Status of Claims
This communication is a Final Office action in response to communications received on 08/06/2026. Claims 1, 8, 15, and 21 have been amended. Claims 22-23 have been newly added. Therefore, claims 1-23 are currently pending and have been addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without a practical application and significantly more.
Step 1: Identifying Statutory Categories
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. § 101, it must be determined whether the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (i.e., Step 1). In the instant case, claims 1-7 and 21-23 are directed to a system (i.e. a machine). Claims 8-14 are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (i.e. an article of manufacture). Claims 15-20 are directed to a method (i.e. a process). Thus, each of these claims fall within one of the four statutory categories. Nevertheless, the claims fall within the judicial exception of an abstract idea.
Step 2A: Prong One: Abstract Ideas
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention recites an abstract idea. Independent claim 1, analogous to independent claims 8 and 15 recite: A system comprising: storing a plurality of documents, the plurality of documents comprising job related documents; receiving a query for compensation data for an employment position associated with a macro-entity, the employment position being defined by a plurality of parameters associated with a micro-entity; retrieving the compensation data for similar employment positions associated with the macro-entity; processing the compensation data to generate ranked employment positions, by grouping and ranking the similar employment positions associated with the macro-entity; determining one or more compensation gaps between the ranked employment positions, comprising an analysis of one or more cohorts of employment positions within the ranked employment positions; generating a correction for the one or more compensation gaps, output representing a quantitative value for correcting the one or more compensation gaps; and automatically initiating the correction when the compensation gap exceeds a predetermined threshold.
The limitations as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, falls under at least the abstract groupings of:
Certain methods of organizing human activity (commercial or legal interactions (including advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations; (managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)). As independent claims discuss analyzing employment positions associated with a macro-entity, the employment position being defined by a plurality of parameters associated with a micro-entity; retrieving the compensation data for similar employment positions; processing the compensation data, grouping and ranking the similar employment positions, determining one or more compensation gaps between the ranked employment positions and generating a correction for the one or more compensation gaps when the compensation gap exceeds a predetermined threshold, which is a clear business relations, and one of certain methods of organizing human activity.
Mental Processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion (claim 1, analogous to claims 8 and 15 recite for example: “receiving a query for compensation data for an employment position”; “retrieving the compensation data for similar employment positions associated with the macro-entity”; “processing the compensation data to generate ranked employment positions, by grouping and ranking the similar employment positions associated with the macro-entity”; “determining one or more compensation gaps between the ranked employment positions, comprising an analysis of one or more cohorts of employment positions within the ranked employment positions”; “generating a correction for the one or more compensation gaps”; and “initiating the correction when the compensation gap exceeds a predetermined threshold”.) Concepts performed in the human mind as mental processes because the steps of receiving, determining, associating, generating, analyzing and correcting data mimic human thought processes of observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion, perhaps with paper and pencil, where data interpretation is perceptible in the human mind. See In re TLI Commc’ns LLCPatentLitig., 823 F.3d 607, 611 (Fed. Cir. 2016); FairWarning IP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., Inc., 839 F.3d 1089, 1093-94 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Dependent claims add additional limitations, for example: (claims 2, 9 and 16), determining a compensation equity for each employment position within groups of similar employment positions; (claims 3, 10 and 17) performing a user authentication; determining whether the query for the compensation data originates from; and retrieving, the compensation data associated with the macro-entity; (claims 5, 12 and 18) generating a notification indicating completion of an analysis of a compensation equity; providing an instruction to display at least one of a notification comprising the correction or the notification indicating completion of the analysis of the compensation equity; (claims 6, 13 and 19) wherein the compensation data comprise data recorded over a past period of time; (claims 7, 14 and 20) wherein the compensation data comprise external values associated with the macro-entity, (claim 21) wherein the compensation data is retrieved and the correction is initiated based on authorizations associated with the user, (claim 22) wherein the compensation data comprises at least one of historical compensation data and/or current compensation data; (claim 23) generating a grouping of comparable work based on at least one of similar skills and/or similar work attributes, but these only serve to further limit the abstract idea. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations of certain methods of organizing human activity and mental processes but for the recitation of generic computer components, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A: Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims merely describe how to generally “apply” the abstract idea. In particular, the claims only recite the additional elements – (claim 1) computer processor(s); a database; a data processing system, a multivariate regression analysis; a machine learning model comprising a convolution function and a plurality of neurons; convolved output; filter (claims 2, 9 and 16) machine learning (claims 3, 10 and 17) a whitelisted server; a database, a secure gateway, encrypted (claims 4 and 11) encrypted, a secure gateway (claims 6, 13 and 19) encrypted, distributed database; (claim 8) A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (claim 21) verifying a user identity and a user password. These additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Simply implementing the abstract idea on generic computer components is not a practical application of the abstract idea, as it adds the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). The limitations generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (such as computing or machine learning, see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception and generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Furthermore, claims 1-23 have been fully analyzed to determine whether there are additional elements recited that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The limitations fail to include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. The claims are ineligible. Therefore, since there are no limitations in the claim that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the exception itself, the claims are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih et al. (US 2021/0150443 A1), hereinafter “Shih”, over DODS et al. (US 2021/0350891 A1), hereinafter “Dods”.
Regarding Claim 1, Shih teaches A system comprising: one or more computer processors; a database storing a plurality of documents, the plurality of documents comprising job related documents; and a data processing system, executable upon the one or more computer processors, to perform operations comprising: (Shih, Abstract, See at least Figure 1 and para 0027 teaching databases including human resources data (Examiner notes, human resources data is job related data) stored; Figure 6 and paragraphs 0052-0053 teaching the computing system including processors);
receiving a query for compensation data for an employment position associated with a macro-entity, the employment position being defined by a plurality of parameters associated with a micro-entity; (Shih, para 0030, the pay equity disparity and recommendation system may perform various steps to help reduce disparity of pay among users (Examiner notes micro-entity) in an organization (Examiner notes macro-entity). For example, the system may assess the situation by exploring historical organization data and searching for different factors);
retrieving, from the database and by using the plurality of parameters, the compensation data for similar employment positions associated with the macro-entity; (Shih, Figure 2B teaches similar positions including sales associate, office staff, engineering, accounting, and more; para 0015, automatically detect pay inequity and to prescribe a solution or multiple solutions for how to solve the problem in consideration of costs and future employee retention. The system described herein can generate a pay equity index (PEI), also referred to herein as a parity value, which indicates a degree in parity in pay. For example, the system may generate individual PEIs for employees, and more general PEIs for an organization as a whole. The pay equity index may be data-driven and may be accompanied by compensation domain knowledge. Various job-related attributes of the employees may be considered when determining the PEI including experience, salary, gender, work function, reviews/ratings, and the like.).
processing the compensation data to generate ranked employment positions, by grouping and ranking the similar employment positions associated with the macro-entity; (Shih, Figure 2B, teaches grouping similar employment positions including sales associate, office staff, engineering, accounting, and more; Figure 2C teaches parity index (Examiner notes ranking) of the grouped job levels and areas);
determining one or more compensation gaps between the ranked employment positions, by executing a multivariate regression analysis comprising an analysis of one or more cohorts of employment positions within the ranked employment positions; (Shih, Figures 4A-4B, Examiner notes shows analysis of employment position Financial Analyst and compensation gap; Shih, para 0016, teaches the system may apply machine learning techniques (e.g., regression analysis, etc.) which can predict what attributes influence the pay equity index among a group of users); generating, by using a machine learning model comprising a convolution function configured to process the one or more compensation gaps, a correction for the one or more compensation gaps, wherein the ... processes compensation data by providing compensation data as ... indicative of an expertise of the micro-entity or an employment field of the micro-entity, and ... for correcting the one or more compensation gaps; and (Shih, para 0016, teaches the system may apply machine learning techniques (e.g., regression analysis, etc.) which can predict what attributes influence the pay equity index among a group of users; Shih throughout discusses correcting compensation gaps, see at least Shih, para 0015, discussing automatically detecting pay inequity and to prescribe a solution or multiple solutions for how to solve the problem; Shih, para 0030, the pay equity disparity and recommendation system may perform various steps to help reduce disparity of pay among users (Examiner notes micro-entity) in an organization (Examiner notes macro-entity). For example, the system may assess the situation by exploring historical organization data and searching for different factors; See at least Shih, para 0015, recites pay equality among different users in different areas of the company, titles, job functions, etc.);
automatically initiating the correction when the compensation gap exceeds a predetermined threshold (See at least Shih, para 0051, teaches identifying a user that has a parity value below a predetermined threshold... the method may include determining an action which will improve the parity value of the identified user and outputting a recommendation which includes the action. Examiner notes outputting a recommendation to improve the parity value (the compensation gap) is initiating a correction for improving the value (gap). Examiner notes this is analogous to Applicant’s own specification, para 0063, recites: “the compensation remedy action can be automatically initiated, if the compensation gap exceeds an action activation threshold”.)
Yet, Shih does not appear to explicitly teach yet in the same field of endeavor Dods teaches a convolution function ... convolution function ... input to one or more neurons of a convolutional layer of the machine learning model, wherein each neuron is associated with a filter ... wherein the machine learning model generates a subsampled convolved output representing a quantitative value (Dods teaches convolution neural network throughout, see at least Dods, Figures 10 and 11; and section titled Convolutional Neural Networks on pages 15-16; See section titled Training a Convolutional Neural Network on pages 16-17; Dods teaches the machine learning model comprising neurons in para 0169, para 0176, para 0221, teaches a convolutional neural network learns highly non-linear mappings by interconnecting layers of artificial neurons; Dods, para 0248, teaches a layer of neurons, i.e., a neuron layer... in the case of a convolutional neural network, a kernel, a filter. Examiner notes this is analogous to Applicant’s own specification, para 0061, describing a convolutional neural network and a filter (kernel). Dods, para 0169, teaches the CNN feature map, Examiner notes is analogous to Applicant’s own specification, para 0061, which recites: “the convolved output is referred to as a feature map”. Examiner respectfully notes, convolved output in a CNN is the standard way convolutional neural networks work, as is explained in Applicant’s spec, para 0061 and in Dods, see at least para 0166-0169). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shih with convolution function ... convolution function ... input to one or more neurons of a convolutional layer of the machine learning model, wherein each neuron is associated with a filter ... wherein the machine learning model generates a subsampled convolved output representing a quantitative value as taught by Dods with the motivation for cross-authenticating non-credentialed devices and trusted blockchain enabled applications using multiple communications modalities and gathering information upon request (Dods, Abstract). The Shih invention now incorporating the Dods invention has all the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 2, Shih, now incorporating Dods, teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: determining, using machine learning, a compensation equity for each employment position within groups of similar employment positions (Shih, para 0016, teaches the system may apply machine learning techniques (e.g., regression analysis, etc.) which can predict what attributes influence the pay equity index among a group of users).
Regarding Claim 3, Shih, now incorporating Dods, teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: … compensation data … server; and retrieving, from a database, ... , the compensation data associated with the macro-entity (Shih, See at least Figure 1 and para 0027 teaches the computing system including servers and databases; Shih, see at least Figures 4A-4B teaches compensation data).
Yet, Shih does not appear to explicitly teach and in the same field of endeavor Dods teaches performing a user authentication … determining whether the query for the … originates from a whitelisted … via a secure gateway (Dods teaches encryption throughout, see at least Dods para 0067, teaches encryption and two-way authentication; Dods, para 0056, teaches user authentication; Dods, para 0086, teaches credential uniquely identifying the user). Some implementations include checking against a whitelist; Dods, para 0048, teaches secure communications and servers including a blade server, and a server farm. Examiner notes server farms have robust security measures including firewalls, encryption, and strict access controls.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shih with performing a user authentication … determining whether the query for the … originates from a whitelisted … via a secure gateway as taught by Dods with the motivation for cross-authenticating non-credentialed devices and trusted blockchain enabled applications using multiple communications modalities and gathering information upon request (Dods, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 4, Shih, now incorporating Dods, teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the compensation data is (Shih, see at least Figures 4A-4B teaches compensation data).
Yet, Shih does not appear to explicitly teach and in the same field of endeavor Dods teaches encrypted for transmission, via a secure gateway (Dods teaches encryption throughout, see at least Dods para 0055, stored data, typically in encrypted form to provide protection; para 0067, teaches encryption; Dods, para 0048, teaches secure communications and servers including a blade server, and a server farm. Examiner notes server farms have robust security measures including firewalls, encryption, and strict access controls.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shih with encrypted for transmission, via a secure gateway as taught by Dods with the motivation for cross-authenticating non-credentialed devices and trusted blockchain enabled applications using multiple communications modalities and gathering information upon request (Dods, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 5, Shih, now incorporating Dods, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: generating a notification indicating completion of an analysis of a compensation equity; providing an instruction to display at least one of a notification comprising the correction or the notification indicating completion of the analysis of the compensation equity. (Shih, para 0051, 0056, The processor may further identify a user that has a parity value below a predetermined threshold (e.g., a group of users, etc.), and determine an action which will improve the parity value of the identified user based on the at least one predicted influential category, and output a recommendation which includes the action. Examiner notes outputting a recommendation with an action is after completion of an analysis. See at least Shih Figures 2B, 2C, 3A, and para 0005-0007, teaching displaying analysis of parity issues.)
Regarding Claim 6, Shih, now incorporating Dods, teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the compensation data comprise data recorded over a past period of time , … , and stored in a … database of a system (Shih, para 0027 teaches storing human resources data in a database; Shih, para 0026, teaches employee data may include historical data related to pay equity and contextual attributes of the users within the company including current salary information, starting salary information).
Yet, Shih does not appear to explicitly teach and in the same field of endeavor Dods teaches encrypted … distributed database (Dods teaches encryption throughout, see at least Dods para 0055, stored data, typically in encrypted form to provide protection; para 0067, teaches encryption; para 0049, teaches distributed database).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shih with encrypted … distributed database as taught by Dods with the motivation for cross-authenticating non-credentialed devices and trusted blockchain enabled applications using multiple communications modalities and gathering information upon request (Dods, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 7, Shih, now incorporating Dods, teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the compensation data comprise external values associated with the macro-entity (Shih, para 0039, variables may include employee attributes acting as potential predictors, which include demographics (age, gender, disability, ethnicity, etc.), employment (job category, employee class, employment level, grade, etc.), development (key position, performance rating, potential rating, etc.) succession (critical job role, succession rating, successor readiness, etc.), tenure (grade tenure, organization tenure, position tenure, time in grade, etc.), compensation (salary, stock options, etc.), and the like; Further, Shih, para 0046, teaches the market salary range (Examiner notes is an external value) and the company salary range).
Regarding claims 8 and 15 the claims are an obvious variant to claim 1 above, and are therefore rejected on the same premise. Shih further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising programming code, executed by at least one data processor. See at least Shih, para 0057, teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media and Shih, para 0058, teaches processor(s).
Regarding Claims 9 and 16, the claims recite analogous limitations to claim 2 above, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding Claims 10 and 17, the claims recite analogous limitations to claim 3 above, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding Claim 11, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 4 above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding Claims 12 and 18, the claims recite analogous limitations to claim 5 above, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding Claims 13 and 19, the claims recite analogous limitations to claim 6 above, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding Claims 14 and 20, the claims recite analogous limitations to claim 7 above, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding Claim 21, Shih, now incorporating Dods, teaches The system of claim 1, the operations further comprising: ... wherein the compensation data is retrieved and the correction is automatically initiated based on (Shih, see at least Figures 4A-4B teaches compensation data; Shih throughout discusses correcting compensation gaps, see at least Shih, para 0015, discussing automatically detecting pay inequity and to prescribe a solution or multiple solutions for how to solve the problem). Yet, Shih does not appear to explicitly teach and in the same field of endeavor Dods teaches verifying a user identity and a user password ... authorizations associated with the user identity and the user password (Dods, para 0048, teaches secure communications including a variety of authorization and authentication techniques, such as username/password; Dods teaches user permissions throughout, see at least Dods, para 0155, teaching an example of access permissions for a user to view a report).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shih with verifying a user identity and a user password ... authorizations associated with the user identity and the user password as taught by Dods with the motivation for cross-authenticating non-credentialed devices and trusted blockchain enabled applications using multiple communications modalities and gathering information upon request (Dods, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 22, Shih, now incorporating Dods, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the compensation data comprises at least one of historical compensation data and/or current compensation data (Shih, see at least Figures 4A-4B teaches compensation data; Further, see at least Shih, para 0026, teaches The employee data may include historical data related to pay equity and contextual attributes of the users within the company including current salary information, starting salary information, geographical locations of users, tenure information, performance evaluation information, previous experience, and the like.)
Regarding Claim 23, Shih, now incorporating Dods, teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: generating a grouping of comparable work based on at least one of similar skills and/or similar work attributes (See at least Shih, para 0015-0016, teaches various job-related attributes of the employees including experience, salary, gender, work function, reviews/ratings, and the like...Furthermore, the system may apply machine learning techniques (e.g., regression analysis, etc.) which can predict attributes among a group of users.)
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on 08/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding 35 U.5.C. § 101 rejections: Examiner has updated the 101 rejection in light of the most recent claim amendments and maintains the 101 rejection. Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered but are found unpersuasive.
As an initial matter, Examiner respectfully notes Applicant argues additional elements including CNN architecture under Step 2A, Prong One, for example Applicant argues (page 12): “This is not a process that can be performed in the human mind or with pen and paper. A human cannot perform a multi-layer convolution operation across layers of artificial neurons with specialized domain-specific filters to produce a subsampled convolved output.” Examiner respectfully notes additional elements are considered in Step 2A, Prong Two and Step 2B, not in Step 2A, Prong One. With respect to the abstract idea, the claimed invention falls within at least the abstract groupings of certain methods of organizing human activity and mental processes as explained in the above 101 analysis.
Further, with respect to the machine learning, Applicant states “machine learning model is applied”. Examiner notes simply implementing the abstract idea on generic computer components is not a practical application of the abstract idea, as it merely adds the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05. Further, with respect to machine learning comprising a convolution function and a plurality of neurons, Examiner has reviewed Applicant’s specification and has found the machine learning is being used in its ordinary capacity. See Applicant’s specification para 0061, which describes the machine learning as a convolutional neural network (CNN) including neurons and a filter (kernel). Examiner respectfully notes CNN models use filters, which are associated with neurons, to extract and correct data. Applicant is simply using a CNN model for the very purpose the model is known for. With respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the computing elements (claim 1) computer processor(s); a database; a data processing system, a multivariate regression analysis; a machine learning model comprising a convolution function and a plurality of neurons; filter (claims 2, 9 and 16) machine learning (claims 3, 10 and 17) a whitelisted server; a database, a secure gateway, encrypted (claims 4 and 11) encrypted, a secure gateway (claims 6, 13 and 19) encrypted, distributed database; (claim 8) non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (claim 21) verifying a user identity and a user password, are additional elements to perform the steps and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. These components are described in the specification at a high level of generality. Again, with respect to the machine learning, machine learning amounts to generally linking the abstract idea to the field of machine learning and merely using machine learning as a tool to apply the abstract idea. Further, with respect to Applicants remarks on an alleged improvement (page 10) “The pending claims are drawn to systems, methods, and computer-readable code that improves systems for cloud-based pay equity software applications...” and “The Applicant's specification discloses a technical improvement. For example, the Specification identifies specific technical problems with traditional pay equity technologies and discloses a concrete technical solution.” Examiner respectfully does not find these remarks persuasive. The invention is directed to a business practice of pay equity, not an improvement to the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology, rather, the invention uses the benefit of a computer for employee compensation.
Even further, Examiner finds Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111 because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patent eligible invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims reflect a practical application (e.g., how the claims reflect an improvement).
Further, with respect to Applicant’s remarks (page 13): “the claims configure the CNN architecture with filters that are specifically indicative of an expertise of the micro-entity or an employment field of the micro-entity, and process specific types of data (compensation data as input values) through the convolution layer to produce a specific technical output (a subsampled convolved output representing a quantitative correction value).”
Examiner does not find these remarks persuasive, as a “convolved output”, as is described in Applicant’s own specification, para 0061, recites: “the convolved output is referred to as a feature map”. Examiner respectfully notes “convolved output” is commonly called a “feature map”, as is explained in Applicant’s own specification. Further, convolved output in a CNN is well-known and is the standard way convolutional neural networks work. Applicant is merely using a CNN in its ordinary and expected capacity.
Further, with respect to Applicant’s remarks on Desjardins, Examiner respectfully does not find these remarks persuasive as Desjardins is particular for describing techniques for training machine learning models and emphasizes the importance of explaining improvements to technology from the claimed processes within the specification. Again, with respect to machine learning, Examiner has reviewed Applicants specification and finds the CNN used in its ordinary and expected capacity. Further, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. Each step does no more than require a generic
computer to perform generic computer functions. The claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. In addition, the claims do not affect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. The specification spells out different generic equipment and parameters that might be applied using the concept and the particular steps such conventional processing would entail based on the concept of information access. Thus, the claims at issue amount to nothing significantly more than instructions to apply the abstract idea using some unspecified, generic computer(s). Therefore, Applicants remarks are found unpersuasive and Examiner maintains the 101 rejection with respect to these and all depending claims unless otherwise indicated.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections. With respect to the prior art rejections, Applicants arguments have been fully considered but are found unpersuasive. Examiner has updated the rejections in light of the most recent claim amendments with the Shih and Dods references.
With respect to Applicant’s remarks (pages 14-15): "Applicant submits that neither Shih nor Dods teaches or suggests, at a minimum, "generating, by using a machine learning model comprising a convolution function configured to process the one or more compensation gaps, a correction for the one or more compensation gaps, wherein the convolution function processes compensation data by providing compensation data as input to one or more neurons of a convolutional layer of the machine learning model, wherein each neuron is associated with a filter indicative of an expertise of the micro-entity or an employment field of the micro-entity, and wherein the machine learning model generates a subsampled convolved output representing a quantitative value for correcting the one or more compensation gaps."
Applicant submits that neither Shih nor Dods teaches providing compensation data as input to neurons in a convolution layer. Shih teaches machine learning techniques such as regression analysis but does not disclose a convolutional neural network (CNN) architecture that processes compensation data through convolution layers. Dods teaches CNNs generically in the context of blockchain and authentication but not as applied to compensation data processing.
Additionally, Applicant submits hat neither Shih nor Dods teaches or suggests that "each neuron is associated with a filter indicative of an expertise of the micro-entity or an employment field of the micro-entity" as recited in the amended claims. This is a domain-specific configuration of CNN filters to identify patterns related to employee expertise and job functions. Dods does not teach configuring filters to be indicative of any employment-related attribute. Dods merely teaches that CNNs generically have filters/kernels associated with neurons.
Further, the amended claims further state that the ML model "generates a subsampled
convolved output representing a quantitative value for correcting the one or more compensation gaps." This specific output, a dimensionality-reduced feature representation that constitutes a correction value, is not taught by either Shih or Dods. Shih outputs "recommendations" based on machine learning techniques (regression) but does not describe the architectural mechanism by which such recommendations are generated through a CNN producing a subsampled convolved output."
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants remarks as it is a combination of Shih and Dods teaches that teaches the limitations. Further, with respect to Applicant’s remarks that the combination of Shih and Dods is improper, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Shih and Dods are both in the field of computing and information access. The primary reference Shih is directed to a system and method for detecting parity among a group of users and recommending changes to address the parity. In one example, the method may include generating parity values for a group of users, where each parity value comprises an indicator of inequity for a value of a respective user with respect to corresponding values of other users in the group, predicting at least one category of data that most greatly influences the parity values for the group of users based on one or more machine learning models. Examiner notes the primary reference Shih is analogous to Applicant’s invention and teaches most of the limitations as explained in the above 103 rejection. Shih fails to explicitly teach “convolution function ... wherein the machine learning model further comprises a plurality of neurons associated with a filter”, which is what Dods is relied on for. Dods teaches convolution neural network throughout, see at least Dods, Figures 10 and 11; and section titled Convolutional Neural Networks on pages 15-16; See section titled Training a Convolutional Neural Network on pages 16-17; Dods teaches the machine learning model comprising neurons in para 0169, para 0176, para 0221, teaches a convolutional neural network learns highly non-linear mappings by interconnecting layers of artificial neurons; Dods, para 0248, teaches a layer of neurons, i.e., a neuron layer... in the case of a convolutional neural network, a kernel, a filter. Examiner notes this is analogous to Applicant’s own specification, para 0061, describing a convolutional neural network and a filter (kernel). The Examiner has established both what was shown in the primary reference and what was shown in the Dods reference and why one of ordinary skill would have found this combination obvious. There is no indication that the features of Dods convolution function and neurons could not be incorporated in the primary reference’s machine learning. Further, Examiner again notes Applicant’s specification para 0061, describes the machine learning as a convolutional neural network (CNN) including neurons and a filter (kernel). Examiner respectfully notes CNN models use filters, which are associated with neurons, to extract and correct data. Applicant is simply using a CNN model for what the model is known for, and is analogous to the prior art. Therefore, Examiner maintains that the combination is proper.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to REBECCA R NOVAK whose telephone number is (571)272-2524. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm EST.
/R.R.N./ Examiner, Art Unit 3629
/ANDREW B WHITAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629