DETAILED ACTION
According to paper filed June 28th 2023, claims 1-118 are pending for examination with a September 18th 2020 priority date under 35 USC 111(a) & 35 USC 119(e).
By way of the present Amendment, claims 1-87 are canceled, claims 88-118 are newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 111 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
In claim 111, the claimed “transmitting the structured document from the first party to the second party” is already recited in its parent claim 88. In claim 88, “preparing a structured document from an unstructured document for transmission from a first party to a second party” is recited. Claim 111 fails to further limit the subject matter of its parent claim.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 88-94, 97-99, 101-105, 107-108, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sylthe (WO 02/077855), hereinafter Sylthe, and further in view of Yuan et al. (WO 2004/042507), hereinafter Yuan.
Claim 88
“A method for preparing a structured document from an unstructured document for transmission from a first party to a second party” Yuan p.4 lines 1-14 & p.6 line 8 teaches extraction of a particular parts of a document and summary of organizes content of an electronic document into a group of named entries corresponding to sections of the electronic document, the summary is then transmitted to the mobile communication device; the system of summarizing document content also includes the unstructured document summarization stage,
“wherein the unstructured document comprises a plurality of sub-documents, the method comprising: (a) parsing the unstructured document to determine a classification label for each of the plurality of sub-documents” Sylthe p.7 l.11-25 & p.20 l.2-10 teaches parsing documents and constructing, navigating, and reconstructing information by analyzing the unstructured document data;
“(b) for each individual sub-document of the plurality of sub-documents: (i) extracting metadata information from the individual sub-document based at least in part on at least one of an attribute of the first party and an attribute of the second party” Sylthe p.8 l.17-25 & p.24 l.1-5 teaches packaging metadata of parts of document, and a text segment object with description attribute that holds the textual content itself for the text object;
“(ii) packaging at least the metadata information and the classification label for the individual sub-document into a manifest” Sylthe p.8 l.17-25 teaches an XML based metadata description is the encapsulation of the packaging of metadata of parts of document;
“(c) packaging at least the manifest and the plurality of sub-documents into the structured document package” Sylthe p.7 l.11-25 & p.8 l.17-25 teaches a Document Object Model (DOM) that utilizes a Document Processing Module (DPM) where an Engine will load the structured or unstructured document using a distiller module, and an XML based metadata description is the encapsulation of the packaging of metadata of parts of document; the DOM content is delivered to wireless devices in a universal content stream format (Sylthe col.2 l.9-15).
Sylthe and Yuan disclose analogous art. Yuan is analogous because it is in the field of summarizing document content for mobile communication devices. Sylthe does not spell out the “transmission documents from a first party to a second party” as recited above. Said feature is taught in Yuan. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time the present invention was made to incorporate said feature of Yuan (Yuan p.4 lines 1-14 & p.6 line 8: extraction of a particular parts of a document and summary of organizes content of an electronic document into a group of named entries corresponding to sections of the electronic document, the summary is then transmitted to the mobile communication device; the system of summarizing document content includes unstructured documents) into Sylthe to enhance its distribution of universal formatted documents.
Claim 89
“prior to (a), obtaining the unstructured document from a remote server” Sylthe p.16 l.8-20 teaches client side of wireless devices and remote Universal Content Stream (UCS) residing on the server side data processing system that can be verified locally or remotely.
Claim 90
“wherein (a) further comprises segmenting the unstructured document into the plurality of sub-documents” Sylthe p.7 l.11-25 & p.20 l.2-10 & p.24 l.1-5 teaches parsing documents and constructing, navigating, and reconstructing information by analyzing the unstructured document data; and packaging metadata of parts of document, and a text segment object with description attribute.
Claim 91
“wherein the segmenting further comprises determining starting and ending portions of the plurality of sub-documents” Sylthe p.7 l.11-25 & p.24 l.1-5 teaches segment text and parsing documents, both indicate a starting and ending portions of subdocuments.
Claim 92
“wherein (a) further comprises parsing the unstructured document using one or more algorithms selected from the group consisting of a text recognition algorithm, a regular expressions algorithm, a pattern recognition algorithm, an imaging recognition algorithm, a natural language processing algorithm, an optical character recognition algorithm, a term frequency-inverse document frequency (TF-IDF) algorithm, and a bag-of-words algorithm” Sylthe p.7 l.1-3 teaches known image algorithms for improving image quality such as sharpen, blur etc..
Claim 93
“wherein determining the classification label for each of the plurality of sub-documents further comprises determining whether each of the plurality of sub-documents is an imaging report, a pathology report, a clinic note, a progress note, a genomics report, a laboratory test report, a diagnostic report, or a prognostic report” Sylthe p.7 l.1-3 teaches known image algorithms for improving image quality such as sharpen, blur etc., which indicates the document to be an image report.
Claim 94
“wherein determining the classification label for each of the plurality of sub-documents further comprises using at least one feature selected from the group consisting of content of the unstructured document, report title, fax number, email address, a request from the first party, identity or characteristics of the first party, a request from the second party, and identity or characteristics of the second party” Sylthe p.30 #18 teaches Title Styles that predefines styles in a document centric creation application to allow for a Table of Content.
Claim 97
“wherein the metadata information comprises keywords and/or structure of the individual sub-document” Sylthe p.9 l.1-13 teaches an XML based metadata description including document name, document date, document type or any other supplemental information.
Claim 98
“wherein the metadata information comprises a procedure date, subject information, or treating physician information” Sylthe p.9 l.1-13 teaches an XML based metadata description including document name, document date, document type or any other supplemental information.
Claim 99
“wherein the metadata information comprises a report type of the individual sub-document or a disease type of a subject” Sylthe p.9 l.1-13 teaches an XML based metadata description including document name, document date, document type or any other supplemental information.
Claim 101
“wherein (b) further comprises transforming the metadata information and the classification label for the individual sub-document based at least in part on the attribute of the second party” Sylthe p.24 l.6-21 teaches a Document Object Model (DOM) of a loaded structured document and the DOM composition for a paragraph as employed by the server side processing system including an attribute object that describes
the associated style and the textual content of the paragraph.
Claim 102
“wherein (b) further comprises storing the extracted metadata information in a metadata store prior to the packaging” Sylthe p.23 l.6-11 teaches embedded non-visual descriptive information about the document referred to as metadata, the server side data processing capabilities are able to extract this information and store it in the DOM where it can later be used by the system.
Claim 103
“wherein (b) further comprises packaging a table of contents into the manifest” Sylthe p.8 l.3-16 & p.22 l.12-20 & p.23 l.6-11 teaches an Anatomization Module (AM) requesting an initial Table of Content or Summary of the document based on the content available in the Document Object Module (DOM), and a table element as defined by the structured document contains content displayed and organized in a table like fashion, and structured documents contain information provided in the table element, and the structured document embeds non-visual descriptive information about the document referred to as metadata, the server side data processing capabilities are able to extract this information and store it in the DOM where it can later be used by the system.
Claim 104
“indexing the plurality of individual sub-documents based at least in part on the metadata information, and wherein the manifest comprises the metadata information in an indexed format” Sylthe p.7 l.11-25 & p.20 l.2-10 & p.23 l.3-11 teaches parsing documents and constructing, navigating, and reconstructing information by analyzing the unstructured document data, and a page entity provides a navigational index while navigating the structured document and the structured document embeds non-visual descriptive information about the document referred to as metadata, the server side data processing capabilities are able to extract this information and store it in the DOM where it can later be used by the system.
Claim 105
“wherein the indexed format is searchable” Sylthe p.7 l.11-25 & p.20 l.2-10 teaches parsing documents and constructing, navigating, and reconstructing information by analyzing the unstructured document data, and a page entity provides a navigational index while navigating the structured document, and Sylthe p.8 l.1-2 teaches the Document Object Module stored in an Indexing Server Database.
Claim 107
“wherein the structured document package comprises a file format selected from the group consisting of a text file, a PDF file, a zip file, and a gzip file” Sylthe p.4 l.15-16 teaches Document Object Model in textual content.
Claim 108
“wherein the structured document package comprises a file format determined at least in part by the attribute of the second party” Sylthe p.8 l.17-25 & p.24 l.1-5 teaches packaging metadata of parts of document, and a text segment object with description attribute that holds the textual content itself for the text object.
Claim 110
“wherein (c) further comprises packaging at least the unstructured document into the structured document package” Sylthe p.7 l.14-20 teaches a Document Processing Module (DPM) where an Engine will load the structured or unstructured document using a distiller module and saved in a Document Databased, which is a connector to typical software packages.
Claim 111
“transmitting the structured document from the first party to the second party” Yuan p.4 lines 1-14 & p.6 line 8 teaches extraction of a particular parts of a document and summary of organizes content of an electronic document into a group of named entries corresponding to sections of the electronic document, the summary is then transmitted to the mobile communication device; the system of summarizing document content also includes the unstructured document summarization stage.
Claim 112
“transmitting the structured document from the first party to an intermediary, and transmitting the structured document from the intermediary to the second party” Sylthe p.5 l.4-5 teaches a data processing system or server (i.e., intermediary party) communicating with one or a plurality of wireless devices (i.e., second
party) or clients (i.e., first party).
Claim 113
“transmitting the structured document to a remote server that is accessible by the second party” Sylthe p.5 l.4-5 teaches a data processing system or server (i.e., intermediary party) communicating with one or a plurality of wireless devices (i.e., second party) or clients (i.e., first party).
Claim 114
“wherein the transmitting further comprises use of electronic mail” Sylthe p.22 l.5 teaches emails.
Claim 116
“wherein the unstructured document comprises a portable document file (PDF)” Yuan p.6 l.14 teaches PDF files.
Claim 117
“a database that is configured to store the unstructured document, wherein the unstructured document comprises a plurality of sub-documents; and one or more computer processors operatively coupled to the database, wherein the one or more computer processors are individually or collectively programmed to” Sylthe p.7 l.11-25 & p.20 l.2-10 teaches parsing documents and constructing, navigating, and reconstructing information by analyzing the unstructured document data, and Sylthe p.8 l.1-2 teaches the Document Object Module stored in an Indexing Server Database,
Claim 117 is also rejected for the similar rationale given for claim 88.
Claim 118
Claim 118 is rejected for the similar rationale given for claim 88.
Claims 95-96 and 106 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sylthe (WO 02/077855), hereinafter Sylthe, and further in view of Yuan et al. (WO 2004/042507), hereinafter Yuan, and Enuka et al. (US 2021/0256156), hereinafter Enuka.
Claim 95
“wherein determining the classification label for each of the plurality of sub-documents further comprises processing the at least one feature using a trained machine learning classifier” Enuka [0022] teaches support vector machines, artificial neural network, deep neural networks and so on.
Sylthe, Yuan, and Enuka disclose analogous art. Yuan is analogous because it is in the field of summarizing document content for mobile communication devices. Enuka is analogous because it is in the field of machine learning system for prediction of personal information using file metadata. Sylthe does not spell out the “transmission documents from a first party to a second party” as recited above. Said feature is taught in Yuan. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time the present invention was made to incorporate said feature of Yuan (Yuan p.4 lines 1-14 & p.6 line 8: extraction of a particular parts of a document and summary of organizes content of an electronic document into a group of named entries corresponding to sections of the electronic document, the summary is then transmitted to the mobile communication device; the system of summarizing document content includes unstructured documents) into Sylthe to enhance its distribution of universal formatted documents. Still further, Sylthe fails to spell out the “trained machine learning classifier” as claimed. It is taught in Enuka. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time the present invention was made to incorporate said feature of Enuka (Enuka [0022]: vector machines, artificial neural network, deep neural networks) into Sylthe to enhance its classification function.
Claim 96
“wherein the trained machine learning classifier comprises an algorithm selected from the group consisting of a support vector machine, neural network, deep neural network, random forest, and XGBoost” Enuka [0022] teaches support vector machines, artificial neural network, deep neural networks and so on.
Claim 106
“wherein the indexed format comprises a comma separated values (CSV) format or a SQLite database format” Enuka [0077] teaches CSV files.
Claim 115 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sylthe (WO 02/077855), hereinafter Sylthe, and further in view of Yuan et al. (WO 2004/042507), hereinafter Yuan, and Hutchins (US 2020/0210490), hereinafter Hutchins.
Claim 115
“wherein the transmitting further comprises use of facsimile transmission” Hutchins [0031] teaches fax servers.
Sylthe, Yuan, and Hutchins disclose analogous art. Yuan is analogous because it is in the field of summarizing document content for mobile communication devices. Hutchins is analogous because it is in the field of artificial intelligence augmented document capture and processing systems. Sylthe does not spell out the “transmission documents from a first party to a second party” as recited above. Said feature is taught in Yuan. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time the present invention was made to incorporate said feature of Yuan (Yuan p.4 lines 1-14 & p.6 line 8: extraction of a particular parts of a document and summary of organizes content of an electronic document into a group of named entries corresponding to sections of the electronic document, the summary is then transmitted to the mobile communication device; the system of summarizing document content includes unstructured documents) into Sylthe to enhance its distribution of universal formatted documents. Still further, Sylthe fails to spell out the “facsimile transmission” as claimed. It is taught in Hutchins. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time the present invention was made to incorporate said feature of Hutchins (Hutchins [0031]: fax servers) into Sylthe to enhance its transmission function to include the facsimile transmission.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 100 and 109 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Ruay Ho/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2126