Detailed Action
Continued Examination
A request for continued examination under 37 C.F.R. § 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.17(e), was filed in this Application on 20 July 2026 after a Final Rejection (28 April 2026). Since this Application is eligible for continued examination under 37 C.F.R. § 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 C.F.R. § 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 20 July 2026 has been entered.
Art Rejections
Obviousness
Claims 1–7, 9, 11–17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of US Patent 11,184,362 (patented 23 November 2021) (“Krol”); US Patent Application Publication 2022/0026986 (published 27 January 2022) (“Ballagas”); US Patent Application Publication 2021/0029479 (published 28 January 2021) (“Donley”); US Patent Application Publication 2024/0233914 (effectively filed 29 April 2021) (“Wei”) and US Patent Application Publication 2017/0293640 (published 12 October 2017) (“Kish”).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Krol, Ballagas, Donley, Wei, Kish and US Patent Application Publication 2024/0104864 (effectively filed 22 September 2022) (“Mulliken”).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Krol; Ballagas; Donley, Wei, Kish and US Patent Application Publication 2023/0045237 (published 09 February 2023) (“Wexler”).
Claim 1 is drawn to “a method.” The following table illustrates the correspondence between the claimed method and the Krol reference.
Claim 1
The Krol Reference
“1. A method comprising:
The Krol reference similarly describes a method to modify audio in artificial reality environments, including an augmented reality (AR) or a virtual reality (VR) environment. Krol at Abs., col. 1 l. 10 to col. 3 l. 5.
“receiving audio data comprising speech at a first client device executing an application in an artificial reality environment, wherein the first client device is associated with a speaking user;
Krol’s method includes operating a system 300 that includes a server 302, network 304 and multiple devices 306A and 306B operating together in a virtual video conference. Id. at col. 7 l. 8 to col. 9 l. 4, FIG.3. Each device 306A, 306B records audio and transmits the audio to server 302, which transmits the audio to the other devices in the virtual conference. Id. at col. 9 l. 5 to col. 13 l. 35, FIGs.4A-4D. The audio from a particular device includes the speech produced by the user of the particular device. Id.
“determining whether an object associated with the speaking user is within a field of view of a listening user of a second client device executing the application;
The Krol reference describes a virtual video conference, where each user associated with one of devices 306A, 306B is further associated with a virtual avatar 102 that is displayed visually by devices 306A, 306B. Id. at col. 4 ll. 20–44, FIG.1. The user’s move their avatars through a shared virtual space that has different zones, designated by virtual constructs, like walls. Id. at col. 15 ll. 36–51, FIG.8B.
The system determines if a first user’s avatar is visible to a second user based on the second user’s field of view. Id. at col. 5 ll. 20–33, col. 6 ll. 50–61, FIGs.1, 2. A first user’s avatar may become invisible to a second user because the relative position of the first user’s avatar and the second user’s field of view are not coincident. See id. Additionally, a first user’s avatar may be invisible because the first user’s avatar is behind a wall that obscures the second user’s field of view. See id. at col. 15 ll. 36–51, FIG.8B.
“modifying the audio data based at least in part on a set of rules, the set of rules comprising a rule for determining a listening effort of the listening user by applying a trained machine learning model to predict the listening effort of the listening user based on receiving a set of attributes associated with a plurality of actions of the listening user
…
“and whether the object associated with the speaking user is within the field of view of the listening user, by changing a spatialization of the audio data corresponding to a percentage that is proportional to the listening effort of the listening user received from an output of the machine learning model predicting the listening effort of the listening user in a manner that causes the speech to appear to originate from a region closer to the listening user; and
Krol’s system similarly applies multiple rules to determines how sound should be modified and reproduced for each user. Server 302 tracks where each user’s virtual avatar is located in relation to each other in the virtual conference and in relation to the virtual conference environment. Id. at col. 7 ll. 14–28, col. 9 l. 46 to col. 10 l. 23, FIGs.3, 4B, 4C. Krol’s system then modifies the audio produced by each user to simulate distance and location effects on the speech audio produced by a user. Id. at col. 10 l. 65 to col. 11 l. 15. For example, if a first user’s avatar and a second user’s avatar are located in different rooms, designated by walls, audio from the first user will be modified based on a wall transmission factor. Id. at col. 15 l. 36 to col. 16 l. 3, FIG.8B. The wall transmission factor may attenuate the audio or completely prevent its transmission. Id. This is one example of modifying audio based on whether a speaking avatar is visible to a listening avatar.
Additional rules may apply, such as distance, position, whitelists and other rules. For instance, audio is modified to simulate left-right positions so that when a first speaking avatar is not visible because the avatar is to the left of the second user’s field of view, the first avatar’s audio is adjusted to come from the left. Id. at col. 20 l. 26 to col. 21 l. 34, FIG.11.
Krol, however, does not describe the claimed detection of a listening user’s listening effort using a trained machine learning model.
“…wherein: the machine learning model is trained to predict the listening effort of the listening user by receiving the set of attributes associated with the plurality of actions of the listening user, and receiving for each action of the plurality of actions, a label indicating the listening effort of the listening user in response to prompting the listening user for that information, and training the machine learning model based at least in part on the set of attributes and the label for each action of the plurality of actions…
Krol does not describe the claimed detection of a listening user’s listening effort using a trained machine learning model, and does not describe the claimed training methodology.
“communicating the modified audio data to the listening user of the second client device.”
Server 302 transmits modified audio to other devices through network 304. Id. at col. 9 ll. 46–61, col. 25 l. 56 to col. 26 l. 27, FIGs.4C, 13.
Table 1
The table above shows that the Krol reference describes a method that corresponds closely to the claimed method. The Krol reference does not anticipate the claimed method because Krol does not describe the claimed modification of audio based on a rule for determining a listening effort of the listening user by applying a trained machine learning model to predict the listening effort of the listening user based on receiving a set of attributes associated with a plurality of actions of the listening user. Krol does not describe training a machine learning model to predict the listening effort of a listening user based on attributes associated with a plurality of actions of the listening user and a label received from the user in response to a prompting for the label. Krol also does not describe changing spatialization of the audio data (i.e., to cause speech to appear to originate from a region closer to the listening user) corresponding to a percentage that is proportional to the listening effort of the listening user received from an output of the model predicting the listening effort of the listening user.
The differences between the claimed invention and the Krol reference are such that the invention as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this Application was effectively filed. The Krol reference describes a system and method for modifying audio in a virtual conference according to a set of rules to improve the realism and privacy of communicating in a virtual conference. Krol at col. 7 ll. 14–28, col. 9 l. 46 to col. 10 l. 23, col. 10 l. 65 to col. 11 l. 15. col. 15 l. 36 to col. 16 l. 3, FIGs.3, 4B, 4C, 8B. In modifying audio, Krol tracks whether a listening user can see an audio source object. Id. But Krol does not use a trained machine learning model to determine (e.g., as a percentage) the listening user’s listening effort and making the audio object sound closer based on the listening effort and whether the user is looking at the audio object.
The Ballagas reference describes an extended reality system, similar to the way Krol describes a virtual conference. Ballagas at ¶ 10. Ballagas teaches and suggests that users may experience a high cognitive load in a virtual environment and struggle to hear sounds in a spatial area of attention. Id. at ¶ 13. The spatial area of attention corresponds to an area within a user’s gaze—namely, the area and associated audio objects in the user’s view. Id. at ¶¶ 10–11, 24. Ballagas teaches tracking physiological signals (i.e., biometric signals) of a user in order to estimate the user’s cognitive load. Id. at 27–28, 51. If the cognitive load is too high, audio in the spatial area of attention is amplified. Id. One of ordinary skill would have understood that amplifying audio will cause it to appear closer to a user in the same way a sound emitted close to a person sound louder than the same sound emitted far from a person. See Krol at col. 14 ll. 16–45, FIG.6.
Further, the Donley reference, like Krol and Ballagas, is related to extended reality systems. Donley at Abs., ¶ 14. The Donley reference teaches and suggests tracking a user’s cognitive load in terms of listening effort and to adjust audio performance (e.g., sensor selection) in an extended reality system to maintain listening effort at a desired level. Id. at ¶¶ 60–62.
The Wei reference describes a machine learning model that is trained on participant tasks/actions labeled with subjective cognitive load (i.e., listening effort) values for physiological sensor signals. Wei at ¶¶ 23–27. The model is trained from (1) sensor signals collected while people perform a set of tasks and (2) labeled data corresponding to a user-perceived amount of cognitive load. Id. During an operational (i.e., inference) phase, the trained model receives sensor signals to output a continuous value (e.g., from 0 to 1), or a percentage, that is proportional to the amount of a user’s experienced cognitive load. Id. at ¶ 28. Thus, Wei teaches the idea of determining a user’s cognitive load based on sensor signals, or attributes, associated with participant tasks/actions. And the cognitive load will correspond to a continuous value, or percentage, that is proportional to cognitive load.
The Kish reference relates to Wei because it teaches techniques for training a machine learning model. Kish at Abs., ¶¶ 2–7. Kish notes that the accuracy of a model used for classifying and tagging/labeling objects in a dataset (e.g., an image) is largely based on the number of examples seen during a training phase. Id. Because specific examples might be rare, Kish teaches improving the model’s accuracy overtime by leveraging user feedback. Id. For example, Kish teaches a feedback scheduler that periodically requests feedback from users as to the model’s performance (i.e., accuracy). Id. at ¶¶ 49–52. The feedback may include a variety of information including a user-provided tag/label for the dataset, or a user-suggested refinement to a candidate tag. Id. at ¶¶ 53–55, 88, FIG.5. Kish uses the users’ feedback to retag/relabel the labeled dataset and uses the updated labeled dataset to retrain the model. Id. at ¶¶ 57–61.
Taken collectively, Krol, Ballagas, Donley, Wei and Kish teach and suggest the whole of the claimed invention. Krol describes a base augmented-reality device capable of detecting a user’s position, gaze direction and the relative position of other sources and obstacles in a virtual environment. Krol also describes modifying audio based on these parameters to simulate spatial audio characteristics, such as the distance between a listening user and a speaking user. Ballagas teaches and suggests further modifying desired audio corresponding to a desired speaking user that the listening user is looking at to reflect the listener’s cognitive load. In particular, Ballagas teaches amplifying the desired speaking user audio, making the desired speaking user audio appear closer than it is. Donley teaches the link between estimating cognitive load and estimating listening effort as measures of the ease in which a user may hear a sound. Wei teaches a specific mechanism for training and operating a machine learning model to predict a user’s cognitive load, or listening effort as suggested by Donley. And Kish teaches a refinement to Wei’s training approach, where user feedback may be periodically requested and used to update a machine learning model’s (Wei’s model) output tags (i.e., estimation of cognitive load/listening effort) and to retrain the model based on the updated tags.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify Krol to estimate a user’s listening effort by collecting sensor data, or listening user attributes, and inputting the data into Wei’s trained machine learning model that is trained to predict listening effort, and to use the listening effort in combination with a user’s looking direction to spatially modify audio to make it appear closer than it is. As suggested by Ballagas, Krol’s system would be modified to estimate the user’s cognitive load/listening effort. One of ordinary skill would have reasonably chosen to make the cognitive load/listening effort estimation based on the teachings of Donley, Wei and Kish, where a trained machine learning model would be trained by a set of training users that perform a set of tasks while also trying to listen to sounds to estimate listening effort. See Wei at ¶¶ 23–27. As taught by Wei, the users would provide a set of labeled data corresponding to their perceived amount of listening effort during a set of tasks. See id. Simultaneously, the machine learning system would collect sensor data as the user’s perform the tasks. See id.; Ballagas at ¶¶ 27–28, 51. The machine learning system would then be trained to recognize the relationship between sensor data, or user attributes, and listening effort. See Wei at ¶¶ 23–27. During operation, Krol’s system would receive sensor signals from a listening user that will cause the machine learning system to predict an amount of the user’s listening effort by recognizing the correspondence between the sensor signals and the learned amount of listening effort experienced by the training users. See Ballagas at ¶¶ 27–28, 51; Wei at ¶¶ 23–27. The listening effort will be reported as a continuous value between 0 and 1, or a percentage between 0% and 100%, that is proportional to the amount of listening effort predicted from the received sensor signals, or listening user attributes. See Ballagas at ¶¶ 27–28, 51; Wei at ¶¶ 23–27.
As suggested by Ballagas, this listening effort will be analyzed alongside a user’s look direction, to determine whether to amplify audio from a desired audio source. See Ballagas at ¶¶ 10–11, 24, 27–28, 51. When the listening user is looking at a speaking user and experiencing a high-degree of listening effort, audio from the speaking user would be amplified to simulate the speaking user being located closer to the listening user than it is in reality. Id.
And as suggested by the teachings of Kish, Krol’s system would include a scheduler to periodically request user feedback as to the accuracy of Wei’s machine learning model. See Kish at ¶¶ 49–52. For example, the system would ask the user if they are working hard or not in accordance with the model’s determination of cognitive load/listening effort. See id. at ¶¶ 53–55, 88, FIG.5.. The user would respond with a positive/negative result and/or provide a tag/label of how hard they are working. See id. (teaching the provision of yes/no radial buttons for feedback; teaching the provision of a text box 514 to allow a user to provide an overriding tag/label). Wei’s model would evaluate the feedback and responsively update its own labels as to how hard a user is working to listen to a sound and use the updated labeled data to retrain itself. See id. at ¶¶ 57–61.
One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected that the resulting system would exhibit an improved user experience since the audibility of a desired speaking user’s audio will be enhanced when the user is experiencing a high-degree of listening effort. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Krol, the Ballagas, the Donley, the Wei and the Kish references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 2 depends on claim 1 and further requires the following:
“wherein modifying the audio data comprises: responsive to determining the object associated with the speaking user is not within the field of view of the listening user, diminishing the audio data.”
In Krol, audio from users that cannot be seen because they are in a different room (i.e., behind a wall) is attenuated by wall transmission factors. Krol at col. 15 l. 36 to col. 16 l. 3, FIG.8B. Audio from users that cannot be seen because they are to the left or right of another user’s field of view is attenuated in one of the left and right channels to simulate positional audio. Id. at col. 20 l. 26 to col. 21 l. 34, FIG.11. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Krol, the Ballagas, the Donley, the Wei and the Kish references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 3 depends on claim 1 and further requires the following:
“wherein modifying the audio data comprises: responsive to determining the object associated with the speaking user is within the field of view of the listening user, enhancing the audio data.”
When a user’s field of view is centered on a speaking avatar, the avatar’s audio is enhanced by reproducing it equally in two binaural channels. Id. at col. 20 l. 26 to col. 21 l. 34, FIG.11. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Krol, the Ballagas, the Donley, the Wei and the Kish references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 4 depends on claim 1 and further requires the following:
“wherein modifying the audio data comprises: identifying one or more noises included in the audio data; and executing, on the one or more noises included in the audio data, one or more selected from the group consisting of: noise blocking, noise cancelling, noise masking, noise filtering and noise amplification
Claim 5 depends on claim 4 and further requires the following:
“wherein the set of rules comprises:
“enhancing the speech included in the audio data if one or more of:
“the speaking user is within the field of view of the listening user of the second client device,
“the speech is associated with a volume that is at least a threshold volume,
“one or more words associated with safety are included in the speech,
“a whitelist associated with the speaking user identifies the listening user, an additional object associated with the listening user is within a boundary around the object associated with the speaking user, and
“a gaze point of the speaking user matches a location of the additional object associated with the listening user.”1
Claims 4 and 5 are treated together. The claimed set of rules includes are presented as alternative rules for enhancing speech. In Krol, when a user’s field of view is centered on a speaking avatar, the avatar’s audio is enhanced by reproducing it equally in two binaural channels. Krol at col. 20 l. 26 to col. 21 l. 34, FIG.11. Krol also describes amplifying audio that meets a volume threshold, a listening avatar is whitelisted (i.e., allowed) to participate in a private conversation with the speaking avatar, the speaking and listening avatars are in a boundary space, the speaking avatar is looking at the listening avatar so that the speech audio is binaurally enhanced relative to the listening avatar. Id. at col. 10 l. 65 to col. 11 l. 27, col. 15 l. 36 to col. 16 l. 3, col. 17 ll. 28–41, col. 20 l. 65 to col. 21 l. 21, col. 25 ll. 11–30, FIGs.8B, 11. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Krol, the Ballagas, the Donley, the Wei and the Kish references makes obvious all limitations of the claims.
Claim 6 depends on claim 5 and further requires the following:
“wherein the gaze point of the speaking user is determined by the first client device.”
A first user determines the gaze point (i.e., field of view) of his avatar through inputs 106/1312 on his device. Krol at col. 24 ll. 8–15, FIG.1. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Krol, the Ballagas, the Donley, the Wei and the Kish references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 7 depends on claim 4 and further requires the following:
“wherein the set of rules comprises: diminishing the speech included in the audio data if one or more of: the speaking user is not within the field of view of the listening user of the second client device, the speech is associated with a volume that is less than a threshold volume, a whitelist associated with the speaking user does not identify the listening user, an additional object associated with the listening user is outside a boundary around the object associated with the speaking user, and a gaze point of the speaking user does not match a location of the additional object associated with the listening user.”
The claimed rules are presented as alternative rules for diminishing speech. In Krol, when a user’s field of view does not include a speaking avatar, the avatar’s audio is diminished by reproducing it only in one ear. Krol at col. 20 l. 26 to col. 21 l. 34, FIG.11. Krol also describes attenuating audio that is below a volume threshold, a listening avatar is not whitelisted (i.e., not included in an allowed list) to participate in a private conversation with the speaking avatar, the speaking and listening avatars are not in a boundary space, the speaking avatar is not looking at the listening avatar so that the speech audio is produced in one ear of the listening avatar. Id. at col. 10 l. 65 to col. 11 l. 27, col. 15 l. 36 to col. 16 l. 3, col. 17 ll. 28–41, col. 20 l. 65 to col. 21 l. 21, col. 25 ll. 11–30, FIGs.8B, 11. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Krol, the Ballagas, the Donley, the Wei and the Kish references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 8 depends on claim 1 and further requires the following:
“wherein modifying the audio data comprises: identifying one or more noises included in the audio data; sending a prompt to the second client device to select one or more options from a set of options for modifying each of the one or more noises included in the audio data; receiving, from the second client device, the one or more options for modifying each of the one or more noises included in the audio data; and modifying the audio data based at least in part on the one or more options received from the second client device.”
The Krol reference does not describe any mechanism for handling noise in audio data. The Mulliken reference, like Krol, is drawn to extended reality systems. Mulliken at Abs., ¶¶ 3, 4, 155–158, 178, FIG.10. Mulliken teaches and suggests adding the ability to remove distractions by identifying sounds in the environment and modifying them. Id. For example, the system will identify noises and alert the user through a GUI. Id. The user inputs a noise removing preference through the GUI. Id. The system then removes the identified noise based on the user’s input preference. Id. These teachings taken in conjunction with the Krol reference, would have reasonably suggested modifying Krol’s system and method of operation to similarly include a noise identification and modification feature. One of ordinary skill would have reasonably recognized that the noise identification and modification feature would allow for distracting sounds to be removed. See id. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Krol, the Ballagas, the Donley, the Wei, the Kish and the Mulliken references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 9 depends on claim 1 and further requires the following:
“wherein modifying the audio data is further based at least in part on one or more selected from the group consisting of: a set of preferences associated with the listening user, a setting associated with the application, and a predicted listening effort of the listening user.”
Krol describes modifying audio based on a application settings, such as wall positions. Krol at col. 15 l. 36 to col. 16 l. 3, FIG.8B. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Krol, the Ballagas, the Donley, the Wei and the Kish references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 10 depends on claim 9 and further requires the following:
“wherein predicting the listening effort of the listening user further comprises:
“receiving
“receiving, for each action of the plurality of actions, the label indicating a listening effort of the listening user, the plurality of actions selected from the group consisting of moving towards an object associated with audio data, leaning towards the object, turning the head of the listening user, wherein at least one ear of the head of the listening user is directed towards the object, cupping the at least one hand of the listening user around an outer portion of the at least one ear of the listening user, and
“training the machine learning model based at least in part on the set of attributes and the label for each action of the plurality of actions; and
“applying the machine learning model to a set of attributes associated with an action of the listening user to predict the listening effort of the listening user.”
The obviousness rejection of claim 1, incorporated herein, shows the obviousness of modifying the Krol reference’s method and system to use a trained machine learning model to predict a listening user’s listening effort based on user attributes derived from a set of sensors. During a training phase, the Wei reference teaches training the model with attribute data from a set of sensors and a set of labels indicating cognitive load/listening effort for a set of user actions. Further, Wei teaches that during an inference phase, the trained model is fed sensor data to predict a listening user’s listening effort. However, Wei does not describe sensing the claimed attributes and labeling the claimed actions.
The Wexler reference teaches the use of a learning model that is trained to analyze audio and images corresponding to actions taken by a user when having a hard-time hearing. Wexler at ¶ 500. For example, the model is trained to recognize when a user is leaning towards a speaker, putting his hand up to his ear or asking the speaker to repeat themselves. Id. Read in light of Wei, Wexler reasonably suggests training a model with sensor data, such as images and audio. The images and audio would represent actions typical of high-listening effort, such as when a listening user leans towards a speaking user, puts his hand up to his ear or asking the speaking user to repeat himself. The sensor data would be labeled with a listening effort score, just as Wei’s other sensor data is labeled. Accordingly, Wei’s model would predictably be able to recognize audio/visual sensor data that corresponds to high listening effort scenarios. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Krol, the Ballagas, the Donley, the Wei, the Kish and the Wexler references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 11 is drawn to “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium.” The following table illustrates the correspondence between the claimed medium and the Krol reference.
Claim 11
The Krol Reference
“11. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising stored instructions, the instructions when executed by a processor of a device, causing the device to:
The Krol reference similarly describes a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that when executed by a processor causes the processor to perform a method that modifies audio in artificial reality environments, including an augmented reality (AR) or a virtual reality (VR) environment. Krol at Abs., col. 1 l. 10 to col. 3 l. 5, claim 8.
“receive audio data comprising speech at a first client device executing an application in an artificial reality environment, wherein the first client device is associated with a speaking user;
Krol’s method includes operating a system 300 that includes a server 302, network 304 and multiple devices 306A and 306B operating together in a virtual video conference. Id. at col. 7 l. 8 to col. 9 l. 4, FIG.3. Each device 306A, 306B records audio and transmits the audio to server 302, which transmits the audio to the other devices in the virtual conference. Id. at col. 9 l. 5 to col. 13 l. 35, FIGs.4A-4D. The audio from a particular device includes the speech produced by the user of the particular device. Id.
“determine whether an object associated with the speaking user is within a field of view of a listening user of a second client device executing the application;
The Krol reference describes a virtual video conference, where each user associated with one of devices 306A, 306B is further associated with a virtual avatar 102 that is displayed visually by devices 306A, 306B. Id. at col. 4 ll. 20–44, FIG.1. The user’s move their avatars through a shared virtual space that has different zones, designated by virtual constructs, like walls. Id. at col. 15 ll. 36–51, FIG.8B.
The system determines if a first user’s avatar is visible to a second user based on the second user’s field of view. Id. at col. 5 ll. 20–33, col. 6 ll. 50–61, FIGs.1, 2. A first user’s avatar may become invisible to a second user because the relative position of the first user’s avatar and the second user’s field of view are not coincident. See id. Additionally, a first user’s avatar may be invisible because the first user’s avatar is behind a wall that obscures the second user’s field of view. See id. at col. 15 ll. 36–51, FIG.8B.
“modifying the audio data based at least in part on a set of rules, the set of rules comprising a rule for determining a listening effort of the listening user by applying a trained machine learning model to predict the listening effort of the listening user based on receiving a set of attributes associated with a plurality of actions of the listening user,
“…
“and whether the object associated with the speaking user is within the field of view of the listening user, by changing a spatialization of the audio data corresponding to a percentage that is proportional to the listening effort of the listening user received from an output of the machine learning model predicting the listening effort of the listening user in a manner that causes the speech to appear to originate from a region closer to the listening user; and
Krol’s system similarly applies multiple rules to determines how sound should be modified and reproduced for each user. Server 302 tracks where each user’s virtual avatar is located in relation to each other in the virtual conference and in relation to the virtual conference environment. Id. at col. 7 ll. 14–28, col. 9 l. 46 to col. 10 l. 23, FIGs.3, 4B, 4C. Krol’s system then modifies the audio produced by each user to simulate distance and location effects on the speech audio produced by a user. Id. at col. 10 l. 65 to col. 11 l. 15. For example, if a first user’s avatar and a second user’s avatar are located in different rooms, designated by walls, audio from the first user will be modified based on a wall transmission factor. Id. at col. 15 l. 36 to col. 16 l. 3, FIG.8B. The wall transmission factor may attenuate the audio or completely prevent its transmission. Id. This is one example of modifying audio based on whether a speaking avatar is visible to a listening avatar.
Additional rules may apply, such as distance, position, whitelists and other rules. For instance, audio is modified to simulate left-right positions so that when a first speaking avatar is not visible because the avatar is to the left of the second user’s field of view, the first avatar’s audio is adjusted to come from the left. Id. at col. 20 l. 26 to col. 21 l. 34, FIG.11.
Krol, however, does not describe the claimed detection of a listening user’s listening effort using a trained machine learning model.
“…wherein: the machine learning model is trained to predict the listening effort of the listening user by
“receiving the set of attributes associated with the plurality of actions of the listening user, and
“receiving for each action of the plurality of actions, a label indicating the listening effort of the listening user in response to prompting the listening user for that information, and
“training the machine learning model based at least in part on the set of attributes and the label for each action of the plurality of actions…
Krol does not describe the claimed detection of a listening user’s listening effort using a trained machine learning model, and does not describe the claimed training methodology.
“communicate the modified audio data to the listening user of the second client device.”
Server 302 transmits modified audio to other devices through network 304. Id. at col. 9 ll. 46–61, col. 25 l. 56 to col. 26 l. 27, FIGs.4C, 13.
Table 2
The table above shows that the Krol reference describes a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that corresponds closely to the claimed non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. The Krol reference does not anticipate the claimed invention because Krol does not describe the claimed modification of audio based on a rule for determining a listening effort of the listening user by applying a trained machine learning model to predict the listening effort of the listening user based on receiving a set of attributes associated with a plurality of actions of the listening user. Krol does not describe training a machine learning model to predict the listening effort of a listening user based on attributes associated with a plurality of actions of the listening user and a label received from the user in response to a prompting for the label. Krol also does not describe changing spatialization of the audio data (i.e., to cause speech to appear to originate from a region closer to the listening user) corresponding to a percentage that is proportional to the listening effort of the listening user received from an output of the model predicting the listening effort of the listening user.
The differences between the claimed invention and the Krol reference are such that the invention as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this Application was effectively filed. The Krol reference describes a system and method for modifying audio in a virtual conference according to a set of rules to improve the realism and privacy of communicating in a virtual conference. Krol at col. 7 ll. 14–28, col. 9 l. 46 to col. 10 l. 23, col. 10 l. 65 to col. 11 l. 15. col. 15 l. 36 to col. 16 l. 3, FIGs.3, 4B, 4C, 8B. In modifying audio, Krol tracks whether a listening user can see an audio source object. Id. But Krol does not use a trained machine learning model to determine (e.g., as a percentage) the listening user’s listening effort and making the audio object sound closer based on the listening effort and whether the user is looking at the audio object.
The Ballagas reference describes an extended reality system, similar to the way Krol describes a virtual conference. Ballagas at ¶ 10. Ballagas teaches and suggests that users may experience a high cognitive load in a virtual environment and struggle to hear sounds in a spatial area of attention. Id. at ¶ 13. The spatial area of attention corresponds to an area within a user’s gaze—namely, the area and associated audio objects in the user’s view. Id. at ¶¶ 10–11, 24. Ballagas teaches tracking physiological signals (i.e., biometric signals) of a user in order to estimate the user’s cognitive load. Id. at 27–28, 51. If the cognitive load is too high, audio in the spatial area of attention is amplified. Id. One of ordinary skill would have understood that amplifying audio will cause it to appear closer to a user in the same way a sound emitted close to a person sound louder than the same sound emitted far from a person. See Krol at col. 14 ll. 16–45, FIG.6.
Further, the Donley reference, like Krol and Ballagas, is related to extended reality systems. Donley at Abs., ¶ 14. The Donley reference teaches and suggests tracking a user’s cognitive load in terms of listening effort and to adjust audio performance (e.g., sensor selection) in an extended reality system to maintain listening effort at a desired level. Id. at ¶¶ 60–62.
The Wei reference describes a machine learning model that is trained on participant tasks/actions labeled with subjective cognitive load (i.e., listening effort) values for physiological sensor signals. Wei at ¶¶ 23–27. The model is trained from (1) sensor signals collected while people perform a set of tasks and (2) labeled data corresponding to a user-perceived amount of cognitive load. Id. During an operational (i.e., inference) phase, the trained model receives sensor signals to output a continuous value (e.g., from 0 to 1), or a percentage, that is proportional to the amount of a user’s experienced cognitive load. Id. at ¶ 28. Thus, Wei teaches the idea of determining a user’s cognitive load based on sensor signals, or attributes, associated with participant tasks/actions. And the cognitive load will correspond to a continuous value, or percentage, that is proportional to cognitive load.
The Kish reference relates to Wei because it teaches techniques for training a machine learning model. Kish at Abs., ¶¶ 2–7. Kish notes that the accuracy of a model used for classifying and tagging/labeling objects in a dataset (e.g., an image) is largely based on the number of examples seen during a training phase. Id. Because specific examples might be rare, Kish teaches improving the model’s accuracy overtime by leveraging user feedback. Id. For example, Kish teaches a feedback scheduler that periodically requests feedback from users as to the model’s performance (i.e., accuracy). Id. at ¶¶ 49–52. The feedback may include a variety of information including a user-provided tag/label for the dataset, or a user-suggested refinement to a candidate tag. Id. at ¶¶ 53–55, 88, FIG.5. Kish uses the users’ feedback to retag/relabel the labeled dataset and uses the updated labeled dataset to retrain the model. Id. at ¶¶ 57–61.
Taken collectively, Krol, Ballagas, Donley, Wei and Kish teach and suggest the whole of the claimed invention. Krol describes a base augmented-reality device capable of detecting a user’s position, gaze direction and the relative position of other sources and obstacles in a virtual environment. Krol also describes modifying audio based on these parameters to simulate spatial audio characteristics, such as the distance between a listening user and a speaking user. Ballagas teaches and suggests further modifying desired audio corresponding to a desired speaking user that the listening user is looking at to reflect the listener’s cognitive load. In particular, Ballagas teaches amplifying the desired speaking user audio, making the desired speaking user audio appear closer than it is. Donley teaches the link between estimating cognitive load and estimating listening effort as measures of the ease in which a user may hear a sound. Wei teaches a specific mechanism for training and operating a machine learning model to predict a user’s cognitive load, or listening effort as suggested by Donley. And Kish teaches a refinement to Wei’s training approach, where user feedback may be periodically requested and used to update a machine learning model’s (Wei’s model) output tags (i.e., estimation of cognitive load/listening effort) and to retrain the model based on the updated tags.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify Krol to estimate a user’s listening effort by collecting sensor data, or listening user attributes, and inputting the data into Wei’s trained machine learning model that is trained to predict listening effort, and to use the listening effort in combination with a user’s looking direction to spatially modify audio to make it appear closer than it is. As suggested by Ballagas, Krol’s system would be modified to estimate the user’s cognitive load/listening effort. One of ordinary skill would have reasonably chosen to make the cognitive load/listening effort estimation based on the teachings of Donley, Wei and Kish, where a trained machine learning model would be trained by a set of training users that perform a set of tasks while also trying to listen to sounds to estimate listening effort. See Wei at ¶¶ 23–27. As taught by Wei, the users would provide a set of labeled data corresponding to their perceived amount of listening effort during a set of tasks. See id. Simultaneously, the machine learning system would collect sensor data as the user’s perform the tasks. See id.; Ballagas at ¶¶ 27–28, 51. The machine learning system would then be trained to recognize the relationship between sensor data, or user attributes, and listening effort. See Wei at ¶¶ 23–27. During operation, Krol’s system would receive sensor signals from a listening user that will cause the machine learning system to predict an amount of the user’s listening effort by recognizing the correspondence between the sensor signals and the learned amount of listening effort experienced by the training users. See Ballagas at ¶¶ 27–28, 51; Wei at ¶¶ 23–27. The listening effort will be reported as a continuous value between 0 and 1, or a percentage between 0% and 100%, that is proportional to the amount of listening effort predicted from the received sensor signals, or listening user attributes. See Ballagas at ¶¶ 27–28, 51; Wei at ¶¶ 23–27.
As suggested by Ballagas, this listening effort will be analyzed alongside a user’s look direction, to determine whether to amplify audio from a desired audio source. See Ballagas at ¶¶ 10–11, 24, 27–28, 51. When the listening user is looking at a speaking user and experiencing a high-degree of listening effort, audio from the speaking user would be amplified to simulate the speaking user being located closer to the listening user than it is in reality. Id.
And as suggested by the teachings of Kish, Krol’s system would include a scheduler to periodically request user feedback as to the accuracy of Wei’s machine learning model. See Kish at ¶¶ 49–52. For example, the system would ask the user if they are working hard or not in accordance with the model’s determination of cognitive load/listening effort. See id. at ¶¶ 53–55, 88, FIG.5.. The user would respond with a positive/negative result and/or provide a tag/label of how hard they are working. See id. (teaching the provision of yes/no radial buttons for feedback; teaching the provision of a text box 514 to allow a user to provide an overriding tag/label). Wei’s model would evaluate the feedback and responsively update its own labels as to how hard a user is working to listen to a sound and use the updated labeled data to retrain itself. See id. at ¶¶ 57–61.
One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected that the resulting system would exhibit an improved user experience since the audibility of a desired speaking user’s audio will be enhanced when the user is experiencing a high-degree of listening effort. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Krol, the Ballagas, the Donley, the Wei and the Kish references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 12 depends on claim 11 and further requires the following:
“wherein the stored instructions to modify the audio data further comprise stored instructions that, when executed, cause the device to: responsive to determining the object associated with the speaking user is not within the field of view of the listening user, diminish the audio data.”
In Krol, audio from users that cannot be seen because they are in a different room (i.e., behind a wall) is attenuated by wall transmission factors. Krol at col. 15 l. 36 to col. 16 l. 3, FIG.8B. Audio from users that cannot be seen because they are to the left or right of another user’s field of view is attenuated in one of the left and right channels to simulate positional audio. Id. at col. 20 l. 26 to col. 21 l. 34, FIG.11. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Krol, the Ballagas, the Donley, the Wei and the Kish references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 13 depends on claim 11 and further requires the following:
“wherein the stored instructions to modify the audio data further comprise stored instructions that, when executed, cause the device to: responsive to determining the object associated with the speaking user is within the field of view of the listening user, enhance the audio data.”
When a user’s field of view is centered on a speaking avatar, the avatar’s audio is enhanced by reproducing it equally in two binaural channels. Id. at col. 20 l. 26 to col. 21 l. 34, FIG.11. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Krol, the Ballagas, the Donley, the Wei and the Kish references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 14 depends on claim 11 and further requires the following:
“wherein the stored instructions to modify the audio data further comprise stored instructions that, when executed, cause the device to: identify one or more noises included in the audio data; and execute, on the one or more noises included in the audio data, one or more selected from the group consisting of: noise blocking, noise cancelling, noise masking, noise filtering, and noise amplification
Claim 15 depends on claim 14 and further requires the following:
“wherein the set of rules comprises: enhancing the speech included in the audio data if one or more of: the speaking user is within the field of view of the listening user of the second client device, the speech is associated with a volume that is at least a threshold volume, one or more words associated with safety are included in the speech, a whitelist associated with the speaking user identifies the listening user, an additional object associated with the listening user is within a boundary around the object associated with the speaking user, and a gaze point of the speaking user matches a location of the additional object associated with the listening user.”
Claims 14 and 15 are treated together. The claimed set of rules includes are presented as alternative rules for enhancing speech. In Krol, when a user’s field of view is centered on a speaking avatar, the avatar’s audio is enhanced by reproducing it equally in two binaural channels. Krol at col. 20 l. 26 to col. 21 l. 34, FIG.11. Krol also describes amplifying audio that meets a volume threshold, a listening avatar is whitelisted (i.e., allowed) to participate in a private conversation with the speaking avatar, the speaking and listening avatars are in a boundary space, the speaking avatar is looking at the listening avatar so that the speech audio is binaurally enhanced relative to the listening avatar. Id. at col. 10 l. 65 to col. 11 l. 27, col. 15 l. 36 to col. 16 l. 3, col. 17 ll. 28–41, col. 20 l. 65 to col. 21 l. 21, col. 25 ll. 11–30, FIGs.8B, 11. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Krol, the Ballagas, the Donley, the Wei and the Kish references makes obvious all limitations of the claims.
Claim 16 depends on claim 15 and further requires the following:
“wherein the gaze point of the speaking user is determined by the first client device.”
A first user determines the gaze point (i.e., field of view) of his avatar through inputs 106/1312 on his device. Krol at col. 24 ll. 8–15, FIG.1. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Krol, the Ballagas, the Donley, the Wei and the Kish references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 17 depends on claim 14 and further requires the following:
“wherein the set of rules comprises: diminishing the speech included in the audio data if one or more of: the speaking user is not within the field of view of the listening user of the second client device, the speech is associated with a volume that is less than a threshold volume, a whitelist associated with the speaking user does not identify the listening user, an additional object associated with the listening user is outside a boundary around the object associated with the speaking user, and a gaze point of the speaking user does not match a location of the additional object associated with the listening user.”
The claimed rules are presented as alternative rules for diminishing speech. In Krol, when a user’s field of view does not include a speaking avatar, the avatar’s audio is diminished by reproducing it only in one ear. Krol at col. 20 l. 26 to col. 21 l. 34, FIG.11. Krol also describes attenuating audio that is below a volume threshold, a listening avatar is not whitelisted (i.e., not included in an allowed list) to participate in a private conversation with the speaking avatar, the speaking and listening avatars are not in a boundary space, the speaking avatar is not looking at the listening avatar so that the speech audio is produced in one ear of the listening avatar. Id. at col. 10 l. 65 to col. 11 l. 27, col. 15 l. 36 to col. 16 l. 3, col. 17 ll. 28–41, col. 20 l. 65 to col. 21 l. 21, col. 25 ll. 11–30, FIGs.8B, 11. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Krol, the Ballagas, the Donley, the Wei and the Kish references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 18 depends on claim 11 and further requires the following:
“wherein the stored instructions to modify the audio data further comprise stored instructions that, when executed, cause the device to: identify one or more noises included in the audio data; send a prompt to the second client device to select one or more options from a set of options for modifying each of the one or more noises included in the audio data; receive, from the second client device, the one or more options for modifying each of the one or more noises included in the audio data; and modify the audio data based at least in part on the one or more options received from the second client device.”
The Krol reference does not describe any mechanism for handling noise in audio data. The Mulliken reference, like Krol, is drawn to extended reality systems. Mulliken at Abs., ¶¶ 3, 4, 155–158, 178, FIG.10. Mulliken teaches and suggests adding the ability to remove distractions by identifying sounds in the environment and modifying them. Id. For example, the system will identify noises and alert the user through a GUI. Id. The user inputs a noise removing preference through the GUI. Id. The system then removes the identified noise based on the user’s input preference. Id. These teachings taken in conjunction with the Krol reference, would have reasonably suggested modifying Krol’s system and method of operation to similarly include a noise identification and modification feature. One of ordinary skill would have reasonably recognized that the noise identification and modification feature would allow for distracting sounds to be removed. See id. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Krol, the Ballagas, the Donley, the Wei, the Kish and the Mulliken references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 19 depends on claim 11 and further requires the following:
“wherein modify the audio data is further based at least in part on one or more selected from the group consisting of: a set of preferences associated with the listening user, a setting associated with the application, and a predicted listening effort of the listening user.”
Krol describes modifying audio based on a application settings, such as wall positions. Krol at col. 15 l. 36 to col. 16 l. 3, FIG.8B. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Krol, the Ballagas, the Donley, the Wei and the Kish references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Claim 20 depends on claim 19 and further requires the following:
“wherein the stored instructions to predict the listening effort of the listening user further comprise stored instructions that, when executed, cause the device to:
“receiving a set of attributes associated with
“receiving, for each action of the plurality of actions, a label indicating a listening effort of the listening user, the plurality of actions selected from the group consisting of moving towards an object associated with audio data, leaning towards the object, turning the head of the listening user, wherein at least one ear of the head of the listening user is directed towards the object, cupping the at least one hand of the listening user around an outer portion of the at least one ear of the listening user,
“training the machine learning model based at least in part on the set of attributes and the label for each action of the plurality of actions; and
“apply the machine learning model to a set of attributes associated with an action of the listening user to predict the listening effort of the listening user.”
The obviousness rejection of claim 1, incorporated herein, shows the obviousness of modifying the Krol reference’s method and system to use a trained machine learning model to predict a listening user’s listening effort based on user attributes derived from a set of sensors. During a training phase, the Wei reference teaches training the model with attribute data from a set of sensors and a set of labels indicating cognitive load/listening effort for a set of user actions. Further, Wei teaches that during an inference phase, the trained model is fed sensor data to predict a listening user’s listening effort. However, Wei does not describe sensing the claimed attributes and labeling the claimed actions.
The Wexler reference teaches the use of a learning model that is trained to analyze audio and images corresponding to actions taken by a user when having a hard-time hearing. Wexler at ¶ 500. For example, the model is trained to recognize when a user is leaning towards a speaker, putting his hand up to his ear or asking the speaker to repeat themselves. Id. Read in light of Wei, Wexler reasonably suggests training a model with sensor data, such as images and audio. The images and audio would represent actions typical of high-listening effort, such as when a listening user leans towards a speaking user, puts his hand up to his ear or asking the speaking user to repeat himself. The sensor data would be labeled with a listening effort score, just as Wei’s other sensor data is labeled. Accordingly, Wei’s model would predictably be able to recognize audio/visual sensor data that corresponds to high listening effort scenarios. For the foregoing reasons, the combination of the Krol, the Ballagas, the Donley, the Wei, the Kish and the Wexler references makes obvious all limitations of the claim.
Summary
Claims 1–20 are rejected under at least one of 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103 as being unpatentable over the cited prior art. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Additional Citations
The following table lists additional references that are relevant to the invention described and claimed in this Application.
Citation
Relevance
US 2022/0360891
Audio zoom on target based on gaze.
Table 3
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s Reply (20 July 2026) has substantively amended all the claims. This Office action has been updated accordingly.
Applicant’s Reply at 12–14 further includes comments pertaining to the amended claims. The Examiner has taken those comments under consideration; however, the comments are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action.
Conclusion
/Walter F Briney III/
Walter F Briney IIIPrimary ExaminerArt Unit 2692
9/16/2026
1 This claim (and claim 15) recites a list of the form “one or more of A, B, C, D and E.” While the list uses the conjunctive “and”, the claim list is construed in the disjunctive sense since each element of the list is not suitable for duplication; rather each element is a condition, not a duplicable item.