for achieving synchronization in accordance with an illustrative embodiment. As the wavelength increases, so too must the cavity length in order to achieve synchronization. Thus, using a tunable filter and linearly chirped mirror to effect a variable cavity length, a laser can be tuned to a specific wavelength λ0 as depicted. For example, in an illustrative embodiment, the external cavity laser 100 shown in FIG. 1 has the chirped mirror 110 that can reflect wavelengths between λs and λL . Similarly, the external cavity laser 100 may also be tuned across that range of wavelengths. When the length of a cavity equals the wavelength of light in the cavity, synchronization is accomplished. (In an alternative embodiment, the length of the cavity may also equal an integral multiple of the wavelength to accomplish synchronization.) Since a chirped mirror, such as the linearly chirped mirror 110, reflects different wavelengths at different points in physical space, a laser accomplish synchronization across a range of wavelengths without adjusting any physical component of the laser. That is, the wavelength may change within the range that is reflected by the chirped mirror and the laser will still achieve synchronization. Accordingly, the effective length of the cavity changes along with the wavelength due to the properties of the chirped mirror.
FIG. 2 generally shows the linear relationship between cavity length and wavelength for accomplishing synchronization. As the wavelength increases, the so should the cavity length in order to accomplish synchronization. The points at which synchronization might be accomplished is represented by a line 205. Accordingly, at a point 210 where the wavelength is λO and the cavity length is L0 synchronization can be accomplished. The embodiments disclosed herein provide a tunable external cavity that can achieve synchronization across a wide range of wavelengths without physically adjusting the cavity.”)
the reflector and the second portion of the chirped grating reflector define a second optical cavity, such that the second wavelength selective element is located along a path of light resonating in the second optical cavity; (Chong Paragraph 0031 “Here, the changing cavity lengths are also demonstrated which allow for tuning the laser and achieving synchronization. The cavity length L is defined by three things: 1) the length (Lg) that the light that passes through the chirped grating reflector 830, which is dependent on the particular wavelength of the light; 2) the inherent length (La) of the gain section 820; and 3) the length (Lf) of the path through the tunable ring filter 810, which is also variable.”) and
the ratio of a length change of the second optical cavity to the length of the second optical cavity is approximately equal to the ratio of a wavelength change of light resonating in the second optical cavity to a center wavelength of a total wavelength tuning range of the second optical cavity. (Paragraph 0024 “FIG. 2 depicts a graph 200 that demonstrates the relationship between the cavity length and wavelength for achieving synchronization in accordance with an illustrative embodiment. As the wavelength increases, so too must the cavity length in order to achieve synchronization. Thus, using a tunable filter and linearly chirped mirror to effect a variable cavity length, a laser can be tuned to a specific wavelength λ0 as depicted. For example, in an illustrative embodiment, the external cavity laser 100 shown in FIG. 1 has the chirped mirror 110 that can reflect wavelengths between λs and λL . Similarly, the external cavity laser 100 may also be tuned across that range of wavelengths. When the length of a cavity equals the wavelength of light in the cavity, synchronization is accomplished. (In an alternative embodiment, the length of the cavity may also equal an integral multiple of the wavelength to accomplish synchronization.) Since a chirped mirror, such as the linearly chirped mirror 110, reflects different wavelengths at different points in physical space, a laser accomplish synchronization across a range of wavelengths without adjusting any physical component of the laser. That is, the wavelength may change within the range that is reflected by the chirped mirror and the laser will still achieve synchronization. Accordingly, the effective length of the cavity changes along with the wavelength due to the properties of the chirped mirror.
FIG. 2 generally shows the linear relationship between cavity length and wavelength for accomplishing synchronization. As the wavelength increases, the so should the cavity length in order to accomplish synchronization. The points at which synchronization might be accomplished is represented by a line 205. Accordingly, at a point 210 where the wavelength is λO and the cavity length is L0 synchronization can be accomplished. The embodiments disclosed herein provide a tunable external cavity that can achieve synchronization across a wide range of wavelengths without physically adjusting the cavity.”)
Claim 4 is rejected as being unpatentable over 35 U.S.C. 103 over Chong in view of Vidrighin and an other embodiment of Vidrighin.
Regarding Claim 4, Chong in combination with Vidrghin do not teach the first wavelength selective element and the second wavelength selected element are connected in parallel; and the first wavelength is different from the second wavelength.
However,
Another embodiment of Vidrghin teaches the first wavelength selective element and the second wavelength selected element are connected in parallel; and the first wavelength is different from the second wavelength. (Fig. 4, 415. Each of the 415 are separate wavelength selective elements that are parallel to each other.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser device as taught by Chong by having the first and second selective wavelength elements be in parallel as disclosed by Vidrghin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the power output of the device. (Vidrghin Paragraph 0051 “In some embodiments, when critically coupled, a further enhancement by a factor up to two orders of magnitude can be generated.”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Grieco et al US 20210116655 teaches multiple ring resonators in parallel as required in Claim 4.
/STEPHEN SUTTON KOTTER/Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828