Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, the Applicant argues that Yang fails to teach or suggest the feature of “an inner surface of the bobbin comprises a key-shaped protrusion corresponding to the key groove and wherein the key-shaped protrusion is inserted into the key groove,” further stating that the bobbin lacks the required protrusions to engage with the core parts. The Examiner disagrees for at least the following. In at least figures 4-5, the bobbin comprises both the insulation sleeve 140 and the tooth shoe 120 combined. As cited below, the protrusions of the sleeve engage with the groove on the tooth and in combination to fix the bobbin comprised of the sleeve and shoe. Therefore, the combination of Sakurai in view of Yang teaches the limitation “an inner surface of the bobbin comprises a key-shaped protrusion corresponding to the key groove and wherein the key-shaped protrusion is inserted into the key groove.” As such the rejection of claims 2-5, 8-9, 10-12, 14-19 and 21 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 8-9, 10-12, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakurai in view of Yang et al (US 20120126653 A1).
With respect to claim 9, Sakurai teaches a stator comprising: a core (fig. 2B, core 11) having a bar shape (fig. 2B, iron core 11 is bar shaped); a bobbin (fig. 2B, bobbin 12) forming a hollow portion into which the core is inserted (paragraph 32 “The bobbin 12 has a tubular portion 12a having an inner diameter substantially the same as an outer diameter of the core 11.”); and a winding wound around the bobbin (fig. 2B, coil 13), wherein the core comprises a first radial outer corner portion that has a cross-sectional shape comprising at least two bends (fig. 2B-C, core 11 has at least two bends at a corner, see figure marked below. Further Examiner notes that fig. 2C is the bobbin, but it shape mirrors the core and helps to depict the core shape).
Sakurai Figure 2B-C
Sakurai teaches does not teach “whereon one side surface of the core forms a key groove; and wherein an inner surface of the bobbin comprises a key-shaped protrusion corresponding to the key groove, wherein the key-shaped protrusion is inserted into the key groove.”
Yang teaches one side surface of the core forms a key groove (fig. 4B, groove 132); and wherein an inner surface of the bobbin comprises a key-shaped protrusion corresponding to the key groove (fig. 5C protrusions 121), wherein the key-shaped protrusion is inserted into the key groove (paragraph 24 “Further, one or more grooves 132 can be formed on the side walls of the teeth 110, as shown in FIG. 4B. In this case, one or more protrusions 121 are formed on the tooth shoe, and each groove corresponds to each protrusion so as to fix the tooth shoe onto the tooth.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the stator core and bobbins of Sakurai with the key portions of Yang in order to more securely fasten the bobbins to the core, thereby decreasing the chance of damage from vibrations during use.
With respect to claim 2, Sakurai in view of Yang teaches the above-mentioned limitations, Sakurai further teaches an insulating portion of the bobbin has a second radial outer corner portion of an inner surface that has a cross-sectional shape comprising at least two bends (paragraph 37 “For this reason, such advantages can be obtained by making an inner diameter of the tubular portion 12a and an outer diameter of the core 11 close to the same diameter as possible” Examiner is interpreting the goal of making the diameters as close as possible as mirroring the shape of the core and the bobbin).
With respect to claim 3, Sakurai in view of Yang teaches the above-mentioned limitations, Sakurai further teaches the at least two bends of the first radial outer corner portion and the second radial outer corner portion comprise at least two bends that are each at a right angle or at an obtuse angle (see figure 2a-b, radial outer corner portion of the core comprises at least a right angle and an obtuse angle).
With respect to claim 4, Sakurai in view of Yang teaches the above-mentioned limitations, Sakurai further teaches each of the radial outer corner portions connects a longer opposite side (see figure 2B-C marked above), of a pair of parallel opposite sides (see figure 2B-C marked above), and an oblique side that connects to a shorter opposite side of the pair of parallel opposite sides (see figure 2B-C marked above), and each of the radial outer corner portions comprises a right angle bend between the longer opposite side and a connection side (see figure 2C marked below, Examiner notes that figure 2C is the bobbin of the motor but helps to detail the core structure), and an obtuse angle bend between the connection side and the oblique side (see figure 2C marked below, Examiner notes that figure 2C is the bobbin of the motor but helps to detail the core structure).
Sakurai Figure 2C
With respect to claim 5, Sakurai in view of Yang teaches the above-mentioned limitations, Sakurai further teaches each of the radial outer corner portions connects a longer opposite side of a pair of parallel opposite sides and an oblique side that connects to a shorter opposite side of the pair of parallel opposite sides (see figures marked above, the radial outer corner portions connect the oblique sides and the parallel opposite sides together), and each of the radial outer corner portions comprises an obtuse angle bend between the longer opposite side and a connection side (see figure 2C marked above), and a right angle bend or at an obtuse angle bend between the connection side and the oblique side (see figure 2C marked above).
With respect to claim 8, Sakurai in view of Yang teaches the above-mentioned limitations, Sakurai further teaches the winding is a prismatic winding (fig. 2B, coil 13 appears as prismatic on the bobbin 12), and a cross-sectional shape of the prismatic winding comprises at least one straight side (see figure 2B, at least one side of the coil 13 is straight).
With respect to claim 10, Sakurai teaches a stator comprising: a core (fig. 2B, core 11) formed to have a bar shape (fig. 2B, iron core 11 is bar shaped); a bobbin (fig. 2B, bobbin 12) comprising an inner surface that forms a hollow portion into which the core is inserted (paragraph 32 “The bobbin 12 has a tubular portion 12a having an inner diameter substantially the same as an outer diameter of the core 11.”); and a winding wound around the bobbin (fig. 2B, coil 13), wherein a first radial outer corner portion of the core includes a curved portion (see figure 2B-C area marked radial outer corner portion on the core is curved).
Sakurai teaches does not teach “whereon one side surface of the core forms a key groove; and wherein an inner surface of the bobbin comprises a key-shaped protrusion corresponding to the key groove, wherein the key-shaped protrusion is inserted into the key groove.”
Yang teaches one side surface of the core forms a key groove (fig. 4B, groove 132); and wherein an inner surface of the bobbin comprises a key-shaped protrusion corresponding to the key groove (fig. 5C protrusions 121), wherein the key-shaped protrusion is inserted into the key groove (paragraph 24 “Further, one or more grooves 132 can be formed on the side walls of the teeth 110, as shown in FIG. 4B. In this case, one or more protrusions 121 are formed on the tooth shoe, and each groove corresponds to each protrusion so as to fix the tooth shoe onto the tooth.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the stator core and bobbins of Sakurai with the key portions of Yang in order to more securely fasten the bobbins to the core, thereby decreasing the chance of damage from vibrations during use.
With respect to claim 11, Sakurai in view of Yang teaches the above-mentioned limitations, Sakurai further teaches a second radial outer corner portion of an inner surface of the bobbin comprises a curved portion (see figure 2B-C area marked radial outer corner portion on the bobbin is curved).
With respect to claim 12, Sakurai in view of Yang teaches the above-mentioned limitations, Sakurai further teaches the winding is a prismatic winding, wherein a cross-sectional shape of the prismatic winding (fig. 2B, coil 13 appears as prismatic on the bobbin 12) has at least one side comprising a straight line (see figure 2B, at least one side of the coil 13 is straight).
With respect to claim 21, Sakurai in view of Yang teaches the above-mentioned limitations, Sakurai further teaches the winding is a prismatic winding (fig. 2B, coil 13 appears as prismatic on the bobbin 12), and a cross-sectional shape of the prismatic winding comprises at least one straight side (see figure 2B, at least one side of the coil 13 is straight).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakurai in view of Yang in further view of Asano et al (JP 2010148308 A).
With respect to claim 6, Sakurai teaches each of the radial outer corner portions connects a longer opposite side, of a pair of parallel opposite sides, and an oblique side that connects to a shorter opposite side of the pair of parallel opposite sides (see figure 2B-C radial corner portions connect the opposite sides, oblique sides and longer opposite side), and each of the radial outer corner portions comprises an obtuse angle bend between the longer opposite side and a first connection side (see figure 2C marked above).
Sakurai nor Yang teaches “an obtuse angle bend between the first connection side and a second connection side, and an obtuse angle bend between the second connection side and the oblique side.”
Asano teaches an obtuse angle bend between the first connection side and a second connection side (see figure 15 marked below), and an obtuse angle bend between the second connection side and the oblique side.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the stator core and bobbins of Sakurai with the bobbin keys of Yang with the multiple obtuse angled core of Asano in order to more completely cover the core with wiring thereby increasing the magnetic flux density and the power of the motor.
With respect to claim 7, Sakurai and Yang teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the second connection side is perpendicular to the longer opposite side.”
Asano teaches the second connection side is perpendicular to the longer opposite side (see figure 15 marked above,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the stator core and bobbins of Sakurai with the bobbin keys of Yang with the perpendicular connection side of Asano in order to more completely cover the core with wiring thereby increasing the magnetic flux density and the power of the motor.
With respect to claim 14, Sakurai teaches a stator comprising: a core having a bar shape (fig. 2B, iron core 11 is bar shaped); an insulator (fig. 2B, bobbin 12) forming a hollow portion into which the core is inserted (paragraph 32 “The bobbin 12 has a tubular portion 12a having an inner diameter substantially the same as an outer diameter of the core 11.”); and a winding wound around the insulator (fig. 2B, coil 13), wherein the core comprises a first radial outer corner portion that has a cross- sectional shape comprising at least two bends (fig. 2B-C, core 11 has at least two bends at a corner, see figure marked above. Further Examiner notes that fig. 2C is the bobbin, but it shape mirrors the core and helps to depict the core shape).
Sakurai does not teach “wherein one side surface of the core forms a key-shaped protrusion, wherein an inner surface of the insulator comprises a key groove corresponding to the key-shaped protrusion, and wherein the key-shaped protrusion is inserted into the key groove wherein the insulator has a second radial outer corner portion of an inner surface that has a cross-sectional shape comprising at least two bends, wherein each of the radial outer corner portions connects a longer opposite side, of a pair of parallel opposite sides, and an oblique side that connects to a shorter opposite side of the pair of parallel opposite sides, and wherein each of the radial outer corner portions comprises a first obtuse angle bend between the longer opposite side and a connection side, and a second obtuse angle bend between the connection side and the oblique side.”
Yang teaches wherein one side surface of the core forms a key-shaped protrusion (fig. 4B, groove 132), wherein an inner surface of the insulator comprises a key groove corresponding to the key-shaped protrusion (fig. 4B, groove 132), and wherein the key-shaped protrusion is inserted into the key groove (paragraph 24 “Further, one or more grooves 132 can be formed on the side walls of the teeth 110, as shown in FIG. 4B. In this case, one or more protrusions 121 are formed on the tooth shoe, and each groove corresponds to each protrusion so as to fix the tooth shoe onto the tooth.”).
Yang does not teach “wherein the insulator has a second radial outer corner portion of an inner surface that has a cross-sectional shape comprising at least two bends, wherein each of the radial outer corner portions connects a longer opposite side, of a pair of parallel opposite sides, and an oblique side that connects to a shorter opposite side of the pair of parallel opposite sides, and wherein each of the radial outer corner portions comprises a first obtuse angle bend between the longer opposite side and a connection side, and a second obtuse angle bend between the connection side and the oblique side.”
Asano teaches wherein the insulator has a second radial outer corner portion of an inner surface that has a cross-sectional shape comprising at least two bends (see figure 15 marked above, inner surface has at least two bends at obtuse angle), wherein each of the radial outer corner portions connects a longer opposite side, of a pair of parallel opposite sides, and an oblique side that connects to a shorter opposite side of the pair of parallel opposite sides (see figure 15 marked above), and wherein each of the radial outer corner portions comprises a first obtuse angle bend between the longer opposite side and a connection side, and a second obtuse angle bend between the connection side and the oblique side (see figure 15 marked above, radial corners bend in the proscribed manner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the stator core and bobbins of Sakurai with the bobbin keys of Yang with the perpendicular connection side of Asano in order to more completely cover the core with wiring thereby increasing the magnetic flux density and the power of the motor.
Claims 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakurai in view of Yang in further view of Asano et al (JP 2010148308 A) in further view of Tokoi et al (US 20170155297 A1).
With respect to claim 22, Sakurai in view of Yang in view of Asano teaches the above-mentioned limitations, but does not teach “the key-shaped protrusion is formed on the longer opposite side of the core, and the key groove is formed on the longer opposite side of the insulator.”
Tokoi teaches the key-shaped protrusion is formed on the longer opposite side of the core (fig. 10B, horizontal portion 10a formed on longer opposite side), and the key groove is formed on the longer opposite side of the insulator (fig. 10B, horizontal portion 10a formed on longer opposite side).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the stator core and bobbins of Sakurai with the bobbin keys of Yang with the perpendicular connection side of Asano with the key groove of Tokoi in order to more securely fit the bobbin to the stator core.
With respect to claim 23, Sakurai in view of Yang teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “an insulating portion of the bobbin has a second radial outer corner portion of the inner surface that has a cross-sectional shape comprising at least two bends, the second radial outer corner portion connects a longer opposite side, of a pair of parallel opposite sides of the bobbin, and an oblique side, of the bobbin, that connects to a shorter opposite side of the pair of parallel opposite sides, and the key-shaped protrusion is formed on the longer opposite side of the bobbin. ”
Asano teaches wherein the insulator has a second radial outer corner portion of an inner surface that has a cross-sectional shape comprising at least two bends (see figure 15 marked above, inner surface has at least two bends at obtuse angle, each part is insulated with the connection part 20/50), the second radial outer corner portion connects a longer opposite side, of a pair of parallel opposite sides of the bobbin, and an oblique side, of the bobbin, that connects to a shorter opposite side of the pair of parallel opposite sides, (see figure 15 marked above, radial corners bend in the proscribed manner).
Asano does not teach “the key-shaped protrusion is formed on the longer opposite side of the bobbin.”
Tokoi teaches the key-shaped protrusion is formed on the longer opposite side of the bobbin (fig. 10B, horizontal portion 10a formed on longer opposite side).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the stator core and bobbins of Sakurai with the bobbin keys of Yang with the perpendicular connection side of Asano with the key groove of Tokoi in order to more securely fit the bobbin to the stator core.
With respect to claim 24, Sakurai in view of Yang teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the first radial outer corner portion connects a longer opposite side, of a pair of parallel opposite sides of the core, and an oblique side, of the core, that connects to a shorter opposite side of the pair of parallel opposite sides, and the key groove is formed on the longer opposite side of the core.”
Asano teaches the first radial outer corner portion connects a longer opposite side, of a pair of parallel opposite sides of the core, and an oblique side, of the core, that connects to a shorter opposite side of the pair of parallel opposite sides (see figure 15 marked above, each part is insulated with the connection part 20/50).
Asano does not teach” the key groove is formed on the longer opposite side of the core.”
Tokoi teaches the key-shaped protrusion is formed on the longer opposite side of the bobbin (fig. 10B, horizontal portion 10a formed on longer opposite side).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the stator core and bobbins of Sakurai with the bobbin keys of Yang with the perpendicular connection side of Asano with the key groove of Tokoi in order to more securely fit the bobbin to the stator core.
With respect to claim 25, Sakurai in view of Yang teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the insulator has a second radial outer corner portion of the inner surface that has a cross-sectional shape comprising at least two bends, the second radial outer corner portion connects a longer opposite side, of a pair of parallel opposite sides of the insulator, and an oblique side, of the insulator, that connects to a shorter opposite side of the pair of parallel opposite sides, and the key-shaped protrusion is formed on the longer opposite side of the insulator. “
Asano teaches the insulator has a second radial outer corner portion of the inner surface that has a cross-sectional shape comprising at least two bends (see figure 15 marked above, each part is insulated with the connection part 20/50), the second radial outer corner portion connects a longer opposite side, of a pair of parallel opposite sides of the insulator, and an oblique side, of the insulator, that connects to a shorter opposite side of the pair of parallel opposite side (see figure 15 marked above).
Asano does not teach ”the key groove is formed on the longer opposite side of the core.”
Tokoi teaches the key-shaped protrusion is formed on the longer opposite side of the bobbin (fig. 10B, horizontal portion 10a formed on longer opposite side).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the stator core and bobbins of Sakurai with the bobbin keys of Yang with the perpendicular connection side of Asano with the key groove of Tokoi in order to more securely fit the bobbin to the stator core.
With respect to claim 26, Sakurai in view of Yang teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the first radial outer corner portion connects a longer opposite side, of a pair of parallel opposite sides of the core, and an oblique side, of the core, that connects to a shorter opposite side of the pair of parallel opposite sides, and the key groove is formed on the longer opposite side of the core.”
Asano teaches the first radial outer corner portion connects a longer opposite side, of a pair of parallel opposite sides of the core, and an oblique side, of the core, that connects to a shorter opposite side of the pair of parallel opposite sides (see figure 15 marked above, each part is insulated with the connection part 20/50)
Asano does not teach ”the key groove is formed on the longer opposite side of the core.”
Tokoi teaches the key-shaped protrusion is formed on the longer opposite side of the bobbin (fig. 10B, horizontal portion 10a formed on longer opposite side).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the stator core and bobbins of Sakurai with the bobbin keys of Yang with the perpendicular connection side of Asano with the key groove of Tokoi in order to more securely fit the bobbin to the stator core.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.O.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834